We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"For travellers"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Just returned from Matava and had a great, very exclusive, experience. The diving was excellent and the Dive Operation is first rate both in accomodation as well as professional standards. Had the opportunity to meet all three owners Jeannie, Adrian and Richard at different points..each unique, intelligent and available. Much of Matava is about the people..the staff and the travellers. The staff are simply nice people who make every effort to make you feel at home in their home. Adrian's wife Karen becme my dive buddy and with Lei, the dive master, we explored the Astrolab Reef both inside and out (with a bit of a drift one day). The new resort managers David and Jackie (my land buddy)had just arrived and will bring a unique touch. This is a place for travellers, not tourists. It's set into the landscape of the rainforest and designed to blend and not impose on the scene. This is "real" Fiji without the spoils of tourist trappings. Matava is for the experience. It's comfortable, beautiful and tastefully simple. Great people, great diving and a remote Fiji experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hi Bob,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay and for all your kind comments. As owner/managers of a small resort, its hard to remain professionally removed from any review, good or bad, so reviews such as yours really do make our day !
I have shared your comments with our staff and Maggie sends a big Bula Bob !
On a personal note, my wife Karen had a ball diving with you and thank you for looking after her so well :-) It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We all wish you safe travels and hope to see you again some day.....
Best regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

A very well managed resort. Richard, the owner was always there to visit or to help with problems. He and his dive shop manager, Joe typically sit down and eat dinner with everyone. All the people there are very nice and provide great service. The resort is beautiful and well organized. The main drawback of the resort is no AC power for air conditioning or even fans. Some nights are comfortable with a breeze, others are very hot and uncomfortable. Solar power is used for lights (which works fine) and a power station is available to recharge batteries at the main facility. Hot water is provided to the rooms by propane. The resort is an hour's flight from the Fiji main island with a very high cost and then another hour boat ride to get to the resort. Dive boats are old, but work well and travel 20-30 minutes to dive sites. There is a Manta Ray dive site that you can commonly see very large Manta Rays. The dive activity is well organized and professional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Hi Phil,
Thank you for sharing your views and your positive comments about our staff, management and your experiences staying with us. We are implementing a solar power upgrade, starting with the Honeymoon bures, which when completed, will power fans in the bures. Whilst they will be unneccessary for most of the year, we do think they will improve our guests comfort for those few peak summer nights when the normal cooling sea breeze fails us. Our custom built dive boats are now over three years old and the sun awnings as you noticed, have suffered in the tropical sun. We are replacing them immediately. We hope you and all your group enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

As you ride across impossibly azure water in the boat, waves crashing onto the 3rd largest barrier reef in the world to your right and the dense tropical jungle of Kadavu rising sheer towards the sky on your left, you start to realise you're heading somewhere special. Matava is in the middle of nowhere, in the best possible way. The accommodation is spacious and the honeymoon suites have sweeping views of the reef - but the ocean view rooms were reportedly also great (just without a bit more leg-work to get-to). Nothing is ever a problem for any of the friendly staff.
If you have eyesight problems, be warned: at dinner time Maggie is likely to describe lovo-cooked chicken as wagyu steak and a bowl of soup as duck soufflé. All for a laugh of course, which he always gets:)
The food is great (the soups amazing) and if you see any guests return from a fishing trip with massive smiles on their faces, you might be in for the freshest Yellowfin Tuna you've ever tasted (maybe even from a 40kg fish like the one the Brizzie boys caught!).
I even decided to finally do my open water Padi. The diving is incredible and I was amongst Manta Rays, Eagle Rays, Turtles and White Tip Sharks before I knew it. Nadia was a fantastic teacher. Mind you, the snorkeling right in front of the resort is beautiful.
No TV, no radio, no Internet = paradise.
Highly recommended. One of Fiji's very best - and certainly the best value for money i've ever come across (i've stayed at 6 others across Viti Levi, Savu Savu, Vatulele and the Mamanucas). Only tip would be: if you go in the hottest months, take a rechargeable battery-powered fan - if you have trouble sleeping in the heat.
Other than that, all your worries will drift away (Sala's massages also help with that....)

Room Tip: Ocean View if you don't like stairs. Honeymoon if you want the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Hi David,
Thank you for taking the time to review you holiday with us and for your kind comments. Congratulations on completing your PADI Open Water course and we are delighted you got to see the mantas and all that the Great Astrolabe reef has to offer the underwater explorer !
We completely agree with your fan suggestion. So much so that I am now investigating the possibility of installing solar powered fans in every bure. Yesterday I installed one complete test set-up from solar panel to fan. We will run that flat out for a week, test power consumption etc and then design and install a suitable system for each bure. If you ever feel the need for a return visit we hope this will improve you comfort :-)
Best regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The diving here is brilliant, fabulous coral, lots of life and Mantas on Manta reef! On the first dive we saw 16 Mantas over the cleaning station and on the second dive they were all still there feeding - it was magic. The second visit was not so amazing but we still saw mantas. The reef dives are very varied and the visibility can be fabulous in the channels. Great dive crew.
Accommodation is well spaced on the hill side - fantastic views, spotless rooms and well maintained grounds. We arrived two days late thanks to Air Pacific but nothing was too much trouble for Maggie to fix to ensure we enjoyed our stay with them and for our onward travel in Fiji, even phoning the next day to make sure we had got there OK. We had a package of activities and we were really glad we did them all - we should have planned the week better as we ended up cramming a few of them in towards the end. The spa was excellent, the beach picnic a delight, dinner on the deck was lovely and the local visits were great. All the staff were really friendly and it's a really well run place that we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jes_Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for your kind comments which I have passd on to our staff. Great to hear you got the full display from the Mantas !
Shame about your delayed arrival but it sounds like we managed to cram everything in and kept you busy :-)
We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you both safe travels.
Best regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We just spent several days at Matava and although we went through a tropical cyclone while there, still had a memorable visit and great dives. The staff is amazing in all aspects from the diving to the food and accommodated all of our needs throughout the visit. Hope to go back sometime in the future and would recommend it to almost anyone, unless you want all the amenities of a five-star major resort. Otherwise, can not be beat...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hi gwalt,
Thank your for taking the time to post a review of your stay on Tripadvisor.
As with all reviews, we have passed on your comments to our happy staff !
We would welcome you back any time.... hopefully without the added excitement of a Tropical Cyclone next time !
Safe travels,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We just took the family to Matava for the Christmas and New Years Vacation. The restort is beautiful, the rooms we spacious and clean. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The food was very good and the kitchen went out of it's way ti try and meet special dietary requests.Plenty of activities to keep everyone occupied.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have better breezes and views- they also require a bit of climbing stairs. Honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hi drbw1,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay here with us at Matava. It was a pleasure you have you and your family as guests and we do appreciate your kind comments on our efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Best wishes and safe travels,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I recently stayed at Matava with my boyfriend and it was heavenly! We disconnected from the world and enjoyed the game fishing (We caught 3 huge tuna thanks to Joe the amazing guide and captain), ocean kayaking, hiking, and stunning food (Sammy, the gardener, is a genius). Go to Matava to reconnect with yourself and your significant other!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthronomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Hi Anthronomad,
Thank you for posting a review and a big thank you for the lovely fresh Yellowfin Tuna Sashimi !
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our little slice of the real Fiji.
Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back one day :)
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
12.5 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
15.7 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
13.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
188.7 mi away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
185 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range: £137 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your adventure as you experience the magnificent beauty of a remote unspoiled tropical Fijian Island. Plunging volcanic rain forest slopes meet azure coral lagoons and the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef, a rare untouched slice of nature unfolds before your eyes. No roads, no noise, no stress and no carbon footprint. Traditional thatched Fijian Bures hug the jungle fringes. Private sun decks gaze over the turquoise lagoon. Dive the reef from the multiple award winning PADI 5 Star Dive Centre, snorkel the marine reserves, explore the jungle trails, or just pamper yourself in the Spa. Relax in the splendor of your private en-suit bure as you contemplate the stunning sunset and anticipate the evening's dinner of fresh fish, fruits and organic vegetables, grown right before your very eyes and served by lantern light on the ocean deck. Far from the maddening crowd, unplug and recharge at Matava, Fiji's premier Eco-Adventure Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing