We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Karmiel, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed at Matava Resort for 3 nights. This is an eco friendly resort with nicely constructed bures with spacious rooms to cater for all. The dining room is huge . The food served was excellent. The village tour to Kadavu village and its nearby waterfall was really nice. The views revealed once scaling up the hill beside the lodge are superb. The snorkeling to the reef is a must-see as well.
I did some birdwatching with a local guide. Though not seeing much, getting familiar with the island's interiors was an experience in itself.
We were 4 tourists alone in this resort. I guess it was off season. But we were treated as kings.
I must talk about Maggie- one of the staff who served us our daily meals - a charming guy full of good humour and joy of life . This guy will do his best to help you once in need. He made phone calls to help me arrange my Navala tour due to take place on the following day after my departure. He helped other guests as well.
But it is also the other staff I must say good words of -always smiling and trying their best to help.
The food was excellent. There is a bar where you can buy beers and soft drinks. The restaurant is lit by lanterns when darkness falls which gives this place a romantic feel.
Good experience ! Highly recommended.
Eli

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Eli,
Thank you for your review and although your stay was short, It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Kadavu Island, the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef and most of all, Matava Resort !
We wish you safe and happy travels...
Best regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
116
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent two great nights at Matava last week while kayaking with Tamarillo. The resort is best suited for divers, kayakers and others keen to get out and about as there is not really a beach at the resort but there are fabulous beaches within an easy kayak or dinghy trip. What makes Matava fantastic is the communal eating/bar area and the super friendly staff who are always keen to help and more than likely to be laughing. George and Maggie were stand out performers but they were all lovely. The food was a nice Euro/Fijian fusion, the cocktails more than adequate and the kava.....We both felt our kayaking justified a massage which was excellent quality and good value.
Despite the lack of a sandy beach there are sunny decks on all the bures and a nice communal deck area by the waters edge. So to summarise a beautiful resort off the beaten track but well positioned to experience the astrolabe reef with a great atmosphere created by the staff.

Room Tip: The lower rooms are handy but the higher rooms slightly more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenduan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Glenduan,
I am delighted to hear you both had such a great time with us at Matava !
We believe our staff are our greatest asset so its wonderful to hear guests appreciate all the good work they do and have some great Fijian holiday fun with them :-)
We wish you both safe and happy travels.
Best regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Matava warmed our hearts and inspired us in every way. Amazing friendly and funny staff jumped to meet our every need. The food from the organic garden was divine even with our diet restrictions. The views, the eco mentality, beautiful natural but luxurious setting-- truly idyllic. The dive group was great as was the reef with fantastic colors and the regal giant mantas. We have been on our sailboat in the South Pacific for 2 years and this stay rates at the top for nestling into the local vibes in a way visitors can comfortably enjoy. Don't miss a visit to the garden and the waterfall. Beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Gans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Pat,
Thank you for your glowing review ! We are delighted you had a wonderful time and got to enjoy all there is to experience here in our little slice of the Fiji islands. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the fresh produce from our organic garden and got to see the amazing Manta Rays...
Hope you can make it back some day !
We wish you safe and happy travels,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My fiancé and I spent a week at this resort back in late Jan 2013 with a group of great friends. Hands down the best vacation ever for both of us. The food was alright but the location, remote location and hospitality more than made up for the issues with the food and lack of ice. The diving and fishing was stellar (100'+ visibility made diving incredible) and the hookup with some mean GT's made for some unforgettable memories. Maggie, Jeannie, Adrian and the crew were fantastic. I had a bum knee and Maggie made sure I had a cold ice pack every night to make it feel better. Sure, there are always some things that can be better but when you are in an area this remote in the world, off the grid, and having a great time....it makes for an experience that is hard to beat. Would we go back? You betcha. We are currently planning another trip back to this last remaining slice of paradise in the world early next year, Thank you to everyone who made our trip a wonderful and unforgettable experience. I want to see those Mantas and hookup with some GT's again soon. Maggie...here we come!

Room Tip: Upper burres have the best views and the coolest breezes. However, they are a hike up the hill. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim1974427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Hi Jim,
Thanks for writing a review and sharing your experience here with other travelers. We are delighted you rated us "Best vacation ever "!! We will have to try even harder when you come back for some more diving and GT action ! We look forward to it :-)
Best regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

On my recent month long stay in Fiji the highlight of my trip was staying at Matava. Starting with the owners Richard, Jeannie and Adrian who were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was by far the best I experienced the whole trip. Very well presented and extremely fresh. The diving was fantastic, well guided by local dive masters and the boats were all in great shape and well maintained.

We stayed a week but wish we would have stayed longer. If you're planning a trip to Fiji put Matava at the top of your list.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Two Trees bure. Its the highest bure in the resort but worth the hike up the path. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Hi Bruce,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We really do appreciate your wonderful comments ! It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us and you would be very welcome back any time you need to chill out and dive. We all hope you can make it back some day and wish you safe and happy travels !
Best regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a ten night stay at Matava Resort. We are both surfers and ocean loving people and have to say that this was the most wonderful and adventurous holiday we could have wished for. From the moment we got off the plane we could see we were in our paradise! the surrounding waters were just amazing and the coral reefs, I think the best in the world. Matava was an incredible place to stay with all of the staff absouloutely delightful and attentive to your every wish. Managers Dave and Jackie went out of their way to make sure our days were eventful and fun. Our designated snorkel trips were magic and enabled us to experience many wonderful fish and corals and other interesting sea critters!!! also the reef at the resort was such easy access and allowed us many free hours of snorkelling, which was equally as great! and Kayaking!!! There is also a few different surf spots there that offer fast and fun waves. We also enjoyed all of our meals at Matava, being in the most serene location and sharing with others was a highlight, along with the very best of food delivered by the most lovely and entertaining staff. The food was delicious and something to look forward to after our days spent in the ocean and exploring the surrounding jungle. The nights were peaceful and balmy and spent in the most lovely bures with all the comforts needed, staff were exceptional at meeting our needs and always so friendly that you couldn't help but feel at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone that loves nature, peace and quiet, and some excitement as well! Matava and all of their wonderful staff have given us many happy memories to keep. hopefully we can go back there again! oohhh.....also it is the best place to taste Fijian culture as we met many villagers, with visits and a performance....the waterfall near the village is a must!
signed.....critter lady!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critterlady380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hi Critter Lady !
We are delighted you enjoyed all that the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef and Matava Resort has to offer. Now you are a coral reef critter expert !
Thank you for complimenting our food, we do our very best to ensure our guests eat the best fresh produce from our organic garden and are never left wanting !
I will pass on your review to our staff, I know they will enjoy great satisfaction and pleasure in reading your kind words.
We all wish you safe and happy travels in the future and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You would be very welcome back any time !
Best regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just returned from week long stay at Matava, could not have been better. The Resort was well staffed with caring and experienced managers and owners, almost too many. The food as reported was truly amazing, how the turn out such amazing meals with what they have to work with is astounding. The dive shop was well run and 1st rate, the boats by far the best Dive boats ( designed by Richard) one of the owners, were perfect and they even had hot coffee or tea on our surface intervals. How people can complain is beyond me, they should go with the crowds and some big resort on the main island, this was escape from it all off the beaten path at its finest, stay at Matava

Room Tip: Stayed at Two Tree's, was quite a hike, but lost 5 pounds and the view was to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianWatt, Owner at Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hi Dano !
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay here with us and we sincerely appreciate you kind and positive comments about or staff and facilities. It was a pleasure to have you visit and we hope you enjoy many happy memories of your trip !
Safe travels and we hope to see you again some time in the future.
Best regards,
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
12.5 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
6.6 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 3 in Kadavu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Property: Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing