We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for some R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiliva Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiliva Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect place for some R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I are both busy professional and wanted to go somewhere tropical, quiet and slow for some R&R. We picked Tiliva because we wanted to somewhere on Kadavu island where it is isolated yet close to dive sites as well as having good accommodation options. We wanted somewhere quiet hence weren't too keen on places that cater for backpackers. Having stayed for 3 weeks in Fales in Samoa on a previous trip we were looking for something more comfortable than the traditional Fiji bures.

The owners formerly had professional careers in the UK. Their tastes and expectations of quality is evident throughout the resort. The bures are self contained cabins to the quality of any good B&Bs in Europe, North America or Australia. Nothing was too much trouble for the host, who organised our dive trip as well as tips on currents and wind for when we went sea kayaking. We saw two live nautilus in the water, in the middle of the strait between Ono Island and Kadavu when kayaking from Ono Island back to Kadavu. It took ~1hr of easy paddling to do the crossing.

When we weren’t diving or sea kayaking we simply relaxed on the beach or on our balcony and read (the resort has a good selection of novels also, which was great as we finished the books we brought along half way through our stay).

On the diving side, the Astrolabe Reef had very dense hard and soft coral coverage. However, the fish life is less than what one would expect probably due to over fishing in the past. If I was to compare the reef I would say it has slightly better coral than the Great Barrier Reef but less fish life, and overall not as good as the Coral Sea. Saw the usual tropical reef life + a lone barracuda and few turtles. The local hunt turtles as a food source which explains why they’re few and far between. Didn’t see any Mantas. The currents were strong to the extent that it was almost impossible to swim against. Whilst it was not overly difficult to remain stationary for those interested in underwater photography, it was logistically difficult as despite the excellent visibility (30m+) it doesn’t take long for the rest of the dive group to drift beyond visual range.

As a resort, Tiliva delivered all that we had hoped for. I would rate it as a solid 3.5-4 star resort for where it is, which is in the middle of nowhere on a nice coastline with lovely beaches and reefs nearby (my opinion of a 6 star resort in comparable remoteness is one with a personal butler and chef, which we had at Olonana Masi Mara). The owners were very accommodating and made every attempt to look after us, including organising airport pickup and guide arrangement for us for our Nadi layover.

On the down side, to which there were few and all relates to the dive operations in the area. The diving operation in the area has suffered greatly in recent years due to decline in tourism and is only picking up. As a cost saving measure all the dive operations we came across operated out of small boats. The owners of Tiliva have a proper twin engine dive boat, which they can organise with the dive operators to use instead of the smaller boats either at extra cost to cover for fuel or if there were 6 or more divers on the day. The boat drivers we had were very good and knowledgeable which gave us confidence in their dive operations. The air fills were good and they look after their equipment. Whilst the dive masters knew that dive sites, they didn’t do a very good job in looking after the clients in the water given the strong currents. Some of the sites were not simple straight forward dives and involved several change in directions (in current). Most dives were on walls with bottoms in excess of 60m. There was very little control over dive depth or how far the group separated. As mentioned above, it was extremely easy to lose sight of the DM at a drift rate of a few Knots if one stopped for a moment to investigate the reef. On occasions where the group did separate no attempts were made by the DM to stop and wait. Those at the back simply had to catch up and hope that they caught up and hope the others haven’t taken a turn somewhere.

As a resort, Tiliva delivered all that we had hoped for. I would rate it as a solid 3.5-4 star resort for where it is, which is in the middle of nowhere on a nice coastline with lovely beaches and reefs nearby (my opinion of a 6 star resort in comparable remoteness is one with a personal butler and chef, which we had in Masi Mara).

One last comment. For those who need to keep in touch with the rest of the world while on leave, Tiliva has good mobile 3G coverage when the mobile tower is in operation. The area is serviced by a single mobile tower hence reliability of the link is dependent on the reliability of this tower. Due to the remoteness when the tower is damaged it takes days to weeks for the repair crew to come out.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lokky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

My partner and myself stayed at Tiliva Resort last December and had an absolutely wonderful time. Tiliva Resort on Kadavu is definitely Paradise on Earth. Kemu and Barbara are more than happy to go that extra mile to make your holiday special. The staff make you feel so welcome and simply cannot do enough for you.
The vegetable gardens at Tiliva are a delight to see, all that wonderful fresh fruit and vegetables which compliment the delicious meals. We had breakfast and lunch every day on the open veranda overlooking the gardens. The food is terrific just the very best of western and Fijian cuisine.
We went diving on the Astrolabe Reef and had some of the best dives ever. Kayaking around the coastline and the guided tour to the waterfall was the best. Sireli just knows everyone and is very happy to point out the different vegetation.
We were so sorry when we had to leave and it was definitely our best holiday every and would be more than happy to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayfreakIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Tiliva is the perfect relaxing getaway. Everything, from the hosts, to the bures, to the staff, to the food, manage to surpass your expectations without slipping across that fine line into pretence. The resort is set in a beautiful natural garden, with the famous Kadavu shining parrot often stopping in, so it's a great place to hang out. There's also plenty to do for those who are a little more active: walks through the forest to neighbouring villages, snorkelling off the beach, diving on the famous and exquisite Astrolabe reef, fishing, swimming, kayaking, or just reading a book. No matter what you do it'll be made easy for you and you'll be made to feel genuinely welcome in the process. I've lived for a year in Fiji. My parents recently came to visit and I had to pick one place from the whole country to take them and my girlfriend. I chose Tiliva and it was perfect. I couldn't recommend it more highly to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrTravelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The resort with their professional chef managed to surpass our expectations, breakfast lunch and 3 course dinner were all beautify presented and tasted fabulous. We were told the seafood was caught offshore while fruit and vegetables came from the local village or resort garden.
Another pleasant surprise was the wine list!!!!
The bure was very clean with 24hr hot water and electricity, and had Pure Fiji shampoo and shower gell in bathroom.
We had chosen a garden bure that was close to the beach but was also surrounded by tropical plants and trees that meant we had privacy to relax on the deck.
From the moment we landed at the airport, and was met by the skipper of the boat who offered us a chilled bottled water! and the friendly staff made our time at the resort complete. We enjoyed visiting the local village and completing a walk to the waterfall with Fireli who seemed to be well known throughout the village. Diving the Astrolabe reef was spectacular experience and recommend to all who go there.
Many thanks to all at Trivial hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HKWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Bures set back in lush vegetation, very quiet. good relaxation spot. Best for romantic couples rather than groups or backpackers. We enjoyed the 'local evening' we had with yaqona and musicians. Beautiful Lovo food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amandakeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

We went to Tiliva Resort in December last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. The diving on the Astrolabe Reef was better than anticipated as we had read that it could be indifferent, but it proved otherwise and we dove everyday.

The resort was built by the owners Kemu and Barbara. It was obvious that the environment was considered when siting the bures. The interior is very tastefully decorated and have all the usual modern facilities like hot water and electricity 24/7. Our bure had a ceiling fan and a veranda on two sides. The bure overlooked the gardens and the ocean could still be seen from our veranda. The Kadavu parrot is everywhere I think due to all the fresh fruit in the gardens.

The food was fantastic with fresh fish and fruit and vegetables we would have found it difficult to find somewhere as good to eat on the mainland, never mind in Kadavu. Most of the vegetables and fruit are grown on the resort.

Kemu and Barbara are the hosts and make you feel very welcome and of course the Fijian staff are so friendly and take care of everyone. Would we go back again? Yes we would and hope to in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diver05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2007

We always wanted to visit Fiji and after reading several write ups about the Tiliva Resort on Kandavu Island we decided it was ideal for our two week stay. With our two children (11 and 14) we visited in August 2007 and were not dissappointed. We felt far away from the regular tourist crowd, yet we had very nice and comfortable bungalows, great food, peaceful surroundings and plenty to do. We particularly enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the owners, Kim and Barbara, and their staff.

The island and its surrounding waters are pristine. The coral we snorkeled through, expecially "Dream World" simply took our breathe away - so many types, outlandish shapes , sizes and colors. The fish were great, too. All of us were entranced. Kayaking around the island and small islands around it was adventurous and a blast - water was clear and a perfect swimming tempurature. Hiking on the island was wonderful, especially to the waterfalls.

The village next door was lovely to visit, to attend church - singing was divine (pun intended). People were kind, invited us in to visit and sent us away with pretty shells.

Unlike so many places you go, on Kandavu and at the Tiliva, you get to experience the people, culture and wonders of a new place. Our children made new friends - and so did we.

If you are looking for a place to be away from a crazy busy life, to "dive" into gorgeous nature, meet wonderful people, experience peace and quiet in a south pacific paradise- go to Tiliva. Say hi to the parrots and Kim and Barbara for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ddblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
6.0 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
6.6 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
6.6 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#3 of 3 in Ono Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiliva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiliva Resort

Property: Tiliva Resort
Address: c/o P O Naleca, 679, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiliva Resort is unlike any resort in the Fiji Archipelago. With little noise, light, pollution or people to distract you, your vacation with us will be one of the most peaceful and relaxing that you will ever have. To see the Fiji that dreams are made of, Tiliva Resort is the answer. Tiliva Resort is situated on the pristine island of Kadavu. The resort grounds are situated on a primative archeological site, surrrounded by flora and fauna native to our island. Tiliva Resort is a Padi resort with local DiveMasters to provide the Ultimate experience. If fishing is what you are looking for Tiliva Resort will provide a local guide for a special fishing experience. Snorkeling and Kayaking are free at the resort. Guides and day tours are available for those who desire. Waterfall tours, Birding and Village tours are available for those that have interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tiliva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiliva Hotel Kadavu Island
Tiliva Resort Fiji/Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing