We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green luxury”
Review of Papageno Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kadavu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papageno Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Green luxury”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The entire staff of Papagenos greeted us on our arrival. In the off season, we were the only guests at the resort, so we were just treated like family. It was an amazing experience! Personal tour of the resort, gardens, clinic and buildings, dinner with the staff, diving and fishing and attendance of the school pageant. What an amazing resort - do not miss it. The larger house with 4+ rooms is gorgeous, but I prefer the simplicity of the bures. And kava at night!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
60
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our family (2 adults and 2 children ages 3 and 6) spent a week at Papageno this August. We had a fantastic time in this tropical paradise.

Let's start with the great stuff: amazingly friendly service, beautiful location, immaculate bure (we had an Oceanfront Bure which has a double and two singles with an enclosed porch where we read and played games in the evening after the kids had gone to bed), delicious food much of which is grown on site, outings were great (we did a village visit, waterfall hike, and snorkeling with manta rays (wow!!!) - all at extra but reasonable cost)

Challenges? None really but a couple of things you should be aware of. Firstly, as another reviewer commented, there are no facilities whatsoever for kids which was no issue for us as we are of the "nature is your playground" school and the beach is shallow and safe. Our two had fun on the beach with the friendly dogs and the staff were very accommodating of our fussy eater daughter while continuing to produce local delicacies for the rest of us. However, if you are looking for a constructed playground, toys, or a kids' club, this is not the right resort for you. Secondly the hot water was very inconsistent throughout the trip with an on-demand heater that switched on and off at random intervals or produced no heat at all. Frankly the weather was warm enough for us to make do with cold only but the inconsistency was mildly frustrating.

Highly recommend this location for anyone looking for an off-the-beaten track resort with great food and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonyo, Manager at Papageno Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Papageno resort has a table tennis room, Volley ball area, soccer balls, kayaks and boogie
boards for out side fun.
We also offer baby sitting service with very well trained staff members for a small fee.
The children can use our children's play room. There are books, board games and art supplies
for hours of entertainment. We offered this service to the family, but they decided to keep their children with them.
The "acting up" water heater has been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I spent 5 nights at the papageno Resort in Kadavu (Fiji). It was the paradise!
I had a bure next to the beach, it's wonderful to wake up with the sound of the ocean and to see the sunrise in the background.
I was travelling alone, and could just relax. I was reading books in the hammock, listen to the ocean, watching the sea. The beach was awesome, the water was warm and the weather beautiful. In the moring after the breakfast I was walking along the beach with the dogs, you could go for a long walk. After that I was a little bit relaxing and then snorkeling. You can see so many different fishes and corals. And at high tide I was swimming.
The stuff was so friendly and helpful. The food was awesome! I love the food here! All the vegetable and fruits were from there garden. The fruits are so delicious!
And I love the big garden, with all the tropical plants, which I can't have at home.
All in all I had my dream holiday here! And I have to come back to that place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayucos, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I had a wonderful visit to Papagano several years ago, and I was so happy to find that time had stopped and it was just as I had remembered it. The gardens are beautiful, the food was so good, and the beaches are pristine. The warm clear water provided beautiful snorkeling. Swimming with the giant manta rays was the high point, but I loved kayaking along the coast almost as much. Everyone was so friendly. I enjoyed the peaceful quiet evenings. The solar power provides for quiet electricity 24 hours a day. The bar was great and everyone had such a good time. I am looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: ask for the ocean front bure or room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

To describe it in one word: picture- perfect.

Waking up in a wonderful bure with nothing but the sound of the ocean wonderful. And so is the staff. Caring, considerate and always happy to help you.
Not to mention the food: traditional Fijian-style food cooked with loads of love. Even plentiful breakfast with fresh cut fruits such as coconut and papaya, eggs and a daily special could get you through the day. The sound of a drum calls you for lunch, tea time and dinner. The meals were always excellent and it was always nice to have a little chat with the managers Lydia or Elisabeth as well as our dive-instructor Miri. Taking diving classes was also a mind blowing experience because of the beautiful reef right off shore. If you don't dive, snorkeling or kayaking is a must!
Our bure was way more than we expected and is a home away from home. It was really big and amazingly comfortable with everything you needed. You could also drink the water right from the tab. Coming from a spring in the forest it was very tasty and refreshing.

Thank you again for an unforgettable week!

For all german speaking travelers an even more detailed review:
http://zweitreise.com/2013/03/22/bula-papageno/

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline_Ina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

As Fiji residents we've seen our share of resorts, and were excited to try out Papageno for the Christmas holiday. Because of Cyclone Evan the resort stayed closed until Dec. 26, so our visit ended up being over New Years instead.

What we loved:

The location is wonderful for its scenery and remote feel. There are at least six kayaks of different sizes, in better condition than most resorts, for exploring the coast - a little island, placid beach, and mangrove mazes to the east, and postcard beautiful empty beaches to the west. The snorkelling right off the beach - once you go 200 meters out - is fantastic quality in terms of fish and coral (despite mediocre visibility). The gardens and orchards of the resort, and the hills behind, look ripe for exploration.

The accommodation is great - spacious, diverse, well-decorated, functional, 24h power (mostly solar and micro-hydro, no generator throbbing away). There are one bedroom, two bedroom, and three bedroom options, each quite different (I'm talking about their 'Deluxe Ocean bures' and 'Royal bure' options from their website here). No skimping here. The royal bure is a rather impressive three bedroom, three bathroom with massive living area that feels and looks architecturally like a cross between a Sun Valley ski lodge and a luxury safari lodge. In our smaller but still big bure, we had lots of carved masks from around the Pacific decorating the walls.

The food is impressive, wholesome, and fresh - particularly considering the remoteness of the place. A fair bit of the veggies and fruit are grown on site. Dinners tend to be a creative soup (multiple serves), followed by a main course (loved the chicken battered in home-made coconut oil) with fresh vegetables, and a dessert.

Another thing to love: good pool table (billiards), and good ping-pong table in case of rainy day.

What could be improved:

As in any small resort, the idiosyncratic nature of its staff and management has an impact. Our arrival was a bit unprofessional, in terms of nobody being clearly in charge of welcoming (from the airstrip to the boat to check-in). Could be due to the recent cyclone and the absence of the manager that day. While individual staff were great, we missed that sense of collective belonging that you get elsewhere, there wasn't even an "Isa lei" departure. And the manager - wonderful and efficient, but a bit gruff on occasion, a bit too permissive with the laid back house dogs in the restaurant area.

Second concern: There is *excellent* diving to be had here (we did two dives to the nearby reef, and a deeper dive to the eery shipwreck of the Pacific Voyager). However, divemaster Zacharia, wonderful fellow, but seems to run a sloppier show than his counterparts at other places. He was bit lax on details like going over signs and dive plans before hopping in, on making sure everybody is keeping up, or on planning to surface with sufficient spare air in the tank. We even had a little incident of a BCD which started auto-inflating uncontrollably while 15m down. The manager was made aware, so things should improve.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonyo, Manager at Papageno Resort, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Papageno Resort was closed due to tropical cyclone Evan and reopened on the 26. Dec. for the local" guests. Not all of our staff was back from their "unwanted break", so the check in was not as efficient as usual. All our Managers had quite a bit of stress in the previous week and definitely a lack of sleep.
The Isa Lei song is usually not wanted by our local guest, but we do sing it for all our other guests.
Every Diver signs a dive waiver before their first dive. The waiver states clearly what our dive
masters do and do not do. By signing the dive waiver the diver declares that he/she is fully
certified and understands the basic dive safety rules and hand signs.
We do check our dive equipment carefully before each dive, however unforeseen incidences
can happen under water. The dive master was right there when the BCD "self inflated" and let
the air out. The dive was finished without any harm done.
The BCD was thoroughly inspected after the dive, no defect was found. However we will get a
second inspection in Suva from a dive equipment repair shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Apologies for the late review as our stay was back in June. This place is exactly my idea of paradise, a true 'get-away-from-it-all' experience. The setting is gorgeous: a very pretty (and isolated) beach, tall palms, attractive bures, beautiful gardens, and a small uninhabited island a short kayak trip away. There is a small, beautiful waterfall a short hike from the grounds.

The staff was genuinely friendly and extremely attentive to our needs. Zacharias in particular deserves a mention. He was our dive master, waterfall tour guide, and a killer ping pong player. My wife was a beginner diver and was nervous about her first ocean dives, and Zacharias literally held her hand the whole time. This made her much more comfortable and allowed me to explore as much as I wanted. He certainly went above and beyond to make our dives (and other activities) great experiences.

I'm not a highly experienced dive traveler, but I found the sites to be very good. There are several sites within a 5 min boat ride from the resort that are interesting, one with a nice swim-through. The Astrolabe reef sites were even better. The corals were in excellent condition, and there was a very good variety of fish life. We didn't get to go, but we heard from other guests that the volcano dive is the best.

The best part was the food. Practically everything on the menu was grown, raised, or caught on the island and it tasted that way. The traditional lovo feast was wonderful (for the food and the fun with the staff) but several meals were even better. Ask them for taro soup, you won't regret it.

Overall, it was an excellent value, well worth the flight to Kadavu and short boat ride to the resort.

Room Tip: The garden bure is a little more private than the other bures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jharp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
0.0 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
0.0 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 3 in Kadavu Island
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papageno Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papageno Resort

Property: Papageno Resort
Address: Malawai Bay, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papageno Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papageno Resort, on the untouched island of Kadavu in Fiji, blends world-class scuba diving, fishing, cultural activities and an array of other adventure experiences (snorkeling, free diving, spearfishing, waterfall hiking, kayaking, stand-up-paddle, surfing, etc.) all within a secluded, tranquil and unique oceanfront hideaway with a lush, tropical rainforest backyard setting. Papageno Resort is truly a one-of-a-kind getaway spot that caters to both those looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay or those looking for a bundle of adventure-level water and land experiences, whilst making Papageno feel like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papageno Resort Fiji Hotel Kadavu Island
Papageno Hotel Fiji
Papageno Resort Fiji/Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing