We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely, quiet, great food, great activities.... great fishing and diving!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papageno Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kadavu Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papageno Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely, quiet, great food, great activities.... great fishing and diving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This place is amazing.
The bures are supor clean and lovely.... and spacey!
Elisabeth and Lydia and all the staff take great care of you and feed you 4 times a day with the most delicious, organic food you can imagine!
Found my new passion for fishing here (Tuna and mackarel, and see dolphins or pilot whales if you're lucky!).... but kayaking, diving and snorkling, or hanging out in the hammock/ sun longer are equally great here. This place is superb- and I can't wait to go back again sooon!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
57
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

We were all the family at this resort last december, it is really a trip because first you get to Nadi where the int. airport is and then you connect with a small plane that can leave easy with some delay to Kadavu Island, beatiful views from the plane.
There there is a very small hut as airport and you are welcome, local people help with the luggage and you take a boat to the resort, at the island there is only a very small rout and everything is connected by boat, maybe like us in this trip or during their way to pick you up they catch the dinner fish, great, suddenly you arrive and discover paradise.
People is great, take your time to know the gardens and where they plant almost all vegetables that are served, and to talke with the people, Sonyo and Lydia are amazing.
Excellent for diving or if not take some time with your snorkel, you can be there forever but watch out for sunburn, and maybe go to see the Mantas.
Yes, I know there are mosquitos, so is nature.
When we leave the locals at the resort song for us and we almost cry, I have some t-shirts from the resort and everytime I use them really think in that place, Paradise on earth.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

My wife and I spent two wonderful weeks in Ocean Bure #1. The staff was extremely friendly and the resort was exactly what they represented on their web site. The food was very fresh, much of it was just caught or picked fresh from their huge garden. You can just lay around on the beautiful beach, hike, swim, go kayaking, snorkeling diving or visit a local village. It was unlike anywhere we ever went. There is no air conditioning anywhere on the island because of the power. The resort uses a large solar array to charge batteries and runs their generator when the power load requires. The power is on all night every and the ceiling fan provides excellent cooling. The ocean bures also get a nice breeze from the ocean most of the time. I would recommend this resort to any adventurer who enjoys getting away from the usual places and can handle the more natural environment.

There are no roads, TV, or phones to disturb you there. We had fun wading in from the boats that bring visitors from the tiny airport.

I also took lost of great clown fish photos on my dives.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Mosquitoes
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubadiverGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

We stayed at Papageno Resort to celebrate a family member's milestone birthday. During our stay we snorkeled, kayaked, hiked, and even became certified divers! Our bure was on the beach and we woke up to the sounds of the local birds. The food was excellant and very fresh. I loved that the vegetables came straight out of their own garden. The staff at the resort was very friendly and accomodating.
This resort is truly unique and gave me and my family a great travel experience. I hope to visit it again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jenl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

Spent 7 nights here as a couple and had a wonderful time.

We stayed at an Oceanfront bure ten metres from the shore in total isolation from all other bures and escaped completely from mobile phones, internet and the other trappings of modern life for a blissful week. The room was lovely with fresh flowers daily, and screens on all windows.

The food was delicious and plentiful with an emphasis on fresh food from their garden, animal pens or the sea. One night we had tuna sushi 2 hours after it being caught - you can't get that kind of freshnesss many places!

The efforts of management to develop the resort as an ecoresort are to be commended with solar panels, and microhydro providing 24 hour power and only a couple of hours of generator use per day.

The garden was very pretty and peaceful. The beach allowed for long peaceful walks. Free use of kayaks, table tennos, volleyball and forest walks to a small gorgeous waterfall meant there was always enough to do if so desired. We chose not to do most of their optional activities which included village visits, and other exploratory activities which I'm sure would be fantastic.
Have done a fair bit of snorkelling and diving and snorkelling with Manta Rays on their organised trip will be in my Top 3 underwater experiences quite possibly for the rest of my life! Other diving was good, and varied. Snorkelling and swimming from the resort were best done at high tide. There were good interesting reefs to be found and explored.

Having never stayed at, and been a little reluctant to stay at a "resort", Papageno was perfect for me with attentive and friendly staff who only were seen when needed.

A perfect escape from the trappings of modern life!

  • Liked — Hearing the sound of the waves lapping the beach, and the birds from our bed!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

I stayed in the Papageno with friends and family in March this year- what a great holiday!
The resort is surrounded by tropic plants and jungle, there are no cars on the island. Most of the food you'll eat comes from the island, grown by the local village people on the hotel's own organic premises. The hotel is a perfect example of tourism in harmony with nature- and still offering every luxury you might think of. Just borrow a kajak or hike up to one of the waterfalls, stroll along the beach, visit the local village or go for a dive and you'll forget about the importance of time. You don't even need to wear a watch- they'll hit the drums when dinner is ready (not for breakfast, no worries). Food was great, allways homegrown fresh vegetables and fruit, fish (catch of the day) as well as local recipes.
We had great dives (a lot of nudibranches and anything from very easy and relaxing to the more challenging drop-offs) there, the dive guide allways eager to show us the best spots and helping with equipment.
This was one of the best holidays I had- never returned more relaxed. Perfect hideaway (they do have a nice bar and we spent a lot of time there though) with exceptionally friendly staff and management.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

We stayed here in Jan 06 (I thought that I had posted the review right when we got back). This place was absolutely mis-represented, by the travel agent and it's own web-site.
- We had booked a beach front, room w/ A/C (and paid extra). when we arrived, they tried to put us in a garden room w/ no view. After an hour of arguing, they gave us a beach front bure. NO A/C, They also explained that there was none. I'm not sure whose fault this was.
- Although there was a celing fan, there was only a slow speed, and the generator was off a good part of the night so there was very minimal air movement in the room, it was quite hot, and there were no screens on the windows. So it was MISQUITO FEAST, and guess who was the feast ?? Some of the other guests decided to sleep on the beach 1 night, and were literally eaten alive.
- FOOD: Again misrepresentation through the web site. We've stayed in ECO resorts before and had a great time. These folks are hard core about sustainable eco development: there really was not really enough served for the quantity of people at the resort (about 1/2 full when we were there) . Always, when during any food provision time, you had this feeling that they were rationing. You could tell in the response from the servers, and cook. It was weird. The guests even would talk a little about it.
For example: there was no real 'juice' in any form, unless you bought an alcholic drink. Instead juice was water w/ a few lemon/orange slices in it; and all meals had a heavy quantity of starches (for an eco spa resort ???). Breakfast was mostly starches and some fruit. Because everything was several family style around a large table, if you came 5 min. late for breakfast you missed the fruit. By the 3rd day, we noticed a bit of hording going on. For dinner, 2 nights was chicken, 1 night was fish they had caught. Nothing like the photos on the web site!
- BEACH/WATER: We are advanced divers and snorkelers. The beach was really a mud tidal beach, no snorkeling from the beach. The diving however, was excellent.

Overall while the diving was excellent, the accomodations were horrible given the price that we paid. There are much better places in Fiji. BTW, we had planned on 5 days, but got our flights changed and left after 3.

  • Liked — diving
  • Disliked — value on everything
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Diana5531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonyo, General Manager at Papageno Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2015
wrong resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beqa Lagoon Resort
Beqa Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Beqa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
0.0 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papageno Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papageno Resort

Property: Papageno Resort
Address: Malawai Bay, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papageno Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papageno Resort, on the untouched island of Kadavu in Fiji, blends world-class scuba diving, fishing, cultural activities and an array of other adventure experiences (snorkeling, free diving, spearfishing, waterfall hiking, kayaking, stand-up-paddle, surfing, etc.) all within a secluded, tranquil and unique oceanfront hideaway with a lush, tropical rainforest backyard setting. Papageno Resort is truly a one-of-a-kind getaway spot that caters to both those looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay or those looking for a bundle of adventure-level water and land experiences, whilst making Papageno feel like your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papageno Resort Fiji Hotel Kadavu Island
Papageno Hotel Fiji
Papageno Resort Fiji/Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing