We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laucala Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laucala Island
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Words cannot adequately describe this island paradise and I am a little reluctant to write this review for fear the secret will be out. Laucala is everything you could wish for in a holiday and more. Think large-scale resort with the sense that you are the only ones there.

I have to say we were a little skeptical when we booked as to how it could really be that good but as soon as we touched down and were escorted to our villa, we knew we were on to something pretty amazing.

The villas are all vast in size with a level of privacy that makes you feel that you are in a private home. You can opt for villas on the beach (essentially a private beach), over water or high up on the hill. There is an array of choice in terms of dining and drinking venues and we struggled to try all of them in our 4 nights. There is a plethora of activities to enjoy: spa, jet skiing, sailing, horse riding, cycling. Equally you can do nothing and enjoy cocktails by the many pools (or enjoy your own private pool). Any request is considered. Nothing is too much trouble ..

I disagree with the previous reviewer that the daily greetings from staff were over the top. I found having daily contact with the gracious General Managers, Chef and or Food and Beverage Manager ensured our visit was seamless.

The resort is largely self-sufficient so it was wonderful to have a tour of the behind the scenes operation. The kitchen and flower garden was a particular highlight (They grow all their own flowers to ensure the orchids in the villa are always flowering at their best).

I have only just touched on the experience. The list of highlights and bespoke details is too long to list. This is a truly special place. Thank you Laucala. We will be back.. !

Room Tip: All of the villas are unique. Where you want to stay would depend on your requirements. The beachfro...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank familyof997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaucalaIsland, General Manager at Laucala Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear familyof997,

Let me take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation towards our resort.
I am delighted to read through your review and knowing that we have managed to deliver a great hotel experience.
Thank you for choosing Laucala Island Resort, Fiji and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Laucala Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Contemplating our recent indulgence at Laucala I seriously wonder if we have been spoilt forever. Its like Business to First or Commercial to Private - it's another world and hard to go back. And in this case why worry when this magical south sea Isle awaits your return.

Let me begin by stating that I know my Islands and resorts having visited many and run a few over the years. So often expectations are missed as the natural beauty doesn't match the images on the web or the man made footprint overshadows in terms of scale detracting from any level of authenticity. Lacuala is different - take an incredibly endowed Island, add a passionate billionaire with a social & environmental conscience that has resisted over development and you are greeted with something so unique that you have to pinch yourself often to make sure you're not dreaming.

Everything is understated, yet professional and friendly. The level of service is the best we have ever encountered in Fiji and in all honesty nothing seems too much trouble.

Perhaps best described as an adults playground (although we will come back with our kids) there are a vast array of dining options, bars and activities all taking advantage of the unique locale. The food is a story in itself with the Island being largely self sustainable in terms of produce - seeing is believing - this is paddock to plate like I have never seen before - they even cure their own bacon and make their own breakfast sausages. And the list goes on to organic greens and vegetables, eggs and fruits. The level of cuisine is varied and so you never get bored, Asian, Beach BBQ, Fine Dining, casual and of course in Villa. Everything is included so you don't ever think of taking money or even a key.

The Villas and residences are vast and supremely private, stocked with goodies and decorated in a bespoke island style. We spent quite some time researching where we wanted to stay next time - the options are endless.

There is so much to do and so many places to do absolutely nothing. We mountain biked around the island and then retraced by Jet Ski, dived, snorkelled, rode horses on the beach, sailed and only glimpsed the golf course and the other myriad of activities available.

And the Spa is simply incredible - treatment rooms like villas with elevated views over the reef and one of the best massages I have ever had.

So how do we rate it? Off the scale essentially. We are already planning our return...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Jimbob66Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaucalaIsland, General Manager at Laucala Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Jimbob66Sydney,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your recent visit at Laucala Island Resort, Fiji. I am delighted to hear that different aspects of our services and surroundings made such a positive impression on you, during your stay.

I will make sure your kind review is shared among our team and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your entire family to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

What truly defines this place is that no expense has been spared for your comfort and privacy. We have been searching for real reviews for some time now on trip advisor and were reluctant to book Laucala due to this. We took the risk and booked Laucala and we are excited to be the first guests to write a review and share with you our recent week long stay.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the GM and his wife. A very sweet and friendly couple. In the background there were several Fijian men singing and playing their guitar to welcome us. Shortly after a quick chat with the GM, we were taken into a 4wd and driven to our villa. There was no check in process and our keys were waiting for us inside the villa. The rooms are extremely spacious and they have a separate lounge, pool, outdoor bathtub and multiple dining decks. The detail in the rooms is really something that needs to be seen. From carved out stone in the bathroom, to wooden bath tubs, stone lounges, the fittings are amazing. It is earthly, yet modern and urban feel all in one. The villas are extremely private and although there are hardly any other guests on the island the villas are designed to be private.

It is likely that there will be no other guests on the island during your day and if there are, you may not bump into them which has its pros and cons. The resort spans across 4.5km and is widely spread out. You are given your own buggy to drive around and explore at your own leisure. The management at Laucala continued to remind us that they do not want their occupancy to be full, they prefer that guests have their space and privacy. I am not sure if this is really the case, but out of the 32 villas, only 3 others were occupied during our stay. Due to the limited other guests on the resort, the island really feels like your own.

Being on the island gives you the feeling as though you are alone and you can take advantage of the common pool area, gym, beach bar, pool bar, and the several restaurants.

You are spoilt for choice here when it comes to food. The food is spectacular and is of high quality. A quality that you will only find at fine dining award winning restaurants.
What we found amazing was that all the restaurants stay open regardless of how many guests there are. You do not need to book, and you can show up at the pool bar, beach bar, teppanyaki, plantation fine dining restaurant, rock lounge, sea gras restaurant and you will find they are all set up with staff waiting for you. This is the level of service you can expect.

Although there are many activities available the resort is quiet and you can choose to do as much or as little as you like. Some of the activities that you can take advantage of that are included in their price are jet skis, horse riding, golf, knee boarding, windsurfing, water skiing, snorkeling. It was nice to be at a resort that is fully inclusive including some motorized activities.

So in summary here are the pros and cons for this island:

Pros:
• Private dining at the wharf deck was one of our best private dining experiences. We had live music, a chef cooking for us and a large Bon fire burning in the background while we watched the sun set.

•Massages are unbelievable and you can have them at a private beach or in your room if you choose. Make sure you ask for Phoebe as she was amazing and extremely professional.

• The large pool is truly unbelievable. It extends from the pool bar to the beach and is so large that even if there were other guests you can still have your own privacy.

• The views, water and mountains surrounding the island are the best we have experienced in Fiji. The water is a turquoise blue and is truly spectacular.

• Your villa pool area lights up each night with flames ( like Bon Fires) and throughout the restaurants which is a nice touch when you are sipping on cocktails and listening to the waves.

• Food is available any time from any restaurant at your convienance and every venue is set up waiting for someone just to show up.

•For anyone who enjoys their wines and spirits, there is plenty of complimentary quality liquor to choose from daily. Fridge is restocked daily, even if you drink all the complimentary wine, rum, cognac, whiskey. Do not worry as it will be refilled complimentary.

• Dining options are fantastic. You can eat at the fine dining Plantation restaurant which is a 7 course degustation that changes daily. Food is fresh & is seriously amazing here. Other options are: Seagrass restaurant ( Thai based fusion menu) which has unbelievable views and decor. Teppanyaki is a fun night and unique experience and again has amazing views. Dine at the pool bar is lovely and has quality food. You can have a in room villa BBQ that a chef will cook for you.

• Other little touches such as your buggy will be turned around and ready for you when you leave the restaurant. When your room is serviced you will find small cakes and surprises. Laundry is complimentary. Cleaners will immediately leave your room if you come back and start cleaning again once you leave.

Cons:

• Mosquitos come out at night and the flies are around your food during the day. It can get quite annoying trying to eat with so many flies. At sunset you need to put plenty of aero guard on or you will still be bitten. This does not live up to other resorts standards such as in the Maldives whereby they fumigate the island each day to prevent this.

• We were told the snorkeling was amazing, but this was a bit of a joke compared to what we are used to, Australia, Maldives, Bora Bora. We were taken by jet boat to a Reef on a good day and it was a real let down.

• The roads that you drive your buggy on are in a horrific condition. Particularly on the way up to the spa and where the Platue villas reside. By the end of each drive I felt sick from all the bumps, rocks and unevenness.

• The villa manual that is provided in your room lacks information about what dining options are available, such as the wharf dining and private beach picnics. At times we felt that had we known more information about what was available we would have made different arrangements.

No villas have any blinds and the sun wakes you up at 5.30am. We were never informed you could have blinds and again the in villa manual did not notify us this could be possible.

The in room villa manual lacks information that it is preferred to leave your buggy keys in the buggy so that staff can turn it around for you. This is another point we had to figure on our own.

Other resorts we have stayed at have an extremely detailed manual listing all their activies, places to dine, options for spa treatments. How to use certain equipment ect. This just simply is not the case.

• We did find that particular staff from management was a little over the top with their daily and evening greetings. Interrupting you while you are eating to have a conversation about the weather or find out your plans for the following day. Although we appreciate the politeness this seemed to happen quite often and we felt annoyed as we wanted to be left alone to at least finish off our meals. We are super friendly people however even we found it a little intrusive.

• One point that we noticed was that by 7pm at night the resort goes almost pitch black. It felt as though once you finished dinner the mood had changed and it was lights out and go to bed. Other luxury resorts that we have stayed in seem to keep the vibe alive, either by playing live music, having bean bags down at the beach, or movies under the stars. Lighting up the island a little more might help this resort also.

• We found the bathrooms are too dark and the lighting is not sufficient enough for shaving ect or putting make up on.

• The staff are attentive and do their job, however on number of occasions we caught the staff giggling about us and talking to each other very loudly behind the bars. The staff also disclosed inappropriate and confidential information to us regarding the resort and other staff.
We also noticed that several painted red coconuts ( used to indicate you want villa privacy once placed at your front door) would be laying on the road for several days and noone would bother to pick them up. It's the small things that the service is lacking. Management clearly has a big task ahead of them if they want to realize the vision of the owner.

• The resort itself is incredible and the food is amazing, however based on other locations and luxury places we have stayed at, we felt that the resort is definitely over priced.

If the resort prices were in accordance with the islands overall offering and the service improved, then this island would be extremely hard to fault.

The reality is that this resort is a 5star + or even a 6 star.
Would we come back? YES

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank TheGattino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaucalaIsland, General Manager at Laucala Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear TheGattino,

I was delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Laucala Island. It was a great pleasure that I read through your review and I truly appreciate your gracious comments about the property and the services accorded to you by all the staff at Laucala Island.

You would be pleased to read our upcoming plans will certainly address most of your concerns.
We just finished a 3 months project adding more lights in the villa living space (reading lamp, shaving mirror, spots) as well as exterior lighting.
The period from December to April is more prevalent for mosquitos. However we have now appointed a specialized contractor doing pest control on a daily basis with enforcement around the guest’s villas and restaurant.
Few years back a coral bleaching event (El Nino) has killed most of the coral between 0 to 6 meters deep. Compare to some other destination, I can understand it can be disappointing. Fijian underwater world is very interesting and well known for divers. We do offer a variety of 25 dive sites inner reef inclusive in our villa daily rate plus option to go to the White Wall which is, as per many guests dive experts, extraordinary and one of the best diving spot in the world.
From October we will pave the roads with cobble stones. We also just received our new buggies for your comfort.

Our staff and management strive to ensure that each guests stay is magical and wondrous as we can make it, including their privacy needs and requirements, this for us is paramount. Our clientele enjoy the interactions with our staff and we are always mindful to give guests as much space as they need to relax and enjoy their vacation.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to our hotel and thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
Laucala Private Island is unique in terms of space. In a way, guests do not rent a villa but literally rent a whole island with activities from an 18-hole championship golf course to 14 boats for diving/deep sea fishing, 8 horses and many more attractions.
Warmest regards from Laucala Island.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jede Villa ist traumhaft!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank reisespezialistin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Giorgiomotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank paricken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laucala Island
13.9 mi away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#2 of 11 in Taveuni Island
350 reviews
13.4 mi away
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
4.5 mi away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
#1 of 1 in Qamea Island
485 reviews
23573.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
886 reviews
23579.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laucala Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laucala Island Resort

Address: Laucala Island, Laucala Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Laucala Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laucala Island
Price Range: £3,533 - £3,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Laucala Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon 3,500 exclusive acres on its own island in the archipelago of Fiji,Laucala Island brings a new meaning to the term “all-inclusive resort.” Aprivate island resort, Laucala Island is set amidst coconut plantations,sandy beaches, turquoise lagoons, rich green mountains andbreathtaking natural beauty, often drawing comparisons as a veritableGarden of Eden. True luxury is appreciated in the privacy of the resort’s25 villas as well as the freedom to experience a variety of activities,ranging from golf to water sports to beachside horseback riding and more.The resort prides itself on an integral philosophy, incorporating elementsof the entire island into each guest’s experience, and offering productsand ingredients raised and grown on the island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing