We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great escape from Suva” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leleuvia Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleuvia Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great escape from Suva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The resort gets generally good reviews so I wont go over all the good things said about it but will highlight two pluses:

1) Great escape: Most expats head west to Pac Harbour or the Korolevu coast for a weekend break but Leleuvia is far nicer. The western beach is great and more or less swimmable at all tides. It only takes 40 minutes to get from Suva to Bau Landing where you catch the boat to Leleuvia (another 40 minutes) and once there you have already entered a different world from that of Suva. You are also more likely to be out of range of Suva-weather than if you head west anywhere closer than Sigatoka (2 hours away).

1) Service: Despite the natural friendliness and warmth of Fijians, service is usually inefficient, poorly organised and slow in Fiji, partly because many establishments are under-staffed. The service in Leleuvia is a big exception.

Of course, Leleuvia lacks many of the creature comforts of Coral Coast resorts but its beautiful east-facing location means that AC and fans are usually not needed and there are no mosquitoes on the island so you can sleep comfortably with windows open.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    41
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
30
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I came to Leleuvia in mid August 2013 for two marvellous days. Wonderfully helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful island which, God willing, will not disappear beneath the waves. Go there if you can for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My toddler and I recently stayed at Leleuvia, now she's named her baby after the island! We were booked in for 3 nights and extended to a blissful 2 weeks as everything was so effortlessly beautiful and relaxing. Every single staff member was genuinely warm and went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We will be going back ASAP!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Leleuvia resort is placed in this tiny island between Viti Levu and Ovelau, and I am quite sure it came from some dream. The beaches are for another world, so beautiful and crystal clear water. A big plus is that the corals are alive right by the shore - very uncommon nowadays in Fiji.

Snorkeling here is amazing, I spent total of 10 hours snorkeling over the weekend. Saw some pretty rare and interestic sea life.

The bures are clean and honeymoon-ish. Food is very good here and it is included into the package, so no need to but more food.

Staff is unusually professional and very responsible, friendly and timely. Value for the resort is more than reasonable.

Overall, I had a perfect holiday at this island resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

What a fantastic 3 nights we spent at Leleuvia. We could participate in beach activities if we chose, or relax in a hammock reading a book! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food delicious. The snorkelling right off the beach is incredible. My kids (3 and 7) are already asking "when can we go back"! Thanks for a wonderful trip we will never forget.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I went to Leleuvia twice, first for 2 nights and after for 4 nights. I wish I could have stayed longer. I really enjoyed my time there. The staff was really friendly and knew my name the first night. I actually miss them. We had kava a couple of times and the food is absolutely delicious. The snorkeling was amazing. I didn't both snorkeling next to the shore and the snorkeling trip with a boat. I had the chance to see a shark! There is no hot water in the shower, but that wasn't a problem for me. I slept into the dorm and I had the chance to get it all for myself on my two last nights. Thank you to every member of the staff for making my stay so unforgettable. I really fell in love with Leleuvia! :)

Veronika

Room Tip: Dorm is cheaper than bures and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronickaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

A very friendly resort. If you are looking for luxury and a poolside bar, this isnt the place; but if you are after a good family spot its on the money. Accomodation in the beach bures is a traditionally crafted bure. It is the room only - no amenities and shutters as windows. They are close to the beach and you can be lulled to sleep y the sound of waves on the shore just outside your door. Toilets and showers are in the communial facility and are clean - the showers are sun warmed water only - and are separate outdoor style. If you are into being at a small laid back resort, no TV but the stars in the night sky and the local band singing this is a great place. Very friendly staff who remember your name and are pleased to have you there. The water sports equipment was in very food condition. Snorkeling around the island is good - there is a lot of regenerating coral holding small fish plus snorkeling trips furher afield can be arranged. Dont too many people go though 'cos that might spoil it for the rest of us!

Room Tip: Beach front family bures - double bed, single bed & bunks. Other accomodation is pretty basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leleuvia Island
24.7 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
12.9 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
15.8 mi away
Naigani Island Resort
Naigani Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Naigani Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleuvia Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleuvia Island Resort

Property: Leleuvia Island Resort
Address: Lomaiviti Group, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Leleuvia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leleuvia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleuvia Island Resort is situated in the Lomaiviti Group of islands, between the historic chiefly island of Bau and Levuka the first capital of Fiji, 90 minutes travel from Suva and away from the more frequented tourism trails. This resort is a relaxing 35 minute cruise, and a world away from the hustle of the mainland of Viti Levu, and the rest of the world. The island itself is incredibly beautiful and sits atop a marine reserve and boasts some of the best snorkeling in Fiji right off the beach. Romantic and completely refreshing, Leleuvia offers you the chance to experience your very own private island and Fijian cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Leleuvia Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleuvia Island Hotel Leleuvia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing