We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful place i have ever been!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leleuvia Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleuvia Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place i have ever been!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is the most beautiful place I have ever been. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The communal showers and bathroom are very clean and very nice! The private rooms are gorgeous with high ceilings, an amazing fan and RIGHT on the water. You can hear the waves, its so beautiful. It's very well priced here for what you get. The food was the same for everyone, except we had lovo one night which was really good and you could choose your own food. Maybe have more then one option for lunch/dinner meals because a few of us dont like fish and had a hard time with that on our first night as we were having fish.

The beach is the most beautiful warm water I have ever been in my life. All the snorkelling and kayaking is free, and amazing. DO IT! The water is so clear. You can paddle around the island and see the most beautiful sights. I cannot stop talking about how beautiful this island is. Wifi is free, and only available in the bar during bar hours, but it never was disconnected randomly, it was very good signal.

The staff felt very awkward at times though. The bartender I feel did not understand what I was asking most of the time, and drinks took a time to be made. It's not that big of a deal though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rochelleleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    41
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
30
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrnambool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The best place ever. If you dream of a trip to an island well this is it. The palms moving in the wind , the water is so crystal clear and the sea life is awesome. We saw heaps of different types of fish while snorkelling and the sunsets are AWESOME.
It is such a relaxing time on Leleuvia . There are activities you can do ie SUP boards , snorkelling , kayaking and other island day trips.
The Bure's are so cute and they are close to the waters edge, it's everything I thought it would be. I celebrated my birthday while I was there so it was the best birthday ever as I got a cake and there was kava singing and dancing.
The staff were friendly and the meals were great, didn't have to think much at all just what activity to do next. I will go back, loved it.

Room Tip: We had no. 9 and it was fine. There is always a sea breeze where the Bure's are so don't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrnamboolBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Leleuvia Island Resort, like your own Robinson Crusoe experience. Your very own island escape is a 40 minute boat ride from Bau Landing in Nausori Town (30 minutes from Suva close to the airport). Go to Leleuvia for a day or stay for a while, no matter what you do you will love the white sand, turquoise water, and the chance to join a conservation effort while you laze around.
A day trip to the Island includes a return trip on a comfortable speed boat , lunch and use of all water equipment & a bure for the day for around $84 FJ. This friendly island retreat is tiny with a well established restaurant and bar. Think very simple food . If you stay you can choose from a traditional bure on the beach with thatched roof, very basic and simple ($160FJ with breakfast) or backpackers accommodation with breakfast ( $35Fj). There are also meal packages .Here there are no ensuites and no mod cons, it's a tropical basic experience in a cute little cabin with a balcony and a beach.. The bathroom is in a building in the middle of the clearing. It is well kept and clean.
The beauty here though is the white sand beach and the incredible snorkeling. I have never seen so many fish so close to the shore. if you get sick of lazing and eating, drinking walking and swimming you can volunteer to rebuild the reef by planting seaweed or helping with Turtle conservation. Volunteers are welcome in the effort to encourage rebuilding the native Turtle population
This is the place for you if you don't like large impersonal resorts. if you want to get involved in conservation, if you like to get to know other travellers or local people. It brings back memories of Thailand 25 years ago. A very different side to Fiji

Room Tip: Get a bure on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyKitchenStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across Leleuvia whilst staying on Caiqalai Island. Our only regret was we hadn't found out about here sooner.

There were three of us and we stayed in there dorm room which is basic, but it has everything you need, ie a bed. The bathroom is just a short walk away and are lovely, basic but clean and the novelty of the shower shells still makes me smile.

The meals were delicious and the Lovo on the saturday night was one of the best meals I've had since leaving the UK in January. The staff were all fantastic, helpful and there to assist with anything. When we visited it was very quiet, in fact at one point there was only myself and my friend, a couple and a volunteer worker. I was leaving my friend behind as I had a plane to catch and I had no qualms about her being on her own. Turns out she spent a further two weeks there and even had a cake baked for her on her birthday!

Whilst it's not the cheapest place for a backpacker I was immensely impressed by all the extras that were included in the price of the dorm room (I paid $35 FJD a night). This included breakfast, use of snorkelling gear, SUPs (paddle boards), kayaking, volleyball, dragon boat type thing, coral farming, the list goes on. Everywhere else I've stayed you'd have to hire snorkels and find or kayaks etc. Bargain.

The island itself is well maintained, clean and the perfect place to sit back and relax...or get in the water and see some beautiful corals (and fish).

Highly recommended and the next time I visit Fiji it'll definitely be a port of call.

Many thanks to all the staff

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell_Cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Manager at Leleuvia Island Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bula and vinaka for your kind review of Leleuvia. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed our food and our Saturday night traditional "lovo" which will be music to the ears of our hard working kitchen staff. Also glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful coral and fish around the island.
Vinaka vaka levu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

OK, another eco resort but what is the problem with solar heating of water? If you are really keen on mimimising eco footprint where are the solar or wind power options rather than diesel generators?
Really a place to disconnect - although there is free internet the resort is basic in its accommodation and the staff need more training. No side plates for bread and butter at dinner and 'forgetting' to make up the rooms for example.

Windy throughout our stay so difficult to really see the extent of the reef and the fish but the immediate coral round most of the island is dead. The resort apparently plants coral but we could not see it during our stay.

as with all the resorts and hotels the staff are friendly and helpful but this one still needs more work to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: The dorms are separated by sexes and the bures run around what was the windy side of the island duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Manager at Leleuvia Island Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Bula and thank you for your review. Leleuvia has never made itself out to be a Eco Resort nor do we sell our selves as a Eco resort. However we do make every attempt within our means to remain as environmentally friendly as possible including growing our own fruit and vegetables, being very careful with our waste management and looking after our marine environment including policing a "Tabu" or fish ban on our host reef.
The coral planting takes place 10 metres in front of the Jetty so I am not sure why you did not see it as there are currently 5 coral trays 3 metres x 1.5 metres that cannot be missed. The coral around the island is far from dead and is our pride and joy. Since the Tabu was declared by the chief of the area Ratu Epenisa Cakobau, fish variety and numbers have increased 20 fold. We now regularly see octopus, squid, lion fish, turtles and even the shark population has increased which is a sure sign of a healthy marine ecosystem.
The costs of solar for a remote island like Leleuvia outweighs the cost of building all 20 private bure's we built on the island so for now this is beyond our means but remains in our sights for the future.
The bure's have been built using traditional knowledge from building materials mostly sourced from neighbouring islands and were purposely built on the windward side so that they remained cool during the summer months.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful place for a quiet holiday and extremely friendly people, then Leleuvia is the place to be. The food is delicious, the bures are comfortable and the snorkeling, kayaking, SUP, outriggers and island trips to Levuka were great and all the meals are included in the price. EASY. Better than Hawaii. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. A+
Wish we could have stayed another week.

Room Tip: Request the Bures closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Leleuvia Island is so beautiful and combined with the well maintained beautiful facilities, great food and friendly, very capable staff there is nothing you could want for. I appreciated as well that all expenses for meals, internet and use of water sports equipment was all inclusive, easy to budget for expenses. Great place, great staff, great food equal great holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leleuvia Island
24.7 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
12.9 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
#2 of 2 in Waya Lailai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleuvia Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleuvia Island Resort

Property: Leleuvia Island Resort
Address: Lomaiviti Group, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Leleuvia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Leleuvia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleuvia Island Resort is situated in the Lomaiviti Group of islands, between the historic chiefly island of Bau and Levuka the first capital of Fiji, 90 minutes travel from Suva and away from the more frequented tourism trails. This resort is a relaxing 35 minute cruise, and a world away from the hustle of the mainland of Viti Levu, and the rest of the world. The island itself is incredibly beautiful and sits atop a marine reserve and boasts some of the best snorkeling in Fiji right off the beach. Romantic and completely refreshing, Leleuvia offers you the chance to experience your very own private island and Fijian cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Leleuvia Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleuvia Island Hotel Leleuvia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing