We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for Families with toddlers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Malolo. We stayed last year, and liked it so much that we returned again this year. Last year, we stayed in a Deluxe Ocen View bure, which was great, as it had a seperate bedroom, giving us some space away from the kids. This year, we chose to stay in a standard beach front bure, as our daughter was just toilet trained and we knew that we would have to be leaving the door open to our bedroom anyway, so we thought we were better off just saving the money. It was a good choice, as the bure was still spacious, and we still all had our own space. On top of all that, the accommodation itself is beautiful, really tastefully furnished, with enormous verandahs with great lighting, and comfy chairs - great for sitting around in whilst the kids have their daytime naps...whilst we enjoyed bottles of wine and our books / playing cards. So relaxing.

Tia's Treehouse, as the kids club is called, has just been renovated. It is totally awesome. Last year it was good...this year it was fantastic! The staff were amazing, and looked after our 2 kids really well (4 year old boy and 3 year old girl). We had a nanny to accompany our daughter to the kids club, and she was happy to join in the games and activities. The kids club runs from 9am - 9pm, with many different activities thoughout the day to keep them entertained. Some days, our son wanted to go all day! It was hard to get him out of there... our saughter usually went for about 4 hours a day, and seemed extremely happyy with it and never wanted to come home. They even had some off island adventures for the kids, such as a trip to Treasure Island to see the turtles, a trip to the local village to see the school, and a ride on the glass bottom boat to go and see all the coral out the front of the resort. Each night the kids got to have an 'awards ceremony' where they would all be given certificates of participation for joining the activities during the day, and they would give a 'outstanding participation' award away daily, which all the children wanted to win. They absolutely loved it! And it was so cute watching them all get excited about their certificates.

The snorkelling was really good for people who just like an easy snorkel each day. When the kids went off to kids club, we would get on our snorkelling gear, and have a lazy snorkel around. We even saw an octopus, and several Rays. It was super cool.

There are 3 choices for where to eat dinner. There is an adults only restaurant, which has lovely views but is only open at night. We used this a bit, as it was a bit more 'romantic'. Then there was a buffet restaurant, which also offered a la carte, and also the beach bar - offering more casual dining. The food is generally very good for Fiji, and we had some great meals. Although, some meals could have been a bit better. We still did not mind though as generally it was great. Breakfast was a buffet, of good quality and variety, and lunch you could get from the beach bar or the terrace restaurant.

We loved Malolo. We will definitely return, and would encourage all other families with young children to choose it as your Fiji island holiday. It is safe for the children and small, all the staff know you by name, and it really does feel like a home away from home. Well done Malolo!

Room Tip: If you have 3 kids, there are great family bures, which have 2 bedrooms and are extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jenni216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We recently spent 6 nights on Malolo. What a beautiful resort. Very rustic, real sand between the toes stuff. But very nice. We have also been to Castaway Island twice before so we were keen to try somewhere new. We have a 12, 11 and 5 year old.

Bures: The bures at Malolo are just lovely. We had Bure nbr 3 (Family bure) which was enormous. 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds and 3 singles. A great lounge/living area and a lovely verandah with an outdoor lounge setting with table. It was great! The bathrooms are not modern by any means, but are clean and adequate. Only a shower (no shower screen) with a handheld shower head....no bath! Compared to the rest of the bure the bathroom would be the let down....but still satisfactory. Four Air Cons and plenty of fans. The bures are all light and bright....painted in white with white timber venetians.
The Bures at Castaway are much more traditional. They are clean and comfortable but no where near as spacious. They are alot darker...not alot of light.

Food: We found the food on Malolo to be a little hit and miss. Some nights great others just OK. We had some wonderful buffets at Malolo. We found this the same on Castaway. The breakfast and lunch buffets were better on Castaway.

Activities: Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling, parasailing etc all about the same. However, we wanted to go for a long walk on Malolo. Not really possible. They had some rain and so the track up the mountain was impossible. You felt a little more hemmed in on Malolo. Castaway offer walking tracks all over the island.

Pools: Both islands have an adult and a kids pool. Malolo ones are just ok. The new kids one at Castaway is attached to a great cafe which was handy.


Kids club: Was good on Malolo although really only geared to the younger ones. Our 5 year old wanted to be there 24/7 but our older ones were VERY bored. Not much for them to do. They preferred to hang with us. More on offer at Castaway for all ages. Staff at Castaway get very involved with kids of all ages. Beach games, bon fires, frog hunts etc!!!

We preferred the lagoon at Castaway....it was better for swimming and snorkelling. Malolo is more exposed, not as protected as the lagoon side at Castaway.

Our personal preference: We prefer Castaway. It is a larger resort but there is more to do for all of us. Bures are the let down on Castaway.

The fijians are the most wonderful race. They are the most genuine, loving and happy people!!! You will feel you are part of their family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Coastal-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this resort over the week of new year's this year and stayed with my fiance for five nights. It was extremely relaxing but plenty of activities, sun and other guests to keep us entertained. Five nights was probably enough time to spend though.
The new years party was lots of fun (evidenced by the fact that I lost a day of the holiday spending most of it in bed on new year's day!)
Though we were travelling as a couple and we were on a "family friendly" island, there was an adults only restaurant and the resort certainly wasn't teeming with children and they were in the kid's club for most of the day anyway.
Food at the beach bar was great - better than the other two restaurants in my opinion (though the pasta night was awesome too). Great cocktails as well.
Rooms were beautiful (but no TV - we brought our laptop along to watch movies at night :p)
Definitely worth getting off the mainland and spending a few days on the Mamanucas. We had amazing weather while it was raining on the mainland.
Pretty pricey compared to SE Asia but if you are after a relaxing tropical island this is it.
We were a bit disappointed with the reception staff though as we left our hats on the ferry and asked reception to chase it up and gave them our room number, however they never got back to us - on our return ferry trip we asked the cabin lady if our hats were still there and she said she had given them to the resort (and they never let us know about it!!) so that was strange. Drinks and table service at the beach bar also took a while, but we were in Fiji so weren't in a hurry!!

Room Tip: all rooms are great - they are all pretty much on the waterfront. If you want a bit more of a peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed for 8 nights at Malolo in April 2012 with our 4 yr old daughter. After 8 days on an island I am usually ready to leave but not at Malolo - I could have stayed another week easily.

The resort is small and well laid out. The Bure's are all laid out along the beach front and most have a view of the ocean. Some are clustered together but don't look out onto each other. The rooms are spotlessly clean, air-conditioned and very comfortable. There is no TV or phone and the although there is WiFi at the shop and Beach bar, it is slow.

The resort itself is very laid-back. Don't bother packing shoes - you won't need them here! The restaurants are very reasonably priced and the range of food is good. Food quality is pretty good although more fresh fruit wouldn't go a miss. Drinks are very cheap during happy hour at the beach bar. We didn't take the all-inclusive package and ended up spending about half what we would have spent for the package.

The staff at the resort take the place to a whole new level not seen on the mainland. They are without exception always smiling and being a small resort get to know you by name which makes it all the more personal. The Kids Club was still being renovated while we were there but our daughter loved spending time with the Club staff. Always off exploring the beach or making something. The kids club is open late which meant that we could enjoy happy hour at the Beach Bar while all the kids played games on the beach while being supervised.

The activities are endless: Scuba diving, sailing, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkelling off the beach. If you've stayed at Denarau, you won't recognise the water here - crystal clear, 26c and teeming with fish and coral. Apart from Scuba and jet-skis, all the water activities are free. There are 2 nice pools at the resort but we hardly used them preferring the ocean.

There is nothing to fault at Malolo. For a relaxed family holiday with amazing water, lots of activities and the friendliest staff, you can't go past Malolo. We're already planning our holiday for next year.

Room Tip: The resort doesn't take room requests before arrival. If you can get it, Bure 31 has the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Manly-sider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in November, 2011. They were amazing from the start - Air Pacific mucked us around a little and we arrived in Nadi 12 hours late and ended up missing the last transfers for the night and were told to stay on the main land. We didn't want to do this and when we contact the resort to see what our options were, they arranged a speed boat transfer for us immediately. They welcomed us off the boat with a welcome drink. Our room (deluxe ocean view) was amazing. Right on the water, clean, private, spacious and fantastic view, especially at sunset! Every day they would come and give us a list of activities for the next day. We took part in most of them as the staff there are amazing and so much fun. There is also waterspouts, kayaking, paddle boating, wind surfing, all free of use. My top tip is to take the kayaks out to a little beach island that is about 250 metres from the island. Great to sit out there alone and look at the surrounding islands, absolute serenity! Everyone is so friendly. Food was great, including themed and BBQ nights where buffets were served. I'd recommend the meal plans. We had this and it just made things so much easier, we never had to worry, just turn up when we were hungry! We never noticed the children around the resort as they are off all day with the kids club doing various activities. There were plenty of hammocks lining the beaches to relax in every night and snorkelling was fantastic, especially under the pier right in front of the beach bar! Huge schools of fish arrive here. There were two weddings while we were there which were beautiful but separate so that we were no disturbed by them. Cannot fault this place at it! It was a true paradise and I am already planning my return! Please do not hesitate to book!

Room Tip: stay in room 27 - one of the closest to the water, far from all the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ch4ntelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just returned from 5 nights on Malolo and had an amazing time. I had requested a quieter room, but unfortunately there weren't any available, and we were in the room closest to the beach bar. However, after the initial shock, it was a great place to be, not too noisy at all. Infact sitting outside listening to the music and activity was great, so if you end up in one of the closest rooms, they are still great. The room itself was one of the best that I have stayed in. There is plenty of room for a family of 4, and lots of little touches like hooks to hang towels and togs that make it so much easier. My two girls enjoyed the kids club, and it was nice and casual and they came and went as much as they liked. I also liked that they played games on the beach in the evening, and you could watch from the beach bar. The cocktails are really fantastic also - especially the coco-mojito which is amazing. The one thing that I found disappointing, and thus didn't give 5 stars, was the overall quality of the food. In general it was very hit and miss. We only had breakfast twice and things had run out and were very slow to be replaced (20mins for the pancakes!). Also we had a fairly average dinner at the beach bar (steak) but the pizza was quite nice, and the beach barbeque buffet on the Wednesday was really pretty bad. However, in saying that, the lovo feast was very nice. My recommendation is that if you don't want to have a huge breakfast, take cereal with you and sit out watching the ocean - we did this the rest of the time and enjoyed it greatly. You can buy milk from the little shop on Malolo. The Wednesday night buffet is a bit harder to avoid as that is the only option, unless you order from the beach bar lunch menu before 4pm!

Overall it was an amazing place to stay, the staff were great, and my kids did love swimming in the pool as well as in the ocean.

Room Tip: Take some cereal if you want to have a lighter breakfast, and stock up on water and snacks on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kiwitraveller004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you are looking for a nice relaxing family holiday then this could well be the place for you.

The staff are excellent all around the result, special mention to Freddie and Tima in the kids club, you know that your children liked it when upon leaving the tears start to flow.

The water off the resort is good for snorkeling, but would suggest you stay away from the pools as they are heavily clorinated and the water is very warm, not exactly refreshing. Either way the ocean is so nice there is not much reason to use them unless you have very small kids.

Although it would cost quite a bit of money the pools seem wasted where they are especiall the adults pool, it just seems out of the way and i never saw anyone in it, if it was closer to the beach or on the edge of sand then i think with the swim up bar it would be a winner.

Pros:

All the food was very good for a 4 star resort, some of the dishes were excellent.
Drinks were all well priced.
Beach is nice and plenty of activities to keep you busy.
Bures are as new and keep very clean, you dont really need to pay for an ocean front room as they all face the ocean and are a stones throw from the waters edge.
The spa is very quaint but also very good - check it out.

Cons:

A place to dry your clothes, with the bures facing west it is hard expecially on a rainy day to get anything dry - its very minor but a dryer for the guests would help.
All the orders taken for food or drinks or activities are all hand written, they do not have any electronic method to take your order -so - have a good look at the bill before you head off. It should be noted that ours was 100% correct but a paper system could lead to errors being made.

All in all we would go back to Malolo in a heart beat, it is place you could go and pretty much guarantee that you will have enjoy your holiday, can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: All rooms facde the ocean, some are 10 metres from the sand others are 15 metres from the sand, cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hazandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
0 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
762 reviews
0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
905 reviews
0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: £292 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing