We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful waters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful waters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Visited Malolo for a family wedding, stayed 7 days. Tropical paradise to be married and for a relaxing holiday.Stayed in Bure 16 which had a wonderful unobstructed outlook across the beautiful blue green warm ocean.
Bure's are clean and spacious with lovely linen on the beds, separate bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, air con. Veranda has plenty of seating ,loved sitting out here to see the sun rise and set,accompanied by cute gecko's scrambling for a feed. Loungers are set on the sand and hammocks are placed between the trees for relaxing on.Beach towels are provided.

Water sports are plenty with eqipment well maintained,used the kyaks. paddle boards and hobie cat sailing dinghy.Snorkel, mask and flippers are complimentary however I took my own.
Snorkling from the beach was awesome wih plenty of coral and different fish.Would recommend a snorkel trip away to Castaway wall which is for 1 hr and approx 10 min by boat.The reef here has a deep drop off with valleys with more colourful and different corals plus more fish life.

Malolo is a small resort so not a large area to explore on foot if you are active and like walking.There is a circuit walk up to Jonahs lookout and down through the mangroves back to reception which takes about 20 min. Walking along the beach just 5 minutes.

Food was delicious and well presented with a selection of 3 areas to dine from, the beach bar being the most popular as it has the best atmosphere and beside the water. The menu here dosn't change so after 7 days it could become repititious.

Each day a blackboard near the beachbar offers the days organized events that you can join if you desire.I enjoyed Bills cooking lesson on the beach ,fish cooked over an open fire, very yummy.

Staff are very friendly ,helpful and happy and some remember your name which is amazing when there are so many people staying.
The live band is awesome and adds to the paradise ambience as they play throughout lunch and dinner.

Malolo is a beautiful peaceful getaway island to unwind and enjoy watersports or read a book or two.I would visit again.

Room Tip: Bure 15 and 16 fantastic outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    146
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
422
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely place to visit, can't afford to stay there.
Being elderly it was difficult to walk on the shelly sand to our room which seemed to be in outer Siberia. We tried very hard not to have to go back very often.
The AC didn't work well and it was very humid when we were there.
2 slushies for my grandsons cost $Fj 26. Everything was expensive from the cost of the accommodation to the items at the bar. The selection of food was good. Very fresh. The cocktails were needed to relieve the boredom. If you're not interested in water sports there's nothing else to do.

Room Tip: One near the administration building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Malolo island resort is the perfect place to sit relax and unwind and I highly recommend this island. All of the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The food was great, the egg chef was amazing, I had the best massage ever and went scuba diving for the first time and throughly enjoyed myself. Jim the diving instructor was very patient and calming which is exactly what I needed and the dive didn't cost very much. We enjoyed free snorkeling out the front of our bure and the other free activities like canoeing to other islands. We aren't big eaters (just 1 meal breakfast, lunch and dinner) so we didn't get the food package. You can stay there and not spend a fortune it just depends on what optional extras you like to do. I read some of the below negative comments and cannot understand what people will complain about. We weren't concerned about personally meeting the manager nor have I ever been concerned about stuff like that when I go on holidays. The Fijian staff make you feel welcome and are lovely happy people. Some couples that we met over there who had kids hired nannies for a few hours each day which was a cheap hourly rate and said that they were brilliant. Or they also had the kids club which the kids looked like they were having a ball.
We went to stay at a very popular well known hotel in Denarau after our stay at Malolo and we were disappointed and wanted to return to Malolo. You'll be surprised that the price for a bottle of water on the island was cheaper than a bottle of water at a resort in Denarau. Also you can drink the water. They have signs everywhere saying that it's safe to drink the water so we did and didn't have any issues.
All in all if you want to have a nice peaceful relaxing holiday I'd go to Malolo and stay away from Denarau.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Malolo is a great island with a good beach and just 40mins by South Sea Ferries from Denarau. The resort was refurbished in 2010 and feels fresh. The bures are excellent, the food great and the beach bar superb. staff are friendly and happy. Plenty of on island and offshore activities on offer if unwinding does not hit you first

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our family has been here several times. We fly into Nadi and then opt for the seaplane, which reduces the time to the resort to 15 minutes (as opposed to a 1 hour+ launch from Denarau Marina, which itself it 30 minutes from the airport).

Wonderful resort, staffed by wonderful people. Food is excellent, and well above normal "Fiji resort" standards. We recommend the all-inclusive package as you will find the temptation to order a pizza from the beach bar all too tempting!

Get involved in all the activities, even if they sound "daggy" at first. Cava ceremony is a great way to get into the spirit of things, and a great way to meet other guests and the staff. Crab racing is a must, but here's a secret: bid hard on the first crab, as the prices generally go up (last time I opened the bidding at FJD 50 which won the first crab, and surprised everyone with the ferocity of my bidding! - but crabs 2 through 8 went for between 60 and 100 each!).

Kids club is wonderful. Not so much for the facilities, but the people (like Ala, who has a heart of gold). Activities are fun for the kids - coconut painting, coconut boat building, and t-shirt painting. We actually found that spending time with our son at the kids club was the best thing we did.

The spa is wonderful, but book in advance or as soon as you arrive, as booking on the day just won't bring any joy.

Prices have gone up considerably since it reopened in August this year (following the cyclone last December), and this will put a lot of people off. Perhaps best to wait until the backlog of bookings settles down before booking, but would recommend that you book at least 3-4 months before hand to avoid disappointment.

Rooms: normal rooms will sleep 4, but would recommend a Deluxe room for more comfort. Family Bure's are a bit over the top and not really needed for smaller families, and in any case you will find that you will spend most time out the front of your bure, on the beach or elsewhere.

Great excursions. Try the kids club trip to Treasure Island (to see the turtles), and the kids club trip to the local school - a real eye opener. Try local fishing: they will take you out in a small boat (tinny) for 60 minutes for around $30 for a family, and you can drop a line over the side. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe room about half way along the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Malolo island resort and spa was AMAZING, enjoyed everything was good, food, rooms and service the view from my room was amazingggg. thank you and BULA !1 :) i will definartely go back there again, hahaihduinhuiysndbgugcybgdhbdybdhdbcydbcdhsigdyirtsjcvshcyrvcjhsvcjhdvchdcvdgcvdgcdvcdgcvdgcvdgcvdgcvdgcvdgcvdcgv

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We highly recommend this resort. The food was great (exceptional buffet - thanks chef!), the staff so kind, wonderful kids club offering a variety of fun activities for the kids, great water sports options and lovely spa. Bure was very clean and well maintained.

Perfect for families of all ages. There truly is something to do for everyone. From the games of volley ball and touch footy against the staff to crab racing at the Beach Bar - it was great.

Thank you to all of the staff at Malolo, we have such wonderful memories of our trip. Live musicians on the island are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing