We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Mamanucas ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malolo Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best resort in Mamanucas ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Forget the rest this is the best!
Go see other islands but stay at Malolo
Malolo gives you the hospitality, friendship and not to mention the love!
We have never in all our travels experienced such high quality service across all areas of a resort before there is a certain kind of magic happening at Malolo we will see you soon
Vinaka
Andy Chrissy and "Princess Tilly"

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ChrissyTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    146
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
422
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Mololo Island has four resorts and one of them is Mololo Resort. This five star resort is by far the best resort for people with kids all ages. Our five year old loved it! Kids are entertained from 9 am to 9 pm in the kid's club including lunches and dinners for kids.The Fiji ladies in the kid's club are fantastic. It was safe and fun for kids. On the other hand adults are free while kids are in the club to do the endless variety of water sports, trips, quiet time by the beach or pool, massages and dinning in the adults restaurant or by the beach. Rooms are gorgeous, clean, private and right on the beach with the view to the blue lagoon! Food is great, the head chef is an award winner guy from South Africa and his pastry chef wife. We will go back again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the last few rooms along the beach are 5 min walk from the main building, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I cant speak highly enough of the experience My Family had at Malolo Island resort. Stayed in the Ocean View Bure very well equiped, great air conditioning which meant we slept like a baby.
We paid for the Meal Package before we went so only had to pay for Beverage and activities on leaving. Found this to be good value. Im a surfer and had great access to Cloudbreak although at $125 Fijian was a expensive. The staff attitude is amazing and they really treat you like family. Kids Club was great for our 7 year and he made heaps of friends. Drinks prices were reasonable with cocktails around $20 Fijian or $12 AUS. Free Water sports were great. Find it very hard to fault and truely was an exceptional holiday. Spent 5 night here and then 5 nights at the Outrigger FIJI which was nice but doesn't compare to Malolo. You get what you pay for I guess.

Room Tip: Bures 10 to 16 are perfectly postioned for Familys. Still close to everything but far enough away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We, family of 4 (kids aged 10 and 12), stayed in Delax Ocean View Bure in Nov 2013 for a week.
Only difference between ocean view bure and Delax ocean view bure is the size of the living room. They are located next each other and location-wise it doesn't make any difference. Some Ocean view bure could be closer to the beach than the some of Delax Ocean view bure. We didn't know and wanted to stay ocean front room, but the smaller one is big enough for a family of four with equally nice ocean front.
As it was rather quiet season, food option was limited. Main restaurant (TREE TOP) is only for grown ups and can't take kids with, so we didn't go. Beach bar is OK, but the portion is very small for kids menu and it wasn't enough for our kids. Buffet Breakfast F$36 for adult and half for kid, F$65 for dinner buffet for adult and a half for kid were seemed to be too expensive for the variety and quality of the food we got. Any expense on the island, expect pay additional 15% tax at the end. So food and drink are expensive. A slushy for kids F$18 each..... Happy hour beer was the only inexpensive drink(F$4).
Tap water is drinkable, though some days it tasted like chlorine, most of the time it was OK and none of us had any tummy issue. Due to unstable power supply, our camera didn't charge properly.
As the resort is located on the narrow strip between the beach and the hill behind, all rooms are located close to the beach and nice. Snorkel off the beach was better than the one at Plantation island or Mana Island. Water colour is not as blue as I expected off the beach, but a little island within Kayak distance has wonderful turquoise blue colour water all around.

Rooms are all very new and clean and well equipped. Overall we had a great time, but compare to other islands in Fiji, it was expensive for what you get. and we heard they are raising the price next year again.

Many areas are adults only(adults only swimming pool, restaurant, relaxing area, libuary...), maybe they want to make it more for grown up only resort. So not so good for a family with kids.

Room Tip: Can't choose room. Most of them are close to the beach. Ocean View Bure and Delax Ocean view bur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomoko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a lovely time during our 6 night stay at Malolo Island Resort but we won't be returning. This was a once in a lifetime trip for our family and I'm afraid it didn't live up to our expectations. There are a number of reasons for this.

We are a family of 6 and travelling is always going to be expensive for us but having to spend almost $1000 a night just for our accommodation is way over the top! We had just come off the Captain Cook 7 night cruise where everything other than our drinks was included. At Malolo I felt as if we were putting our hands into our wallets every 5 seconds - it wasn't just the accommodation that was expensive - the meal plans aren't cheap and neither are the activities.

This resort really does only cater for younger children. There is very little for older kids and teens to do. The children's pool is small and filled with toddlers and pre-schoolers. The adult pool is strictly off limits to teens. The whole time we were there we saw one adult swim in the pool. It was left idle most of the time and this was very disappointing for our teens who were still not allowed to swim in it! Most of the activities on the island are centred around entertaining smaller children.

Also, whilst we were there it was very windy and the resort didn't offer much protection from the wind other than by the pool. This area is not particularly big and when everyone is trying to escape the wind from the beach (which is very exposed) this means that there isn't much room around the pool area.

We also found that the beach bar area just isn't large enough - there were often people standing around waiting to pounce on a table. There were also not enough tables in the shade or under cover to offer protection from wind/rain. I agree with a previous reviewer that the arrivals bure sat idle throughout most of the day and was not a particularly good use of space - particularly when so many families were searching for a spot to eat and drink at the beach bar.

The meals at the Treetops restaurant were delicious and we would definitely recommend eating there. The kids eat free meals were very basic and it was a shame that they couldn't eat at the beach bar as this made it very difficult for our family to eat meals together.

Overall, we did love our holiday at Malolo but we will not return. The snorkelling, service, value for money and broad range of activities was so much better on our cruise (see other review) and it catered for all members of the family - not just the young ones.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Meagan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited Malolo the first week of the re opening this year (folks arriving from different locations totalling 12) My brother and his family had visited a few times before and had raved about it. Firstly,the tide cycle was not on our side and beach access to the reef was not good. When there was access it was not great... Rooms were comfy but we felt they missed the point. A motel 6 in the middle of the ocean. Breakfast was very good the other dining options not so, especially the main dining restaurant which was expensive, small portions and mediocre service. Limited services (maybe because of the recent reopening) we felt the resort was disjointed. Fortunately, we had a charter boat daily for excursions otherwise, it would have been difficult for our group to stay the week in the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Visited Malolo for a family wedding, stayed 7 days. Tropical paradise to be married and for a relaxing holiday.Stayed in Bure 16 which had a wonderful unobstructed outlook across the beautiful blue green warm ocean.
Bure's are clean and spacious with lovely linen on the beds, separate bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, air con. Veranda has plenty of seating ,loved sitting out here to see the sun rise and set,accompanied by cute gecko's scrambling for a feed. Loungers are set on the sand and hammocks are placed between the trees for relaxing on.Beach towels are provided.

Water sports are plenty with eqipment well maintained,used the kyaks. paddle boards and hobie cat sailing dinghy.Snorkel, mask and flippers are complimentary however I took my own.
Snorkling from the beach was awesome wih plenty of coral and different fish.Would recommend a snorkel trip away to Castaway wall which is for 1 hr and approx 10 min by boat.The reef here has a deep drop off with valleys with more colourful and different corals plus more fish life.

Malolo is a small resort so not a large area to explore on foot if you are active and like walking.There is a circuit walk up to Jonahs lookout and down through the mangroves back to reception which takes about 20 min. Walking along the beach just 5 minutes.

Food was delicious and well presented with a selection of 3 areas to dine from, the beach bar being the most popular as it has the best atmosphere and beside the water. The menu here dosn't change so after 7 days it could become repititious.

Each day a blackboard near the beachbar offers the days organized events that you can join if you desire.I enjoyed Bills cooking lesson on the beach ,fish cooked over an open fire, very yummy.

Staff are very friendly ,helpful and happy and some remember your name which is amazing when there are so many people staying.
The live band is awesome and adds to the paradise ambience as they play throughout lunch and dinner.

Malolo is a beautiful peaceful getaway island to unwind and enjoy watersports or read a book or two.I would visit again.

Room Tip: Bure 15 and 16 fantastic outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
3.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malolo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malolo Island Resort

Property: Malolo Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, 0000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malolo Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malolo is an intimate, rustic resort. It's about a bure near the beach, surrounded by the world's friendliest people with a living and authentic culture. You will be served by the descendants of villagers who have lived there for thousands of years, offering true Fijian hospitality. Perfect for families and couples alike, at Malolo, you can fill your day with a myriad of activities or simply unwind and do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malolo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malolo Island Hotel Malolo Island
Fiji Malolo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing