We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malolo Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tropica Island Resort(Malolo Island)
US$776
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$653
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Likuliku Lagoon Resort(Malolo Island)
US$1,131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,062
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Six Senses Fiji(Malolo Island)
US$976
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$930
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Musket Cove Island Resort & Marina(Malolo Lailai Island)(Great Value!)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Castaway Island Fiji(Castaway Island (Qalito))
US$814
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,089
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lomani Island Resort(Malolo Lailai Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Matamanoa Island Resort(Matamanoa Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bounty Island Resort(Bounty Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
539
159
27
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
159
27
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubbeach bartreetops restaurantmeal plankids poolkids eat freefamily holidaydeluxe oceanview burefishbanana boat ridelocal schoololder kidscastaway wallhappy hourocean viewmeal packagecrab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Still a great resort, and still the best family resort around.

Some good and some bad things since the upgrade took place (our last stay being two years ago, and before the recent upgrade).

The good. Restaurants are noticeably better, and the food has been cranked up a notch. That said, unless you know that there are two kids menus (the normal kids menu, and the "kids club" menu) you could be forgiven for thinking that there is limited choice for the kids. Ask to see the kids club menu (which requires advance orders) as it doubles your choices.

Same applies at the beach bar. The standard menu gets a bit boring by about day four - but ask about the "bar snacks menu" which isn't on display.

Kids club is wonderful, and you need to "get involved" to appreciate it. Be a dag, and get the kids involved in "Coconut Day" from the outset (9:30) until then close of the day. Timah and Ala are wonderful with the kids. Don't fret if it feels slightly disorganised - those ladies know what they are doing and the kids will have a great time. Best for kids aged 5 to 10.

Activities are what you make of them. Beach activities are great - but you do need to ask them if you want to do something: they will drag out the catamarans and the banana boat ride if you ask, and you can arrange handling fishing if you request it. Prices of some activities (power boat ones) have increased though, and I think Malolo needs to have a rethink on its pricing. The fact that no one uses the jet skis should tell them that they are over priced!

Freddy and the activities team are still great, and crab racing still the highlight. Lack of a lawn-side cava ceremony (which has been replaced by a less personal cava tasting on Saturday evening) is a sad loss, and hopefully in time Malolo will reinstate this.

Bures are all still good, although they have built a new family bure two-thirds the way down the beach which creates an over-crowding situation at that point. Always ask for a bure to the West of the bar, as those behind the beach activities centre are not ideally located. One criticism here (Malolo - if you are listening - the mattresses are too soft: and guests in other bures made the same comment. Not sure what can be done with that).

One major criticism is price, which has increased around 30% since the refurbishment, and the employees will happily tell you it is to recoup the costs of that refit. With this in mind, always opt for the full board package (all meals) as you will regret it (financially) if you don't.

We will be back (for stay number four) when we can afford it. Vinaka Malolo!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the West of the bar, but not too close (half way along the beach is best).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sydneytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here in Ocenview Bure with the kids, 2 and 7 yo, and absolutely loved it. It's a perfect little family resort. The room was comfortable and spacious, very well designed.
The beach was great, best in the afternoons and sunsets. It is mostly coral sand, so reef shoes would be handy (we didn't have any and were fine). The water is absolutely pristine and perfect for snorkeling. On your first day you can collect free snorkeling gear and keep it for the duration of your stay. There were many other free water activities and equipment was great and in good repair. I would recommend kayaking to the little rocky island across the lagoon, some great snorkeling sites around there.
The food and restaurants choices were amazing. We took out a meal plan, which I think is better option and with the choices offered is quite reasonably priced. Treetops restaurant is a must, fine dining at it's best. We loved the relaxed feel of the beach bar and the breakfast buffet at the Terrace restaurant was just great. The food was fresh, tasty and we were spoiled for choice.
We really liked the idea of the separate, yet so close, kids and adults pools. We usually hit the pool in the morning and the beach in the afternoon, as the pools ended up being in the shade for most of the afternoon.
Spa treatment is a must, Eta will make you feel so welcome and relaxed. She truly has golden hands.
Mili and the staff at the kids club deserve a special mention. They really are all about the little ones. The kids absolutely loved playing here and doing the activities. Each day has been carefully planned with activities, including line fishing out on the boat or coral and fish viewing from the glass bottomed boat. I can not thank them enough for making the kids feel so special and so well taken care of.
And each night, the amazing and very talented music trio will make your dinner that extra special, with some amazing tunes and great voices. Boys, you were truly special.
If I had to be picky, the only fault would be the sun beds (at the beach and kids pool)... not the most comfortable beds, but no big deal (when everything else was just perfect).
We also went for a walk to one of the lookouts behind the resort, which I would highly recommend. Got a glimpse of the rest of the island and took some great shots of the lagoon and surrounding islands.
Each and every staff member was beyond welcoming and helpful, a true Fijian hospitality. We loved every minute of our stay and hope to be back next year with our friends and family for my husband's 40th birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cLeo140878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was very happy with this resort. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The food was great. Even though I do not have kids I really noticed how loving and caring the babysitters where. When I have a family I will bring them back here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Pier are Quite but a 5 minute walk to the restaurants/bars/pools/activities
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just back from a week at Malolo and the resort was perfect for our family holiday. We were after a top end resort that had good, safe snorkelling off the beach. It was superb! The tide does not go out too far, and we snorkelled at all tides. At low tide entry off the jetty was best to avoid any coral damage from the beach, and the fish life at the jetty was abundant!!! There was a drop off to swim along, and loads to see. Corals were great, and fish diverse. We saw lion fish, octopus, string ray, nemo and friends plus loads more.
We also went on a trip to castaway wall which would have been great it wasn't so rough, the dive here was ok, but not up to normal Fiji standard - (probably a better snorkel site). The free loan snorkel gear is plentiful and good quality. (No need to take your own)
The resort has plenty of water activities with kayaks, paddle boards and a catamaran available free, including tuition. There is also skiing, knee boarding, banana boat rides and trips to the local village and school.
The staff are great, our bure was lovely, and spacious, and although we had a deluxe ocean view, as stated all bures are ocean view and close to the beach. One downside is they are very close to each other, and are actually grouped in 2's and the adjoining wall not very soundproof.
The resort is the only place to eat, and the nearby adult only sister resort is out of bounds for walking, snorkelling and eating.
The crab racing on Wednesday night was excellent entertainment!!
Overall - a great resort, great activities and staff, = an awesome holiday. Thank you Malolo!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murray_sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We loved it! Very romantic, secluded, and beautiful. We hired a local to give a boat tour which was great and we saw lots of dolphin and other wildlife. Arrival was great and there's nothing we can say bad about this place. Get there, relax, and take a kayak to the other islands.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NCNJM d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews