We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tropica Island Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropica Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tropica Island Resort”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a beautiful, relaxing and friendly place Tropica is. The staff were amazing - we could hear them singing on the jetty as our boat approached with their traditional welcome song. We stayed in a beach bure which was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything you could need, including a great outdoor shower.
The food is great, offering a different menu every night. Every evening over dinner we had entertainment from the amazing Sonny (and the other name I forget). By the end of the evening, almost all of the staff came to join in and even the guests were encouraged to sing and dance. Such great fun,
Days were spent lazing by the infinity pool, or having a little exercise by taking the catamaran out and snorkelling.
Our trip to Fiji could not have been more perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelannajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    101
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
442
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just got home from an amazing 7 days in Tropica Island Resort! We were greeted by the friendly staff singing their welcome song, waiting to collect our luggage and take us to our beachfront bure. The bure was perfect, right on the beach, clean and cosy. There was a point where we had the whole resort to ourselves for a day or so, where the staff went out of their way to make our trip as awesome as possible, including setting up a private romantic meal on the end of the jetti at sunset. Each night they would sing songs and involve everyone in the fun. Our day times involved massages, cocktails, coconut cutting and tasting, taking the catamaran out to sea, and much more. Everything is clean and the staff are constantly working to make it all perfect. Our trip was finished by a helicopter ride to the airport. By the end of the trip we left feeling like we have made some special friends, and would happy go back again. Special thanks to Misi, Marisi, Sawani, Isoa, Eli, and Cathy. You guys made our honeymoon. Kerry & Bobby

Room Tip: Definitely go for a beach front bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the moment you arrive to hear the staff singing you know that this resort is going to be great and we were definitely not disappointed. We spent a week at this resort in a beachfront bure as part of our honeymoon in Fiji and I wish we booked longer!

We traveled in the second week of February 2014 and there were no more than 8 guests and often less at this hotel during our stay which made the service feel very personal. The staff are all sensational and can often be seen singing, dancing and having a joke around which honestly makes the resort an absolute joy to be around.

We chose to have the meal plan option which will definitely ensure you don't go hungry. The food is absolutely wonderful and the flavors were fantastic.

The resort had kayaks, sail boats and snorkeling if you decide you want to do something but obviously it is a lovely spot just to do nothing but relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had the most wonderful week of our lives at Tropica in early February. For a few nights we had the resort to ourselves and the staff really spoiled us. I can't say enough great things about Tropica. It was magical, wonderful, and everything we have dreamed of in a holiday. The weather was fantastic and the snorkelling was a delight.
Thanks to all the wonderful staff especially Sam and Ili and to Leba who is in charge of the resort.
We will treasure our special memories and return again soon.

Room Tip: The beach front bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Tropica Island Resort in january 2014 as part of a much longer holiday and we really loved it. Its actually quite hard to write a review when there is absolutely nothing to complain about and we seriously considered changing our remaining holiday plans to make more time to stay at Tropica.

Our room was huge and very clean and the outdoor showers delightful. We had a small garden seperating us from the beach and the most amazing sunrises you can imagine. The whole resort is beautifully designed and looked after.

The food is lovely and skillfully varied. As there are no options of popping to another restaurant to eat (at least not without a canoe and paddle), the quality of the menu becomes really important and I must say that the food did not disappoint. A minor point that a more varied bread selection for breakfast could be good but what we had served was fantastic.

The staff were so lovely. We had to leave at 5am and staff got out of bed early to make sure we were up and to sing us a farewell song

We were there during a quiet period of the season but we did not feel isolated or bored.

Thank you Tropica for a great time

Room Tip: The beach bures were fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama.
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

while working on Malolo island ,I had the pleasure and when I say that its a big word to use in Fiji, somethings can be alot less pleasurable than you like.of visiting Tropica, mostly for meals as I was staying at the Funky fish (also known as the Fu....d Fish) and the food was crap there.
Tropica was a clean well presented place with very happy and helpful staff , the food was great and the rooms which were shown to me looked good.
Yes its expensive but the adage You get what you pay for rings true, I would recomend the place without hesitation,they had done a total refurbishment of the place and it was well done .good luck to them

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rooikoptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed there recently .. The stay was absolutely brilliant...the best part of Tropica is the staff...they are extremely warm and take care of all your needs...from taking care of your food to planning the outdoor activities (diving, snorkelling, village visits etc).....you can trust them to made all the arrangements).

The rooms are new and extremely well done...serviced twice everyday...the beachfront bures are the ones I would recommend...one could jus chill on the hammock or swing or jus laze in the water :)

We had even stayed on the main island Nadi for a day.....but post Tropica....Nadi seemed too commercial...the island stays in Fiji are the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shweta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
2.9 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
3.0 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Island Resort

Property: Tropica Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropica Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen on July 1, 2017. Tropica Island Resort is Fiji's newest resort having just opened 1st May, 2013. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade, the resort has been transformed into a stunning 4 star, adults only boutique resort, blending Fijian and contemporary architecture with beautifully landscaped open spaces, dotted with fish ponds and water features. This is a resort centered around two key themes: Celebration and Rejuvenation. Our 'Director of Celebration' will assist you and your friends/family to design experiences you will never forget, from weddings on the beach, birthday parties poolside or intimate dinners under the jetty Bure. And when you're not celebrating, you may choose to rejuvenate with a spa treatment, relax in a hammock (or island swing) or enjoy your favourite book in our lounge. Guests will experience stunning sunsets, local and international cuisine, a diverse range of motorised and non-motorised activities and most memorably, will be charmed by the warm and friendly Fijian hospitality. The upgrade has seen the addition of a stunning 25 metre horizon pool, 12 fully refurbished Beachfront Bures and 4 Beachfront Suites (with outdoor river-rock showers, air-conditioning and ceiling fans). The renovation has also seen the addition of a stunning new Beach Bar built on the water, an open air restaurant with bar, activities bure and tranquil spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropica Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort Walu Beach Hotel Malolo Island
Resort Walu Beach
Hotel Walu Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing