We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Island Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropica Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malolo Island
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This review is a little overdue as I stayed here in March 2014, but wanted to share my experience and views on this truly amazing resort.

I traveled with a friend and the adults only aspect of this resort was a BIG draw card. We were looking for a nice resort to relax and unwind for a week, and our experience went beyond our expectations. We chose to arrive by seaplane (highly recommended). We were met by the crew on the Tropica boat and as we arrived at the jetty we had a group of staff members singing and welcoming us to the island. Tropica was impressive from the moment we stepped onto their jetty.

Handed a cool drink we were warmly welcomed as though we were family and it felt completely genuine. From there, check-in was a breeze and our luggage whisked away to our room. We had all the necessary information relayed to us and by the time we were walking to our Beach Front Bure (also highly recommended) we felt we had intimate knowledge of the resort and each of the staff members and their specialties we would come to experience during our stay.

There are resort rooms (more like a normal hotel room set back from the beach) and beach front bures, we stayed in a bure. They are constructed in a traditional style and furnished the same way. The rooms are spacious and clean. I liked that the wooden shutters make the room nice and dark whilst keeping the heat of the day out or bright and airy if you require. The air conditioning was whisper quiet and very effective.

The pool is simply stunning, overlooking the ocean and very big. We ended up having 4pm drinks by the pool every day. Sam soon learnt our routine and our preferred drinks handed to us without even asking, chilled and served with such warmth and personality.

The staff here are first class. They offer a service that goes beyond doing their job, they really make you feel at home and that nothing is ever too much trouble. The smiling, laughing, happy staff make the stay all that more impressive. The restaurant is a highlight and the food is superb and very memorable. Again, nothing was ever an issue and the menu changed daily.

Take a book or load the ipad up with movies. There is not a great deal to do on the island except relax, swim and watch the world go by - that's the very reason we wanted to be there. There are water activities, snorkeling, kayak, small sail boats and the staff are keen to help out where they can to show you how to use it all. The staff also do more traditional activities, basket/hat weaving. Want a fresh coconut?.... someone will climb the tree and deliver it ready to drink. As I said, nothing is too much trouble.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owners, Rob and Sue during our stay. They happened to visit the island on our last 2 days. They understand what people look for in an island resort and have developed Tropica to stand out from the crowd.

I was so impressed that I said I would be back! I am booked to return in October for another week for my partners birthday and I cant wait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bpk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Bula Vinaka bpk77,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Tropica. It was lovely meeting you back in March and we are all very excited that you are returning in October.

The adults only aspect of the resort is a BIG drawcard and our guests find they are able to truly relax and unwind and let the pressures of home melt away.

You will be pleased to see many new additions to the resort since your last stay. We are introducing a new wine and cocktail list in coming days, we also have some exciting new dishes to add to our delicious menu. There is a new boat with daily trips on offer out to Cloud 9 (recently relocated very close to Tropica), Mondriki, honeymoon island, snorkeling safaris and village trips. We also have 4 new stand up paddle boards, and to top it all off we have some fabulous new staff.

Rob and I look forward to catching up with you in October!

Vinaka,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wish we were still there...Wonderful, Romantic, Relaxing holiday with that real, Friendly Fijian experience. We highly recommend the Tropica Island Resort and especially the spacious, comfortable Bure accommodation. Loved the Fijian style, huge, comfortable bed, the outdoor shower (there's an indoor one too), swing on the porch, hammocks between the palm trees and sun-beds on the grass by the beach & by the infinity pool at the restaurant.

Set in a tropical paradise where everywhere you look is a photo opportunity. You can do as much or as little as you want. Each day free activities like; boules on the beach, coconut collecting & tasting, volleyball and palm leaf weaving are organised. You can also choose to snorkel, kayak and sail for free. Its good to have something to read for those relaxing hammock moments.

Other activities are also organised each day (at varied costs - You can pay for these at the end on you hotel bill so don't need to carry extra cash). These include:- snorkelling around Honeymoon Island, Fishing, a visit to Cloud Nine and a Trip to the Local Village. There was a newsletter in our Bure each evening and a daily noticeboard letting you know what was on offer for the day.

You need to organise how you are getting to the island beforehand as you may need to book transport. Our plane arrived without enough time to catch the last ferry from Port Denaru. After a frantic phone call to the resort it was all sorted Thanks to Kara (One of the reservations team at the resort) who organised ours for us.

The staff made our stay memorable. They are so very warm and welcoming. They were also very versatile. One minute they're picking people up in the boat or organising daily activities, maintaining the grounds and then playing guitar and/or ukelele and singing traditional Fijian songs with beautiful harmonies whilst we ate dinner in the restaurant each night. Our rooms were always immaculate and I loved the thoughtful touches with fresh flowers on the bed each day. Lunches and dinners were delicious and for breakfast I preferred the cooked or light breakfast (coconut pancakes-Yum!!) and the fresh fruit.

Finally, we had a complimentary foot treatment which was lovely. Because this was so good I decided to spend a little extra on a head neck and shoulders/back massage. I have to say it was the very BEST massage I have EVER had. Thank You, Liti! You are an angel...I floated out of the spa afterwards.

Bula Vinaka Tropica!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jakiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Bula Vinaka Jakiku,

We wish you were still with us as well. It was lovely to read your fabulous review and that you were able to relax and enjoy a true Fijian experience. I'm glad you enjoyed the free activities and that you also took advantage of the snorkeling, fishing, cloud 9 and village trips.

Our staff are very caring and do go out of their way to ensure our guests stay is truly memorable. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.

Vinaka,

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great place to stay. I have travelled in many place and I have never had such a friendly staff. Everyone was so friendly and always saying Bula! The music during dinner time was fantastic, we sat and listened for a couple of hours. You also get to learn some interesting things such as how to make a basket out of a palm leaf, how to climb a tree and get coconuts and how to throw a Fijian javelin. It was a great place to relax and unwind, but you could also go snorkelling, kayaking, and catamaran sailing. I cannot stress enough how friendly the staff were.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 430Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Manager at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bula 430Bruce,

Thanks you for making the trip to Fiji and to Tropica. I think you name has made the veitiqa (javelin throwing) wall of fame.

We look forward to welcoming you back again some day. Perhaps this summer as the winter months set in Quebec.

Vinaka,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights at Tropica Resort and we cannot recommend it highly enough. It is a pleasant 1-2 hour boat ride from Denarau (depending on what time you go). Alternately, you can get there faster by private boat charter or seaplane. From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel welcome by the friendly Fijian staff. This service continues for your whole stay - there is nothing they will not do to make your stay memorable. Tropica is a small resort which is adults only (16 years and over) so it is very quiet and peaceful. The common areas are never overrun with people and there was always a sun lounge free by the pool (not so at some larger resorts I've been to). The meals are really 5 star. We took the meal plan as we were travelling with our 3 teenage children and it was great value. We had a full breakfast, 2 courses for lunch and 3 for dinner. The menu was limited choice which changed every day so there was always something different to try. The accommodation is just what you want in Fiji. We booked 2 beachfront bures but we were upgraded to the beachfront suites. They were clean and spacious and just a few steps to the beach. They have a great outdoor shower and a quaint swinging porch on the verandah. The staff organise activities every day. We had 3 fantastic snorkelling trips which I would highly recommend. However, if you don't feel like leaving the island, there is great snorkelling right off the beach. You can grab a kayak, paddle out to the small island out in front and enjoy a really pleasant half hour with plenty of fish. There are also SUPs and sailing boats. And of course, there is always relaxing by the amazing pool. There was a wedding when we were there and the small wedding party enjoyed a romantic dinner on the jetty. Overall, it was a great experience and I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Definitely book the beachfront bures. They are so much more the Fijian experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Owner at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Bula Cathy M,
Thank you for your fabulous review, we are delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy all the amenities that Tropica has to offer. It was lovely to meet you whilst on the island and I will pass your comments on to our executive chef and his team. Being an active family, I was pleased to see you make the most of our SUP's, kayaks, hobies, snorkelling off the beach and snorkelling trips. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tropica.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We would highly recommend this place, we arrived back last night fully rested and relaxed.
The meals were what you would expect from a top restaurant and nothing was a problem.
The staff are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay.
The activities on offer are world class, the snorkelling was the highlight for me, while the sailing was my husbands.
This place is like being in paradise, the views and peace and quiet is fantastic. The warm welcome and farewell makes you feel as if you have become part of the Tropica family.
Great stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Manager at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bula Lisa S,

Thank you so much! It's what holidays are all about, rest, relaxation and rejuvenation.

We are so happy that you found us and that Tropica delivered on a great break for the two of you.

Vinaka,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Yes, this was our idea of Paradise. That old familiar feel of the tropics - the lovely warmth, the soft sea breezes, the gentle lap of the little waves at the water's edge 10 metres from your door when the tide was high, the tropical plants and flowers in profusion, island fruits and fish, etc, Fijian music and singing including individual songs welcoming and farewelling each guest.
But this small resort was so special because it was run entirely by those incredibly friendly indiginous Fijians whose desire it is to help to make your holiday a totally relaxed, pleasant and stress-free sojourn. It's a quiet place, no children, no tourist razzamatazz, no sign of a shop, not even a postcard, no clocks, TV, radio, telephone, newspaper to remind you of that world out there (but WIFI available if you must). Good swimming, kayaking, sailing, snorkelling in the bay or on boat trips out to the reef. Simple Island activities available each day, but generally you are just left to yourself with your camera or your book. Even though you can only reach the resort by boat, there is a security guard patrolling quietly 24 hours a day.

Don't bother going if you want noisy excitement and hordes of people to meet and link up with - but definitely do go if you want to leave all your stress behind and slow right down to zilch - and take a holiday in Paradise!

Room Tip: Definitely has to be a beachfront bure for the ultimate Island experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Manager at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bula Barbara L,

Thank you so much for your review. It sounds as if your batteries were recharged and your stay with us fully rejuvenated you.

The team on the island continue to delight and amaze and its great for them to receive constant feedback.

Vinaka,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Perfect getaway for my husband & I from the kids as it's an adults only resort! We could choose to go on extra organized activities or just do things on our own. The food was certainly first class, the staff extremely lovely, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They made you feel special every day they greeted you! I love the fact that there is no access for just anyone to walk into the resort, only those staying there, which is limited numbers. Activities organized on the island each day that you can choose to participate if you like. If you're looking for somewhere to take work with you while you pretend you're having a holiday, the internet speed would not be efficient enough! It's only enough for simple usage-just the way it should be! We enjoyed going off on our own doing activities just the 2 of us. Had the most romantic private dinner on the pier. Well worth the cost. Those extra touches from the resort make it all extra special, fresh linen & room clean daily, flowers/candles in room at night, drink on arrival & serenaded on departure & arrival by talented staff! We'd love to go back some day.......

Room Tip: Stay in beachfront Bures to make the best of the resort Great place to go to celebrate special occa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jodie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicaIslandOwner, Manager at Tropica Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bula Jodie Y,

I absolutely agree and its great to get feedback about our core value. Which is small is BIG! We are ecstatic the you had a wonderful experience and our team, who are next to none at delivering genuine hospitality and our core value have done it again!

We can't wait to see see you back!

Vinaka,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Island
13.7 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
2.9 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
776 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
1 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Malolo Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropica Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropica Island Resort

Address: Mamanuca Islands, 679, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Malolo Island
Price Range: £317 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropica Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen on July 1, 2017. Tropica Island Resort is Fiji's newest resort having just opened 1st May, 2013. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade, the resort has been transformed into a stunning 4 star, adults only boutique resort, blending Fijian and contemporary architecture with beautifully landscaped open spaces, dotted with fish ponds and water features. This is a resort centered around two key themes: Celebration and Rejuvenation. Our 'Director of Celebration' will assist you and your friends/family to design experiences you will never forget, from weddings on the beach, birthday parties poolside or intimate dinners under the jetty Bure. And when you're not celebrating, you may choose to rejuvenate with a spa treatment, relax in a hammock (or island swing) or enjoy your favourite book in our lounge. Guests will experience stunning sunsets, local and international cuisine, a diverse range of motorised and non-motorised activities and most memorably, will be charmed by the warm and friendly Fijian hospitality. The upgrade has seen the addition of a stunning 25 metre horizon pool, 12 fully refurbished Beachfront Bures and 4 Beachfront Suites (with outdoor river-rock showers, air-conditioning and ceiling fans). The renovation has also seen the addition of a stunning new Beach Bar built on the water, an open air restaurant with bar, activities bure and tranquil spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropica Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort Walu Beach Hotel Malolo Island
Resort Walu Beach
Hotel Walu Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing