We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

May 2012 - We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Plantation Island Resort and wish we were still there. We travelled with an 18yo and 14yo and none of us wanted to leave. It was a brilliant holiday. You could do as little as you liked or as much as you liked. There is an activity board put up daily. We found the activities to be fantastic and a big thanks to Bill for organising them - he does a great job. There are numerous activities but a few are coconut husking, basket weaving, nature walks, a golf tournament etc. My husband and son especially enjoyed the golf day with Bill. Every night there is an activity at 9.00pm (also organised by Bill) - Bingo, crab racing, Mr Plantation, frog racing etc. All were enjoyable and great for a laugh - especially Mr Plantation!!

There are no shortage of water activities either - snorkelling is great straight from the island - straight out from beachfront Bure 209 is ideal. For a small fee you can take a boat out to the sandbank which is brilliant for snorkelling as well. Kayaking is free and great fun. We went on the banana boat, my son went parasailing, we took a trip on a dolphin safari (which included two snorkelling spots which were brilliant).

I cannot understand why there are so many negative reviews on this website for Plantation Island - it really makes me wonder if you can actually please some people. It is a 3 star resort - it has the most beautiful beach, gorgeous sunsets and amazing staff - it does not need to be 5 star. Personally, I think what we found most appealing was that it had a much more relaxed atmosphere than a 5 star resort would have. We were more than happy with our room and it was clean and spotless for when we arrived and that is what matters most to us. We stayed in a Studio Garden Bure and it was perfect for the four of us. It was perfectly located near the main pool and close walking distance to the restaurant. Perfect position. Every morning the room was cleaned to perfection and always done so discreetly - we never even saw the cleaners - usually it was done when we had gone to have breakfast - we would come back to a clean room.

We took the half board meal plan which suited us fine. We chose the buffet most nights but if you didn't like what was on the buffet, there was always a choice of the chef's special which gave you a choice of two main meals. Mongolian BBQ on the buffet was the best!

A special thank you to Semi in the restaurant who helped make our holiday special. Semi was always smiling and gave us many laughs. It is the little things like this that we remember and take home as happy memories of our holiday - thanks Semi.

All of the staff in the restaurant were amazing and we found them to be pleasant and all greeted us with a cheerful 'Bula'. They all worked extremely hard in order to please the guests staying there. If you are not keen on a buffet type meal, there are other options - Anandas is very good and the new restaurant at the convention centre was also very good. You certainly will not go hungry!

Cocohut is great for iced chocolates, iced coffees, milkshakes etc. or cappuccinos or lattes.

On a final note - we stayed a couple of nights at a five star resort in Denarau before coming over to Plantation. Next time, we wouldn't bother - we would just come straight to Plantation.
The friendly atmosphere on Plantation Island is what we love.

Thank you everyone on Plantation (Semi, Tomasi, Bill (activities), Richie, Miri, Anjana) we had a brilliant holiday and didn't want to leave. A few tears were shed on the boat leaving the Island. I think that says it all. We will be back soon.

The Eastaway Family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Heytchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    646
    261
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,164
217
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wow what a place. This is by far one of the worst resorts I have yet to stay on. Our room had mould on the walls which you could smell when walking in and the room where not cleaned properly every day only a turn down service no vacuuming or cleaning,, there was still wee input toilet whence first arrived to the room
The staff except for maybe 3 are so rude especially the restaurant staff...
I would not recommend anyone stay at this resort And stay at muscat cove or lomani(if you don't have children). Plantation island is overpriced dirty with rude staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 211Julz211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Bula 211Julz211! We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. With regards to the comments about the room that you stayed in, it is difficult for me to investigate your complaints about the specific room type that you stayed in as we have 7 different categories of accommodation and it is unclear which category you could be describing. The only accommodation category that would be vacuumed is the upstairs hotel rooms. These rooms were steam cleaned last month and the houskeepers do have vacuums for the carpets. These rooms were also completely repainted in March. Our other categories of accommodation are Bure style/single storey and have very good air flow so it would be unlikely that mould would grow on the walls.

Most of our accommodation is tiled, and the housekeepers sweep and mop the tiled floors every day. They also strip the beds every day, and provide fresh bath towels.Our housekeeping staff are given training on a regular basis, and we have room checkers and supervisors to ensure a high standard of servicing. We apologise if your room was not properly serviced upon check in. The room inspectors should have picked up on this prior to you checking in, and if you had informed us of this we would have gone out of our way to ensure the room was serviced properly and provided some form of compensation for the inconvenience. Also if you had let us know you were unhappy with the room, we could have arranged to move you to another room that was more to your liking. I have passed your comments on to housekeeping to see where we can make improvements.

We are sorry that you did not find our staff to be friendly and helpful. Generally speaking we get mostly positive comments regarding our staff, and many of our guests comment that it is the staff that have made their holiday. To hear that you found the staff to be rude is disappointing, and we will look for ways to see where we can improve on our customer service, especially with regards to the restaurant staff.

We are making a lot of positive changes to the property, so we hope that you do return to our shores one day to see these and to enjoy the beautiful sunshine, crystal clear swimming lagoons, beautiful sunsets and miles of white sandy beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Bula.... we stayed on Plantation Island for a week, had a great time, our 9 year old loved it,
Food was pretty good and plenty of it. plenty to do and see.
We stayed in a Garden Bura, it was very cumfy as they had not long did some upgrades.
Staff are very friendly.

We will go back again one day.

Vanuinui vinaka e nomu volau

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank QldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I am absolutely horrified by some of the recent comments written by some previous guests to the Island. We travelled there with a 17 & 15 year old. We stayed there in late March (for our third visit in 3 years) in which time the cyclone hit. We managed to get 5 days of perfect weather and the rest, well the cyclone. Even though the weather was awful our rooms were cleaned daily and new towels were supplied. The meals were still great and plentiful. And as for the staff, WOW. The were absolutely AMAZING. They were always smiling and made time for a chat even though most of them were worried about their young children on the mainland. How guests can say that these horrible things about the staff is mind blowing. In our 3 trips there we have never had a problem, maybe it starts with the attitude that you treat them with. Their professionalism was outstanding. The activities were limited once the bad weather hit but what do you expect during such times. We have stayed at 5 star resorts in Fiji and the atmosphere at these resorts has nothing on Plantation Island. We will be back again next year to have another relaxing and fun filled holiday. Travellers go with an open mind, great attitude and your sense of fun and you will have the holiday of a life time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BrisbaneBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was my second time staying at Plantation island. I had read all the reviews and was surprised by how contrasting they were. I think that highlights how different people are and maybe not so reflective of the resort, I think the average rating gives an accurate reflection. Plantation island is a 3 star resort, if you want top quality food, service and facilities then this is not the place for you.
If you are staying at Plantation island then I have the following tips to make your holiday more enjoyable. If you have an infant bring all their food, no supermarket on the island had any infant food which amazed us. Use the babysititing service at night so that you can go to either Lomani ( ask for one of the tables on the beach but book it beforehand) or Ananadas which are lot nicer than the main restaurant. The new convention centre has a great restaurant Black coal sea and we had lunch there every day which was quiet and the food nicer than the main restaurant. The chalk board has great meals for the kids rather than choose from the menu. If you can pick the location of your room, check the site map and do not pick accommodation near one of the main tracks/roads. Every day starting at 6.30am tractors would drive pass our room and it seemed constant and not what we expected staying on an island. The food from the main restaurant was unfortunately pretty average so I would not pre-pay for a meal plan, that way you have flexibility to use any of the restaurants on the island including Musket Cove ( the meal deal does give you a credit for Lomani and Ananadas). Some of the staff were fantastic but unfortunately some looked like they did not want to be there, our babysitter was awesome and the kids loved her. Overall we had a good holiday but next time we will try another island.

Room Tip: Use the site map to stay away from the main tracks/roads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OzzieChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Bula OzzieChris! Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are striving to improve the resort experience for our guests, and your feedback will help us to achieve this goal. You have hit the nail on the head in terms of describing the resort - we are a 3 star resort in a 5 star location. Our accommodation and facilities are very basic and designed to cater for families and budget conscious travellers. We do recognise that some of our facilities and accommodation could do with a facelift, and we are working on this.

Your comments regarding the infant food are surprising as we do stock baby food in the supermarket, so I will check up on this. The baby food in Fiji is in general very limited, and you can usually only buy 2 or 3 varieties of jarred baby food in the whole country! Having raised two babies on the island, mostly I fed my kids food pureed by the kitchen. This included mashed bananas, papaya, mashed potatoes with vegies, clear chicken vegie soup, even dahl soup! We will be sure to add this information to our menus so that future families are aware that we can provide pureed baby food for infants. Kids 2yrs and under eat for free at our restaurants.

We do have a lot of restaurant choices on the island for meals. The main restaurant offers nightly themed buffet meals and a set menu, and is great for family dining. This restaurant is where the action is, i.e. Bula Time and live band. We have also recently opened the Black Coral Restaurant which is more quiet and great for couples or a quiet family meal. This restaurant is ala carte only. We also have Ananda's restaurant which is by the beach, and has a very casual, relaxed feel. This restaurant is great for affordable curries, steaks and seafood, and has happy hour priced local beers and spirits. There are also two offsite restaurants at Lomani and Musket Cove resorts, which are only a 5-10 minute walk from Plantation.

It is unfortunate that you didn't speak with customer care regarding the noise disturbance as we could have moved you quite easily to a more quiet area of the resort, and this would have made your holiday with us a lot more relaxing and enjoyable (we have very few rooms with main roads near them). The 6:30 tractor would have been for the kitchen rubbish run in the morning. I will ask management if they can replace the tractor run for this with a golf buggy cart which will be a lot more quiet. We are a large property and we need to use small tractors for carting rubbish, goods and garden waste. Most of the time these vehicles won't be in the main areas of the resort or around the rooms (as all of our services are at the back of the property). Mostly these are used during the day while our guests are out and about, however I will ask maintenance to be mindful of the frequency and times they are using tractors to enter the property so as not to disturb the guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us, and hope that you return one day to see all the positive improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was our 5th time on a Pacific Island holiday "with our family". We like to try a new destination each time as life is all about new experiences. But unfortunately we chose Plantation Island Resort. After reading so many good reviews we felt confident that Plantation sounded pretty good.

The resort is extremely run down and we felt like just another number.” I get the impression that a lot of the positive reviews are being generated by families that have never stayed/experienced anywhere else before”.

“All we can say is that honestly there is a lot nicer accommodation available and these alternative destinations are making an effort to reinvest in their establishments”

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TEGILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Bula TEGILLY! We're sorry that you didn't enjoy our resort. Perhaps we weren't the right fit for you?

We have been spending a lot of money updating the resort over the last 18 months. Already we have completed the following refurbishments:

- completely renovated 2 Bedroom Bure accommodation
- soft refurbishment of the Beachfront Bures and 1 Bedroom Garden Terraces
- complete renovation of the main restaurant
- retiling and refurbishment of the kids swimming pool (we are the only island resort in Fiji with a kids water slide!).
- added a new playground to Ananda's Restaurant
- Opened the new Black Coral Restaurant for ala carte dining.
- purchased new stand up paddle boards, kayaks, snorkelling gear and other resort equipment.

By July we will have completed the new boatshed/mini-mart/snack bar and soft refurbishments for our other grades of accommodation (i.e. Studio Garden Bures, Poolside Rooms, Hotel Rooms).

It is true that there are nicer accommodations available in Fiji, but these hotels will most likely be not in the most ideal locations or they will be a lot more expensive. We are essentially a 3 star resort in a 5 star location. What you are paying for is 7km of white sandy beaches that are free from crowds and hawkers (you will never have to get up at 6am to reserve a deck chair on our island or be hassled into buying cheap souvenirs!). You are paying for beautiful, clear, protected lagoons teeming with fish that is totally safe swimming - even for toddlers (there is no better way to introduce the kids to nemo!). You won't find a more affordable island resort with the same extensive facilities and activity options in Fiji. At the end of the day, the people who go home raving are the ones that "get" what we are about - unpretentious, affordable and totally relaxing. We're not perfect, but we do listen and we do strive to make every guest's experience with us the best that it can possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I would not receommend this resort. We stayed in the "newly refubished" one bedroom villas. What a joke.....no sign of any refurbishment! The Shower was flithy!
The food is well below average. We ate mostly at Lomani, which is much better.
Be very careful around the top pool....the wood planks have all rotted and some have not been replaced...a death trap. Weeds all around the pool..
The staff have no customer service, they could not careless.
The main bar needs a good clean as it stinks!
Sharing the beach with a huge noisy Tractor moving sand and truck whizzing down the beach to pick up the sand... think the resort should have been closed!
We will never go back. Not sure how it even gets a 3 star.....

Room Tip: A room as far away from Plantation as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jdehlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Bula Jdehlsen! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The 1 Bedroom Garden Terrace accommodation that you stayed in was refurbished in November 2011, but it has not been completely renovated. This means that all of the fabrics/furnishings were replaced, but the bathrooms and structure were not worked on. The bathrooms did have a "deep cleaning" over Jan/Feb and all our housekeeping staff also underwent an extensive training update over a 4 week period in Feb/March. We are sorry if the accommodation did not meet your expectations and we have passed on your comments to our executive housekeeper to see where we can make improvements.

Since your stay we have opened another outlet called the Black Coral Restaurant which has received rave reviews. This restaurant is ideally suited to couples such as yourselves who prefer a more intimate ala carte dining option. Our main restaurant is still operating for American Buffet Breakfast, Buffet Lunch and themed Buffet dinners. In addition to these restaurants, there is also the option of Ananda's Restaurant, Lomani's Flame Tree Restaurant or even the outlets over on Musket Cove.

The damaged decking around the adults pool is a recent issue that we will be addressing shortly. We have recently completely refurbished the kids swimming pool, and in addition we have a third swimming pool near the tennis courts/putt putt that our guests can use. These pools are in addition to the really big swimming pool right in front of the property... the Pacific Ocean : )

We apologise for the noise caused by the beach rebuilding work. Due to the extreme weather conditions we experienced in early January and April, we lost an incredible amount of beach on the "200 block" side and it was quite critical that we rebuild this part of the beach. Although it was only a small section of the beach that was affected (20m or so), we are really sorry for the noise and disruption that this work may have caused.

We do care very much about customer service, which is why we have a full time customer care officer on the island. Babu is available to all guests on extension 1234, and sees that our guests are having the most enjoyable experience possible. We take all feedback we receive very seriously as it helps us to improve the resort for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,583 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing