We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Plantation (we also went last year). We are a family of 6 - 4 kids (9,8,2, 8 mths). This year we stayed in a Garden Terrace, i really recommend these they're really spacious, they seem pretty new, last year we stayed in a Studio Garden Bure which was also great.
Please ignore the bad reviews, sometimes i can't understand what they are talking about, were they on the same resort i was on?
The beach on Plantation is so exceptional the tv ads "lucky you lucky me" are filmed there. There is shade, hammocks and beach chairs all along the beach.
The rooms are serviced daily, fresh sheets, clean towels, floors mopped, it's lovely.
Food, I think there is something here for everyone. We had the buffet breakfast each day. We had several of the buffet dinners as well as eating at the new restaurant, Anandas and Lomani, so many choices.
We had the lunch buffet last year and we weren't fussed on it, so this year we took a toasted sandwich maker over with us and got supplies at the Anandas supermarket and the Trader at Musket Cove. But the new restaurant does lunch and it looked like there was a good variety.
Kids Club, our kids went mostly at night, there was an organised activity then a dvd. Our 2 little ones we had babysat, the cost is F$4 per child per hour, we also gave more as they money was given direct to the babysitters, these ladies work hard all day on the resort then they babysit in the evenings for a little extra, our kids loved them and it gave us the opportunity to have a couple of meals to ourselves.
I spoke with Hannah (one of the directors) while we were there, they are lots of improvements happening and they are planting new coral along the reef, can't wait to see what it looks like next year.
I really recommend Plantation, there is something for all budgets. We find the staff great. And we can't wait to return next year. Keep up the good work Plantation!

Room Tip: Garden Terrace really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MSnow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed 8 days at Plantation Island and we had an absolutely great time!
We are a French couple, living in Sydney and we wanted to have some vacations near the beach. We chose Fiji, and Plantation Island, as it was one of the cheapest and nearest location from Sydney.
LOCATION: The island is wonderful : clear blue water full of unknown fishes, paradisaic landscapes, very hot water (without any kind of bull-sharks, great white, crocodiles...). We did a lot of activities (snorkeling, windsurfing, scuba-diving, para-sailing...), time flied.
I was a bit worried before going to Plantation Island when I saw all the bad commentaries from other tourists. It is as if we didn't go to the same place...
FOOD: We didn't choose the meal plan but we had lunch and dinner "à la carte". I can tell you that food is a great deal for us and we are very picky about it. Well...the food was excellent !!! (of course it's a bit different from fish and chips, pineapple pizzas, or beef pies), I remember the tagliatelle with shrimp, fish, calamari that was absolutely delicious. The Fijian fish was also marvelous ! I congratulated the chief several times : fresh, tasty, subtle.
I'm just wondering what these "negative people" usually eat at home, but personally, none of us got sick! Maybe they didn't know, that in these islands, you can't drink the water from the tap?!!!
STAFF : Staff was nice and helpful, they did their best for us to have a pleasant time. It wasn't always very easy for them, as the equipment offered by the direction was 10 years old (windsurf broken...) and the direction didn't really seem to care about a replacement.
ROOMS : We had the chance to stay in a Beach bure, a few steps from the beach... It was even a bit too large for the 2 of us! The housekeeping was done every day, nothing to complain about.
ACTIVITIES: The sandbar excursion is cheap and needs to be done. We also went on a day trip to see the surrounding islands, it's also a must see. We also went scuba-diving and it was a wonderful experience. My bf went surfing one morning and he had a lot of fun (but restricted to confirmed surfers).
POOL: We can't tell, we didn't go to the pool. When you go in vacations by the beach, with such an interesting landscape, why would you stay around the pool ??? Regarding parents with children : the sea is very safe, no sharks, no currents, absolutely no danger, but plenty of wonderful fish to discover!! Please, don't let them melt in the chlorine !

Well, overall, we had a great time there. And we recommend strongly this place for low budgets.
You should not listen to bad and negative commentaries from "spoiled children" or narrow-minded people who pay for a 2* and expect a 4*.

Just a short message for the direction of the hotel : "you need to invest in new equipment and/or replace the broken/damaged equipment".

Room Tip: "Beach bure" for sure, or "Garden Bure" (if you can, don't choose the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Plantation is a beautiful island, with great views and lovely clear blue water but after staying at resorts on the coral coast we were very disappointed with the food and service. The cooked breakfast was near inedible and lunch looked like left overs from the night before. There are other options to eat on the island so I would recommend not taking the all inclusive deal, the prices are cheap but I would personally pay a bit more and have some thing to that was inviting and edible. The service was slow and we did not find the typical fijian friendliness that we expected.

Room Tip: If u r a couple itch no kids make sure u stay away from the families, u don't want to be surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our family has just returned from 10 days on Plantation where we were all so sick, including our 3 and 5 year old children, that we could not even go outside. Many others on the island we sick while we were there.

The pool was dirty - and I mean really dirty - perhaps the source of the problem?

The food was terrible unless you ate at the 2 a la carte restaurants which were good.

The housekeeping was shocking - no disinfectant, beds were changed every day and the floor was swept but that was the limit of it. Toilets were flushed but not cleaned. We had cochroaches all over our floor every night

At the main buffet restaurant we sat and watched in horror as birds walked over the tables and ate sugar from the sugar bowls. The birds defacated on the tables and chairs and somebody would enentually go and clear the table and wipe it down - just with a cloth. They would then proceed to wipe the next table down, with the same cloth, without rinsing it and without any sort of cleaning product.

On 2 of the mornings we went to get breakfast we didn't even get served - just got completely ignored.

Hoestly - we have been to this resort for the last 4 years and loved it. We will never ever return! In defense of the resort we did go and see the manager who was extremely concerned and very genuine in his efforts to improve our stay however we you are as sick as we were there is very little that makes you feel better, especially when you know that you have spend good moeny on a terrible holiday.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this resort - go to Muscat Cove!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rosemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have been to Fiji with our family 3 times and twice have stayed on Plantation Island. We love plantation island and will return there again some day. There are always very mixed reviews of this place but I think people forget that this is not a five star resort . It is a wonderful place set on a beautiful tropical island with a stunning beach with wonderful staff ( Richie, Sulu, Valissi, Bill and many more) who love kids and involve them in many activities. They always make you feel welcome with their beautiful fijian hospitality. We always stay close to the beach in a 2 bedroom Bure just back from the beach behind the beach bures. Last time we had 2 rooms with 2 bathrooms. Although it was pretty dated we love that there was no TV and it was great to have a holiday without the over use of electronic devices. They are really in need of a update but I know many bures have been recently renovated. However they do have WiFi now but didn't really work that well from our room.
We always take day trips and visit the other islands when we are there. Have visited the school at shell island. The school is always in need of supplies and is always appreciative of any donations. We also did the tall ship sailing day last time which was a highlight - visited some villages, participated in a Kava ceromony, saw another school - so provides the children with a cultural experience. The island hoping is also great where you can visit casterway, mana, treasure, beachcomber islands. Other activities are the sandbar snorkel, fish feeding, dolphin/snorkel cruise. We also went for a walk around the island and attended the church service one sunday.
My husband is a keen surfer so has always taken his surfboard and you are now able to surf cloud break. Noticed on our last trip last year there were a lot more families who had surfing dad's.
There are also kayaks and windsurfers - the windsurfing equipment needs to be updated.
Just a tip I don't think there is any need to buy the 3 meals a day for every day. There are a few other options for eating on the island which we always take up. There is musket cove, the adults only resort and Ananda's.
A wonderful destination for a relaxing holiday. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We travelled here Feb 2010. We loved it and we will go back one day. The island is spread out so you get lots of peace and quiet. We went there just after the Australian school holidays so it was great, however the resort is very family friendly also. Really the only time you see others is when you go to the dining hall to eat. The food was decent. If you want something more gourmet, go to Lomani Resort next door, they had some amazing food. Or you can go to Musket Cove Resort, 5 min walk the other way, their food was great also. The weather was really hot in Feb, just the way I like it. It rained for 5 mins the day we arrived and it never rained again in the 6 days we were there. If you love laying around the pool or on the beach, this is the place to go. The bure's were serviced every morning and were clean. The decor was your standard Fiji look but the bure's were being worked on one by one while we were there. The beach was beautiful, the water was crystal clear. The pool was great too.

There was a small store near the dining hall and a small supermarket near Musket Cove for essential items and some food. As you can imagine though, it was very pricey. When you arrive in Nadi, there is a supermarket near the dock for your boat transfer, stock up on goodies while you are there because there isn't much on the island. Especially bottled water. You must only use bottled water when drinking and even when brushing your teeth! That was really the only downside to the holiday, that and the air con in the bure's. Ours was really bad, it did not cool at all but they might have been upgraded now.

Everyone was friendly and willing to assist. Just remember they work on "Fiji time" :)

P.s - try the island hopping. Not long enough on each island but a great way to see the surrounding islands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NM_8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back after 7 nights on Plantation. Great family resort and we loved the specious garden bure (Lomani end) even if it meant a little walk to our meals! Beautiful beach just a minute from bure with very good snorkeling. Meals were fine and ideal for kids. Enthusiastic staff and enjoyable kids club. Affordable for the 'average' family and a very good holiday destination. We will be going back!

Room Tip: We were delighted with our garden bure (Lomani end). Roomy and close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
12.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: £95 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing