We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & tidy resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean & tidy resort”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stopped over for the day, and it was a clean and tidy resort. Everything was well kept, staff were friendly and looked like a very nice relaxing place to stay for a while. We had a drink at the bar, which was a beautiful set up around the dining area. The kids pool has a small water slide, and there is also an adults only pool. There is also a kids club, and they looked to be having heaps of fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    625
    254
    127
    91
See reviews for
1,116
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 5 nights last week at Plantation - my husband, teenage son and myself. We had read the various reviews, so we were armed with 'just in case' medical supplies. We didn't need them. Check in time was organised and processed us quickly. We had a lovely new bure 240 - not far from the building site but we were unaffected by it. When the builders were going to make a lot of noise - we were notified by the staff. The staff were wonderful and professional. I think people have to realise that a lot of the staff are away from their families that are on the mainland. We had taken a toaster and sandwich maker and bought supplies from the shop. We had dinner at all three restaurants - so there was a choice. If we didn't like what they had for the buffet meals, we ate elsewhere.... very simple there are choices!!!! Snorkling in the clear waters was lovely as was the trip to the sandbank. A very very relaxing holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Venice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We are an older couple and enjoyed our stay here. We had nice room away from teh pools, restaurant and construction. It had grass around it adn so it was quiet. We enjoyed the space and cleanilness of the room although it was a little tired looking. We didn't have a meal plan and were glad we didbn't as we chose to eat at different places each night. Lomani, and Muskat hd nice places and the black coral was nice too. The shop had great cheese buns for lunch and fruit.
We went snorkelling off the beach which as nice by Lomani. The hightlight of our trip was a tour to the Island where they filmed Castaway. It was right out the end of all the Islands so we saw all the Islands and the guide told us about them as we went past. The snorkelling spots x2 were the best we have seen. It was a nice morning out. Thoroughly recommend it. We did a few other tours but they were a bit disappointing especially the dolphin tour. A boring morning on that tour. We recommend this resort for older folk if you you are looking for a great value holiday.

Room Tip: garden towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueH473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at Plantation with my family luckily for only 3 night. The check In process is a joke! Kept us waiting in the bar area go over half an hour, then we had to walk through a building site to get to our Bure. Lucky the room was well presented.
The eating area and food is horrible, especially the kids food, my daughter described it like prison food! (Not that she has been in prison)
Even though the kids eat for free, they don't eat from the same buffet as the adults for dinner! Why?
The breakfast is ok! And the kids can eat from the same buffet then!
We felt sorry for the Fijisn man playing his guitar around dinner time at the beach, because he was drowned out by the guy on the microphone at the other end of the bar! Supposedly entertaining the kids. He likes the sound of his own voice, which was very annoying?

In all I would never return to Plantation resort! and would definitely not recommend to anybody either.
My daughter and I spoke to serveral people who where also staying and they all said the same thing.
Very unfair for families when they have spent so much money to go to Plantation because it is not cheap!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Merg_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed as a group of 52 people. Consisting of 30 teenagers and 22 adults and kids. The resort is in a superb location but is run down now and in need of a complete renovation. There were a number of surveyors there, so I think plans to upgrade the resort are underway. I was honestly dreading going to Plantation having read all the previous reviews but it was ok for our needs. The bures were large and spacious and had both fans and an air conditioner so we could sleep easily in the heat. There were a number of activities for the kids. The food at the main buffet restaurant was appalling and it is worth walking to the other side of the resort to Anadas Restaurant. A lot of the staff seemed unhappy being there and I really noticed this compared to the staff at the Radisson Blu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Me and my family recently stayed at the Plantation Island resort, if you have not great expectation it's fantastic, lots of activities if you have kids, snorkelling surfing, a bit of everything.
We have booked the ocean room and there was enough room for 4. rooms were clean enough and staff was helpful. We have found that was pretty well organized considering there are heaps of peolpe. Internet rate are a bit creazy for these days. food was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serviceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muriwai, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently visited Plantation Island after a break away of a couple of years. We were a family of four, with two boys aged 8 and 9. We had a fantastic break away, the weather was amazing, the boys kept themselves busy, leaving Mum and Dad plenty of time to chill out by the pool. We had a poolside room which was great for watching the boys swim. Yes the rooms are dated, but as others have already stated, this is not a 5 star hotel! The only moan I have is that people were putting towels and mats on sun lounges and then disappearing for hours at a time (not in the pool) and not using them. This made it difficult for others. The food - we did not use the meal deals at all and found that this was better for us. We actually didn't eat in the old cobra shed at all so we cant comment on their food. Ananda's was amazing - awesome curries - highly recommended, the same with the Black Coral restaurant. We discovered Dicks restaurant at Musket Cove and had lunch there a few times - great Pizza, wedges etc. At the supermarket each morning we picked up fresh bread for lunches and if you are into spicy yummy food - hot vegetarian rotis.... We actually bought cheeses and heaps of snack food from home as well to keep us going, declared it all going through customs - a breeze!!
We used the new cash card system as well - loaded money on a card and used that at all restaurants and bars - the kids also had one of their own as well to buy soft drinks etc from the mini marts. The only moan is that you can only load $300 on at a time...... This is a great way of managing your money as you can see at the end of each transaction, how much money you have left on the card.
Beauty - massages - highly recommended....Masi- you are fantastic!
Really enjoyed our time on this 'little bit of paradise', hope we can return sooner rather than later!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing