We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plantation Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plantation Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hi we spent 7 days on Plantation and found it worth every penny, lot's to do and see great for kids and good food.
If you have kids and want a great value holiday then this is for you.
Staff are very friendly, plenty of food,
We had a Garden Bura, clean modern and very comfortable.
Internet was a little slow but your on an island.
We'll be going back again soon.

Room Tip: Beach Bura or Garden Bura. a little $$ but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    620
    253
    126
    89
See reviews for
1,110
212
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I joined my friend who was staying there with a family of five. This place is fabulous for kids - safe, lovely staff, kids club, kids meals and lots to do. I had my own large room, which was lovely and cool. There are plenty of activities that are posted on the board each day. I particularly enjoyed the trip to the Coral Village - if you visit on a day the school is open you can bring books and stationary to assist the school and the children.

Although they don't have many of the mod cons, including a TV in the rooms, it really brought me back to basics - there is nothing better than having little communication with the outside world while relaxing on a hammock reading a book or snorkling in the warm ocean.

The only down side to my trip is that I am vegetarian and very few meals were offered to me. Most lunch times I went to the kiosk for a salad sandwich and even that was sub-par. Ananda's only had a pumpkin soup, a daal and vegetable spring rolls on offer. Although, the chef at Plantation did make me a delicious eggplant curry a couple of nights. I suggest going to Dick's Place Bar & Restaurant at Musket Cove (up past the landing strip) as they had more vegetarian options, although they were more expensive. Also, the cheese rolls at the supermarket near Ananda's are lovely and only 70c.

All in all, I had a ball at Plantation - they have three swimming pools (including one with a slide for the kiddies), free kayak and canoe hire, great snorkelling just off the beach, lovely staff and an overall great vibe. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this resort, but it is definately more family oriented, rather than for couples or singles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

this was amazing everyone should go there so many hot guys! it was amazing there tanya and i went swimming and ate food and went consing and went on a water slide thats right they have a WATERSLIDE klkfgbhej,gheisdjklvfgsjfywioklfjhnskl;fhgsal;fkHASFGLAKFJGAJSAKJF;YGS;AOFKGS

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank India P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This wonderful place might be looking a little sad here and there and some of the rooms do need a make over but they were clean and for us quite comfortable we were in the hotel part room 126 But it is the amazing staff that are the true winners and what make this such a wonderful place to visit we were all there to attend our daughters wedding and the care and attention that was shown to Amy & Adam was terrific.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Plantation Island Resort is a great place for families to experience an island holiday, but it is just that, "A Family Island Holiday Place". Expect lots of kids, a lot of noise, a lot of drinking and eating, and lots of water sports.

Helpful?
Thank billJE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Ignore the negative reviews.the negative reviewers are obviously too tight to pay for a five star resort so they come to a three star and pick the place to bits! It's worth every cent. Beautiful staff, clean resort, plenty of activities for kidlets and adults. The water is paradise and better swimming areas than the more expensive resorts on the island. Can't rate it high enough. Absolutely worth every cent to stay in this piece of paradise. The food was also great and plenty to suit all types of pallets. Go for it plantation island you rock and your staff are such lovely people who make the resort xxx :):):):):)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shelleysplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Plantation and this was our 5th time for Fiji. Rooms were a good size and as we expected, beaches were good, 3 pools which were good slide pool fun for the kids. Food was good and as expected, we'd recommend Black Coral Restaurant for meals as our preferred buffet was good for Mongolian BBQ. Also recommend coconut hut for slushies and morningcoffee.

Theonly real thing that let this place down was that there was not the normal friendly FIJI people. The kids were barely acknowledged when normally the Fijians are very attentive. Wouldnt saythey were rude but just not what you expect and the people are the reason we choose Fiji over other islands. Everyday we had to check our bill and ask for something to be removed, everything just felt hard.

Didnt let it ruin ourholiday we still had a nice time but Plantation wont be our island of choice again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing