We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived 27th Oct and stayed for 7 nights here as a part of our honeymoon. We chose Plantation as we wanted to experience and island for the water and this was well priced.
We were first shown to the studio garden bure number 333, and to be honest were horrified. The air con although working, wasn't working and it was very hot and the bathroom was well below average. The door to the shower was just, well ridiculous! The shower we would of put up with but the air con, it was just to hot.
We went to reception and spoke to Ravin (something like that) and he was amazing! He then offered us a choice of another 2 bures and we ended up choosing bure 315.
This bure, although not a new renovated one, was close to the pool and beach and had a lovely outlook. The air con, it worked. Not as efficient as they should really but we were told they were in the process of updating all the air cons on the island.
The room was pleasant and staff who cleaned the rooms every day did a wonderful job.

Breakfast was good, especially with the omelette station but as previously reviewed I don't know how they cook the bacon, or whether it's the type of bacon but we didn't like it either. It has a very smoked flavour.

The lunch buffet usually had a great variety.

For dinner we did all, including the Black Coral, Anandas, the buffet and Lomani next door.

Lomani was lovely, a very nice setting but take the insect repellent. The mozzies there were soooo bad. Nothing like Plantation. The meal was lovely but overpriced. For entrée, $30FJD for garlic prawns was overpriced. Yes it was lovely, but just not worth the money.
My husband and I each had an entrée, main and we shared a dessert and shared 2 bottles of wine and it came to $332 FJD.

Ananda's was ok, but we both preferred the Black Coral. The Black Coral shut down until further notice when we were there but the menu was available from the Ol Copra Shed so you didn't miss out.

The nightly buffet when we ate there was ok too.

The Oasis swimming pool although it's meant to be adults only, is not sign posted to be adults only and you'll generally find kids in there also.

The swimming and snorkelling of the beach at Plantation was outstanding. We really enjoyed it. We did pack our own snorkel equipment though which was much better we thought.
We did the hand fishing line trip one day which was ok but no one was really pulling in any fish and we did 2 snorkel trips which really were just as good off the main beach.

The staff here are amazing. They are so lovely and the guy in charge of the nightly entertainment is so good. He's lovely and was a pleasure to be around.
There is one waitress who looks miserable, but she just seemed miserable the whole time. The rest of the staff were just so nice to deal with and really made the place so enjoyable.

One of the downsides which in no way reflects the resort is some of the people holidaying there. I know you're on holidays, but seriously parent your children! Your child running around and screaming and carrying on while you sit on your butt and drink is not cool. I seen on one occasion a young girl was actually hitting the guy doing the nightly entertainment and thinking she was hilarious and taking things way to far despite being asked to stop on many occasions by the person she was hitting. The parents, of course no where around to parent and tell their daughter to quit carrying on like a spoilt brat. I know your on holidays, I get it (and yes I am a parent too, to 5 kids) but it's not an excuse to turn a blind eye and let your children run feral and carry on.

The music every night was really lovely. We enjoyed sitting there and listening and watching. It was a lovely atmosphere to be involved with. The frog and crab races were hilarious and we enjoyed being involved in them.

Don't come here if you're looking for luxury, because you won't get it. This place is a great place to relax, snorkel, read a book by the pool and chill out but it's not luxurious. It is what it is so don't come over and expect more cause then you will be disappointed.

The cocktails were amazing but a little on the expensive side.
We never had a problem with the billing system, it was spot on when we paid.

I had to visit the doctor at one stage on the island as I came down with tonsillitis and that was really good. I was able to get the antibiotics that I needed to get better and was extremely grateful that this service was available and at a very reasonable rate.

This place for us lived up to all our expectations and allowed us to have an amazing island experience and see the gorgeous water.

Room Tip: Room 315 is close to everything, pool, beach, bar etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    611
    248
    124
    88
See reviews for
1,093
207
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hi we spent 7 days on Plantation and found it worth every penny, lot's to do and see great for kids and good food.
If you have kids and want a great value holiday then this is for you.
Staff are very friendly, plenty of food,
We had a Garden Bura, clean modern and very comfortable.
Internet was a little slow but your on an island.
We'll be going back again soon.

Room Tip: Beach Bura or Garden Bura. a little $$ but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I joined my friend who was staying there with a family of five. This place is fabulous for kids - safe, lovely staff, kids club, kids meals and lots to do. I had my own large room, which was lovely and cool. There are plenty of activities that are posted on the board each day. I particularly enjoyed the trip to the Coral Village - if you visit on a day the school is open you can bring books and stationary to assist the school and the children.

Although they don't have many of the mod cons, including a TV in the rooms, it really brought me back to basics - there is nothing better than having little communication with the outside world while relaxing on a hammock reading a book or snorkling in the warm ocean.

The only down side to my trip is that I am vegetarian and very few meals were offered to me. Most lunch times I went to the kiosk for a salad sandwich and even that was sub-par. Ananda's only had a pumpkin soup, a daal and vegetable spring rolls on offer. Although, the chef at Plantation did make me a delicious eggplant curry a couple of nights. I suggest going to Dick's Place Bar & Restaurant at Musket Cove (up past the landing strip) as they had more vegetarian options, although they were more expensive. Also, the cheese rolls at the supermarket near Ananda's are lovely and only 70c.

All in all, I had a ball at Plantation - they have three swimming pools (including one with a slide for the kiddies), free kayak and canoe hire, great snorkelling just off the beach, lovely staff and an overall great vibe. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this resort, but it is definately more family oriented, rather than for couples or singles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

this was amazing everyone should go there so many hot guys! it was amazing there tanya and i went swimming and ate food and went consing and went on a water slide thats right they have a WATERSLIDE klkfgbhej,gheisdjklvfgsjfywioklfjhnskl;fhgsal;fkHASFGLAKFJGAJSAKJF;YGS;AOFKGS

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank India P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This wonderful place might be looking a little sad here and there and some of the rooms do need a make over but they were clean and for us quite comfortable we were in the hotel part room 126 But it is the amazing staff that are the true winners and what make this such a wonderful place to visit we were all there to attend our daughters wedding and the care and attention that was shown to Amy & Adam was terrific.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Plantation Island Resort is a great place for families to experience an island holiday, but it is just that, "A Family Island Holiday Place". Expect lots of kids, a lot of noise, a lot of drinking and eating, and lots of water sports.

Helpful?
Thank billJE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Ignore the negative reviews.the negative reviewers are obviously too tight to pay for a five star resort so they come to a three star and pick the place to bits! It's worth every cent. Beautiful staff, clean resort, plenty of activities for kidlets and adults. The water is paradise and better swimming areas than the more expensive resorts on the island. Can't rate it high enough. Absolutely worth every cent to stay in this piece of paradise. The food was also great and plenty to suit all types of pallets. Go for it plantation island you rock and your staff are such lovely people who make the resort xxx :):):):):)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shelleysplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing