We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place and Wonderful People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place and Wonderful People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

As a group of 11 adults and 7 children aged 2-9 we had a huge bucket list that had to be filled so that everyone would enjoy our family reunion.
After many many months of research on the net, I thought that I had found the perfect place - Plantation Island Resort as it ticked all the boxes.
After booking and waiting for our holiday to finally arrive I started to get worried after reading many negative reviews. I started to panic. What a silly thing to do, because we had a great time.
Yes there were things that was not what we had expected, but it is a 3 star and we knew that.
On a whole it was great. We had 2 great weeks together.

Food- Breakfast had a lot of variety. Buffet theme nights were good on the ones that we went to, some nights we dined at Ananda's as the buffet didn't offer much gluten free, such as Italian night. On a whole the food is good and we never heard of anyone getting sick while there. Our only complaint with the food was that the kids buffet needs more variety and food that the kids will eat, not stews, curries etc. Some nights the food was a good variety but on other nights the kids wouldn't eat there.

Rooms- We stayed in 5 one bedroom garden bures on the Lomani side Rooms 276 - 280. All rooms were clean and tidy and very large. As families with children we had heaps of room and the main bedroom has a bit of privacy for the adults. We only had a short walk to the beach and it was quiet up this end of the resort on the beach. They were working on bures near us but we never had a problem with the noise. And the workers were always friendly.

Staff and Service- As usual the Fiji people are wonderful and friendly and would do anything for us. My grandchildren love the Fijians and their parents were at easy with them taking the children while they were eating etc. Yes, the drinks may have been slow, but hey we are in Fiji and love the Fiji Time.

Kids Club- This was one of our disappointments on the holiday. Our kids were looking forward to spending time in kids club, as they had in other resorts, but this never happened. At night you had to sit and watch the movie, even if they didn't want to. They were not allowed to play in the climbing and ball pit and got into trouble for doing so. This meant that they then didn't want to go to kids club and play at all during the entire stay.

Location- What a wonderful location, the beaches and the snorkelling was just great. Beautiful white sand and snorkelling off the beach. The best snorkelling off the beach is on the Lomani side. A great place for teaching the kids to snorkel.
We recommend to do the Honeymooners reef snorkelling trip as the coral and fish here are so colourful and plentiful.
If you can afford it we would highly recommend that you get at least for one transfer a helicopter. As we had 18 in our group we needed 3 helicopters. This was one of the highlights of our holiday. It is breathtaking views and only takes 15 minutes to get there.

There is so much to do on this island that we never got to do everything that we had planned.

As we had booked 5 rooms we were given a private beach cocktail party, with drinks and canapé's and a cake. as this was our last night on the Island we upgraded it to a seafood/BBQ dinner. It was wonderful and we even had our own entertainment with 3 Fijians singing and playing music for us.

We had the privilege of being part of their Fiji Day Celebrations while staying there and had a great time. Everyone so relaxed and having fun.
We would highly recommend this resort, But need to remember it is 3 star and then you will have a great time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    620
    253
    126
    89
See reviews for
1,110
212
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have been visiting this resort over many years (since 1980) and it has lost some of its Fijian charm as it has grown in size. The resort caters for families and has many facilities but if you want a more traditional Fiji holiday you might want to try some of the smaller resorts in the Fijian islands. The accommodation was what was expected for the price and was serviced daily. Don't forget to bring your own shampoo/conditioner etc as toiletries are not supplied. If you are looking for a romantic/relaxing holiday this destination is probably not for you as I have said it caters for families, and children abound with the accompanying noise.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are out the back of the resort and do not get the cooling sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaAustralia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our first overseas holiday and I'm so glad we chose Plantation. The beach is beautiful, sunsets are amazing, entertainment wonderful, staff are super friendly (I want to say Bula to everyone here now) and there is so much to do for the kids. We all had a truly fantastic holiday. I normally like holidaying in different places, but this is one place I really want to come back to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This resort is for everyone who wants to get rid of the city and enjoy life surronded by a gorgeous nature, water sports and beautiful landscape.
It is ideal for those travelling with their families , including little kinds as there are activities for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana_POA_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Once again Plantation Island was the perfect holiday. This trip we travelled with 3 friends who had not been there before and all of them thoroughly enjoyed their holiday.

Our husbands especially enjoyed the golf - while we lazed on the beach or snorkelled. You really can do as much as you like or as little as you like.

If you enjoy snorkelling, a trip to the sandbar is a must - we did this quite a few times. Fantastic snorkelling there and only a couple of minutes from the island at low tide. Great for smaller kids because you get dropped off on the sandbar so only knee deep water and you don't have to go in very far to see the beautiful fish.

The activities board each day lists a variety of things to be involved in - basket weaving, nature walk etc.

Most importantly thank you to the gorgeous staff for making our holidays as enjoyable as they are, without you guys it just wouldn't be the same. Thank you Semi, Tomasi, Maritha, Matt, Bill, Michael and Richie.

We really missed having Sue there for this trip - we missed seeing her smile and friendly nature every day - but hopefully she will be back on the island when we are there next time.

We have already booked our trip back to Plantation Island next year. See you soon everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heytchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Plantation Island is the first place we have traveled as a family (including our 11mo old boy) and we had a wonderful time. Walking from our burre to the warm water of the lagoon took about 2 minutes, and then many hours were spend splashing in the sunshine. The resort has several big pools, but they are a little redundant when you can surround yourself with tropical fish in their natural habitat. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a burre on the Lomani side to get easy access to the best swimming reefs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our second visit to Plantation Island and we hope to return for many more visits in the years to come!

My husband and i absolutely love Fiji, we first went for our honeymoon 2 years ago and stayed in Port Denarau at The Westin which was a beautiful 5 star resort on the mainland, but when we decided to go back to Fiji the following year we decided to stay on an island to try something different and something a little cheaper, so my travel agent recommended Plantation Island as there was a pay for 5 nights but stay for 7 deal so we thought it sounded like great value for money. Mum and dad also decided to come along on the holiday with us as we have raved about Fiji and they wanted to check it out for themselves .

Well when we arrived to Plantation Island which is a 3 star resort we straight away noticed the difference from the Westin but thought it was nice and when we got to our room my husband was not impressed about there being no tv and had a bit of a winge and said I was banned from booking anymore holidays! I thought to myself great- it's going to be a long 7 days... We unpacked and went for a cocktail and had a look around and from that moment my husband, my parents and I could not say anything bad about Plantation Island Resort.

We had such a great time, we all enjoyed it so much that my husband and I recently returned a few weeks ago for our second visit to plantation island and we took 2 friends who also fell In love with the place and we all plan to return again next year!

There are so many things to do on the island, it's suitable for all ages and different types of people. You can chose to spend your days just relaxing, drinking cocktails , massages or just enjoying the scenery . You can also chose to do some exploring and visit the local village or do some island hopping. Snorkelling on the island is a must do, honestly you don't get bored of it, so many beautiful fish, star fish and pretty coral and if your lucky you may come across some other beautiful marine life like an octopus or a sting ray or small reef sharks and many more other exciting things!

The resort has daily activities and at night activities for the kids then adult activities as well such as Polynesian dancing, crab racing, frog racing, bingo and many more activities as well as a late night disco!

The food is nice, of course it's not fancy and not the same quality as you would get in a 5 star resort but it's not too bad and of course you have a few options to chose from like the all you can eat buffet, the snack bar or the 2 other restaurants called Anandas and black Coral where you order from the menu. You are also welcome to take a stroll down to the resort next door called Lomani for a nice meal there also!

This year and last year we mixed in a few tours. My father and husband went on a fishing tour which they enjoyed, we did some island hopping which is also a fun day out and you get to check out different island and do things like jet skiing and parasailing and you will also get to come across some wildlife on these tours like turtles @ treasure island and the Fijian iguana and we got to see a wild parrot and it's baby in the tree.
The shell village tour is another thing you must do, only a short 2 hour or so tour but you get to meet the locals and see how they live and I would recommend taking some donations like school supplies or little knick knacks for the kids! My highlight this year was the Dolphin Safari, the year before we did it but unfortunately did not see any dolphins but was still a good morning out as you were taken to 2 different snorkelling locations and you got to have a look around and pass some beautiful scenery but this year we went on the tour and thankfully we did see some wild spinner dolphins, it was an amazing experience, they swam along and in front of the boat and kept through the air, was great seeing dolphins free and happy in the wild where they belong.

There are some souvenir shops, 2 supermarkets and 3 pools to pick from but personally I would rather swim in the sea cos its so beautiful, white sand and crystal clear water- why would you want to swim in the pool?

I have saved the best for last- the staff! That is the main reason we went back and will continue to go back. Honestly we were treated like royalty on our return and we are pleased to say we have made some wonderful friends- we call them our plantation island family :) I really think that Fijian people are the most friendliest people in the world and if you go to Plantation island, I am sure you will agree with me! Take the time to chat and get to know the staff, they are always smiling and laughing and be sure to drunk some kava with them in the evenings!

So for anyone who has booked to go to plantation Island, I'm sure you will love it and anyone considering going there, you won't regret it and to all those people who have not liked it, remember that it is only 3 star so don't expect 5 star food and accommodation and a holiday is only what you make it!
I look forward to going back next year and the many years to come!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing