We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
eDreams
Hurb
Destinia.com
Trip.com
CheapTickets
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,045)
Filter reviews
2,045 results
Traveller rating
691
772
304
156
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
691
772
304
156
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plantation island garden bure coral restaurant kids club musket cove family holiday meal plan fish cash card three star breakfast and dinner kids pool coral coast water activities young kids sand bank clear water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 2,045 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had our family stay at Plantation Island and experienced one of the best resorts I have ever been to. The accomodation we had needs updating but there are other sites on the waterfront that have now been fully renovated. We booked in and this was accomplished in a intetesting manner. All visitors staying on the island are taken to a waterfront bar. There you are seated and served complimentarydrinks. Front office staff then do all of your booking from there not at reception. Once this is done and your room is ready you are given keys and directed to your rooms. At the front door is all your lugage waiting for you.
The resort has a dedicated childrens playground, pool and other childrens activites close at hand. Babysitting and child minding is available for a fee and you pay these ladies yourself not through the resort.
There are padles, canoes, kayaks, sail boats and the list goes on. They have a large slide at the shore for children to climb on and use. Fish feeding is just a matter of standing in the water and crumble up the bread and they are all around you
Theh have pushbikes for hire including bikes for riding on the sand with the extra large wheels and childrens carts for carrying children towed behind the bike. The import asset is a laundry for use by patrons at a Token charge. Tokens are available at reception along with washing powder.
There is a general store independant of the resort and a gentle walk around the wateffront.
Here childrens dinners are served before the adults and we used the buffet area to eat. Adults meals are put out at 6pm. A dinner and breakfast deal is available for $95 Fijian a day. Brekfast is great with a large variety of food including fresh fruit.
Thr roms are very roomy and exceptionally clean. Tea and coffee is in the room but you usd powdered milk as real milk is scarce and resorts use longlife cartoned milk for everything.
Overall great place to stay at and we will be returning next year. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2016
4  Thank JJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Bula JJ,

Thank you for the review and I'm sure that Las Vegas and Plantation Island are certainly different worlds - its so pleasing you enjoyed ours...

Your family certainly took advantage of all that is on offer here and we are delighted that you all had a great vacation.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This was a return trip after a visit with our kids 10 years ago. They are now grown up and came with us again. The resort is improved, facilities updated and generally pleasant. Don't be fooled by the pictures of the bures - they are not free standing and we feel they were misrepresented in the website. They are actually in set of 2 joined by a common wall. We had a noisy family next to us which was not what we were expecting.
However, the biggest problem was unruly kids running around screaming everywhere - meals, beach, activities. We avoided school holidays but there seemed to be more kids than adults and the parents were certainly on a holiday from any sort of reasonable management of the children. THIS RUINED OUR STAY!
Other negatives were that the internet didn't work for the whole 10 days we were there and the breakfast, although adequate was ridiculously expensive - even if you just wanted a toast or cereal you had to pay for an overpriced full breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Bula Douglas

A little harsh maybe to say a plague, we are proudly an unabashed family destination although host many types of holiday makers from singles to large family groups. We are also a large enough Island that all guests can "get away" as needed. I'll leave judgement on peoples parenting skills alone!

Our accommodation options are varied and include freestanding, duplex and adjoined Bures.

Apologies for the Internet issues, our carrier had major and widespread infrastructure issues at that time.

We do believe Breakfast represents good value for such a large selection at FJD$41 (AUD$26) inclusive of Govt Taxes, but certainly understand your point of an a la carte option and we are looking at this for 2017.

Vinaka


Ross Greenaway
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Plantation Island Resort, our kids didn't want to leave!
The location is stunning and it was the perfect place for a family winter escape.

There is plenty for the kids to do, although our kids were content just snorkeling at the beach and swimming in the pool for hours on end.

The facilities were good, we had a lovely renovated 2 bedroom garden Bure (233), however we saw inside the neighbours unrenovated Bure and while dated, it seemed fine, and we would be happy there too. Would like to get a beachfront next time.

The food was fine, something for everyone each meal. We purchased a meal plan and stuck with that as we have a very fussy 5 year old who was happy with the buffet and we didn't want to waste money buying food he wouldn't eat anyway.

Staff were all lovely and very accommodating.

We highly recommend Plantation Island Resort for a fun relaxing family holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nicksR5031HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Bula

We appreciate your review and your recommendation.

Its great to see that all of the family had a good time and we were able to meet all of your expectations.

We look forward to your return...

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Awesome place to go on holiday. Heaps of things to do, you can go out on a boat to go fishing or snorkelling or island hopping. Kayaking and stand up paddle boarding and the coolest part about the island is you can hire bikes for a week and bike around the island which is so much better than walking in the hot sun. I really liked Amanda's Restaurant it was the best out of the 3 I think on the resort. The white sand and stunning blue water made this the perfect spot to go on holiday. And sure there are heaps of family's around but it's pretty easy to avoid them if you don't like children. Great place to visit I wish I could go again, although u wana take plenty of money we spent 1900 Fiji dollars in a week just on food, alcohol and activities.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AzureP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Bula Azure

Its terrific to see that you had such a great holiday, and took advantage of all that is on offer here at Plantation Island Resort!

Holidays are hard earned and we appreciate tat you came here, hopefully you can return soon...

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at Plantation Island Resort but this time I didn't bring any kids.
The island is very well setup for families and really does cater for large amounts of families to have a holiday and enjoy it with the kids. The kids can spend time in kids club while the adults relax.
Unfortunately it doesn't cater very well for couples.
I recommend trying other resorts on the island if you don't have kids.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Bula, and thank you for the review.

We appreciate your comments and observations regarding our suitability for families, however its disappointing that we didn't meet your expectations as a couple. We strive to offer terrific holiday facilities and services to all guests, and sincerely hope you will return.

Vinaka

Ross Greenaway
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews