We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coastal reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation Island Resort
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great coastal reef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Definitely the place to stay for families with young kids. Ours were a bit old for the activities (12 & 15), but enjoyed the tabletennis and fuzbul table. There were heaps of younger kids there, and they seemed to have a ball - good kids club, lots of acitivities from morning till night, wonderful carers.
The place is a bit tired, and the service is patchy, but we had a wonderful 7 days there. Make sure you get a beach bure - they're worth it. The view from your door was a tropical island cliche. And the beach in front of the beach bures is lovely - a 30m walk out to a coral reef right at your doorstep, with so many wonderful fish. We've done the Great Barrier Reef a number of times, and while the coral here isn't that spectacular, we never tired of getting up each morning and snorkelling as a family on our doorstep. I only wish we had an underwater camera. And snorkelling gear/flippers are free to hire - you just need to get them back by 4pm, which isn't too onerous. And beach towels are provided, so don't bother to bring any.
We bought a heap of cereal/milk with us from Denarau, which proved useful, as then we only needed to purchase the Breakfast/Dinner meal plan (yes cereal for lunch - if you have teenage boys, you'll know its the most cost effective way to feed the ravenous creatures). It was excellent value FJD59 for Adults and FJD35 for kids under 16. We also brought with us our own wine/champagne/nibbles which we kept in our fridge and enjoyed by the beach eacn night. But cocktails in the Bar aren't too expensive - FJD15.50 at happy hour. It was just nice to escape the crowds and have a quiet drink on our own in the late afternoon.
Ananda's Restaurant - at the far end of the resort - has better food than that in main eating area. Also the chap playing synthesiser in the main eating area can get a bit loud and unwelcome (not to mention cheesy), so don't get a table too close to the middle.
There is no tv in the rooms - my kids got a bit of a shock, but we bought a pack of cards and played every day. In the end they didn't even notice there was no tv. The shops there are pretty good if you forget anything, and most importantly there is a coffee machine with 3 trained baristas! They ran out of soy milk though, so if you need it, you can either buy it at another supermarket on the island (we found 3 - the one at Musket Cove is the biggest) or do like me and bring your own to the island.
This isn't a 5 star resort, so don't expect it to be (the prices certainly aren't 5 star), and in the end we really felt it was great value and a wonderful family holiday location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    620
    253
    126
    89
See reviews for
1,110
212
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We travelled with two friends and their grandchildren also. We checked the food plan and found it very confusing. Breakfast and dinner is $59 per adult per day. If you choose to go ala carte' and the meal goes over $25 then the extra is added to your bill. Breakfast is $26 so that leaves $8 unaccounted..we decided to pay as we go. When I got home I added up our total food bill for the eight days we were there and it came our $450 cheaper than if we had a food plan. Including dinner at the Lomani Restaurant and most meals at Ananda's. We couldn't handle the buffets as the flies turned us right off! Geat for the four grandkids water and pools are terrific, accommodation OK. First time we have been to Plantation and only went because of the price and the kids. Lots of repairs needed doing to our room 407. Kids had a great time and that was the plan. Not for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Well I have read many reviews on Plantation Island, both good and bad, before and after my last visit.
Although I will admit it is not everyones ideal holiday location.I am amazed at some of the negative reviews.
People like this need to have a reality check. Generally,with any holiday destination, you get what you pay for.
If you are after 5 star accomodation , then you can stay at the Hilton, Sheraton Raddison etc anywhere around the world, as we did at Port Denerau,but the location was not what we were after, as it lacked the Fijian atmosphere.
We chose Plantation Island Resort as the location for our next holiday as we have enjoyed ourselves the last few times we have holidayed there.
We were married in May 2010 and chose Plantaion Island for our wedding.
In our experience it was paradise from the moment arrived on the Malolo Cat and continued to fulfill our expectations.
Day 1 we were greeted on the jetty by staff singing the Fijian welcome song, then escorted to the resaurant for a welcome drink, while our luggage was being taken to our bure. Then we were shown to our bure.
The next day we relaxed and explored the resort and familiarised ourselves with the activities available to us.
The following day we were married at one of the wedding locations on the Island . It was a perfect wedding in every way, very relaxed atmosphere and beautiful setting.
On our Wedding night we went to Lomani for dinner , and were treated like royalty.
The rest of our stay there was very relaxing , perfect for our honeymoon.
Please keep in mind that this is a 3 star family resort, so there will be children .
Once you accept the staff being slower than you would find at the Hilton etc you will enjoy your holiday a lot more. This is an Island resort and you need to get into a relaxed mode, things will get done, but in Fijian time.
This can be an amazing, relaxing experience IF you surrender yourself to the island experience and not compre Plantation to mainland resorts like the Hilton etc.
My wife and I have travelled the world many times, and have experienced many cultures and accomodation. In our expeience, Plantation Island is the best choice if you want to enjoy a tropical Island holiday.
We will be returning many times.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentishman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

My husband and I just had the most wonderful time at Plantation. Fantastic Bure on the beach front. Plenty of hammocks, lounges and chairs along the beautiful palm garden setting and beach. The staff were amazing......always a smile and a greeting and nothing was a problem. Our room was always spotless and incredibly roomy. Perfect!!
With a selection of places to eat, with either the buffet in the main building, a casual restaurant on the water front called Ananda's that had a great menu selection, a fine dinning restaurant, snack bar and a fantastic Coco hut of incredibly cold and hot drinks, icereams, you never got bored with the food. You could also do a short walk to Musket Cove and try the BBQ's or restaurant there.....which also had amazing cocktails, like Plantation did.
The activities that are available and many for free or if not free, at a great price were amazing too. Incredible snorkelling and driving too.
It is a wonderful place to take the family, but also a couple can enjoy it too. We didn't meet anyone there who wasn't happy with there stay and we can't wait to go back again. It isn't 5 star and maybe some parts need a little updating, but it is definitely value for money, with the location, 3 swimming pools (one with a slide) activities, variety of places to eat and cleanliness. Along with the nicest people who work there. You definitely come home unstressed and relaxed.........Thank you Plantation island staff!!!
The Guest Relations Manager Miriama is a great lady and along with Caroline, who both helped us out with what had become a nightmare with our booking through a hotel booking site. We had booked a Bure and then arriving at the resort to find out that the booking had been changed by the travel booking agency. So much for a world wide web site that you can trust!!! Thanks for all your help Miriama & Caroline... it was much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oby1travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I've just arrived back from a five night stay on Plantation Island with my husband and two year old son. You can't fault the scenery of the island, it is spectacular. The water is blue, the fish are plentiful and the sun shone the whole time we were there. This resort is good if you don't mind sharing this experience with hundreds of others. We felt like a number as soon as we arrived and were herded like cattle to the restaurant area. The number of rules that you have to abide by during your stay is huge i.e. beach towels, snorkel gear, meal times etc. It pays to read the rule book (aka the information booklet) as soon as you arrive. The airconditioning in our room wasn't good and the food on the meal deal became very tiresome by day 3. I was also shocked by the lack of care that was given to the kids in the creche. I intended to leave my son there but after spending a couple of hours playing with him and seeing the lack of attention given to the other kids (one poor chappy was crying in the corner for his mum while 3 caregivers were chatting and sitting at the front desk) I decided against this. I know that a lot of people return to this resort year after year and wouldn't go anywhere else. I however would prefer never to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
We are sorry if your Plantation Island Resort experience did not meet your expectations.
During heavy check in periods it can sometimes seem like there are a lot of people at the resort, especially during peak travel times e.g. school holidays. This is because 99% of our guests arrive by boat, and the majority choose to come on the 10:30 boat. This is not the case for a typical hotel which sees travellers check in at various times throughout the day.

the At 192 rooms, we are the largest resort in the Mamanucas. However, the majority of the feedback that we receive is that it doesn't feel like there are a lot of people in the resort because the island is so big (500 acres) so you can always find a private beach or quiet place if you want to be on your own. The island is quite spread out, and there are quite a few bars and restaurants to choose from. This seems to suit most people as they can choose to be in a more lively, environment (e.g. plantation's main restaurant) or they can wander up to Ananda's for a quiet dinner with fewer diners, or they can go up to Lomani and have a romantic adults only dinner.

The resort booklet given upon arrival contains all of the relevant information regarding the facilities and services in the resort. Most people find this booklet very helpful as it helps them to plan their stay and maximise their leisure time with us on the island. I dare say, we would get far more complaints if we didn't tell arriving guests what the restaurant hours were!

I'm sorry that you didn't find the air-conditioning in your room to be adequate. If you had let us know we could have rectified the issue.

Both of my children spend time in the kids creche on a regular basis, and I have never witnessed what you have described. The majority of the feedback we receive is that the supervisors are very caring towards the children, and it is just not in the nature of the Fijian people in general not to comfort a distressed child.

It is worth noting that the kids creche is not a child-minding centre, rather it is a place where children can enjoy organised supervised activities. Children who are very young who require extra supervision are required to have a baby sitter or parent accompany them (our rate for baby sitting is extremely affordable at only FJD$4 per hour). As your son is only 2yrs old, you would not have been able to leave him in the kids club unsupervised (this information is in the kids club section of the resort booklet).

We do strive to ensure that all guests leave the island wanting to return, and it disheartens us to read that you do not intend to return again. However, we recognise that it is not possible to please all travellers 100% of the time, and perhaps Plantation just wasn't the right fit for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

still a beautful place, the island needs work . When we stayed the last time there was a sickness going around the island because poor hygine i think. The sewer system failed and stunk the hole time. the staff tired and not as friendly. cockroch problem. pools dirty
food not as good.... buy your water fore shore or get sick i do not recommend it to anny one... go to a nother island...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Your review is very surprising to me for the following reasons:
1. The sewage system did not break down in September 2010
2. We do not have a cockroach problem in the resort - we do live in a tropical environment so there might be the occasional bug but we have a very good cleaning and pest control program to keep them away.
3. I was very surprised to read your comment about unfriendly staff as 99% of the guests who stay with us say that the staff are very friendly and are the highlight of their trip.
4. Sicknesses do occur from time to time, but usually they are viruses that are spread from guest to guest. We did not have an "outbreak" of sickness in September, and no illnesses that were caused by a lack of care or hygiene on the part of the resort.
5. All three swimming pools are cleaned and chlorinated daily at 5am.

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your last stay with us. If you had raised your concerns with management while on property you would have had a much more enjoyable stay I am sure. We do take all feedback into consideration and are striving to improve the resort's facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

We arrived home one week ago and as a family with four young children we loved the people and the place. Sadly, my son became unwell and needed medical attendance for one week. The nurse was fantastic and soon became not only a nurse but a dear friend to my son and the family. Kids club was great and my five year old loved it. The people loved our children and greeted them every time the kids walked passed them. The food was plenty and we could have easily skipped lunch. The rooms were absolute spotless and how wonderful it felt to come back every day to clean beds and rooms. We miss you all and hope to visit you all in the near future. Thanks for the music, dancing, food and laughter. Memories that will last forever.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
12.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Property: Plantation Island Resort
Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing