We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Island Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Musket Cove Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
queensland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Island Holiday”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first time taking our 10 month old daughter overseas and I am so glad I picked Musket Cove. From the moment we stepped off the boat everyone was so helpful and friendly.
Musket Cove is in a beautiful spot. Ive seen others complain about the low tide but it really is not that bad. If we wanted to go snorkelling or swimming at low tide we just went around to plantation.

We stayed 6 nights in garden bure 65. Nice room with everything we needed. It had king size bed, 2 singles and they provided a cot. There is a dividing door between the king bed and the singles. The air conditioning worked well which was also good because it was quite hot.

We ate all our meals at Dicks Place. There is good variety on the menu as well as different theme nights. The food was great, no complaints at all. The staff in the restaurant are lovely. If Amelia was whinging, one of them would take her for a walk in her pram or pick her up. Everyone knew Amelia, even the other guests.
We liked the fact that this place is much quieter than the big family resorts. Much more personalised. The staff knew who you were and took the time out to stop for a chat. It was also nice to chat to the other guests.

It would be nice if they allowed children in the beachfront bures because Amelia would have her 3 hour naps and we'd sit outside on the patio. There is a bit of a view but it's not as good as being right on the beach.

Overall we had a great holiday and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    241
    43
    15
    12
See reviews for
280
294
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have been coming to the island annually for many years staying at the TimeShare next to Musket Cove, but always have access to all the Resort facilities. First came to the Island in 1979 long before much development and some of the original features including the old swimming pool are still there. We love the atmosphere and the staff, but have to remember that everything is "on Fiji Time" there. Knowing a lot of the staff does help but they are busy, and yes some could benefit by more customer relations training. This year with the Trader Shop operating out of temporary facilities after the original building burnt down earlier in the year some 'stores/groceries" were limited, but we got by OK. Resort closes down for a month shortly while major reconstruction takes place and we look forward to the new building with offices, reception, shops, etc all in one place. The new larger Malolo Cat fast ferry operating from Denarau is great too, much better. Check out Musket Cove on Facebook for regular updates. Will be back again next year...Vinaka Vaka Levu....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billJE72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Memberbership to the Musket Cove Yacht Club- what a beautiful fun, cool place to be a member!
tink maties, drink up and have a wonderful time.
talk to some of the yachties at the bar, you'd be surprised, but they most likely will give you a sail.

Room Tip: just go to the cool bar, ask for some kava and reeeeelax
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WBeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 6 nights at Musket Cove, Fiji, we arrived on 27th October 2013.
We were picked up in a cool, air conditioned coach, from our hotel in Nadi, the coach arrived exactly on time and took us to Denerau to board the Malolo Cat.
It was a hot sunny day, and the boat was clean and spotless. The boat ride was great.
We arrived at Musket Cove and the two of us were taken around the resort on a golf cart, by the resort manager Joe. We were given a cold drink, in the bar area and when we were taken to our room, out suitcases were already in the room. We stayed in Garden Bure 62.
There was an immaculate lawn from the edge of our private terrace, to the sand on the beach, what a view.
The Resort has an organic farm, and we ate the fruits and salads, and neither of us had any tummy problems. The food was delicious, the cocktails were awesome and the staff were so friendly.
This resort was so relaxing. Great for couples, weddings young families and we will definetly go back. I would not recommend this resort if you want a lively nightlife.

Room Tip: we loved the peace that surrounds the Garden Bures
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Firstly I would like to say that we love Musket Cove and that is why we chose to get married there (second marriages) as it is a special place for us. It was my fourth time there and my husbands second. We also had our 3 teenage kids along, friends and family for the wedding. Everyone had a great time. For my kids now 18 and 15 it was also there fourth time there (first was 8 yrs ago) and they still love it.
It is a good resort as it is well laid out and you can walk all over the place, there is a shop and Plantation is walking distance if you feel like a change.

I would love to have given them 5/5 but they need to sort out their service.

So...

The Good
Bures have all been done up since we were there. We had an Armstrong Villa which was great, 2 big bedrooms with ensuites in both, a small kitchen and a big deck over the water. Loved the bure and it was nicely done up. Saw in the lagoon bures where we stayed last time and they had been redecorated very nicely. Friends who were in those loved them.
Sun loungers around the pool were new since last there and much more comfortable.
Shop was up and running after fire and is good for supplies but did run out of stuff a bit.
Good band playing every night.
Nice atmosphere at this resort and friends all loved it. Was fun being in a group (were about 20 of us)

The Wedding
Loved our wedding and glad to have chosen there. It was well organised overall. They do a lovely bamboo wedding arch and set up chairs and flowers for the ceremony which was lovely. We paid extra for the choir which I am pleased we did. We had the table set up on the beach under the beach open bure and it looked great. Had my hair and makeup done which I was happy with. The food was very good and service at the dinner was good. The only criticism I have was that we had drinks after the ceremony at the Island Bar and bought our own champagne plus paid for whatever else people wanted. The girl at the bar had too many other people to look after so we had to pour it ourselves. As we were charged $20 per bottle corkage I think they could have put one other staff member out there for an hour and also to hand around the nibbles we ordered . We had 3 nibbles (prawns , fish cakes and pork balls ). Prawns and fish cakes were great but pork balls dry and inedible.
Would highly recommend having a wedding here,

The not so good
Had a lot of problems with service and communication. Some may be to do with staff training and/or not enough staff.
We had arranged garden bures close to the facilities for our 2 mothers who have disabilities. They tried to put Mum in a bure out the back with stairs. They gave us twin beds and tried to say that is what we booked or my travel agent did . Not the case (I rang my friend who is my travel agent and she read the last email reconfirming the bures with good access and an extra large king bed if possible for my 6'4" husband). She spent a lot of time before we went sorting out these details but we still had problems. Took 3 hours for Mum to get her bag to her new room.
The food was very hit and miss. Took 20 mins to get a drink at dinner. Brought out one friends meal 40 mins before everyone else and had to tell them 3 times that we were a table of 18 and want to eat together. Some food was cold or not what ordered. If had the buffet it was good and could then walk to bar and get drink yourself and then all ok but should not have to do this. Lunches seemed fine and the buffet breakfast which we didn't have was good others said.
Booked a table and they lost the booking.Tried to say we didn't book it.
A few of the staff had a bit of an attitude in the office and restaurant which is not good, most staff were lovely
We had an Armstrong Villa which incl breakfast packs for us to make ourselves.Had constant problems with this. First day no bread (got ourselves at shop) but second delivery of food they incl bread. Had to ask for top ups. On last day asked for a top up and never got it. We were leaving early so maybe they thought they could not bother but one of our kids was staying and wanted breakfast, bacon and juice. As it was included it should have been topped up. AS it didn't turn up I told my daughter to use my uncles prepaid breakfast as he left early too but they would not let her as they were checked out. So basically they did not provide a full breakfast on the last day.
So I felt like I was running around too much sorting things out which I should not have to.

I hope they can sort their service issues out as it is a lovely resort.

If you are thinking of getting married there do, overall we loved it!

Room Tip: Armstrong villas great for 2 couples or family. If only 2 of you go for a lagoon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPtravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Bula and thanks for lodging your experience. Overall it's great to read that your enjoyed your holiday and thanks for returning.
Apologies about the room mix up. FYI all rooms are configured with king size beds, which can be split into two singles. We only set the singles if requested by the agent or guest. We followed the agents instruction.
We were only made aware that your family were disabled after you arrived and did our best to relocate ASAP. Yes, we should have done better with delivery of luggage.
Sorry to hear about your service mishaps. No excuse. But I will say that when 18 people turn up requesting one table puts enormous pressure on any restaurant.
I agree on the breakfast packs for Armstrong. It's an old package and will be changed to buffet breakfast.
Thanks again, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Western, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

By first entering the through the beautiful channels of reef all around you in the Malolo Cat Cater-marine the home to Musket Cove Island Resort one can't go wrong thinking that they have come to the right place.

Vast Yacht Marina welcoming on the dock of the Resort with hill side houses dotted alone the top points of the Malolo Island give a one a scene of heaven at doorstep.

With a wide rage to rooms to choose from, the best Id segguest would be the Sea-side Villas.

Food to a rage with alacarte and Buffet...with the Best Breakfast one could get..fresh bread to colorful sunny side up's truly a getaway astounding with the most friendly staff to find from.

Vinaka, Musket.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea-side are the best as one can see the afternoon Sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashtosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We travelled here for a friends wedding in March 2013 and from the moment we arrived we were taken care of by the friendly staff. We had a beachfront bure which was absolutely beautiful, food was always amazing, drinks were cold, smiles were everywhere and the scenery is just unreal. We kayaked out to the sandbar to snorkel and it was just wonderful. We walked over the hill to the other side of the island and then back to the hotel all along the beach. We loved the fact that there are hardly any kids around. Sunsets were incredible right out front of the resort over the ocean. I did not want to leave and would highly recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: The garden bure's seem to be set back a bit out of the action. The beachfront bure's are sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0.7 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
725 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
591 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,693 reviews
15.3 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Property: Musket Cove Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Makare Day Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing