We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I stayed here with my husband for five nights for our wedding anniversary. We took the Malolo Cat boat transfer which took about 45 minutes from Port Denarau. Upon arrival, someone picks you up at the wharf and takes you to the resort in a little cart/buggy. We were greeted with a song and coconut drinks!

The resort it absolutely stunning. From the reception area you can see the beautiful calm blue waters and it's tucked away from the heavier winds you can get at the other side of the island. The bar and Flame Tree restaurant is attached to the reception area. There is a large grass area with hammocks and a large pool area (which is always quiet because there are no kids around!).An activity board is by the beach and lines out the weekly activities - all which are included in your room rate!

The deluxe rooms and hibiscus suites are located to the right of the reception and the pool area and beachfront bures are to the left (down a small path).
We stayed in the beachfront bure for 4 nights then was asked to move to a hibiscus suite on our last night as they had overbooked the bures. We liked the bure much better and believe it's the way to go with this resort if you have the budget to do so.

The beachfront bures are so gorgeous and perfect for a romantic vacation. They are free standing with their own outdoor shower, porch + lawn-chairs, and grassy lawn with beachfront access.
The king bed and pillows were very comfortable. An air con unit is above the bed however we rarely needed to use it as the temperature was cooler in the evenings. Each room is given complimentary bottled water on a daily basis so no need to bring any with you from the mainland. Housekeeping is done on request and were very friendly whenever we saw them around the resort. Lots of amenities were provided in the bathroom. A DVD player is provided and you can rent DVDs from reception.

We didn't find mosquitoes to be an issue. The flys, however, were a big issue, especially around the restaurant and food. I'm not sure if they have always had a fly issue, but it is pretty bad. I overheard it was because of the recent floods - not sure if this is correct or not.

All meals are offered at the restaurant. A full breakfast is included with the bookings and there is quite a variety (can be done as room service as well). Continental breakfast is layed out with pastries, cereal, juices, toast, yoghurt, and fruit. You can also order a full cooked breakfast from the menu (eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes, omelettes, etc). Lunch had a basic menu but is a bit pricey. We also found dinner to be a bit expensive as well and there wasn't a wide variety of food options (especially for desserts). The service was always excellent, prompt, and the food was hot and tasty. If you don't mind going for a walk and leaving the sanctuary of the adults, you can go to Plantation Island Resort and eat at Anandas which had an large menu and good food (also less expensive).

The spa ladies were so friendly and the massages were excellent. You can chose to have a massage by the beach or in their regular spa room in the building next to reception. The massages they offered were also very inexpensive and quite a good deal!

The only downside with our stay is that when we checked in we were told there was going to be construction by our bure. They are building new beachfront bures - which wasn't advertised on their website and we weren't notified prior to our arrival. Hammering and powertools could be heard daily from around 830am-6pm. Bures 19 - 23 would be most affected. I'm not sure when this will be completed? Even with the bit of noise, we didn't let it effect our vacation - the resort is still beautiful and the service was top notch. We would love to come back and will recommend it to all our friends travelling to Fiji.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilyofthemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing 7 nights stay in late May; the resort faces due west, thereby avoiding the prevailing winds and has spectacular sunsets. It's only 6 years old, is small (23 rooms), adults-only and has a boutique feel. Most activities are included in the price, as is bottled water (no need to pick this up at the airport on the way through like we did!); and the laundry service is also included in the price (no need to bring many clothes with you!).

The only disappointment for us was the food - unlike the rest of the resort the food failed to deliver the "wow" factor. Like many resorts in Fiji, the food was variable - we would have liked to see more local ingredients and spices/herbs used in the cooking (I.e., it needed more flavour). Some nights the food was very average. We also did'nt think the food was good value for money (e.g., mains are FJD$40-$50 each; lobster $140 ) and we thought the wine was very expensive (Australians and Americans however may find the resort reasonably-priced, because of their high exchange rate compared with the NZ dollar; this maybe one reason why 90% of the guests were Australians at the time of our visit).

Overall we rate this resort highly and would definetly return (next time we'd bring more of our own alcohol to consume on the front deck while enjoying the spectacular sunsets).

All the staff working at the resort are amazingly and genuinely friendly people who made our stay very enjoyable. We'd especially like to thank Nat (who took us out by boat snorking most days; he will also take you fishing if you ask - all part of the price) and Bou (who runs the efficient but friendly front desk). We also really enjoyed the small band playing in the evenings over dinner.

Don't forget to bring your insect repellent, flies and mossies are plentiful.

Mololo Lailai is a good-sized, flat island with plenty of things to do - Plantation Island Resort and Musket Cove are within easy walking or bike-riding distance - and there's 9 holes of golf adjacent to the air strip.

Room Tip: The best beach bure room is no 14, because it's by far the closest to the beach; next best would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed 4 night in Hibiscus suite with my wife. The perfect place for a romantic relaxing holiday. Best service and nicest staff ever. Great beach and pool. The food was with no doubt the best I've had in Fiji by far. Accomodation very comfortable and right on the beach.
We absolutely loved the fact it was adults only.
You get a song when you arrive, when you leave, on your birthday, on you anniversary, prety much any excuse to have a song for will do which is really cute.
I cannot speak highly enough of this place - Love every aspect of it.

Room Tip: Stayed in Hibiscussuite number 12 which was very convinently located right on the beach and very clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Absolutely love it! Excellent accommodations, staff, beaches and good food. I went to a wedding and it was all very beautiful and professional.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed here for 8 days with the all-inclusive meal plan. The staff were so amazing and accommodating! We enjoyed our room, pool was fantastic, the beach at Lomani is spectacular! Food was great, the meal plan is TOTALLY worth it because the food on Plantation Island/Musket Cove isn't very good, and we ate at Lomani every meal. My Fiance and I surf and they arranged a daily boat trip over to Cloudbreak every morning for us. Free massage was wonderful. Perfect for couples, so romantic, and QUIET (unlike the rest of the resorts on the island). Book this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had our dream wedding charter there in late April 2012 with our family and friends after a most memorable trip back in May 2011 when we got engaged (also at Lomani Island).

The enthusiasm, professionalism and experience the staff exhibited during the whole weekend meant we could enjoy the lead up to, and the most important day in our lives! We were totally amazed by the flowers Jonathan selected and used for the bouquets, posies and table arrangements. The food was out of this world and easily on-par with that from a 5 star restaurant (not to mention the amazing meals we had over the weekend as well!). All in all it was a wonderful ceremony and weekend which we thoroughly enjoyed!

Lusi organised activities for young and old including snorkelling, going on a dolphin safari and hand-line fishing to name but a few. The ladies were able to get their hair and nails done at the spa or go for a relaxing massage. The staff were always on hand to help out with something from the bar or a lovely latte!

We highly recommend staying at Lomani Island! Lusi and her team are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. If you want something romantic, this is the place to go!!! Let Lusi know and she'll go out of her way to make it even more special!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llllllllhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Lomani for our honeymoon in March 2012. After MANY hours on trip advisor and with the assistance of our travel agent we settled on Lomani and we are ever so glad we did.
Our dream holiday began with a sea plane ride (15mins) from Nadi airport, if you can incorporate this into your experience we highly reccomend. The views are amazing and for our first time to Fiji we really got a feeling for what we were about to experience. We landed on the water and were greeted by staff who serenaded us with beautiful Fijian song, welcoming us to their family! Some of the guests who were staying also came to welcome us, one said " Welcome to Paradise"- she was on the money.
After a refreshing welcome drink and an easy and informative check in we were shown to our room. We were in room 11, the hibiscus suite which is beach front, has it's own wooden deck perfect for relaxing and admiring the beautiful waterfront. It was perfect. Once inside we found a spacious living area complete with comfy sofa, fridge, kettle, essentials, and a hard drive player loaded up with movies to watch at leisure! A massive bed and a wonderful PRIVATE outdoor shower, we never showered indoor once!
It didnt take long to settle into relax mode!
The rest of the week was spent enjoying the daily snorkeling trips,Dolphin safari, utilizing the kayaks to explore the underwater world and mooching about in the hammocks or hammock chairs scattered along the foreshore. Bliss! I even read a book!
Massages are highly reccomeded, as are the piña coladas and the food anytime of day, delicious, fresh and plentiful. Room service is available for those lazy nights you want your space, or the sunset dinner option is also not to miss, book a table on the waters edge and enjoy the experience. The nightly singing creates a lovely atmosphere.
The staff are a credit to the resort, every review you read of the staff is true, the Fijian people are beautiful and really make your stay memorable and relaxing. I cried when they sang goodbye when we left, even the maintenance man came and joined in the singing!
Our honeymoon was without a doubt incredibly memorable, no children around, just other like minded adults enjoying the amazing surroundings, we met some really nice people.
Vinaka to everyone at Lomani, we will see you in March 2013 for our 1st anniversary, something we had already decided on our first day of our honeymoon, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmel2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
625 reviews
11.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
901 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: £243 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing