We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post holiday blues!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I returned from Lomani last week, my boyfriend and I stayed for 8 nights and had an absolutely wonderful holiday. We can't speak highly enough of all the staff, they are friendly, accommodating and you can share jokes with them too. We loved being serenaded by the boys in the flame tree restaurant every night, you guys are awesome!

We stayed in deluxe suite number 1 as we were trying to cut down costs, and it was absolutely wonderful. Clean, spacious, four poster bed, stunning view, air con... Nothing to complain about! I am sure the bures are lovely if you can afford the extra cost but we were not at all disappointed.

We made the most of the activities and went snorkelling almost every day which was fab. Peceli took us to different spots so we really felt we had seen the surrounding islands too and weren't just stuck in one place. Fish feeding is a must! Got lucky and saw a huge pod if dolphins too. Unfortunately didn't catch anything hand line fishing but it was a sociable and fun way to spend the afternoon. The wind was low until our last day when managed to take out the hobie cat and windsurfers which was great fun. Bear in mind if you are really into water sports the equipment is fairly old and is really for messing around in than serious sailing, did the job though! Same goes for the bikes which were fun to ride around the island to get to the view points but have one gear only and don't have proper brakes! We walked around the island one day which takes about 3 hours and it was absolutely stunning. I would recommend it to anyone who goes. Take hats, sunscreen and plenty of water though. We saw about 3 local people on our way round between the resorts, other than that completely deserted beaches for us to enjoy.

The pool was unfortunately out of order during our stay due to urgent maintenance work needed. It was a shame not to have the facility but the sea is just beautiful and the staff went out of their way and beyond to make up for it. They gave each couple a bottle of bubbly and put on extra complimentary boat trips every day whilst it was shut including a sunset cruise which was gorgeous. This is the sort of 5 star customer service that we experienced during our entire time at lomani.

Food and drink wise we got the kana Levu meal deal which was exceptional value for us as we were staying for 8 nights. I would certainly recommend it if you are watching your costs. The food isn't 5 star but yummy all the same with daily specials to try. I was impressed with the quality of their steak.

I can't say enough good things about this place. When I read the reviews saying people cried when they left I thought they had to be joking... Until I sobbed throughout the singing of our farewell song! Our beautiful manageress even wiped my tears with a tissue for me, if that isn't service I don't know what is!

Vinaka to everyone who is a part of the Lomani experience, we will never forget our stay with you.

Room Tip: Out deluxe suite number 1 was perfect for us, a slightly cheaper option but spacious, AC, stunning v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in January. It was the best holiday we've ever had. No photos can do this place justice, the resort grounds are flawless and everywhere you look it's better than the postcards!

The highlight though is the staff, I don't know where to begin! The wait staff especially were sensational, so professional yet friendly. The reception staff, the room service, the grounds keepers, the day spa girls...EVERYONE went above and beyond and made us feel like we were part of their family. We can't think of even one small complaint about any member of the staff.

Sunset dinner is a must, as is snorkelling on the reef ....aaaaamazing. You get to hand feed the fish - take an underwater camera if you can...it's worth it! I'd also recommend the Shell Village tour. We also did parasailing (leaves from Plantation next door) which was a fantastic experiance. The Wednesday night banquet / kava ceremony was lots of fun & felt like a family dinner.

The bure we stayed in was flawless, huge and luxurious. The outdoor shower was emade the room that bit more special. The cleaners make sure the room is constantly spotless, a nice temperature and has lots of fresh water and little chocolates. There's so many special little touches in the rooms. Don't bother bringing shampoo, conditioners etc...the Pure Fiji brand that the resort provides is lovely.

Special mention to the lovely Elenora in the day spa, ask for her if you get a massage, she's very talented. And listen out for Mesu's amazing singing voice at meal times.

Would 100% recommend this to anybody looking for a relaxing beach holiday, it exceeded every single one of our expectations....we can't wait to get back to Lomani!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 27 - it was the last bure so we had a much bigger section of "private beach&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheldieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Lomani is a comforting place. The food and cocktails are so awesome. Staff do indeed treat you like royalty. The programs such as husking a coconut and snorkelling are worthwhile. Lomani is like one big family. Massages by Elenoa are amazing and I had quite a lot of them  Perfect place for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: keep air con on the whole time and enjoy the hard drive of movies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at Lomani Island Resort for 5 days and we absolutely loved it. From arrival, the rooms standards, the staff, activities, food & massage... everything was great!

The standout points were
1. the outdoor showers in the villas
2. the private beach access from our villa.
3. Free activities everyday - and the snorkling trips that we took - It was the most beautiful experience when we went snorkling. we saw thousands or fish, we also saw an octapus, shark, sea snakes etc...
4. The ala carte resturant was good - a good range of food with daily specials. I suggest getting all meals on board package - I had lobster twice in a row - and that's STILL included as the standard package
5. Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: The individual Villas with outdoor shower were amazing. Ours were only 4 months old at the time. Def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Von L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed the first week of January. What a beautiful place. Very well maintained and very clean rooms and grounds. That is saying something since they had a major cyclone come through just a couple of weeks before we arrived. The staff is so friendly and quick to help in any way. They have a variety of activities (snorkeling, fishing) to take advantage of free of charge. If you just want to relax, the pool is a quiet place or grab a hammock by the beach. It was a wonderful place to stay. We would highly recommend it. The food is good, not the best I have had but not bad. We discovered Ananda's Restaurant at the resort next door is a great place to eat for dinner and you can charge it to your room. Try Lomani's, you will not regret it. They have thought of everything to make your vacation awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This resort has the perfect combination of convenience and serenity. It is adult only (unlike the other resort on the island) which makes for a quiet and relaxing stay. All of the rooms are within 100m of the water. The service is fantastic but not overly aggressive as I've experienced at other high-end resorts.

There are plenty of food options, though it would be easy to exhaust the menu with a stay longer than 5-6 days. Breakfast is included and can be delivered to your room without extra charge. There is an unlimited meal plan available for lunch, afternoon snacks, and dinner but this is only worthwhile if you eat big meals (including appetizers and desserts).

The massage on the beach was very relaxing and fairly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lomani in November 2012 in bure 25. From the moment we arrived, we felt not only relaxed but part of the family. We arrived early in the morning and the hotel still provided us with breakfast even though we did not pay for it that day.

The room itself is beautiful, massive and with a huge bathroom and outdoor shower. We took advantage of the private sun loungers on our balcony daily, when lying there you don't hear a thing and it's completely peaceful and private.

We took full advantage of the daily activities, going snorkeling nearly every day. Do mindful that you may see reef sharks as one swam right under us. But they are more scared of you than you are of them! We were lucky enough to see dolphins on our last day during the dolphin safari, they were adorable and swam with the boat as it moved. The guide on the excursions is fantastic and extremely knowledgable.

We took advantage of the room service, having lunch delivered daily to our bure while we layed on our sun loungers. If you don't want to pay for the lunch menu, wait until 2pm and order from the snack menu which is like half price and an easy quick meal.

The dinners are well priced, a significant selection and enjoyable. There are nightly specials in case something on the menu doesn't interest you. On Wednesday nights they hold a Kava and Fijian banquet dinner, if this isn't your thing, head over to Anandas at Plantation resort where anything you eat can be charged to your room. The menu is a bit more simplified here and it just increases your choices. Do take advantage of the beachfront dining, it's beautiful during sunset and peaceful! Plus they come to sing to you!

We have already booked our return to the island, choosing to stay for 10 days this time as we felt a week was just a few days short! The island is beautiful and the resort do a fantastic job at making your holiday memorable. Also no children under the age of 16 are allowed in which is a huge plus a it only enhances the relaxation and serenity of the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phantom_girl00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
0 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
626 reviews
11 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,502 reviews
0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: £238 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing