We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for a week in July 2012 which was not long enough.Our beachfront bure was imaculate a newd very well appointed. Each had an individual well tended garden which was so tropical. The food was great , so great I stacked on a few kgs lol, staff great, location great. Lots of activities to do or not. Very sad to leave. Id recommend at least 10 days as you lose 2 days travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing week at this resort.
Just about everything has already been written before but we also loved our stay. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They were always about but not in an overbearing way.
We stayed in Deluxe Suite, and although we didn't go inside the other room types, we needed nothing more than was provided in these rooms. The suites are huge, airconditioned, a tv with movies and a bar fridge to keep the wine cold! Great sunsets, rooms serviced daily and only steps to the beach. Not sure it would be worth the extra cost of the other rooms. After all, how much time do you spend in the room anyway?
We loved the breakfasts and ate dinner 5 of the 7 nights at the restaurant. All of the meals were thoroughly enjoyable. Only the Lovo Dinner was not totally up to scratch and thought it was a little over priced for the food served. In saying that, we had a great night trying Kava, meeting other guests and watching the traditional Polynesian dancers.
Activities are provided free of charge if you wish to join in. We went snorkelling out on the reef which was amazing and then had lunch and a cocktail at the Cloud9 Bar. A great day.
We kayaked, paddle boarded, rode the bikes around, lounged at the pool and swam in the clear blue sea.
Overall a lovely stay and ending with the beautiful farewell song by the staff.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Only one of the beach bures was right on the beach. The others are set back a bit. Deluxe suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debgeorge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lomani Island Resort for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon in Fiji. The resort is very beautiful with amazing sunsets. We stayed in the deluxe suite and it was nice and very spacious, but the beachfront bures definitely looked like a step up! We also woke up early during our stay and would walk over to the beach at Plantation Island Resort for wonderful sunrise photo opportunities.

The food at the resort was not as good as we were expecting considering the reviews we had read and the comments we heard from others staying at the resort. For us, it was okay to good, but not great.

The resort offers included snorkeling trips and I enjoyed them quite a bit. There is also a village visit that is offered but do be aware that if you visit the village you will have to take part in the kava ceremony upon arrival there. So if you aren't feeling 100% on the day of the village visit, you may want to skip if you are unsure about drinking the kava. There is good snorkeling off the beach between Lomani and Plantation and this was a bit of a surprise.

Lomani Island Resort was a good choice for us to begin our honeymoon, as it was a very beautiful and relaxing resort. The goodbye song was one of the most beautiful and sad songs we have ever heard, and even though we were only there for 3 nights, we left with tears in our eyes after hearing such beautiful music.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hokiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just had a 7 night stay on Lomani and highly recommend it for a luxurious relaxing break. Lovely rooms, well appointed and spacious, we had a beachfront villa which looked out over the sparkling clear blue sea. The pool is great and the cabanas very relaxing to while away an afternoon. The food was very good, lots of fresh fish, and the staff friendly and reasonably efficient by Fiji standards. The dolphin safari and snorkelling trips were fantastic and excellent value as they are included in the tariff. Highly recommended, we would definitely return. Great place for a honeymoon (1st or 2nd!).

Room Tip: Beachfront villas worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I had a lovely week at Lomani and totally enjoyed it, lovely location with nothing but the coconut plantation behind and the ocean in front of the beachside bungalows. These rooms are great and as mentioned by others are HUGE with monstrous "super king" beds and an outdoor shower.

The food was excellent, loads of it and the service great, had a night sitting on the beach for dinner which was something special and went snorkeling at different locations most days, found the dolphins 2 out of 3 times we went looking.

Being an 16 and over resort has it's benefit's when you are looking for a break from the kids or some 'alone time'.

Would go back again

Room Tip: any beachfront room is good, we had the VERY VERY end one (#27) which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ozzyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We came for 6 nights and to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were not dissapointed. We were welcomed with a singing group and given cold coconuts to drink from while our room check in was sorted. We booked one of the beach front bure's and it was fantastic. It is huge - a big bed looking over your own private deck (with sun loungers), a small garden and then the beach. Probably 20 steps from the deck to the ocean. The bure was spotlessly clean, air conditioned, and fully fitted with bug/mozzie screens. The bathroom is huge with his and hers sinks, an indoor shower and an outdoor shower.

The room has a TV but there is no satellite or terrestrial channels. Instead they plug hard drives into the TV which are loaded with films, TV programs and documentaries. Beware, there is only WiFi at reception and it costs. That didn't bother me as I was there to relax rather than catch up with the office or update Facebook!!

This is only a small resort with about 50 guests maximum. Being adults only it is quiet and peaceful. The fresh water pool is lovely (beware, other resorts use salt water) with 5 huge day beds to lounge around in. There are plenty of activities (weather permitting) from snorkeling trips, to dolphin safaris, fishing trips, bike use, sailing, kayaks, paddle boards, and other trips. These are all included!! The resort also lays on island dancers on two nights, a cava festival (definitely an acquired taste!!) and a Lovo (Fijian equivalent of a hangi). You can also get a massage beside the beach, explore the island, or visit the other couple of resorts on the island. There is plenty to squeeze in between sitting beside the pool or beach!!

But the star of the resort is the food. Breakfast is included which is a standard buffet (tropical fruit, cereal, pastries, toast, etc.) but you can also order egg dishes, pancakes and other delights. We went for the meal deal (FJ$140 pp) which gets you a 2 course lunch and a 3 course dinner. This is 5-star a-la-carte dining and was simply delicious. Loads of seafood, melt in your mouth steaks, great desserts - you will not go hungry.

In the evening you can book a table on the beach. The menu is the same, but the setting under the stars is fantastic.

I see other reviewers have complained about the service. We found no such problems. Wait times for food were no different to main street restaurants, but at least here everything was done with a smile!!

The only negative I found was that the bikes are in need of maintenance and some TLC. But apart from that tiny criticism, Lomani was a fantastic place to kick back and relax. My wife even shed a tear when the resort sing you their farewell song on departure. We will be back!!!

One tip; do not bother with the exchange dining facilities they have with the adjacent Plantation Resort. The food their was poor and it was a waste of an evening we could have had a great meal at Lomani.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front bure - you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at Lomani resort. Starting from the location, helpful staff and excellent food. Would advice to book beach bungalows that are spacious, renovated and more intimate.
We got married at Lomani in September 2013 and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruslanka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Malolo Island
637 reviews
11 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
0.3 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,759 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: £251 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing