We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our best holiday ever - we can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomani Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lomani Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our best holiday ever - we can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We spent a week at Lomani and loved every minute of it. We stayed in one of the Hibiscus suites which was amazing- we particularly liked the outside shower.
The staff are a definite highlight, they sing you welcome and farewell songs, make an effort to know the names of all guests, ask about your day, and by the end they really feel like family.
The pool area was very nice and we enjoyed the hammocks and swing chairs on the beach. They have a weekly managers cocktail party and a kava night which are good to meet the other guests, however otherwise everything is suited for couples.
We had meal plans and really enjoyed the food at the restaurant, initially we planned to go to some of the other restaurants on the island for a meal or two, however we enjoyed the selection at the flame tree restaurant so much that we ended up dining there for the full week.
There are free activities and tours each day for guests, and as it is a small resort we often found ourselves on a private tour! Paul who runs the activities is fantastic. I was initially worried that my partner would be bored but between relaxing, swimming, snorkelling, sailing, kayaking, playing golf, having massages, volleyball, fishing, sampling cocktails or eating- there was no time for that!
We are looking forward to going back when the new beachfront rooms are completed as we really feel we have found our perfect holiday spot.
Thank you Rajesh and all your staff for making our trip so special
We stayed at two other resorts during our trip to Fiji and lomani was definitely the stand out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BiancaAndSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    86
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
558
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

I can't really fault the resort at all. The room was lovely, the staff were excellent, particularly Paul who drove us around everywhere for free in a golf buggy! Breakfast was great too and they organised volleyball matches with the guests which was great fun. The pool was lovely and warm enough to swim in comfortably. The hotel is owned by the same people that own plantation so you can go there for dinner too and charge it back to your room at Lomani. Lomani also offer breakfast in bed for free which we took full advantage of! Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices! The only complaint I have is the island itself. It's surrounded by dead coral which at low tide just looks like a load of horrible sea weed. It smells a bit and it's really unattractive, not the beautiful white sand and crystal clear water I was expecting.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTay-Loc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights during August.
Lomani is a lovely setting with a huge pool for use of the maximum of 24 guests.
We had an upstairs room that was very spacious and had everything you needed.

The staff were super friendly and knew all the guests by name. They had welcome cocktail parties so guests could mix and mingle with each other and with Rajesh the manager.

We have been to Fiji many times before although not for 9 years before this visit and have travelled extensively throughout Europe, USA , Asia and the Pacific.

There were a few areas where this hotel let it self down: If management addresses these issues this hotel could be really turn itself into a 5 star experience!

The food was not great, it was OK at best and inconsistent.
There were not enough staff on at breakfast- if too many people ordered room services staff were too busy delivering and hence no one was there to serve at the restaurant. Fruit and bread were not topped up. We had to ask for this to happen. 2/6 mornings we not offered the cooked breakfast. On the one occasion I ordered a cooked breakfast- I asked where my omelette was after half a hour and the waiter had forgotten to place my order!
Desserts were a let down. There was something wrong with the ice cream- I think it must have been melted and re frozen and it had icicles all through it. We tried all the 4 desserts on the menu- all came with ice cream and we had the same experience each time! Note to kitchen staff- take care with the ice cream storage.

House keeping:
Often towels were not replaced.
Milk, sugar and coffee were not replaced.
Rubbish was often not collected.
The free laundry service was excellent and a real bonus! Ten points for this.

Poolside service:
This was non existent until our last day! We had to go and search for a staff member if we wanted a cold drink or lunch to be served by the pool.
On a beautiful tropical resort if you are lying by the pool, guests expect to be able to get a drink and snack served to their sun lounge, you do not want to have to get up and go and search of refreshments. This is an area where hotels typically make a lot of money- poolside service forms the back bone of many top international Asian/Pacifc resorts.

Anyway aside from these points we had a great time and especially enjoyed the daily trips out to the sand bar to go swimming in crystal clear water and snorkel amongst tropical fish.

I would recommend Ananda's restaurant by the air port- Great selection of main courses and desserts and excellent service.
We also ate at Dick's place at Musket Cove, don't bother with this place
as the meals took over an hour to be served and then they came out cold and we were not the only diners complaining!

The island taxi service is fantastic (the locals call it the island limousine) free gold carts to take you wherever you wish to go.
The massages are good value too.
This is an excellent place to come to totally get away from it all and really chill out and relax. It is not the place to come to if you are expecting a 5 star gastronomic experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlemssunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We had the most wonderful 5 night stay at Lomani this week in a Deluxe Suite. The staff were fantastic and attentive without being intrusive. The setting of the resort was beautiful and the activities that the resort offered were always kept interesting - from snorkeling to volleyball tournaments.

The fact that there are only 12 couples at the resort feels fantastically exclusive and you soemtimes feel as though you have the huge resort pool all to yourself!! The staff are all so lovely and friendly and you'll feel revitalised and relaxed after just a few days at Lomani.

We had never been to Fiji before and would highly recomend staying at Lomani Island resort if you are travelling without kids. Plantation Island resort, just next door, felt crowded and noisy compared to the quiet surroundings at Lomani. The cocktails were delicious and the food was nice. We ate at all 3 resorts on the island (Lomani, Plantation and Musket Cove) and Lomani was by far the best in terms of food and service.

We booked in for a massage at Lomani which was fabulous and also took advantage of the free snorkeling trips offered out to the reef for an hour each day.

To sum it all up - we loved every aspect of Lomani and think if you are looking for an affordable but luxurious holiday for 2 then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beansfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Just returned from 5 nights at the Lomani after spending 5 nights on the Coral Coast at the Outrigger (see my review for this resort).

The biggest memory I have is the sincerity and friendliness of the staff - cant say that I have ever experienced anything like that in a hotel anywhere else in the world. Really left an impression on my wife and I. The staff ask your name as soon as you meet them and you are greeted by name from then on.

As other people have mentioned, food is very good, service is a little slow (fiji-time) and the resort is extermely peaceful due to the adults only rule. Couple of other points to know....
- there are 4 Bures (2 are virtually on the beach, the other 2 are a little further back with limited views)
- the other 8 rooms are in a block; 4 on the bottom floor and 4 on the top. We were originally allocated the room on the lower level on the corner nearest the bar/restaurant. Unfortunately you can hear the people upstairs clumping away. I asked to move and we were allocated an upstairs room which was far better - I would try very hard to be allocated 1 of the beachside Bures or 1 of the upper rooms.
- snorkelling is fantastic - great visibility and LOADS of fish
- we were unlucky to have quite a bit of rain and after speaking with people who have been to this area of Fiji for a number of years, we were told that perhaps the raining season is now pushing further into the year - If we go back, we would probably target July or August.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kippermckinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We came to Lomani from the time share at the other end of the island where we had spent the week previous. We had heard great things about the resort (have stayed on the same island at least a week in each of the last 6 years) and we were not disappointed.
First comment, this is Fiji. Everything is laid back, while Lomani is right up at the top of our Fiji experiences, time moves slowly. If you can't cope with relaxing, don't come.
Second comment, forget the 21st century. They do have DVDs, and the equipment in your room to play them ( they have some to loan - no cost, but if you must, BYO), and mobile phones do work. WIFI connectivity is "very low", there is internet available, but it isn't very high speed ( is anything in Fiji?). However NO TV, NO radio, & NO newspaper, and really no need for any of them. If you can't make your own evening entertainment, or enjoy the great harmonies of the local guitarist(s) at dinner, this may not be the place for you.
Third comment, you will be part of 12 couples maximum, personal service where they know your first name, and nothing is too difficult. The Hibiscus Suites are HUGE, well stocked with everything you need, and even come with their own private outside shower in a fern grotto ( there is a huge one inside as well).
Fourth there is an endless list of things to do, mostly water sport based, either at the resort, or at Plantation Island resort 5 minutes down the road.
We went Scuba Diving with Subsurface out of Musket Cove Resort ( they fetch you from the Plantation Island Pier - 5 minutes walk, or 2 minutes by golf buggy from Lomani. We hadn't intended to still be diving when we got to Lomani, but they made us an offer we couldn't refuse. FJ$42.50 per dive all gear included (halve it for US$), 2 tank dives from a boat, (you can dive 3 times a day if you wish) all your gear onboard, assembled, guided by very well qualified locals who know and love their ocean is a bargain in any language.)
Fifth, the food. Excellent quality, great range for such a small restaurant, not huge servings, just nice sized. We went for the meal deal and found it very good value. Occasionally something wasn't available, but if you want fresh it's a price you have to be willing to pay on occasion. The wine list was quite good, and mostly well priced when you translate from the local currency. Beer and cocktails were good value, and having it down beside the beach ( mosquito repellent supplied free by the staff) is especially romantic/
Finally you will be greeted with song, and will leave to it, glorious harmonies from a people proud of their heritage and traditions, and really happy to share them with you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Lomani Island was fantasic it was everything we could of wanted for our honeymoon and more. We had been to Fiji once before about 8yrs ago staying on the Coral Coast which we loved it and always said if we finally got around to getting married we would go back to Fiji and stay on one of the Islands. Well we finally got married and got to go back to Fiji. Our travel agent recommended Lomani and I am so glad she did. We arrived by helicopter (our 1st time in one and loved) to be picked up and driven back to Lomani where we were welcomed by the wonderful staff who sang for us and we were given a coconut to drink. The room we stayed in was just wonderful - nice big bed, nice flowers around the room and wonderful Pure Fiji products in the bathroom. We stayed on the top floor and looked out to the ocean. We took the food package which was great the food was wonderful and there was plenty of it you would never go hungry. The cocktails were great as well my favourite being Heaven. You could do as much as you wanted or as little as you wanted at Lomani. The staff were fantasic you could not have asked for better service. They knew us by name and were friendly and helpful. There was nothing they would not do for you. The 2 Paul's even sang each night while we had dinner. Thank you once again to the wonderful staff at Lomani for making our Honeymoon so unforgetable - wish we were still there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.9 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomani Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomani Island Resort

Property: Lomani Island Resort
Address: Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomani Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomani is an adults only boutique resort in the Mamanuca group of islands. "Lomani" is the Fijian word for love, and you will be sure to fall in love with this idyllic paradise. The resort has just 24 rooms that front a pristine white sand beach and sheltered lagoon. Relax with a massage by the pool, or get active with a range of complimentary watersports activities. Ideal for honeymoons or those seeking a peaceful escape. All Rates Include The Following : -Full American Breakfast -Wash, dry and fold laundry service . -All Guests are greeted with a shell lei and fresh green coconut upon arrival -Free WIFI for all in-house guests at Lomani,Available on 2 devices per room -Complimentary facilities: Kayaks, glass-bottomed kayaks, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, bicycles, snorkelling equipment, gym, chill out lounge with big screen TV, pool table & showers, 35 metre freshwater swimming pool. -Complimentary tours and activities: Outer reef snorkelling trip (daily), Dolphin Safari tour* (once a week), Guided Village Tour* (once a week), Guided Island Tour, handline fishing trip*, coconut husking demonstration, kava ceremony, sulu-tying lesson, basket weaving lesson, Manager’s Cocktail Party (Wednesday) *Note : These activities are operated according to tides and are therefore not run at the same time or day every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lomani Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomani Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Lomani Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing