We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic island getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reef House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malolo Lailai Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef House
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic island getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the reef house with a couple of friends this year after travelling to Fiji for a friends wedding. After staying on the main island at the Outrigger on the Lagoon being pampered with cocktails and poolside dining we didn't think it could get any better than that. But during our stay there we didn't even leave the resort and didn't even experience anything that Fiji really has to offer.

Then after a few days we made the trip out to our second part of the holiday at the Reef House on Malolo Lailai island. At first glance from the ferry as we approach the island we fell in love with this place. The sand is whiter, the water is clearer and the sunsets are stunning!
The Reef House had everything you could possibly need and was maintained very well by James the gardener and Vukei the housekeeper who are both very friendly and accommodating. James gathered us fresh coconuts and Vukei took us to her village where her husband took us on a bushwalk to the highest part on the island, a truly breathtaking view.

This is a true Fijian experience. Our days were spent either bushwalking, exploring the island, swimming, kayaking, and then in the arvo either cocktails by the pool or relaxing on the deck at the house enjoying a few drinks. (I highly recommend drinks up on the hill watching the sunset) One day we even managed to kayak around the entire island and another we got to go out and experience the amazing snorkeling. Having your own cooking facilities is a great money saver, and the grocery store on the island is reasonably priced and has a great range of goods. If home cooking on a holiday isn't your thing then there are plenty of choices for dining or light snacks from the resorts on the island.

Having experienced both the 5 star resort holiday and the small island holiday we can say the main difference we found about the Reef House compared to a resort is the complete freedom and almost feeling of isolation you have (even though the water activities and restaurants are just a relaxing bike ride away) and you almost feel like you aren't on a holiday, but you are home.

We plan on making it back at some stage in the not too distant future. I highly recommend the Reef House to anyone wanting to experience the real Fiji.

Mike and Sheena.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed for a week at reef house with our 16, 15 and 13 year old children in March 2012. Every morning we were greeted with freshly "picked" coconuts by James the grounds man. We made the short stroll to the top of the garden and down to the water for a dip (tide permitting) and sat in the peace and tranquillity reading or breakfasting. We were there for a wedding at Musket Cove so rode our bikes into the facilities to join in the celebrations with family and friends. We loved being able to retreat back to the Reef House when we wanted and cook if we wanted to..which we did...banana pancakes for breakfast and fish caught locally. The house is well equipped and very comfortable and relaxed. Would highly recommend staying at Reef House!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore Qld Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We are a family of 5 with kids aged 11, 11 and 13, This was our second time to the Reef House and this was possibly better than the first. We love the freedom of being in a self contained house and still being able to use all of Musket Cove's facilities. The bikes are a huge hit with us all, be it cruising to the restaurant or to the daily snorkelling trips or down to the supermaket for some more food or to the bar for some Fiji bitter. Our kids were invited to go to the school in Solevu for the day so my wife and myself rode to Lomani for a really nice lunch.
The last time we were at the Reef House (through the house keeper Vukei) we met alot of the villagers from the carving village on Malolo. This time we felt very comfortable walking to the village at low tide to spend time with them. On the Saturday before we left we invited Vukei and her kids over for lunch, she said there may be a couple of others as well. I was sitting on the deck when I heard some singing and laughing, then from around the corner came Vukei and about Fijian 25 kids. We spend the few hours with them and it was great, I made alot of sandwiches that day!
The house has everything you need to self cater and with 2 little supermarkets on the island it works very well.
The 2 daily snorkelling trips a day with Lote are great, we took a dolphin safari ( no dolphins that day) which took us out to cloud break surf reef where we snokelled in some incredible pristine water, we went parasailing another day and other days just lazed around. You can do as little or as much as you want.
We love it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steely67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and myself plus three adult friends stayed here for ten relaxing days and they "were relaxing". We loved riding the bikes to the shop,bars and restaurants, felt like we were kids again!! James the grounds man kept them in good repair (he also will gather & cook a wonderful land crab meal at the house} The bedrooms are a good size, each guest having their own space if needed and the ensuite in the master bedroom is a big bonus. A 20 second walk up the back of the property give you beautiful sea views, lovely to watch the sun rise and/or set. We spent a fair time in the comfortable hamocks on the extremely generous deck on the couple of days the weather wasn't fine. All-in-all a lovely place to holiday and we would recomend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aucklander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Reef House is easy to get to and yet gives are real Fijian experience holiday. It is within a short catamaran ride of Nadi, on the island of Malolo lailai. Guests have access to the facilities of Musket Cove Resort, while they have the tranquility of their own resort house. It is easy to prepare your own meals, while there are three restaurants within walking distance. We loved our holiday there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterV771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a fantastic holiday at the Reef House, was very comfortable and clean.
The local people are so friendly and willing to help anyway they can. Having access to Musket Cove Resort was a bonus. Will visit again, saving as I type for our next trip :)
Louise Collingwood

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Our family of 5 (mum, dad, girl 17, boy 14 and boy 8) holidayed at The reef House for 3 weeks in Nov 2011....To this day we are working out our return date and refer to our time there on a daily basis...Our boys still greet us with Bula!!! frequently and its been over 3 months since our return...

The Reef House had everything we could possibly ask for....a definate home away from home....

It is located an easy 10 min walk from the main resort or a simple 3 minute bike ride...but this enabled us to interract with the locals more. It was truely a case of having the best of both worlds!! We could use the Resort facilities but retire to our own "world"..

Thank you Ingram family for providing us with what is our most memorable experience yet....and that is what it was....not just a holiday, but an experience....you have it all at The Reef House......many thanks xxx

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
1.1 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
3.5 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef House

Property: Reef House
Address: 12 Malolo Lailai Island | Musket Cove resort, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you interested in a Fiji vacation where. There are more daylight hours than anywhere else on earth? You can hire a boat and visit many uninhabited islands. People dine out at restaurants in their bare feet? Every water sport and activity imaginable is all within a few minutes of your front door? And you'd like to do all this staying in accommodation that feels more like your own house than a hotel room or resort villa? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef House Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing