We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort
Cashmere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Spent four days here during a typhoon. Weather wasn't great but had a great time. The staff here is so fun. They had activities to keep us busy on the rainy days. Wasn't able to dive so don't know how their dive program was. But great people made the stay wonderful. Love fiji.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    67
    40
    16
    31
See reviews for
29
77
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I Loved everything and enjoyed every bit of my stay at the Ratu Kini Backpackers and Dive Resort. I had previously also stayed at the Resort but enjoyed this holiday much better as more laid back and you get to experience the Fijian village lifestyle and the visit to the school was awesome too including the sports competition with the resort guests-kids.
I felt very welcomed straight away on arrival by the Ratu Kini family and was spoilt and very well cared for by all Staff during my week long stay.
Best Staff-super friendly and easy to get along with, most polite, courteous, honest, funny & willing to cater to all requests e.g room service. The brilliant Staff makes this place extra special!!
I arrived alone but left with a new family. Travelling alone, I found the island very safe, never felt lonely but more like I was with my family at all times.
My room-cottage 1-excellent!-clean, most comfortable, best location-on the beach.
Food-best!-Chefs made me mudcrab curry, lobster mornay & fresh fish curry that was caught by Staff hours earlier. Bar Staff very friendly and make good cocktails too.
Activities-fun! and you can choose to do as much or little as you like. Thoroughly enjoyed trip to Monoriki with Staff...awesome!! Dive shop Staff also very nice and I might try diving next trip.
Beauty Salon-tried everything and would recommend everything on the board.
The Villagers were very welcoming too and friendly and I enjoyed my time with them.
There was absolutely nothing I can fault about my holiday- only that I had to leave the island. From booking online to my trip back to Nadi on the cruiser and transfer back to my hotel-the whole process was smooth and flawless and was personally looked after by the Director himself so I cant ask for more when it came to level of service...100%!!
I would recommend highly & will come back to stay again in few weeks.
Vinaka
Prue Howe (Fiji/Sydney)

Room Tip: Cottage 1 - on beach and very clean, comfortable, close to everything. swinging chair great to laze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrueHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It's a nice hostel in a great location. If you order a boat transfer everything is organizer flawless. Good basic food included in a full-board package for an affordable price.
Walls of the dorms and bathrooms should be painted tho.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annalisa_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We recently were staying at Mana Island Resort and went to the backpackers restaurant for a few meals. We went for breakfast and a few dinners. There were 8 of us travelling and all the meals that everyone had were great. Much cheaper than eating at Mana Island Resort. Lovely setting on the deck overlooking the water. Excellent music in the evenings. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend this as an alternative if staying at Mana Island. It is only a short walk from the jetty along the beach to this restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a surprise this was – a viable alternative to the Mana Island Resort that is welcome competition for a place to eat!

We met Head Chef is Tupou Loka who has created a menu to die for at a reasonable price and amazing portion size. The curry is authentic and amazing. The Calamari is perfectly cooked. The Lobster is great value (FJ$80), Lemon Chicken huge, Chicken Fried Rice very chinese, Crab and prawn dishes to die for, Chicken and Beef sizzling platters hot, and the food is fresh. Dishes are all around FJ$20.

Our families all had the above dishes and not one of our crew complained. If anything, they were remaking that it’s a pity the resort is not as good as this! As you can tell, we often ate dinner at Ratu Kini’s.

Wine and beer is very well priced (Wine around FJ$35 / bottle and beer around $8 for a long neck).

The billing at the end of the night is always correct even with our group of 23!

Well worth supporting. Well done Tupou and team!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Our family of 8 people between the ages of 6 yrs and 80 yrs ( 3 generations ) have just returned from Mana Isl where we stayed for 9 days at the Resort celebrating Poppa's 80 th B/day.
We had afew breakfast's and quite afew evening dinners at this restaurant.
We all found it really good, drinks reasonable and very friendly wonderful staff. Certainly was a change from buffet dinners every night.
Would eat there again if we returned to Mana Isl. ( Hoping )
Sue

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 460Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was here a couple years ago, and had a blast. The staff are really friendly, I have such great memories of this place. Achieved my padi dive course here! Met a bunch of down to earth ppl here, and just alll fun times! I was here May 2012, just forgot to write a review.

Room Tip: I was in a private room because it was only an extra $50 for 6 nights, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
13.2 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
8.9 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort

Property: Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort
Address: Mana Island | PO Box 2845 Nadi, 00000, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mana Island is close to Nadi, offers fantastic reef diving, clean and well serviced accommodation, local tropical foods in our Award winning Bar and Restaurant, outrageous beach parties, friendly, uniformed and educated staff and sunsets to die for!We operate a fully equipped PADI Dive Resort (R-36364) managed by a Course Director. We dive the Supermarket, Gotham City, Plantation Pinnacle, Namotu Passage and other world famous dive sites, which are just minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ratu Kini's Backpackers and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratu Kini`s Backpackers And Dive Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing