We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from spending 3 weeks on Mana which was our 21st visit. This coincided with the resort's 40th birthday and what a party it was! The Prime Minister visited for the celebrations as did the Fiji Military Band and their display of marching and playing was unforgetable. In addition, it was Returnees Week and over 80 returnees attended and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Management who did a fine job. The food was good and the beaches were immaculate.Each morning the south beach was raked and the seaweed buried. If it was a particularly high tide then the rock rubble was raked up, bagged and carried away. Sure there were minor irritations and these have been taken up with management. They met with returnees who expressed their views as to how the island can be improved. All in all it was a tremendous 3 weeks and the time simply flew .Will I return? You bet, in my view Mana is simply the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    636
    243
    117
    94
See reviews for
771
491
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

My partner and I spent 5 nights on Mana in October 2012. We had great weather, service, snorkeling, sunsets, walks, fishing and food! We stayed in a Garden Bure which was basic, but clean and fine. We didn't really spend a lot of time in the room as there was too much to do. The snorkelling was fantastic. The island has a North and a South beach, so if one was rough, we simply went to the other.
The food was a little expensive, however would be similarly priced on other Fijian islands. The food was nice at the buffets. Drinks were expensive, so would recommend filling up at duty free for drinks and snacks (or the Port Denaurau mall).
We tried the backpackers on the island for a cheap lunch, however my partner got sick from their food, so we avoided their food for the rest of the trip. They do have cheaper drinks however.
Would highly recommend to couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJoshBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I visited Mana for two nights and enjoyed my stay. It did not start off very well, as I was first assigned a room that was already occupied (a rather surprised look on the person's face as the receptionist and I tried to get into the room with our key!). The second room I was given had a door that did not close properly and did not lock. I was finally given an Island Bure, which I very much enjoyed. It seems to have been recently renovated, and was great. Because the location of it was not the best (near a lot of intersecting walking paths and a small road where the resort vehicles traveled), I was forced to keep the curtains closed the whole time for privacy. The bure itself was really nice - large and comfy bed, sofa, table, air-con, large wardrobe, nice bathroom, and a river rock outdoor shower. Food and drink was a bit pricey, but the breakfast buffet that was included in my rate was a nice addition. The beaches (there are at least three separate beaches, which is really nice!) were beautiful, and the views to the other islands in the Mamanucas were amazing. I particularly enjoyed the short but really great hiking trails around the island, including some great lookouts from the top of the hills. I had those trails and lookouts to myself in the early morning. Congrats to Mana for celebrating their 40th birthday!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTheTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collaroy Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We went to Mana Island in February this year for 4 nights and have booked to go back for another 5 nights in December/Jan this year. Whilst the accommodation was basic- there were fresh flowers in the bathroom, the rooms were clean, the air con cold, the showers hot - what more could you want, when there is a whole island to explore! And as there is a lot of accommodation available we felt like we were the only people there! I had forgotten how clean smelling and pretty FIJI is..... ( after loads of Bali trips).

The snorkeling is so AMAZING ! That's why we we to Mana island, the sunsets are amazing a few different beaches to visit , plus. 2 pools, there was so much to do or not do.Yes the food was average but again go to a 5 star on the mainland if that's what you want , that's what we did either side of our trip the best of both worlds!

The Bula bus takes you out to Sunset Beach, there are lots of activities and all running to time.

Just enjoy the experience ! I truly felt like it was an amazing place to visit, and we can't wait for the Christmas holidays.....

Room Tip: Take your own snacks and drinks , there are fridges in the room and you can get ice at the bar! We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, me, my husband and 2 half yr old daughter. I had read alot of reviews prior to our trip and was quite sceptical but we went anyway. The people are very welcoming and friendly, our room was nice & clean (Ocean front suite, split-level South Beach side). I think this block of suites weren't too old, as they were very modern. I was a little worried at first, all the stairs with a toddler but in actual fact she learnt to manage them very well (we don't have any stairs at home). No tv which is nice, so we took our portable dvd for our daughter in the afternoon for quiet time and this worked like a treat.

The Resort itself is quite big and manages to encompass loads of people, we never felt it was too busy apart from dining at the South Beach restaurant (al la carte) where you had to book (we booked a couple of days out to get the time we wanted). We felt the other restaurant, Mamanuca, was costly. It was the only place for breakfast $35FJ pp full buffet only option available, lunch was $30FJ pp once again buffet and then dinner was $65FJ pp. If you are big eaters then you'll love the lunch and dinner there. Room service consisted of pizza and fries only!! The backpackers along South Beach had good cheap meals (take cash). The food was good, we never had any sickness (as I have read previously).

Our daughter went into the Mei-Mei club (under 3 yrs) alternate days and was really happy when we picked her up. We also used the babysitting service a couple of times in the evening, also very good as we got the same lady who looked after our daughter during the day so it was nice and easy.

We swam at both beaches, North Beach the tide goes out further, but lovely when its in. South Beach we swam more merely because our room was that side and you could still swim in shallow water while the tide went out - great for littlies! There were two pools, both good except the decking was dodgy (needs replacement). We typically went at lunchtime when it was quiet and this worked well.

There is loads to do on the island, snorkeling, canoeing, hobycat sailing, walk around the island (check tides first though), walk up Lookout point and also visit Sunset Beach. We also paid for the Submarine trip, great for kids. You go beneath the boat as they motor around the reef so you can see the coral and fish - our daughter LOVED it! You must also have a massage, gets you right into relaxing!

In general, a lovely place to stay, needs a little improvement here and there but it is only a 3half star property, so if your're going, don't expect 4 star or higher.

We would love to go back again!

Room Tip: The Ocean front suites had a great layout with loads of room. Downstairs there was a lounge area &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3oftheHamiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have stayed at Mana a few times and overtime i come away feeling totally relaxed, the snorkelling is amazing, seeing such beautiful,colourful fish and coral, sitting on the sun lounge on the beach directly outside our room, we ate dinner at the south beach restaurant and had the most delicious cooked salmon, desert of banana crepe with chocolate sauce was yummy too, kids could wonder around the resort, swim in the pool, play in the games room, swim in the beach, snorkel, theres plenty to do to keep you entertained or you can do as little as you like and just sit back and relax, the sunset on the beach was AMAZING, if you get a chance walk up to the lookout at sunset and you can take fantastic photos, our family beach side room was beautifully decorated and slept 5 of us comfortably, definitely going back to stay at Mana resort again one day!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were a family of 5, 3 adults and 2 children and we had a family beach bure on the north side beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Anything I can write here is going to make any justice to our experience in Mana Island Resort & Spa.

We just came from our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for more.

As soon as you put your feet in the island you can get an idea of what your holiday is going to be. Everyone approaches you with a big smile and a positive attitude that is greatly missed here in Sydney. The service is impeccable. Yes, Fiji time, but everything is done to the detail and with care. And since you are there to relax, you shouldn't been in a rush.

The island is big enough to accommodate all the guests. We went in the busiest time of the year and never had the feeling of being crowded. There are 3 beaches available, each one for a different type of activity. North beach for sun bathing, south beach for aquatic sports and sunset beach for a romantic and private moment. The snorkelling in the island is stunning and it is a must.

The food is probably the weakest feature only if you are spending more than a week there as the offer is not extremely extensive.

The Spa is an oasis of pleasure in the middle of the resort. Great relaxing atmosphere and great skilled staff. Price is a bit expensive for Fiji but way cheaper than in Sydney. Believe me, you won't regret paying the price of the massage. Worth every dollar.

I strongly recommend this resort to everyone who want to have a nice and relaxed holiday in a paradise island.

We are already planning our next trip next year as with no doubt will be back to this magical island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Bure but when we come back next year we will probably go for the Deluxe O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oierruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
13.4 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
3.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
5.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing