We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandsons Wedding.”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grandsons Wedding.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent 5 nights in an ocean front suite. Attending my grandsons wedding. Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday, great food , lovely people, everything you need for a perfect holiday. Beautiful setting for a beach wedding, everything went off so well.staff couldn't have been more helpful. Plenty of water activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    643
    247
    119
    94
See reviews for
776
500
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We started our holiday on Mana Island 13 th July 2013 we stayed in a deluxe ocean view bure for 7 nights The bure was sufficient apart from a massive spider in our bathroom and huge black beatles running around which was quite off putting and the spray they provided didn't do a thing in general the rooms need to be upgraded as well as the furniture as it was looking very grubby however there were tea and coffee provided in the bure a safe which was good it would have been good to have a drying rack somewhere in the room.
The food on the Island is not fine dinning and in the south beach restaurant we booked for 8pm but they would place you in the bar so that you would buy drinks once you had brought a drink they would take you through to your table where you had to wait quite a long time for your meals south beach needs upgrading however there were some very nice fijian guys who had beautiful voices apart from that the food not been great the snorkling was great the Fijian people on the island are very friendly and kind great with the kids but its a shame that the Japanese group that brought the Island does not seem to be keeping up with simple maintance and upgrades there fore leaving the Fijian people to face the music should we say !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We've just got back from visiting the Mana Island Resort for the 2nd time. We went with all of our family - a party of 8, including our grandchildren aged 8 and 2.
We loved it just as much as the first time, and we hope to go back in a few years time.
We stayed in an Island Bure, which more than met our needs. It really was just a place to sleep, as we spent most of our days 'out and about'.
We love both of the main beaches. The North is the more picturesque, but the South is certainly better in low tide. This time we wore reef shoes when in swimming, and its something that we would strongly recommend. The coral can be rather nasty, so its best to be 'safe than sorry'.
Most nights we went to the buffet at North Restaurant, which the grandkids in particular enjoyed. And for variety we had lunch most days at the South Restaurant. It took longer, but that was part of the enjoyment. It was nice not having to rush.
There are also some nice walks - to Sunset Beach, and both lookouts.
We did something a bit different this time and arranged a picnic lunch, which the Resort put together for us. It was really good, with a lot of variety. We went and found some shade along the far end of South Beach, passed the Backpackers.
It was a bit disappointing that the parasailing wasn't working, as our granddaughter in particular was looking forward to it. But she found other things to meet her sense of adventure.
I've read some of the other reviews (the negative ones) with boh bemusement and amusement. We love the place. Just go along and focus on enjoying yourself.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay on Mana, with my 3 kids - 2,5,7. We loved it!!! After reading other reviews I was left questioning why we were going there, I had major concerns around the food - but what amazing choices we were presented with day after day. I agree with other reviews, not fine dining at all, but more then sufficient to fill empty tummys after a day of swimming and activities. We stayed in the Ocean Front Rooms which we roomy, walked right out onto sand or grass & then the beach! Perfect. A short stroll to the main area of the resort & pool. Kids loved the pool. The snokelling which was right out our front door was amazing. The kids got to see all kids of things in shallow water, so they werent at any risk of being out too deep. The Land activities team show you some great Fijian activities. The short walk up the hill to the look out is fantatic, we did the walk a number of times to enjoy all that was around us. We even spent some time at the backpackers, which is not all that far up the beach. I would suggest you pay for your meals as you go - there's no deals in buying the food packages before you leave, & this then gives you the chance to eat at the backpackers which we found clean & tasty & cheap - as to with the beers or to have Pizzas by the pool or in your room. And then you don't 'have' to go to the buffet night after night. We took water with us from the airport, & our private transfer stopped at a local supermarket for us to grab supplies of chips, nibbles, soft drink. There is a fridge in the ocean front rooms, only a bar fridge & it does have to work hard (more so due to the heat) but i boiled & bottled water each night & it was fine for us in the mornings. The facilities may be a little on the old side, but that didn't dampen our trip - the staff & activities on the island sure made up for that. We had a great time & would go back - the kids are talking about it every day.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms - front onto South Beach. Very room & family friendly. I could sit on a banana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Mana for seven nights with our nine year old daughter. The room was spacious and cleaned every day. Sunset beach is great , take a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunsets , swimming at low tide is great there. The staff are friendly and helpful. The kids club is great, three sessions per day and our child especially liked suni aka Cinderella.

Its worth visiting the village school, donations are greatfully accepted.currently pencils, sharpeners, rubbers etc are needed as well as any stationery.When we went another party took an atlas, which is the first they have been given...even good quality children's reading books would be useful ...the children are beautiful and very deserving.

We took food for snacks as previously advised on trip advisor but watch that any cheeses are made in New Zealand or Australia as customs took a goulda we had.
We found the food plentiful and adequate at the nightly buffets, not gourmet but still very good value. Think people that complain about the food must think they are paying for 5 star....I'm quite fussy with food but no complaints here! You have to be prompt to get a table inside at night, however would recommend sitting out side for the peaceful setting.

We met a lovely young lady at the resort, a waitress who lives in the village with her family...her name is Luci, when not working at the resort she has a small stall at the village and does hair braiding...would recommend supporting the village. At $5 a braid it is well worth putting a smile on your child's face and supporting a community.

Room Tip: Beach front, rather than garden is well worth the extra $100 per night, for the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at mana during the school holidays for a wedding at sunset beach which was great. This was the third time we have been to Fiji the two previous time we stayed at the outrigger which was fantastic. Mana was comfortable but nothing of the standard of outrigger. A few tips go to the village to get hair braided as it was a lot cheaper. On a Sunday night go to the back packers at 6.30 and see the kids from the school perform a concert it is great ( the resort will not let them perform there which is mean as it was one of the best things we saw) also the meals at the backpackers were great and very good prices so was the drinks.
The snorkelling on north beach was great.
If we go back I would stay at the outrigger.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just returned from a week on Mana Island with the family (2 kids aged 4 and 6). We loved it. After reading others reviews we went with fairly low expectations of the buffet but we were pleasantly surprised. The fish in particular was amazing. Plenty of good choices every day. Definitely not high dining or gourmet but perfect for families. The breakfast buffet included juice which the kids loved and Lunch included tea and coffee so we were able to minimise our spend on extra drinks. We bought 12 litres of water from the airport for FJD 30 on the way in and then boiled the water on Mana and put it in the fridge over night in the used bottles once it ran out. Worked fine. The island Bure was fine for our family although we were in one that was interconnected to another one so we did have to be mindful of noise for each other as you could hear everything through the wall. Kids loved the pool and the beach. Snorkelling great, even for the kids as we saw fish right in shallow. The kids went to kids club 3-4 times and were happily entertained. Well worth the FJD 25 per kid even if you only go for one session as they get a t shirt to keep, nice souvenir for them. Staff were great. Facilities a little on the old side but the service and the staff more than make up for it. We'll be saving to come back again that is for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
0.6 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
98 reviews
9.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
749 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing