We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best experience...”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
central coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the best experience...”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were looking forward to our stay on Mana to be disappoint from the moment we got there. We stayed there from the 13th of November through to the 17th. We got there on a very hot day to be sat down in the hall like we were at a school Summer camp to check in with no air conditioning. It was a hour before getting to our room and we were traveling with three very hot young children. The food is absolutely disgusting. The buffet meal were really bad there was cockroaches crawling around the food. The food wasn't fresh and we felt sick after ever meal. The decks around the resort were dangerous with missing palings and nails sticking out. The water sports were very expensive and not all available. The pool wasn't clean it was cloudy you couldn't even see the bottom of the pool. We were getting the same reports from other families on the island so the mode on the island wasn't a pleasant one. We stayed 5 nights on the island and we couldn't wait to get off the island. I wouldn't recommend it at all. From one of the other reviews I'm glad to hear you choose to leave the island. Ki would say this is a 2 star resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bazzie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    637
    244
    117
    94
See reviews for
771
494
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I recently travelled to Fiji with my 12 year old son and spent 4 nights at Mana Island resort. Having visited Fiji many times but never to Mana, I was impressed by the beauty of the relatively untouched Island. With comfortable and spacious accom and snorkelling right off the beach it was a great family holiday. The food was good, but don't expect too much from breakfast buffet. It was fine, just not over the top.Personally I don't travel to Fiji for the food anyway. Kids and adults alike will love this place.

Room Tip: 2 story family villa good option for families but maybe not for young ones with a steep staircase up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I read all the reviews about the buffet and they are right. It is the worst buffet. All food is cold even when just brought out. No taste. Breakfast was ok but even egg person quality was ordinary.

We stayed in Deluxe Oceanview in the 500 range. It was a long walk especially to South Beach. Had a great time relaxing but resort definitely needs a makeover. Pool is dirty and needs cleaning in adults pool as very dirty.

We stayed the 5 nights before schoolies arrived and resort only half full. Took all our drinks from Yees at Denarau and saved heaps of money

Room Tip: Long walk to 500 series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank This_Beats_Working
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I and 2 children checked into Mana on the 13th of November and have to say that we were totally disappointed in the whole place, the staff were wonderful as all Fijian people are but the resort is supposed to be a 4 star resort I would rate it as maybe a 2 star. we stayed in a ocean view room that was full of ants the bathroom was terrible it looked dirty and very out of date, the hot food was never hot the cold food was never on ice and was always warm. on the 14th we tried to talk to management about it but they were never available and then on the 15th we tried to talk to management again without any luck so we decided to find accommodation on the mainland we were lucky enough to get into the Naviti resort on the coral coast as we still had 10 days left and thank god for the Naviti it was such a great place the kids loved it there and so did we. all I can say is do not go to Mana island it is terrible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had booked from the 13- 23 November 2013 and paid for all our meals 3 adults and 1 child we arrived on the 13th and left on the 15th due to how poor the rooms were dirty, smelly and In need on a renovation and the food you could not eat it was terrible cold food warm with flies over it, hot food cold with no taste what so ever it was really bad the pool was very small and very dirty only a few banana lounges nothing for the teenager or 10 year old to do at all, we paid very good money to stay there and talking to other people staying there they were not happy too and were looking to leave. We decided to leave and try to get accommodation somewhere else we were lucky to find the naviti had rooms, having to pay more money out for other accommodation mana island did not even ask why we were checking out they just informed just that we could not get a refund. The Fijian staff were lovely, it is rated a 4 star resort but seriously it should be 2 star very very disappointing,

Room Tip: I would not stay there maybe go for a day visit as the beaches are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 week stay on Mana Island and took part in the 6th annual returnees week celebrations. Management went to a lot of trouble in making the event a success-the Fiji Police ;Band attended and entertained us with some magnificent marching and playing. In addition there were two excellent dinners, a barbecue on Sunset Beach as well as coral planting and the release of a turtle. One of our returnees collected money for the local cancer council to assist villagers to travel to Suva for treatment. On two days at the south beach there were huge schools of sardines and we were entertained by numerous sea eagles diving between bathers catching the sardines. One of the sea eagles had a large amount of fishing line entangled in its leg and after numerous attempts one guest was able to capture it and cut the line loose. The staff went to great trouble to put on a show between the various departments-they had to pay for their own dresses etc. We stayed in a de-luxe ocean view bure which was excellent. The meals were very good and the staff, as always, were always ready to assist. Management intends spending five million dollars in the next 2 years renovating the Mamanuca Restaurant, extending the family pool and constructing a new restaurant. Returnees Week will be held from 3 November,2014-it is not to be missed!

Room Tip: De-luxe ocean view bures are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the moment we arrived (via seaplane!) we had an awesome time. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to an ocean front suite which allowed us plenty of room during our week.

The scuba dive team were fantastic - thanks Richard for the great dives we really enjoyed them.

Spa was clean and although a bit $$ (same price as Australian Spa treatments) the surroundings were lovely and the products good.

We did not take the meal packages, preferring to choose where and what we wanted to eat. We did do the buffet breakfast, and lunch which was good value. The wood fired pizza is lovely at lunch.

Drinks are expensive and if you have the opportunity to take some with you I would suggest you do so - especially if you are a wine drinker like me. Otherwise the backpackers do allow you to take home wine so that is more acceptably priced option.

Warning about sunburn - truly within 20 mins you are getting burnt - sunscreen is a must at all times!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
6.5 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
580 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
891 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,365 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
59 reviews
3.4 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing