We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday. Ticked all the boxes.”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday. Ticked all the boxes.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from our 10 days family holiday (5 and 3 year olds, hubby and me) from Mana Island Resort last week. To sum it up, it was just heavenly and we will definitely go back.

Location ; More than perfect. 2 beaches wrapping around the island. Both equally beautiful, plenty of tropical fish. Perfect and long white sand beaches with lots of sun and sun loungers.

Activity ; We really did nothing (in a way of day trips) except for a submarine one day. There was so much to do just within the island, we really didnt need any day trips at all which was a big draw-card for us with two small kids. Submarine was great for them to see all the sea creatures, since our kids were too little for snorkeling. We all had fun (Saw stingray, turtles, sea snakes and not to mention plentiful of tropical fish). FJD 77 for a family of four, so quite a reasonable price I thought.
You never get bored at Mana. You spend your time in the sea snorkelling&swimming, swimming pool, or just lounging by the pool or the beautiful beaches reading a book having a beer/wine or two (Add kids club to the list for kids). Go for a walk/run around the big resort, Spa. Just great. Oh, they sell new zealand ice cream at a kiosk by the swimming pool. We had ice cream just about every two days. Why not, when you are on a holiday.

Kids Club ; This was SO wonderful. My kids WANTED to go to the kids club, which was a real bonus for us so we could have a bit of no-kids relaxing time every now and then. Parent need a holiday too!!! ;) You register a kid at a cost of FJD25 (one off!), they offer 3 sessions a day (10 am-12pm, 2 pm-4pm, 7 pm-9pm). You can go as many sessions as you like. Just look at their timetable board and pick&choose which sessions your kids want to go. On average, my kids went to 2 sessions a day. 4 hours of non-kids time and the rest was family together. Was a perfect balance. Kids had a ball hunting bats&crabs&frogs, a movie night, cultural performance and craft etc etc. They made some good friends from AUS, of whom they still talk about.

Food ; We had pre-paid breakfast meals only for the duration of our stay and thought this was a perfect decision. Never needed lunch (were never hungry after big brekkie, fed kids lunch though since kids upto 5 get fed free all meals), and dinner pay as we go. Some days if kids wanted to go to the evening session kids club,we fed them free at the buffet , dropped them off at the kids club then went to South Beach a la carte. If kids wanted to stay with us for the evening, we ate together at the buffet. Some nights we werent even hungry for dinner so got some takeaway pizza (from South Beach restaurant) and shared it between the two of us. Some nights we just ate some crackers with peanut butter with wine, which we brought from home and duty free.
-brekkie pre-pay FJD 34.20, pay as you go FJD 38
-dinner pre-pay FJD 68 (or 67), pay as you go FJD 75
If you pay for a pre-pay dinner (which is for the main buffet)and decide to go to the a la carte restaurant, they give you a credit for FJD50. Where does 18 dollar disppear to then? I thought? So well, you do the math depending on your style of eating. A la carte restaurant - ambiance was good but the food is basically the same as the buffet food I thought. You just get one or two things (dish a bit hotter I suppose) rather than a million of things and pay slightly less price.

Island Transport ; We booked a ferry return (not the land transfers) and took a taxi from nadi aiport to denarua ferry terminal and back. We could have paid FJD180 extra (two adults and 1 kid, 1 infant is free) to include land transfer. But we ended up paying only about FJD 70-80 (two trips added together) by catching a taxi outiside the airport and ferry terminal ourselves. Catching a taxi wasnt an issue. Plenty.

Room ; We had a stand-alone garden bure. Was good enough. Outdoor shower was fun. If you have small kids, perhaps a good idea to take a small blow up paddle pool? So you can fill it with water so they can have a bath, since there is no bath just a shower. No issue for adults but kid sometimes like bath dont they.

Think I covered everything. Enjoy your time there, you wont regret it !! We didnt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    643
    246
    119
    94
See reviews for
776
499
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Mana Island Resort for 4 nights in June to attend the wedding of close friend and had low expectations before we arrived.

We booked in an Island Bure for the duration of our stay however were given an Oceanfront Suite for one night as our Island Bure was not ready when we arrived. It was a little disappointing to leave the big spacious suite for a small bure, however that is what we had initially booked.

The island itself is absolutely gorgeous and the beaches are stunning. However, the resort itself had a few downfalls. It is very outdated and could definitely do with a few renovations (which I believe are happening soon). The quality of the food at the buffet was disappointing to say the least and was not cheap (FJD75 per person for dinner). We barely ate at the buffet, instead choosing to eat at the a la carte restaurant on the south beach which was cheaper and had better food (still not great, but better than the buffet).

The Island Bure was a pleasant enough room with a fan and air-con. It had an outdoor shower which only had around 1min of hot water per shower, lucky it was hot and we didn't need hot showers! Also, the water across the entire resort turned off during the night until early morning. We got back to our room after attending a wedding needing a shower and couldn't - not fun!

Despite a few issues, we had an enjoyable stay at the island but this was probably more so due to the group we were with. We spent most of our time at the adult pool which was really nice, clean and not too cold. Plenty of sun lounges to accommodate a large group too. The staff at the resort were wonderful and very friendly people (as most were in Fiji).

Wifi was a little expensive on the island and the reception was not the best.

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at the island however it could definitely do with a few modern touches.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money and book an island bure that is not a shared hut. Bring plenty of bottled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicSyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Was sceptical because of some of the bad reviews but am delighted to report that Mana Resort was brilliant. We stated in a two storey oceanfront suite which in the end was too big for us (2 adults and a 1 year old) a bure would have been fine. The suite could definitely do with renovating and some new sofas but other than that were fine and would be great for a larger family. A TV would've been good too but next time will just take a DVD player. Bures definitely have that Fijian feel and we will stay in one next time on the north side. The beaches are amazing, we preferred swimming at North but the snorkelling at south beach is fantastic. The weather was perfect, June a great time to go. The spa is excellent and had 2 massages, prices similar to Oz but who cares, you're on holiday (the massage rooms are beautiful!). Food was competitive with Oz also. If you want dirt cheap then go to Thailand. What fiji can offer is safety, cleanliness, no hassling, and not too many people. The Fijians are so friendly esp to kids and babies. Mana has very cheap babysitting ($5p/hr) and kids club. Perfectly safe to leave your little ones which is priceless. Food at Mana gets such a bad rap, we thought it was perfectly fine. Lunch and dinner buffets delicious. Great variety. Fijian theme night sooo delicious. Breakfast ok. South Beach restaurant disappointing, serving average western food with lacklustre service. Other reviews have said pack heaps of snacks and essentials like nappies and mozzie spray as it's all really expensive over there. It's not!! I needlessly took snacks and they were the same price there as here! Plus I didn't see one mosquito the whole time we were there and I normally get bitten alive in the tropics. Transfers were so easy too, greeted by people everywhere to help with luggage and pram. We were just so pleasantly surprised by how good Mana (and fiji in general) was and can't recommend it highly enough. Yes it's more expensive than Thailand or other parts of Asia but hey, you're in the pacific. Enjoy fiji for what it is. Splendid!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank AASRMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place was nothing short of paradise !! After doing thorough research we traveled in August 2013 for a wedding at mana. We were fortunate to book an ocean front Bure ... It was ENORMOUS ... beautifully furnished and had a great view of the ocean.

We took a meal plan as not to worry about what to eat and when ... the food was quite good with a different theme each evening.

We hired a jet ski whilst there ... Not so powerful ... but ALOT of fun ... my partner went scuba diving and said it was simply the best dive he had ever done !!

I found the spa to be very overpriced ... even compared to AU standards ... and if you are not after the SPA experience .. a massage can be had for 1/4 of the price at the backpackers.

The pool is busy ... and full of children ... but with an island like mana, why would you want to spend time in the pool ?

Very friendly people .... superb room ... a trip to remember ... i would recommend to couples and families alike ... a resort for everyone !!

Room Tip: If you don't have a dying urge to wake up with a view of the water, book an island bure and spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdventureLover1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Mana was just beautiful. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We can't wait to go back. If there were anything to say of note, the meals are expensive if you have not pre-paid a package, so you may want to take a couple of things over with you. The buffet meals are huge at Mamanuca Restaurant. There is also the A la Carte option with South Beach Restaurant. All of the staff were incredibly friendly. We stayed in an Island Bure and it was comfortable for us (3 adults and 1 child). Snorkelling every day along with happy hour and bingo 5-6pm. Sunset beach is beautiful too. Although they offered kids club and reasonable pricing for it, we were so busy we never needed it. LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Have a look at the Mana Map online to choose where best to book. We had the Island Bure 109 which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We staying in June for 6 nights. We had booked a ocean view bure but when we arrived we were upgraded to a beach front suite. We stayed there the first night and then moved as the stairs were not good with a 10month crawler. The Ocean view bures were great and really nicely set up. The beach front suites would be good if you had more than 1 child with the extra room but are not quite as nice (feel a bit generic). The food was acceptable, not going to blow you away but had no issues. Ate at South Beach for dinner, and only North Beach for breakfast. The beef wraps from the stand by the pools was tasty.

The resort is quite spread out and has a nice relaxed feel. There is plenty of room to get away from other quests and have space to yourself.

We had a 10month old baby, and the staff were amazing.They were great with our baby with both the MeiMei Centre and baby sitting at the room. Our daughter loved her time with them.

The beachs are excellent, especially North Beach with the palm trees lining the beach and snorkling on the south beach had an amazing amount of fish.

Staff were friendly and were always willing to help.

We arrived and left by plane and would definetely recommend this, as it just a 10 minute flight from the aiport at Nadi and an amazing flight over the islands.

Room Tip: The 400 block looks great, but the 500 blocks are lovely as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed from 2 June 2014 for five nights. Wasn't long enough. Beautiful place and as most of the other reviews on this resort, it will not disappoint.

Acc: we had an ocean front suite (sth beach), perfect with 2 kids in tow (16m and 3.5y). We did look at an Island Bure and if the youngest was 3-4y's then it would have been more than suitable for our requirements.

Food: I had no major issues, breakie buffet was great, lunch (only had once) was better than expected, dinner buffet - missed a couple as it is themed, so only went for euro, western & lavo evenings - and enjoyed. 4/5 for food. Sth Beach food was great too, went one evening and also had pizza to go on another evening. 4.5/5 for them.

Staff: 10 out of 10 - as always. No more need be said!

Beach: excellent. snorkelling best on sth beach, nth beach for a bit of a swim and lax on the beach. Bars on both sides for those afternoon cocktail sessions. First day was a bit windy at sth beach but dead still at Nth. Basically last three days, dead still on both Sth and Nth beaches.

In summary: we also stayed at Sofitel on Denaru Island after this stay for 4 nights. There we felt like a 'caged hen', the island felt like 'free range' - so heaps of space and not dealing with noisy neighbours. Sofitel charged for everything, Mana most of it was part of the deal. To be honest it was cheaper to have a beer (FJ8) and cocktail (Fj15) on Mana vs Sofitel (Fj9 and FJ17 respectively). We will not go back to Denaru, not our style, prefer the relaxing island resort type establishments. Next time we go we'll intend to stay 10 nights.
FYI: there is a new reception being built (not an issue, didn't really notice it as it is close to the jetty on the sth side). However I was told they may look to pull down the main building and redo this, and the pools also. Sounds like in a couple years it may be even better than now - though still a beautiful spot. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnnaInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
0.6 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
125 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki ...
#2 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
94 reviews
9.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
748 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Property: Mana Island Resort
Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing