We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family Beach Holiday”
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife, 18-month old boy and I all greatly enjoyed our 5-night stay at Mana Island resort during August 2014.

Highlights included:

(1) Warm (sometimes hot), dry weather in August, with cool ocean breezes in the early morning and evening.

(2) Feeling relaxed, comfortable, welcomed and far from our day to day worries.

(3) Perks of being in a nice resort:

(a) Good food at the buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners at the main Resort restaurant.
(b) Nicely maintained buildings. gardens and outdoor areas.
(c) Daily resort activities - eg. Herbal medicine plants tour, traditional Fijian 'Lovo' feast.
(d) Deluxe Ocean View Bure was very comfortable, airconditioned and had an "authentic Fijian" feel to it design and architecture. (Unlike some of the more modern motel-style rooms.)
(e) Swimming in the warm, calm water at the resort's ocean beaches.
(f) Live Fijian-style singing and guitar music - on arrival, and each night at dinner.

(4) Family-friendly features:

(a) Five hours of complementary babysitting per day, at the babysitting hut, with 1 babysitter per child (which was included for stays of 5 nights or longer). Additional hours cost $5 Fijian/ hour. Our babysitter was excellent.
(b) Chatting to other young families at neighbouring tables at meal times, at the buffet restaurant.
(c) Staff were very friendly to our young boy.
(d) Many highchairs, plastic cups & plates available at meal times.

(5) A 6-hour organised tour to neighbouring islands on "the Seaspray" yacht.

(6) Excellent and inexpensive food at the local Ratu Kini backpackers resort, a 5-minute walk away, for a fun and down-to-earth alternative to the resort restaurants.

(7) Massage - my wife said that the (very expensive) massage she had at the Mana Spa, was the best she'd had in a long time.

Disadvantages of Mana Island Resort:

(1) Cost of Meals - which can easily cost more than your accommodation. During our stay, the breakfasts and lunches were about $35 Fijian each meal, per person per day, and the dinners were $75 Fijian per person per day. If you don't mind missing out on the resort atmosphere during your meals, you could save hundreds of dollars by buying a few boxes of cereal at the Port Denarau supermarket before catching the ferry to Mana island. Alternatively, you could walk 5 minutes to the Ratu Kini backpackers resort restaurant for good food (but much less atmosphere) for less than half the price of the resort restaurants.

(2) English language communication with staff - is generally good, but can be poor at times.

(3) Food selection - won't please everyone. We were disappointed that no raw muesli was offered as part of the buffet breakfast selection.

(4) Water - this is apparently drinkable, but we bought a $10 packet of 50 chlorine water-purificaion tablets from our Pharmacy in Australia before going to Fiji. If you don't mind a mild chlorine taste in your water, this is a good way to avoid spending hundreds of dollars on bottled water. Note - none of us got sick during our stay.

(5) Snorkelling - was ok, but my wife and I have both seen much better snorkelling areas.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View Bures (500s) on the North Beach are fantastic, if you don't mind a 5 to 10 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JamesFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I recently returned from mana island where i stayed for 5 nights with my husband and daughters ages 9 and 7 years. The the resort was beautiful, the beaches straight out of a brochure and the staff amazing and so friendly. We stayed in a bure which was clean and comfortable the king bed was wonderful. The outdoor shower, well, I wasn't so keen on that but it really made me feel like I was on a resort so I'm glad we choose the bure for accommodation. Unfortunately our bure had an adjoining door and our neighbours decided to "self soothe" their 5 month old so all we heard all night was a screaming baby, fortunately for us the staff at mana moved us straight away with no problem.
The snorkelling was amazing and the activities were great but keep in mind it's fiji time so be patient if the activity starts at 10 am they may turn up by 10:20!
Now for the reason I only scored 3 star the food was terrible. We had a package deal so all our food was included, breakfast, lunch and main. I suggest you get a package deal with food as it's very expensive. We mainly ate at the buffet, there was a huge variety but terrible quality. the food would often be cold the cupcakes were like rocks. I was careful with everything I ate and still got sick on the last night. One of my draughts and my husband also got sick.
The island wasn't a very safe place to walk at night. There were a lot of obstacles like tree roots ( can't be helped) there were also drain holes with no caps. My 7 year old feel down one and was lucky she didn't break her ankle.
The main bar area where the entertainment each evening took place needs renovating, however in saying that they are currently building a new reception centre at the front on the island which looks like it will be amazing when complete. There is a lot of work going on which is great to see.
Would I recommend you go to mana island, yes, it is a wonderful island and worth seeing and most of the time we felt like we had the island to ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Misstravelbug1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from 7 days on Mana Island Resort. 2 adults, 2 children aged 5 and 7. We've had a wonderful time and had no idea what to expect. All in all an excellent choice for an island holiday, just a couple of minor negatives we experienced.

Firstly, the location and island itself is stunning. It has several great beaches, 3 easily accessed at the resort, others which you can find if you don't mind walking around the rocks. There is great snorkelling for adults and kids right off the beach at North and South Beaches, plenty of coloured fish and the option of choosing the best beach suited to the tide and wind at any particular time. (i.e. wind was a strong southerly for several days so North Beach was very protected.) Hiring snorkelling gear and non motorised water sport gear is free and convenient. Sunrises and sunsets at these beaches and the lookout are really gorgeous!! Beaches were the best part of Mana and for and island holiday this was what we needed most.
All the staff we dealt with were really fantastic, particularly those at South Beach Restaurant. We found the check-in check-out procedure to be well coordinated. Our room was an Ocean View Room, it was nice and was ideal for what we could afford. The location of this accom was a little noisy with other guests very close by and definitely could have had a better/upgraded bathroom. The location was right on beautiful North Beach which suited us for quick swims and walks on the beach etc.
The included daily activities, kids clubs, island dancers at night, games room, bingo by the pool, bula bus to sunset beach were all good optional ways to have some fun, learn some fijian culture and change the pace of our days there.

Our only negative comments... Food was a little tricky. We had included only the buffet breakfast which was great and catered for us well. Lunch and dinner were very pricey at the Buffet..we couldn't really afford it to be honest. South Beach Restaurant was also fairly pricey for the quality and the service was quite slow at times...but we loved the staff there!! We split meals and drinks for our kids and ourselves at times which obviously worked out much cheaper. Walking in the dark at night on the beach to the backpackers eateries options with our kids didn't suit us. Badly signposted walking tracks led us into some unpleasant/dangerous places for kids. Trying to find sunset beach via the signs led us to a huge rubbish dump, first attempt to follow signs to "the lookout" took us alongside an electrical tower area that looked very dangerous...once we knew the right tracks there was no problem. If you venture off the tracks and fringe areas of the resort for a bit of adventure be warned of all kinds of old rubbish and building materials, nails etc. even on the beaches too. Right in front of south beach restaurant I took my son snorkelling and we put our towels down but hadn't noticed or expected a lump of timber in the sand with rusty nails thru it.
The resort main lounge needs a touchup/revamp to add to the nightlife atmosphere and feel of the place mainly after dark. 'Fiji time' for activities/entertainment and band sets/breaks between each song was frustrating, our kids would have loved the night activities to start earlier or at least on time, they love music and dancing. Band and shows were great.

We've had a great time, this is a really beautiful place and we've had a very memorable holiday, we would love to make it back here again.
Thank you Mana Resort.

Aug 2014.

Room Tip: Room tip. You're not in your room all that much other than resting so choose with that in mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blinkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were booked at the Mana Island resort for 5 nights but left after three.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the level of hygiene in the pools and accommodation left much to be desired. Both my husband and daughter contracted tummy bugs after the first day. The nursing sister and staff were very helpful, but it got to the point where we had to leave. The kids loved the staff and the beaches are to die for.
It is certainly not 5 star, but the friendliness of the people make up for it. Would I go back ?
Yes, but perhaps only for 3 days and spend the rest of the time on the mainland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great family holiday destination. Clean beach clear water. Great ala carte restaurant. Bure accommodation adequate for relaxing holiday. Affordable. Free snorkelling for all esp suitable for the novice and young. Interesting little mini walks to top of hill or sunset beach, chapel, etc.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank shassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from Mana Island Resort and Spa where we got married and had our familymoon with our three small children aged 4, 2 and 11 months. We had a dreadful journey across to the island due to a missed ferry (flight delay caused this) and a water taxi in very, very choppy seas. The staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome from the moment we stepped onto their shore. We were upgraded, dinner bought to our room and the senior management were amazing. Vini and Uddy were just amazing. Our small wedding was just beautiful and they even got a white shirt shipped over from Denerau on the morning of the wedding when I realized I had managed to leave the Grooms clothes in NZ.

The children loved the Kids Club and my baby LOVED the Mei Mei centre. We used the nannies nearly every night and they are AMAZING.

Could do with a decent room service menu (currently only pizza) for keeping little ones fed e.g. fruit platter, sandwiches etc as it is quite a wait for them between meals and we ate all our snacks in the first few days.

Breakfast buffet is good, lunch is quite good but we didn't enjoy the evening buffet and preferred the South Beach a la carte or the backpackers next door.

Our holiday was wonderful from start to finish and we were quite teary waving goodbye on the ferry yesterday. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with small children then the duplex bures are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marniefleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in the deluxe ocean view villas, and from what we could see of the others, we made the best choice. The rooms are spacious with outdoor shower and spacious bathroom. The deck had a couple of very comfortable lounges overlooking the beach. The better ones are on the south beach and subject to a lot of wind. The South beach restaurant had not atmosphere and the prices are a bit expensive. We didn't do the buffet at all, except breakfast which was quite good, the boys liked eggs to order. The pool is dirty and a bit small and usually would try to avoid it, but when the tide is out, it is really the only option. There is an adults only pool. There are plenty of walks to be done and you can get around the whole island at low tide. The staff are very friendly and will do anything they can to help.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the north beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fez59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Island
6.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
4.5 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
927 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
766 reviews
18.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.8 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range: £101 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing