We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private island all for you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matamanoa Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Matamanoa Island resort only allowed adult guests so it is best for couples. The island only features hotel so people are only guests or workers which makes it feel like the island private.

There seems 3 types of rooms available.

- Villa
Free standing villa with own pool and sun chairs on lawn looking down beach. Looked nice but you have to walk down the steps to get to beach plus it's a fair bit of way to get to restaurant/reception.

- Ocean view Bura
Free standing bangaloo with own hammock and chairs. Only 10m to the beach with a few sun chairs and tables.

- Garden view Bura
A few rooms connected to each other. No view at the back and front pouch is facing a path where people frequently walk past.

We stayed at Ocan view bura on "sunrise" side (#2) and thought was the best suited for us as we spent every day all day just out side of our bangalore.

Food package;
We were glad that we didn't take this. If you want to maximize the benefit, we'll be over eating every day! One dinner, I ate appetizer and main then there was no way I could eat dessert. Each serving is generous so unless you are a big eater, taking "as you go" option seems to work the best.

We'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view Bura on sunrise side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caramelatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We left the kids behind and enjoyed a long awaited relaxing tropical break at Matamonoa. We stayed in a newly built Villa it was total perfection! A wee walk from the restaurant but suited us both as we don't mind a nice walk in paradise. The sand was white the water was so blue and the staff very warm, and welcoming. We especially loved the singing and the entertainment. The snorkelling straight off the beach was a highlight, friends we made while we were there got to see turtles but we saw reef sharks and a vast array of tropical fish everyday. The food could have been a bit better but we've come to realise that if you want to holiday in Fiji you've got to take a bit of a relaxed attitude about the food. Thank you Matamanoa for a very memorable holiday it was just what we needed in the middle of bringing up small children and escaping the nz winter.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

By far the best and most relaxing holiday I have had in a long time.
The resort is quite small but if you are after that relaxing holiday where all you do is eat,drink,snorkle,swim and sun bake look no further.
The staff where fantastic and due to staying there for a couple of weeks we got to know quite a few. Special mention to Koli ( Took us out deep sea fishing twice), Ronnie ( great for a laugh and to take you out handline fishing), Trev and Em (Great for diving), and Apisai( great for a laugh ).
All the activities were great and worth doing.
I miss the island already

Room Tip: Must try the massage at the spa. It over looks the water up on the cliff. Best snorkling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My hubby and I stayed here in June. Magical island with daily activities and great snorkelling all around the island. We stayed in Bure 14 and 11(as aircon was not working in 14) then in Villa 9 .
Beautiful rooms especially the villas. So lush and roomy and views of the beautiful blue ocean from your bed each morning!.
The restaurant was great and food scrumptious every night.
All the staff are so friendly and accomodating. Special mention to Zeko, so happy and friendly and all round guy!
The pool is lovely and views from this area so relaxing ..Perfect!!
The band was great... you are serenaded with a welcome song when you arrive and goodbye when you leave as well as each night for dinner.
They have daily activities board and you can do as much or as little as you like. The island also has cruises to other islands and fishing and scuba trips at a cost.
They have a health spa on top of the mountain with beautiful views. I had a massage which was super and a facial..
The cost of meals and drinks I find are the same as in Aussie with possibly the alcohol slightly more expensive but you are on holidays so enjoy!!
Vinaka to all the staff for a beautiful 6 days.

Room Tip: All bures nice..sunset ones magic..Villas no 5-9 great as more private and lush gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Matamanoa island is for over 16 years of age. Mainly couples and older family groups such as mine. Snorkelling was fantastic and can recommend the Sacred island tour. We went in December so very humid and hot but thankfully little rain.

My only complaint is that there wasn't enough ice (I believe their ice maker was on the blink) and the pool temp was like bath water. I also believe there are going to be major renovations to the dining, pool areas .

The games at night were good fun, I loved the traditional Fijian band and Kava ceremony

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Vinaka, so happy your enjoyed your holiday. I think you have the wrong information re renovation on the pool and restaurant. We will close on 19th January 2015 and reopen on 16th March 2015 to fully renovate our beachfront bures and build 5 more. Should you require any further information please email me privately, vinaka Jill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Never boring! Very fun and friendly staff with multiple daily activities (some free some paid) but still very relaxed and quiet. Amazing snorkelling just meters from your rooms. Food was nice and well priced. Perfect for couples who want a relaxing holiday but don't want to spend the whole day just lazing around. Didn't want to leave! Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jess_Douglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Peaceful, fun, laughter, love, friendship is what Matamanoa and its people is all about. Natural beauty of this place is breathtaking. Food is great, the warmth and friendliness of the staff is amazing....smiles everywhere !!!! Beautiful place just stunning. Snorkelling the reef at your doorstep incredible. So many fish so much to look at you can absolutely loose all track of time. All tours were great. Beautiful reefs not enough words to describe the heaven on Earth my husband and I experienced. Loved it !!!!! Will be back again and again thank you so much fantastic :-)

Room Tip: Depends on your budget. They are all lovely comfortable and if your budget allows for luxury then go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M6457BTMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
9.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
615 reviews
12.6 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
743 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
8.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
893 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price Range: £224 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing