We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING AS ALWAYS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING AS ALWAYS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have just returned from 16 nights of absolute bliss. We had another amazing stay and already booked again for next year. The renovations were complete when we arrived with both pools operational and I must say they are both flash, they are very, very nice, I love all the strip lighting around the pools at night. I'm not one to swim in the pools rather opting for the gorgeous beach of Castaway but I did get in both pools just so I can say I used them. I understand there are further renovations to be done to the front of the resort which I'm sure will look amazing also.

My all time favourite thing to do at Castaway is dive, and again it was sensational, thanks to the very professional dive crew. We are lucky that the entire family loves to dive with our youngest daughter doing her jnr open water course this year. Irava did a fantastic job with our daughter giving her all the knowledge and confidence she needed to complete the course, such a patient and funny guy. Aku the legend he is again made diving so much fun as did Simeli. Eric took us to our favourite spot Bird Rock and Irava took me back to the Swimming Pool and it was fantastic! Vinaka to Jerry and Veresa, and our reliable skipper this year ili :) The dive crew really are a pleasure to be around.

The food seems to get better every year, Chef Lance strives for perfection and the staff are doing a marvellous job of making that a reality. Vinaka vakalevu to Lance for looking after us during our stay what an amazing man I love his passion for not only food but for the Fijian way of life, he has really embraced and made the most of his time on Castaway and we as guests are lucky that he is there.

The staff from the reception, F & B, the boutique, kids club, cleaners, boat shed, maintenance, gardeners, chefs, nurses to porters, honestly I can't speak highly enough of them all, always greeting us and mostly by name which I still find crazy.

We love the fact that when we go to Castaway we escape the reality of home and the stress of living in Sydney, we love the fact there are no clock radios to tell you the time in the bures, no TVs to show us the news and we love the fact that we get to listen to a band play just about anything you ask as entertainment.

We also love the fact that we get to meet up with the same families we have seen at Castaway on previous trips and the kids get to spend quality time with their friends.

We just love Castaway! There may be other places out there better but not for us, this is our island home for 2 weeks every year, as it is for thousands of other people. There is nowhere else in the world I'd rather go to relax then back home to see our Castaway family.

Vinaka vakalevu Castaway!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mad_Travel_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    176
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
566
166
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second stay at Castaway Island and certainly will not be our last. We stayed last April and couldn't wait to get back there again! We stayed from the 10th to the 17th of March and were blessed with sensational weather the whole time we were there. There has been a few changes since our last trip - all of which add to the amazingness that is Castaway Island. There is the new pool for the children which is brilliant if you have little ones. There is also a great bar/cafe that serves up fresh and fantastic lunch options plus unlimited icecreams (if you are on a meal plan) for the kids. My kids loved it! The new adult pool is sensational complete with swim up bar (thank you Joe for the endless seabreeze cocktails I enjoyed pool side!)

The accommodation again never fails to impress. Very clean, spacious and well cared for bures. Housekeeping is brilliant and come ever day to sweep, make beds, replace towels etc. Nothing is too much. Dining options are fantastic although we did feel that maybe the standard of some meals had slipped a little since our first visit. This being said, the food is still AMAZING and there is so much to choose from.

A big thank you to the wonderful reception staff, our friends Pau and Lingo, and our wonderful babysitter Naca and everyone who welcomed our family back with open arms. We can't wait to see you again next year.

If you are after relaxing holiday with great food, great accommodation, amazingly friendly people and very tired kiddies (from all the fun stuff to do!!) then Castaway is the place for you. My family and I will never try anywhere else. We have found our island paradise!

Room Tip: You can't really choose a bad room at this place although don't pay the extra for a beachfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessabrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Family - Mum, dad, one 4 year old boy and a mother-in-law from Russia. Castaway in a word was 'brilliant'. Had five days / four nights there. Accommodation is nicely presented and in good & clean order. The muskiness of the room on arrival will go if you run the air conditioning and air the place for a day if it has been shut up. Food - Very good! The meal deal will add a few pounds but it is good value. Try the porterhouse steak! Kids Club - Excellent. Be on the island so the kid/s don't miss the bombfire night on the beach on Thursdays. Resort - Their website says it all. Seriously all good. Recent renovations and additions to resort including new pool all good. Only niggle and I get Fiji time but the service in the restaurant can be slow. Otherwise we say spend extra and book Castaway. If you are fair and reasonable travellers, the resort and the staff will deliver beyond your expectations. We now understand why people go back year after year. We intend to join that club albeit maybe every other year [Europe still interesting]. Finally to the women who run the kids club, Vinaka from Sasha. Thank you Castaway for a truely magical family and personal experience. See you again soon. "Moce".

Room Tip: Ocean View or Beachfront offer the ability for you to sit with a wine on your balcony and watch / he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Have nothing but good comments.CAstaway exceeded my expectations.Have been to a few other islands and my kids and I loved castaway by far. Beautiful tranquil paradise, bures were spacious,clean and had all u need. We stayed in a island bure which was practically on the beach anyway.save ur money and go for that. Kids club was unreal kids loved it and we're there all the time and there 11,9,4. New pool had just opened and is lovely. Staff I found were very friendly and by the end were on a first name basis. Buffett was average but could eat off the menu and at the pool cafe,was all in meal plan.that food and desserts was 5 star.. Went to shangri-la after castaway and didn't compare.was crap... Been home for 1 day and booking again. Thanks castaway for an awesome holiday xxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We recently stayed on Castaway for 1 week in an Island Bure (2adults, 2 children aged 4 & 6). We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would return.

Transfers: We opted for the 10 minute helicopter transfer which was alot of fun for all. On our return to the airport, we went via Vomo Is and therefore had a 20 minute scenic flight.

Food: Fantastic. Head Chef is an Australian who is committed to organic food and local produce when possible. His talk on food is well worth the time. The only suggestion I would make is for a broader range of healthier cereals. e.g., Home made muesli as opposed to pre-packaged with preservatives. We did the meal package and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.

I agree with previous reviews that the system makes it a little difficult to dine as a family if this is what you choose to do. (Childrens dinner from 530-630, adults from 630 when kids club opens). The Bar is child free from 5-7pm so pizza is not an option for a evening meal together if your chlidren need to eat early. You could always order take away though and Saturdays is a family buffet night.

Kids Club: The children loved it and constantly asked to go.

Things to do: We snorkelled at least once a day and saw loads of fish. Castaway is a trully beautiful place to visit. Disappointed the glass bottom boat wasn't operational. Highlight for us was a visit to the village and school.

Renovations: Still going when we arrived. Unfortunately the adults pool opened the day we left. We did have the use of the family pool though.

Bure: Clean and well serviced. Our island Bure was on the north side, close to the kids pool and we were woken at 630am on 2 occasions by screaming / excited children.

Suggestion to Mgmt: Close the kids pool from 9pm to 8am for the comfort of surrounding Bures.

Overall, a fabulous place to visit and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnman30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Felt that while a handful of staff were very friendly and geniune the majority seemed fake and often stood around gossiping in Fijian language with no regard for the needs of their guests. At lunch time it would take close to an hour to get any food in the days when buffet was unavailable. Dinner times were very strict, your kids had to eat between 5.30 and 6,30 and no adult dining in that time.. dumb. We were on holidays to be with our daughter not too feed her and give her to a stranger so we could eat our dinner without her.

The glass bottom boat, was out for maintenance, which I believe to be lie as a another guest I was chatting too said last year when they visited it was also out for maintenance. My husband tried to organise parasailing, on our first day they said come Tuesday, on Tuesdays they said we only do on Mondays and Thursdays. Thursday they said the wind was wrong and within an hour we came back to the beach to see other guests parasailing.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jotin_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Guys, we stayed at Denaru, and Castaway, for over 2 week. Castaway is great for kids, couples, what ever. Due to the small population on the island you have plenty of time to relax and do your own thing or join in on the fun.
Food was great. People were amazing.
Bure's whether its Island, Garden, Ocean View, or beach front are much for muchness. They are all so close to the beach.
Best place I have stayed in a long time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
4.4 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing