We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just returned from an amazing trip to Castaway Island! The staff is very friendly, happy but in an honest not phoney sort of way. They looked like they genuinely enjoyed playing with my children and chatting to us. We miss them already... Despite other comments, the water is blue. Very crystal clear and blue. The bures are clean and very nicely appointed and no there isn't a TV, but that is the beauty of it. The show was fantastic as well. My only suggestion would be to have a third pool for kids between 6-18. My sons are 8 and 11 and the kids pool was filled with babies-4 year olds (perfect pool of that age) and an adult pool where they had to keep quiet and not splash around. So a pool where they could play would be a welcome addition. Otherwise it was perfect!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ikiss1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    180
    58
    20
    3
See reviews for
587
172
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The beautiful weather was matched with the Beautiful staff at Castaway. We arrived by boat to the sound of the staff singing after a short time to fill in paperwork and a quick refreshment we were shown to our Bure. We had a garden Bure and could see the water so I really do not see the advantage of a ocean view. We were only in the room for such short periods. The meals were lovely and the deserts were to die for , I strongly recommend the meal plans. We never gave it a thought when we ordered. Breakfasts did get abit repetative though. We walked up the mountain and the views were beautiful, it took about 25 minutes. We stopped a few times to admire the view before we got to the top. The kids went to the kids club whilst the adults ate dinner which was nice, they didnt really attend through the day. The kids loved the pools and my daughter even did a scuba dive with Mr Cool in bubbleclub which was a great experience for her, we all snorkled and utlised the catamarans. We canoed around the island which took awhile as we stopped along the way to look at coral and fish.We organised to go on the village tour where you get to travel to the neighbouring island and get to walk through the village and even get to visit the primary school and meet the principle and school kids... My kids had a great time and got to see how the locals live which isnt all game machines and shopping centres... There is a little shop which you can buy soft drinks which was great to have with our duty free alcohol for a few drinks in the afternoon before dinner on the beach... We were so relaxed and had a fantastic time at this island and we would recommend it to any family...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

So there are so many good points to Castaway;

Awesome friendly staff, great food, great location, great sand / beach, awesome selection of activities (most of them free). Snorkling was great.

However... i don't recommend it for couples. The high majority of people on the island are families and although there is an "adults only" pool, most parents ignore the guidlines for who shall swim in the "adults" pool and tell their children to swim in there "quietly" - which does not happen.

Other than that, and a slightly uncomfortable bed, it was a great trip.

My suggestion, bring your family here as all the familys that we spoke to loved it, but find another island if you want to go as a couple / solo.

Room Tip: North side, south side is almost cold!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is our third trip to Fiji and our first to Castaway Island; it won't be our last! We travelled with our nine month old and two year old and I couldn't have asked for a better holiday.
We had a beachfront bure on the north side which I recommend. The room was great with a sliding door, so our two year old could sleep in peace (it's also brilliant the way the daybed turns around so it's like a toddler bed. My daughter was so safe and slept really well in it).
The meal plan is the way to go and is really good value, considering the high quality of food.
If you're thinking of going with young children, make sure you use the babysitting service! We had the most fantastic women look after our girls throughout the five days we were there. Sulu was really special to our two year old and read her stories and sang songs to sleep each night while we feasted by the beach! There's absolutely no need to struggle with tired kids at the dinner table when you know they're being taken care of so well.
We have kids, so it doesn't bother us, but I'm not sure why they bother with the signs about the older pool being 'adults only' when it's never enforced! As long as you love kids - you won't mind!
We'll be back again next year when we hope to go out diving; which we hear is amazing not far from the island.
It's certainly not cheap; but you really don't notice because it's so good. You will need to book pretty far in advance; but we rang them directly and got four nights in a fabulous room; so it's always worth a try!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LG_Brissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stopped in Fiji to get over jetlag on our way back from South America (home is Australia). The resort was lovely and the bura's had heaps of character. We (husband, wife and 16 year old) loved the atmosphere of the island however we didn't like the amount of kids under 6 (out of school holidays) with parents who were obviously in holiday mode and therefore let the kids do as they please, completly irrespondsible. For getting over jetlag the resort is ideal, for any other time we would have been bored!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexandra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRENCHS FOREST
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

If your idea of the perfect family holiday is Picturessque Sunsets, Tropical waters and a Fully catered meal Plan. Throw in the Kids Club(for those with Children) an island beach, Lots of sunbaking, reading or some coastal activities well this little Fijian island is for you. I shouldn't forget the Fijian Culture/people make this a very relaxing island getway......BUT the Bures have mould on the roof, the Matresses are poor quality(or tired).Try and get a dinner table on the seafront decking closest to the water and you will have a challenge on your hands. The Staff do not let you sit their?????
In short, Great Concept, Beautiful location but the Bures at $550 Australian per night should have a mould free roof with Good Quality matresses and regular changing of the sheets would be good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms without mould on the roof of the Bures. Stayed 7 nights and had to pull sheets off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PHARMASALESREP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford NSW Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Have just returned from our fifth trip to Castaway. Every time I leave I start to plot my return - Hawaii is the only other place that does that to me.
The improvements have made it even better with the two pools and extra day time dining option. I believe work will start soon on the main bar and dining area which someone being picky might say is a bit dated but you really don't notice.
Eat, swim, snorkel, eat, sunbake, swim, eat, sleep in a hammock, eat then drink drink drink - oh did I mention eat? There is a negative - YOU WILL RETURN LARGER THEN WHEN YOU LEFT!
Having said that the dining package is the only way to go - I cannot believe some people don't take it up. 3 meals a day interspersed with the odd wood fire pizza when the whim takes you. Unfortunately the whim got me every day. Tremendous value. Also amazing was the price of drinks - a Fiji bitter the equivalent of $3.50 Aussie and cocktails during happy hour under $10 Aussie. If they have a weakness its probably their wine selection so taking a few better bottles from Port Denarau wouldn't hurt if you are picky. They charge $20FJD corkage.
Also give the Cantonese choice from the menu a go it was delicious. You just have to put your order for it in before 3pm. We also did the lobster which was at a supplement to the meal plan and despite how much I love lobster I am not sure in this case it was worth it at a top up of $155 FJD.
We did the island hopping tour which included the surf breaks at Cloudbreak, Nomoto and Restaraunts - this was incredible. We may have been lucky as to make it better the surf was upward of 4 -5 metres the day we were there. After that we visited Plantation island and Musket Cover and stopped at a small sand atoll to snorkel. At $200FJD per person it was worthwhile.
Other than parasailing and jet skiing that while fun are expensive the hand line fishing trip is a lot of fun particularly for kids.
So can it all be that good - For the most part yes, but as always I had one small tiny issue - 7 days on that King Bed and I felt like my back and ribs had been crushed. This may of course be only a personal thing but I just found them way to hard. A relatively small investment in pillow topped mattress covers would be worthwhile.
But that is being picky - and you really have to be to find fault with Castaway - it is peaceful, relaxing beautiful with great staff who really teach you about unwinding and Fiji time. Yes there are kids on the island so if this is an issue go somewhere else but we were not bothered by it especially now with the new adult pool.
Now how many days until I go back???

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit more day time noise go for the north beach bures. The ones on the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tricolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,362 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing