We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for families and water sport lovers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent for families and water sport lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

They have everything from scuba diving to hobie cats and tennis court, also a volleyball field, great kids club, 2 swimming pools - one for families with kids, one for couples. They are very well separated so people don't hear each other. There is everything if you want to have an active holiday and not just lie by the beach. They live stream their volleyball beach side so you can have a sneak into what are they doing and how does it look like. White sand is everywhere. A great escape from a usual Denarau stay. It only takes 30-40min to get there by a boat transfer.

They have 3 restaurants - one for stone oven pizzas and other lunch time snacks, the main restaurant and an awesome stir fry grill.

Room Tip: Rooms are very similar so it depends on how much you want to spend on a room and if a room by the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    176
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
567
166
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We came back to Castaway for 6 days 2.5 years after our first visit and enjoyed it even more the second time. Everyone was so friendly and it felt like catching up with a huge extended family. Even the wild and woolly weather from an almost-cyclone for two days was fun! Our 10 year old discovered body surfing in the king tides and our 16 year old probably made Castaway history by being the first person to never swim in either the pool or the sea but we were all happy doing our own thing. Lovely food, so fresh and healthy, super cocktails (I particularly recommend Emily W's margaritas) and magical sunsets. I can't think how Fiji could be any better or nicer. Thank you/Vinaka Castaway.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go beachfront. We stayed on the north east beach and it was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathreeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Well worth the money, Fantastic Scuba Diving. This resort taught me how to truly relax. Never thought I was a beach person. Beach was never crowded, safe for small kids, clean with great snorkeling, RESPECT the reef and keep it beautiful. accomodations are great, private bure with good beds and bathrooms. Very friendly staff. Food was good. You could always find a quite place to relax and read. Try The Scuba Program you wont regret it. Great instructors for newbies.

Room Tip: Bring a few bottles wine from Port Denaru. Prefered the North side of the resort for Bures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Castaway for the 1st time in May 2013 (family of 4, 2 kids 9 & 7). From the first glimpse of the island and being serenaded with the welcome song on the beach we fell in love with this place. We only stayed 4 nights, and unfortunately the weather was not the best but we still had a great time and have booked to return for 7 nights this year.
We stayed in an Island Bure and it was just beautiful. I loved the tapa lined ceilings and the beautiful touches like the little pots of creams and shampoos in the bathroom and the fresh flowers placed in the rooms. The bure was always spotlessley clean and our housekeeper Jo was just beautiful.
We had the meal package and it was definately value for money with an abundance of great food.
Fijians are the most beautiful, happy people and the staff at Castaway are just wonderful. When we visited the island had only recently re-opened after being hit by Cyclone Evan in December 2012. It was amazing to speak to the staff and see their pride and hear their stories about how they had worked so hard together to re-open the resort asap. They all spoke very highly of "the Boss" and told us how well they had been looked after during the resorts closure time.
Overall, the bures are beautiful, the restuarants are great, fabulous pool, gorgeous beach and the most AMAZING staff. We can't wait to return in June this year!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Island bure and it was beautiful and very private. We don't spend much time in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have been in Castaway Island in 2011 and loved it! The place was amazing, very beautiful island, very friendly staff, and good service, plenty of things to do. Also we’ve chose the “meal plan” and think that it was very good choice. The food was very nice and fresh and ala-card menu was superior to buffet menu, how it is supposed to be. Staff was very helpful and even when we come at 10.30-11 am in the main restaurant to have an early desert they would be happy to serve us, even though the desert menu wasn’t open till 12 am. Kids club was great and the kids loved it.

Of course, when we start to plan our holiday again we decided to repeat our experience and come back to Castaway. Unfortunately our second holiday wasn’t as nice as previous. Despite that the place and resort was very nice as usual, the quality of service and quality of food dropped significantly.

We noticed that Castaway Island won the reward The Best Family Resort of 2012 and probably after gaining a good reputation they put up their prices and really start to relax more and not so much care about their guests and think how to make more money from the naïve visitors who read a lot of existing positive review on tripadviser.

The food in main buffet table wasn’t fresh (Fruits and veges) most of the time. It looked like the fruits and veggies that has been there from morning, had been cut long time ago and was sitting there all day till late evening. They did not even bother to cut a fresh fruits for lunch or dinner or at least put them in the fridge before serve them again.

The buffet food for kids was so repeative and sooo cheap each day: spaghetti Bolognese, chips, old bread, cheapest bread-buns and sausages you can buy in supermarket…Why then they charge so much for the food (if you pay per day per child)?
At the end of our stay our kids was so sick from the same food again and again. Luckily they have a nice pizza place with nice wood fired pizza, but you can’t eat pizza each day.

They also have pool bar where you can have a lunch but we were disappointed with the food there too. A few times we ordered lunch from there but the meals weren’t cooked well enough. The meat in my child hamburger had a bad smell, it obviously wasn’t fresh. When we complained to the stuff/manager they say that meat was cooked today. May be it is correct, but how long had they kept the meat before they cooked it? No wonder so many people including our child (once) had food poisoning there. In their menu they said that they have freshly caught fish and meat each day, but in reality the fish and meat delivered once per week. This fact we find out when we felt that the fish in ala-card menu doesn’t taste fresh most of the time and we asked the staff how frequently they have been delivered the fresh fish? The staff said it is usually ones per week. Why does the resort lie to their guests that it is fresh fish delivered daily?

Last time we’d been in Castaway, when you order the food from ala-card menu it was superior than in buffer menu, but this year it is seems that it was exactly the same non fresh food from buffet menu, the difference is just that they will put it in your plate and bring it to you. Not freshly cooked how it is supposed to be. Most of the time the service was very slow and when we ordered desert it took them so long that when they brought our ice-cream – it was almost fully melted.

Last time we loved the deserts, especially the cooked one. This year when I ordered the same desert that was in their menu, they said that they do not serve it any more (even it was in the menu). Of course, why bother with freshly cooked desert when you can pre make some cold deserts, keep it in the fridge for few weeks. The deserts by the way most of the time doesn’t taste fresh. You can easily notice when the cheese cake fresh or not (at least I can say for definite). After they took off the best deserts they had in the menu, there was not much to choose from anyway.

Last time the food for dinner in the main restaurant was very nice, fresh, we enjoyed it. This year we didn’t like it at all. Some expensive dishes like sea food platter they made it cheap, like substitute part of the sea food with the potatoes and the dish wasn’t cooked so nice as before or may be it is because the sea food wasn’t fresh as previous year, I don’t know. I ordered it few time, hoping that sometimes it might be good like before, but all the time when I did it I wasn’t happy with this dish salads and fruits was very non fresh, as I mentioned before, no wonder they were sitting there all day.

One thing that was very good that they open new Asian restaurant that are really good and food was delicious (that’s were there focus/attention seems to have gone). Two dinners we had there we was very happy with the food and service. We were planning to have dinners their till the end of our stay, but unfortunately most of the time it was closed because the “bad weather” (which included anything more than a light wind). Yes the weather was bad, but just ONE day! Then the weather improved, it was little bit clouded, but no rain or wind at all, but the restaurant still been closed till the end of our stay. Very disappointing.
Overall we were really not happy with the “meal plan” we paid for. It is not worth it with the quality the food they provide, especially for the kids.

Then another thing I want to mention, is that they introduced a stupid rule for the guest on “meal plan” i.e. if you have your lunch or dinner in one place and then you want to have your dessert in another place you need to pay for it separate. We usually wanted to give kids ice-cream near the kids pool where are more selection of ice-cream for them, but dinner or lunch we have in pizza café or in the main restaurant and was very disappointed when they said that we need to pay for it, but if we would have it in the same place where we have the dinner we wouldn’t not. When we ask the manager why, he answered that that way they trying to control the people who abuse the system and have a lot of ice-creams per day. Why then not limited in the rules – 2 ice-cream per day per person for example? Why do you need to create such inconvenience for other customers who do not abuse the system? Why does it matter where you have your ice-cream it is still the same ice-cream? We tried to understand the logic but even after speaking with the manager we didn’t.

In general, it is a beautiful friendly place, especially for families with kids and if you not too fussy with what you eat and what you pay for it, then probably is a great place for your holiday. It is worth it for the environment.

Will we come their again? May be, for the environment but we will look for another place that like Vomo island for example, were the quality of food and hygiene will hopefully be better. I don’t want sick kids anymore and I think if you put up the prices (as they have) you should improve the service or at least keep it the same, but not drop it so much after winning the reward. In summary, the resort has dropped the ball in regards to food freshness and quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Zolushka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Nice island pity they could provide enough snorkelling equipment for everyone seemed disorganised
Food nothing special just filled a gap
1 cheese from 3 was off and smelt of ammonia not very nice
Service average
Cocktails weak could have done with more alcohol
Wine was fine

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Timtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Recently stayed in an Island Bure with my husband and boys aged 12 and 14. The room was beautiful. The facilities were excellent. The food was amazing and we decided to take a meal
plan since the food was so delicious. The staff were all lovely from the Laundry staff, to the nurse, to the water activities team and the restaurant staff. Cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
4.4 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing