We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall we had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from 5 nights on Castaway Island.

Positives:
- Most of the staff are incredibly friendly. From the musicians to the gardeners to the babysitters to the nurse - they were warm, welcoming and sincere.
- The location is pristine. Crystal clear waters and a coral reef 50 metres off shore for snorkelling
- The facilities and set up for children is very impressive. Our son was too young for kids club but all the other parents were queueing up with delight each morning to outsource their kids for the day.
- Loads of activities if you're up for it. Beach volleyball, touch footy, kyaking, windsurfing, sailing, SCUBA etc

Negatives
- A few of the staff had lost the will to live. Polar opposites to the majority which made their miserable service stand out even more.
- Someone stole my wife's bikini from the clothes line out the front of our bure. When everyone is paying ~$1000 a night the last thing you expect on the island are thieves but it happened. A little disappointed with the reaction of reception when we told them which was "it must have just blown off". Given it was hung up with about 4 pegs and there was no wind this was a bit odd.


The food is decent but if we go again we wouldn't do the meal plan. If you feel like gorging yourself jabba the hut style and need 3 courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner then it's worth it. If you want to eat like you do normally and don't want to leave 10kgs heavier then it's better value to just order a-la-carte.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustinPowers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Bula!
thanks for your review. We are really disappointed to learn that your wif'es bikini was taken. We assume this was the incident in Bure 34 where your wife went for a massage and dinner and then found her bikini bottoms to be missing. We did do an extensive search with all Department Heads over this incident to no avail and it was unfortunate and again we apologise.

Regarding the meal plan, some people find it exceptional value and others who don't eat much don't find it necessary to take. I guess its great that you have the option to do either.

Good to know that overall you did enjoy yourselves and appreciate your feedback and hope we can welcome you and the family back again.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Castaway Island Fiji
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Castaway Island Resort in May this year for 7 nights. I had heard alot about Castaway before we went - so many great reports and I was worried we'd end up feeling let down becuase we'd built ourselves up too much. That didn't happen though. We had a bit of a nightmare first 24 hours after getting food poisoning at another resort on Denarau. The staff at Castaway just took care of us all like we were family - a massive thankyou to Maraia, the lovely nurse who cared for us and sat with us for hours in the night. Not forgetting all the other amazing staff who were in our room at all hours of the night cleaning it and changing beds etc etc - I think you get the picture. That first 24 hours was not how I had planned it to be for us but I was beyond impressed by how the staff handled it - we fell in love with them all after that. The thing my husband noticed was that everyone knew all our names within about 24 hours and the service was so personal and friendly while being exceptional and not over the top. It really takes alot to impress my husband but on Day 3 he said to me that he couldn't think of anything he'd change about the resort or the staff. In short, we LOVED them!!
We found the food amazing - great variety and quality - something to keep all of us happy. The meal plan really is the way to go. Don't even think twice about it.
The bure was compact for a family of 5 but it hardly mattered because we only slept and showered there, so it wasn't a big deal at all.
Basically, we couldn't fault anything really, we loved the people, the food, the awesome cocktails, the beautiful beach. The kids enjoyed the kids club - initially they weren't that excited as they have been to kids clubs at other resorts and hated it. But we couldn't stop them from going at Castaway.
The only things I'd change for next time is:
1. I wouldn't go to another resort first - I'd go straight to Castaway.
2. I would go when its hotter - the weather was great during our stay, but I like it really hot.
3. We'd stay for longer. Alot of people only seemed to stay 5 or 6 nights. We stayed 7 and felt it wasn't enough for us. I think next time we'd probably stay 10.
4. Next time I'd get a seaplane or something - I don't do boats well due to sea sickness and if you don't quite get all your transfers to line up well, you can spend nearly a whole day in transit. I'd rather just get there and start living it up!!!
There is no doubt, we'll be back to Castaway. Thanks to all the amazing staff that made our stay as awesome as it was. XXXXX Natasha, Nathan, Jonah, Scarlett & Ruby.

Room Tip: We were on the South side but very close to the main area - really quick to get to everything. The b...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CroppsNNJSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Bula Natasha, Nathan, Jonah, Scarlett & Ruby!
Thanks so much for the lovely review and great tips for other readers. Lots of guests are now using the seaplanes and helicopters to get to Castaway. It's quick, scenic and not that expensive compared to helicopter and seaplane ride elsewhere in the world. Under $400 Fiji dollars each way for adults and you end up with so much more time on the island enjoying the holiday instead of travelling.

Most of our bures are set up for 4 people, but due to so many families having 3 kids these days, we do allow an extra bed or cot at additional charge. You do have to book these early as we limit the number each night so as not to over crowd the resort.

We've passed on your thanks to our lovely Clinic Nurse Maraia. We are so fortunate to have the qualified medical staff we do at Castaway as you never know what's going to transpire on a holiday and its nice to know the Clinic is there if you should need it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next time, by seaplane, for a much longer stay!
Vinaka and regards from all the Castaway family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here in July 2013 with our 3 year old, and from start to finish, everything was amazing. From the moment we arrived (cheekily via helicopter from Denarau), to leaving, we felt like rock-stars and our son was pampered from sun-up to sun-down.
Without a doubt, one of the best family holidays we have ever had, relaxing island time and staff available at a seconds notice to get anything we wanted.
If you've got kids, Kids Club is the place to be, and our 3 year old didn't want to come back. Even better, they set a 6 pm kids dinner time (buffet, but with heaps of healthy options), and parents can put kids back in Kids Club so they can eat in peace!
Special thanks to Mon (F&B) and Kittie-Cat (F&B) who looked after us and our son just adored.
With no cash and no cars on the island, it's truly a relaxing holiday (and no TV's). We got great weather so we were pretty lucky and just lazed on the beach and in the pools for most of the day every day!
Day-trippers do pile in most days, but you hardly notice them. It would be good if you could reserve some of the non-motorised water sports (as a guest) as sometime we went there and they were all booked out, but only a minor issue.
Food was great, and always plenty of fresh fruit, vegies, which we were worried about. Only had the pizza once upstairs and was, as we expected, Italian pizza in tropical Fiji - nothing outstanding!
Book early for 1808 as this gets pretty busy - we ate there nearly every night and good to know your little ones are just a few metres away at KC being looked after. You can also get in room-nannies (which we did on occasion).
If you can get out there, more than 100 times better than anything on Denarau and you will be truly relaxed

Room Tip: Beach suites are amazing - north side seemed quieter and away from the activities.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CJ80_0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Bula!
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We agree the helicopter transfer is amazing. It's an exciting trip and really enhances the overall holiday experience. Not to mention the breathtaking scenery along the way...and you can be sitting at Castaway with a cocktail in your hand within 20 minutes of leaving Nadi airport.

We sincerely appreciate all your feedback about the Kids Club and the food too.

Hope it won't be too long before your family come back to visit the Castaway family.

Vinaka vaka levu
from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Bula everyone.
I had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at Castaway for a friends wedding last week. Admittedly we would not of picked an island of this price range as our first choice of holiday but as we were coming for a wedding (and daughters 1st birthday) the choice was made for us to come here. I have already started a savings account to come back!! It was unforgettable. From the moment I arrived till we left I enjoyed it. The bures are all excellently located, we had friends who preferred the more secluded side but we thought our bure 17 was perfect (on the activities side but up the quiet end) I will be requesting the exact same one next time. Bures were spotlessly cleaned everyday and timed to suit our babies napping. Our wedding degustation dinner was a highlight, so too was 1808 and BBQ feast night. My worry about food for my 12month old vanished quickly, we could have anything made for us and pureed if needed but she really loved the meat, spaghetti and huge amounts of watermelon. The staff are fantastic, so many make the extra effort to know our names and be interested in we come from and we were also interested in their stories. Mondriki island trip and Saturday rugby at malolo were highlights. Cant wait to cheer on team castaway again.

I could go on and on.

If anyone from castaway reads this I feel truly thankful to have had the opportunity to come to your island, I has been a holiday dreams are made of and hope to return when baby Monica can take advantage of the club activities. Thank you to the so many wonderful staff from Joe at the desk (an many other places)you are a star, to Jerry, Atu and the boat team, to all the service staff we had including at the wedding, the two egg cookers we had in the mornings, you were all amazing and I thank you all so much.

Vinaka vakalevu xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Check the island map if you want a certain location eg more private or closer to activities but trul...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelDavies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Bula Rachel,
Vinaka vaka levu for the wonderful heartfelt review. I nearly cried reading it!
Great to know you enjoyed the experience. It sounds like many family memories were made out of your holiday experience with us.

Just for your information, we do read these reviews regularly and we also get a lot of tips on how to improve our services. At the morning briefings by Management with the Heads of Department, all the cheerios are read out for them to take back to their teams. We highly value our Castaway family of staff as it is they who make the stay all the more enjoyable for most guests.

We do hope you are saving up to come back and stay with us again and we'll be happy to put in a request for Bure 17 then and hope we can fulfil the request for you.

In the meantime, vinaka and lolomas from the Castaway family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just returned after 3 nights at Castaway. The island and beach are beautiful and the food pretty good. The pool areas are also pretty good and the bures quite nice with the "island feel". I had my 7 and 9 year old grandsons with me and they enjoyed the free non motorised water activities as well as the 1 night they went to kids club. The staff at the kids club were probably the nicest of all the staff at the resort as I found most the other staff nowhere near as friendly as at the Sofitel where we had just spent 6 nights. Although the lady at the kids pool and the nurse were really lovely as well. I was a bit disappointed in the activities at night though as they didn't start until 9.15pm so there is a lot of time to kill between dinner and activities of which there were few anyway (well compared to other resorts I have stayed at) We did stay in the Garden Bure which was nice enough and although the beachfront ones are the same inside it would be worth paying the extra for the beautiful location and having that little piece of your own beachfront. All in all it was a nice few days but I feel it was just lacking something mainly in terms of thiongs to do at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Bula
thanks for your feedback. We are a little disappointed to hear you didn't find our Castaway family to be as friendly as the Sofitel staff, however we take on board your comments and can only apologise if you weren't made to feel as welcome.

We generally wait until the dinner service is over to commence our entertainment but understand it might sometimes be a little late if you've eaten early or dining with children and this is something our Resort Management are taking on board and will try to improve.

Good to know overall you enjoyed your time at Castaway

vinaka and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Without a doubt the best family holiday ever had, we had the fortune of great weather when we were at Castaway in the middle of May. The staff are the friendliest I've ever encountered in my life, just being around them made me feel at peace. They took great consideration to learn my children's names.
The food quality was far greater than that of which you'd find on the main island, eat at 1808, its a nice change from the main bar.
Housekeeping was of a thorough standard, all the kids club staff were so warm and inviting (often offering my children ice-cream at a far higher rate than I ever would have!)
Overall I have nothing to fault whatsoever, except further explanation on the meal plan options.
The shell village tour and the glass bottom boat rides are an absolute must.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nudels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Bula Nudels
Many thanks for the glowing review. We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay at Castaway.

We clearly need to work on the explanation of the meal plans at check in and this has prompted us to take a look at this again, so thanks for bringing that to our attention.

Hope your will return again
vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently completed a stay on Castaway Island in May. I travelled with my wife and two kids.
Our room was a beachfront bure. It was set back about 30 metres from the water and was lovely. Inside was perhaps a little basic, but frankly was all that we needed whilst there.
There were hammocks spread amongst the trees, snorkelling is free and there is water everywhere which means if you like kicking back and relaxing, swimming when you please and taking things easy this is definitely the place for you. The snorkelling was pretty good and it is great when you can do that right of the beach in front of where you are staying.
It never really felt crowded whilst we were there which also made things pretty easy.
The food was very good and the location of the eating areas is a definite highlight. Other than the one casual dining area near the pool, all of the eating areas have an amazing view. Breakfast looking out over the islands is pretty special, and the evening dining watching the sunset is also pretty magical. We took the meal package which was excellent value. The 1808 Asian style restaurant was very good and our favourite place the eat. The tables are set out on the sand.
The whole vibe of the island is very laid back and I found myself pretty chilled out after about a day. The staff were excellent, and given it is a smaller resort, they started to get to know you after a few days (and us them) which I think adds to the whole experience. Wanted to put a particular call out to Dewindra (one of the chefs) who really looked after the special dietary needs of my wife and kids, and also Liku and Apisai at 1808 who looked after us.
I would say that it is not a particularly cultural experience. To be clear the Fijian staff here were fantastic and they definitely run at a different speed, but is probably best pictured as a tropical island holiday. It isn't a place you are going to see the 'real Fiji', but it depends what you are looking for.
As a relaxing island holiday I cannot fault it and we also had excellent weather which clearly helps make a difference.

Room Tip: The bures are all pretty nice, but the ocean view and beachfront bures are the pick, albeit at a pre...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnybrook23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Bula Donnybrook 23
thanks for the well rounded review. We're pleased you found some wonderful snorkelling straight off the beach. Maybe next time we might be able to convince you to go diving with our PADI Dive Team!

Vinaka from the Castaway family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
887 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,446 reviews
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Island
708 reviews
5.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: £371 - £657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing