We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a truly beautifully Island. The warmth and generosity of the staff made our holiday very relaxing. We spent ten days on the island where our three children were kept busy not only with Kids Club but general activities on the beach. We are definitely returning very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Maria vinaka for your review. Its so lovely to read you and the family enjoyed your time with the Castaway family. Don't leave it too long to return. vinaka and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Castaway Island for our honeymoon and it was AMAZING! (It was a couple of years ago now, but I'm slack and never wrote a review). The service was fantastic, the food was amazing (we had a full meal plan which was awesome), the water was crystal clear!
We also did an island hop to Muscat Cove and Plantation Island as we'll as Maloloo Island (not sure how to spell them). Maloloo was beautiful! Plantation..... I was happy we weren't staying there, it was a bit run down and shabby looking.
Back at Castaway, leaving was the only disappointment! We didn't want to leave!
I just wish it wasn't so pricey so we could take our children there!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank shandy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Bula Shandy012,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us for your honeymoon.

Well it must be time to come back for a second honeymoon and to bring the children with you - they'd love it. We must tell you that the price of the bure covers up to 4 persons so actually the kids would really be FREE.

Also children under 3 eat for FREE so if you have little ones, that's good value too.

The Castaway Kids Club is legendary and offers free activities for 3 year olds and up from 9am in the morning until 4.30pm and then again from 6.30pm to 10pm - giving you plenty of valuable mummy and daddy time!

We do hope you will find a way to come back and visit us again.
Once again thank you for your comments.

vinaka and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On our second visit to Fiji with one of our now adult children, our expectations of a warm and friendly atmosphere in which to relax were very well met here. We had enough to do and experience to fill our 4 days and still have time to read (or doze) in the hammock or on the beach lounge. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food varied and tasty and with warm weather and warm seas, we were very happy with our holiday there. The only down side was they said they were expecting only two of us, after confirming 3 from the beginning, so it was a bit squeezy with 3 adults in a one room bura.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Bula Jan E,
Thank you for choosing Castaway Island, Fiji for your second visit to the beautiful Fiji Islands.
We do apologise for the mix up with your reservation. Without knowing full names and dates of stay, its challenging to look into the booking to know whether your reservation arrived with us requesting the 3 people or 2 people as this could have been left off along the process with the travel agent. Nevertheless if it was our fault, we sincerely apologise.

On the upside, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the island to be both relaxing and with enough options to keep you occupied throughout your stay. Time spent swaying in a hammock is perhaps one of life's most perfect ways to unwind, with the sounds of the sea lapping on the shore and the vista, the blue skies and palm trees above you - pure bliss!

Do come back and visit us again and we'll ensure that bure is one more suited to the 3 of you next time.

Vinaka from the Castaway family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a beautiful island and if you have a good guide you can see everything. This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Do the walk up the hill if you can, it is well worth the trip!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank apritchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Sounds like you had a nice day trip to Castaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Bula!
My sister and I have been to many different resorts in Fiji but this was our first time to Castaway Island and we could not have been happier with every single second of our holiday. The staff were so amazing and friendly. We looked forward to the daily volleyball game as we made friends with everyone who played. We definitely recommend doing the 3hr jet ski safari to cloud break and cloud nine, which is a 2 story floating hang out spot in the middle of the beautiful clear water that has a pizza oven, bar, Sunbaking hammocks and day beds.
The food, rooms, staff, water, activities, restaurants, it was all incredible. I could go on forever raving about this place!
My sister and I have been home a little over a week now and we have already started to book our trip back to Castaway for later this year!
Vinaka vakalevu Castaway! Soda tale
xoxox

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AussieExpat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Bula and welcome to the Castaway family 1-Lisa92. I think we have another 2 converts!
We love Cloud 9 and the Jetski Safaris too. What amazing excursions they are.
Your enthusiasm for Castaway shines throughout your review and we are very grateful to you and your sister for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope it won't be long before you return. We have the great Value Added Meal Bonus on offer from 01 November to 20 December where all your meals for the entire stay are just F$399 + 20% taxes per adult per STAY and there are no restrictions on restaurants. It's full choice of a la carte and buffet menus. See you again soon.
Vinaka vaka levu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After visiting Fiji multiple times Castaway is by far our favorite holiday destination! My sister and I (both in our early 20's) made the most of the great activities on the island! Our favorite thing to do each day was play beach volley ball with the activities staff who were all fantastic! We also enjoyed the 3 hour Jet Ski Safari tour with Josh to cloud break and Cloud9 floating bar... it was absolutely incredible! In fact we did it twice it was that good!!
We loved that the snorkels, kayaks, catamarans and stand up paddle boards were free as we spent most of our time using them during the day.
Of a night time the games and activities were always fun but finished quickly. Maybe if they ran the games at 8.45 Instead of 9.15 more people would have joined in before putting the kids to bed.

The staff are what gives Castaway its charm. We made many friends and learnt a lot of Fijian words and sentences from them.
The manager of the resort (Stephen) was also lovely. He came and chatted with us and told us stories about Castaway which were really lovely to hear.

I have Coeliacs disease and require Gluten Free food. I was away by the gluten free food options every day. They had a description card in front of every dish at the buffet saying gluten free or not gluten free which made it very easy and if I wasn't sure about something the staff were always happy to answer my questions. The chef knows a lot about allergies (even giving weekly talks about it) so I felt like I was in good hands. They made pancakes and gluten free bread for breakfast and always had multiple options all day long. This was one of the reasons we chose to stay at Castaway to begin with.

I highly recommend buying the meal plan! We didn't do it last time hoping to save money but we really regretted it. Buffet dinner was $99fj every night so instead it would have been cheaper going with the meal plan. With the meal plan you get to eat from any of the 4 restaurants at any time...not just breakfast, lunch and dinner but all ice creams, snacks, fruit platters etc. we will definitely be getting the meal plan when we go back.

The rooms at castaway were just beautiful. Always perfectly cleaned.

If you can, avoid the full moon and the few days either side when you go to the islands. The tide goes out very far in the middle of the day around the full moon meaning you can't use the water activities... But when this happened we were happy to go to the pool anyway.

We can't fault anything about our Castaway experience and are already planning a holiday back there in Oct 2014!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Bula Kim, we've also received a delightful review from your sister. Vinaka vaka levu for your very positive and constructive feedback. The night time activities starting at 8.45pm is good feedback and this has been passed onto General Manager, Steven. We look forward to seeing you both again later in the year.
With warmest regards from the Castaway family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Was my first taste of Island life having visited several hotels on the mainland.. Best decision and look forward to returning next year. The staff, food, rooms, pools, beach and kids club were amazing. Couldn't fault anything.well worth doing full board so eating anywhere and anytime. The pizzas are fantastic and my son's new favourite food.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Hart1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Bula!
Well as we say, once you've been to the Fiji Islands, you really have been to Fiji. We do love the mainland too and there are some beautiful resorts there, but there really isn't anything like getting out to the Mamanuca Islands and having the total island experience. It's really quite a different experience all together.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and even happier to note that you will be returning next year. The Castaway family look forward to welcoming your family back next year and let your son know that the pizzas at Sundowner will be waiting for him! My personal favourite is to get a take away box pizza and have a beach picnic at sunset. Nothing better!

Until then (sote tale) and see you all again soon.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
15.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 4 in Malolo Island
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
1.5 mi away
Malolo Island Resort
Malolo Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Malolo Island
731 reviews
16 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range: £387 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing