We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castaway Island Fiji
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

My husband and I have just had one of the most wonderful 7 nights at this fabulous resort. The island is tropical and the water crystal clear, just like a postcard.
The reef is an easy swim and the resort management are doing a great job in maintaining the reef from the effects of the dreaded crown of thorns, it will only improve as time goes by.
We stayed in a bure on the north beach, just set back from the beach front bures, I thought the bure we stayed in was very private but also very social as you would say hi to everyone as they passed by on their way to breakfast/dinner.
The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, at the management cocktail party on Wednesday night the staff referred to each other as family and I really think that would be true. Ana our waitress became our friend and we were genuinely sad to say goodbye to her.
Every activity was so much fun as was watching the beach volleyball in the afternoon. The dolphin tour was a quick tour of the area which included us seeing Cloudbreak, a famous surf break. We also did an island hopping tour which was one of the highlights of our trip. We went to one part of Mana, Amanuca, Tokoriki and Malolo then a picnic lobster lunch before returning back to Castaway. What amazed me was the feeling of returning home after being away for the day. I think this was because not only the beautiful place Castaway is but that we really felt welcome there by staff and all guests.
We were fortunate enough to arrive and depart via the Heli, the views are amazing and if you can go via this mode of transport I would highly recommend it. It is picturesque and a very quick way of getting to the resort.
The resort is truely paradise and many others must feel the same as the rate of guests returning is at 46 - 47%. We will be one of those couples looking forward to doing it all again next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loeythelip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    177
    55
    20
    3
See reviews for
570
170
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We visited Castaway in Sept 09 and had 7 fabulous nights on the island with our 9 and 7 year old daughters. It was just brilliant. The island is all it's cracked up to be - visually spectacular with a wonderful beach. It's not top tier, over-the-top luxury but the bures are clean, spacious and well set-up and it has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The staff are what make it - they are just so friendly, funny and lovely. They genuinely enjoy their work and making new friends with visitors to the island. There's heaps to do - the snorkelling off the beach is sensational - we saw hundreds of brilliantly coloured fish, little reef sharks,starfish, rays, etc - and the whole family did that at least twice a day. We did the outer reef snorkel without the kids, too, which was a blast. Kayaks are free so we kayakked around the island every day (you need to exercise to work off the three big meals a day) and also took out the catamarans, played tennis, did the bush walk to the top of the island, swam and read books in the hammocks between the palm trees. Food is fine - not gourmet - but good enough and the kids love it, which was the main thing. Our kids spent the days with us and then had either a kids' dinner or a pizza from the Sundowner Bar before begging to go off to Kids Club, where they played lots of fun, active games that tired them out. At night there were fun activities (if you wanted) like crab races and talks about the reef and ocean life. We got an island bure (the cheapest of the 3 options) which was absolutely fine and still only seconds walk to the beach. If you are thinking about going then GO - it's one of the best, most relaxing holidays we've ever had and I 'd take us all back in a heartbeat! We stayed in Denarau on the night over and one night on the way back - next time I wouldn't bother - I'd just get a sea-plane in. At Denarau it's nice but you could be anywhere in the world. Castaway feels like the Fiji you come for.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freddy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We went to Castaway Island for a week with a group of 26 for our wedding on 9/9/09. Everyone that came loved it there and would like to go back. The staff were so friendly saying Bula everytime you seen them and remembering everyones name. The island was at full capacity but you wouldn't have known it, having room to spread out and do what you wanted. We were very happy with the food and feel there was enough variety to have something different every night. The wedding day was fantastic and we wouldn't have changed a thing. The effort went to with the flowers, the ceremony & reception setup, the food & the staff were great. It was a dream come true. The island is absolutely beautiful, from the beaches to the landscaping throughout the entire island. We will be returning to Castaway Island.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Hi, We have been there with our 23 moths old boy and we really enjoyed our stay. The beach front "buré" (hut) was large, nicely decorated (I specially liked the ceiling with the marvelous "tapas") and clean. The beach is beautiful and you can easily swim at high tide. The resort personnel are very welcoming and nice (especially with kids): they make you feel so comfortable. The food is not very good though. If you ask for fried eggs, they will serve you an omelette... the scrambled eggs are dry and tasteless. Buffets can sometime have good dishes: I suggest you order from the menu! The kid buffet (served everyday from 5.30 to 6.30 pm) is particularly bad and unhealthy as it is only made with fried food. If you have children I recommend you share your adult meal with them instead of filling up the poor kids with cholesterol and sugary junk food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

I read reviews on this site before we left on our long awaited break to Castaway Island and I was nervous given the negative comments some people had made, particularly in relation to the food. We had one hight at Denarau to connect with the boat and then six nights at Castaway. Next time we would do a seaplane or helicopter out to the island on the same day to avoid having to overnight at Denarau and to also avoid the 90 minute ferry ride. We had perfect weather the whole of our stay and I am sure that if it had rained for days as other reviewers experienced then maybe our experience may have been different. It was delightful to have a holiday with our 14 and 11 year old boys where there was no television and where they had the freedom to go off and find activities to join into. We took a beach bure on recommendation from family who had stayed there before and whilst not enormous they had enough room for us all, were cleaned well daily and had the most sensational uninterrupted views (we were on the quieter South Beach). Snorkelling straight off the beach (with free snorkelling gear) was great according to kids and husband and inner and outer reef excursions worth the cost involved. Loads of kayaks to use free of charge as well as catamarans. Your bill can add up if you want to do lots of jetskiing and banana boat riding but you don't have to do these things. Sometimes the service can be a little slow (particularly drinks) but that is the way it is in Fiji so if that bothers you then Fiji itself may not be your thing. We found all the staff good, with most exceptionally lovely, friendly and helpful - quick to smile and have some fun, and of course brilliant with kids, even teenage boys. And finally to the food. Castaway may not be competing with Aria in the cuisine stakes but the food was pretty good - variety was maintained with the buffet through theme nights. Sometimes the buffet replenishing was a litte slow but once you relax and get into Fiji mode you realise there was no deadline to meet, and there was always enough food choice. We are rebooking straight away for next September holidays but will make it longer next time. And take the time to do the bush walk up the mountain for the most sensational views.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneFamily52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We just spent a week at Casterway island, we had been there once before about 7 years ago and found it wonderful, however this time was very different. Im not sure if the managment has changed in this time, but the service was almost non existant, verging on plain rude, its very obvious that there is no staff training at this resort. The staff seem to be the ones on holiday.The restaurant staff were the worst, if you got to order a drink with your meal, you would be more likly to get it after you finished the meal, and forget the coffee unless you want to wait for 45min after ordering it! The food was hit and miss, they didnt replenish the trays so you had to get in quick or miss out.
It rained for 3 days whilst we were there and there was absolutly nothing to do, there were no activites organised for the adults encase of wet weather, we had our 9 year old daughter with us and she did enjoy the kids club at times.
We wont be going back to castaway, Its such a shame because the beach is lovely and the snorkeling around the island is great, the bures are plain but neat, but unfortunatly The FiJi RELAXED way is more like the Lazy I cant be bothered with you way!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Just returned from Castaways. We chose it for the reasons in the title and were not in any way disappointed. The staff were fabulous, friendly, and always sincere in their "Bulas!"

We went on four scuba dives and especially like the last one to the outer reef. Definitely try to get the team to take you there -- 8' Bronze Whaler!

Meals were very decent, and the Music by the four Castaway Players at lunch and dinner was always wonderful.

Suggestions for future travelers -- bring a bit of your own booze -- we found it a bit expensive.

Otherwise just enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bocalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaway Island (Qalito)
5.2 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
16.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
7.6 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Property: Castaway Island Fiji
Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing