We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We too were at the resort when the wedding party (previous review) were there. They looked to be having an absolute blast and were great fun. There also appeared to be several family groups as well as couples.
I agree to ignore other scathing reviews, particularly from day trippers who are on the island for a short time. This is Fiji time so relax and enjoy rather than looking for fault. When making comparisons with other resorts ensure you are adequately informed and are comparing "apples with apples". There appears to be many reviews from those on a beer budget but expecting champagne. Be realistic.
From the moment we were met on the beach on arrival to the time we departed with hugs and kisses we loved every minute of our holiday.
We have stayed at numerous other resorts in Fiji and found the staff in particular at Treasure Island to be a true credit. Nothing was too much trouble and they were ever so helpful and attentive. We never had a lengthy wait for drinks or meals.
Staff that deserve particular mention are Henri, Filipe, Peni and Ama. They were outstanding!
Different activities every night were fabulous. Meke, international crab race, spin the bottle, disco, you name it - they did it with such great enthusiasm and energy.
There was always a quiet spot on the beach if it got a little rowdy at the swimming pool. How many options do you want on an island holiday???
Our bure overlooked the ocean on the other side of the resort, was quiet and the ladies were in and out to clean without us ever being disrupted. Towels, toiletries and mini bar were always replenished without having to ask.
The complimentary plunger coffee in the room was great. The staff were happy to provide a bag of ice for the ice bucket in the room for those cold gin and tonics after a long day by the sea and pool.
We will most definitely be back and look forward to it!
Thanks again Treasure Island Resort xxxx

Room Tip: Room 10 overlooking the ocean although rocky was fab. Extremely quiet and close walking distance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heminz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have just returned from a week at Treasure Island with a group of over 20 people for a wedding. After reading a couple of reviews here my first tip is ignore any reviews from day trippers, it does take a couple of days to transition into the Treasure Island pace (although some reviewers seem to have not been able to make that transition - "too much singing" - ???!!!).

The island is definitely on Fiji time but everything does happen when it needs to, and no request is a bother for the wonderful staff. If you want everything to happen as soon as you ask for it, why would you go to Fiji? You soon learn to order your next drink as the previous one is delivered ;)

The wedding did however happen perfectly on time and the locations, decoration and catering were flawless. It was held on a perfect little sand bar just off the island. A gorgeous moment was when the one and only Henri rushed down and picked up the bride and carried her from the boat to the "aisle" to keep her feet dry!

There is an excellent live band every night that will keep you up and dancing to rock music until midnight. There is also different shows, events and games every night and everyone is encouraged to jump up and join in. There is a farewell song every night for people leaving the next day, it is a little emotional to watch the kids hug and kiss the staff - the kids club must be something special!

The beach is rough on the feet with the coral, so bring reef walkers. On the plus side however there is fantastic shallow snorkeling just a few meters from the shore, great for all ages and abilities. Pack your goggles and snorkel. The beaches aren't the widest but I understand the island lost a fair bit of sand with the cyclone last year.

The staff are so amazing and they stole a few hearts, for me particularly Ema, Henri, little Tui, Wi Wi and the gorgeous Filipe.

Thankyou for an awesome week! Tanya

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 were beautiful with outdoor showers. All rooms are close to the water as the island is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t_a47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from 4 days on Treasure. My family and I had a fantastic time. The service was suburb and nothing was too much trouble, including last minute babysitting for our toddlers, flexibility on dive trips etc. Amazing snorkelling around the entire island. If you paddle out far enough you'll get to the drop offs where you'll see little reef sharks, colourful fish and interesting terrain.

There is no doubt hat the place is more rustic than some of the other island resorts (eg Castaway, Mololo etc) but you really pay for that difference. At time of booking, accom cost at Castaway was 2.5 times Treasure. That is a huge difference! It def isnt 5 star accom,food, grounds etc but I'd return for a mid range to low cost island stay.

Room Tip: Stayed at Bure 27 which was on the quitter side of the island, but still had sand in front of it. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Where do I start... From the second we arrived we were treated like lost (and now found) members of the family. Little Tui gave a great tour of the island and it's essentials on the way to our room. We got settled and headed to the bar and met two of the most genuine loving people in the world. First Big Tui, the most gentle, amazing person with a heart of gold, a fantastic smile and perfect personal service (he also named a drink after my lovely wife). Sadly he was due for a break and we only had a few days with him but he was still a very special part of the trip.
Second was the lovely Ovini, this absolutely incredible person went above and beyond the call of service on every aspect of our trip. From simple things like a fresh a warm hello by name every morning, to personal service and attention when ever we were at the bar.
Everyone else made an incredible effort to make us feel at home too (F & B manager Irene thank you to you too).
The activities on the island are perfect and plentiful and the kids club was very professional. I can't express enough that you're next holiday has to be here!!!

Room Tip: Any room along the side of the island that you arrive on is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeilJones1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first time to Treasure Island, and I'm sure it won't be our last. We were very happy with our Bure, the staff was friendly and welcoming - Henry was absolutely fantastic - very friendly and helpful.

Don't expect 5 star accommodation and food - besides, children don't love 5 star food in anyway - we were pleasantly surprised by everything. Everything was clean, staff was always friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The kids buffet were very kid friendly - Nachos, spag bol, fish chips, vege sticks etc...so even the picky eaters had something to chose from.

We used babysitters - a huge thank you to Ula and Rajaile - they were absolutely fantastic with our 3 year old girl. If I could suggest something is that they have more activities for younger children between 3 and 5.

We had the most amazing time on Treasure Island, fantastic dives with Juliet at the Dive Centre!

I would definitely recommend Treasure Island as a holiday destination for any family with children, manage your expectations and you will have an amazing time. We also made some great new friends there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ydj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Took a day excursion to Treasure Island, Fiji. Second Island Excursion. Treasure Island was not paradise as compared to Castaway Island. The two Islands are like comparing a 2.5star to a 6 star. Treasure Island ws basic and the beaches were not great. Castaway was paradise on all levels. Treasure Island is more the economy Island stay. If you have the resources CASTAWAY Island is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the accommodations review is based on an island excursion
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Laen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Returned for my 10th stay at Treasure - and the first trip there since the island re-opened. The grounds were greatly improved - couldn't believe what a difference it made with so much of the vegetation gone - sad for the plants but made for great views from all the bures.

Great to see the good work that has gone into re-thatching the beach shelters - many of which were looking very tatty before the storm. Great work on the reception bure too - it looks really lovely.

First time I have stayed in a bure in the 20s - normally always stay nearer the watersports area. Was quite a different experience and very tranquil round there. Wouldn't want to be below about number 24 though - as the beach gets rocky round there.

We've always had issues with the sun loungers - they're hard plastic with old and thin mats on top - if you're lucky to get a mat at all. Interestingly this problem has now been sorted - no mats on any of the chairs! See the photo below. This seems absolutely unbelievable! Next time I will definitely be taking a mat of some sort to sit on. My old bones need a bit more TLC on a beach holiday!

Only other blot on the holiday was when guests at a neighbouring bure lit a bonfire on the beach - and much of the smoke blew our way for the next hour or two until it finally burnt itself out. Wouldn't have expected that or thought that it would be acceptable in a place where fire must always be a concern.

Treasure is much the same as it always has been. It's not perfect, but its perfectly good and a really lovely place for a truly relaxing holiday. So long as you're not expecting 5 star luxury, you won't be disappointed. I hope to return again.

Room Tip: Bures 25+ will ensure you're away form the rocky beach. Not worth paying extra for beachfront e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
927 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
9.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,620 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
10.5 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Address: 2210, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range: £138 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing