We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids called it Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treasure Island Resort
Hallidays Point
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kids called it Paradise!”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We have just returned from a family holiday to Treasure Island and had the time of our lives! We were not considering this island until friends recommended it to us and all we can say to them is Thankyou!

My husband and i had been to Fiji 13 yrs ago for our honeymoon and did a cruise around the islands and stayed at the Warick Hotel on the Coral Coast. We were very unimpressed with the Coral Coast as all of the coral was dead. The aim this time was to give the kids (11yrs, 8yrs and 5yrs), a true Fijian experience and what better way to do that than on a small island.

When we arrived on Treasure Island, being serinaded by staff, we looked at the surroundings and knew we had chosed the right place. They welcomed us "home" and that's exactly what it felt like. We felt totally secure with our kids running around and the people were so lovely to them, bringing out lots of "Bula's" and "Vinaka's".

The new pool is amazing, really relaxing and so picturesque. The kids also had a kids pool that they could dive, bomb and be loud in. They were also allowed in the larger pool as well. The ocean was spectaclular, crystal clear, warm and the snorkelling was amazing. The kids found most of the characters out of Nemo with ease! Take your under water camera!!

We enjoyed the other activities, sailing, canoing, the kids loved the banana boat and put put golf. The watersports did have a fee but minimal - sailing $15 FJD per hour, banana boat $25 FJD per person, well worth it.

We had meal plan that included all meals but not drinks. I would recommend this as we didn't have to think about food, just eat and enjoy. At times the produce was not as good as in Aus, but other times food was great. Drinks were pretty cheap $4 FJD for a beer and we made the most of happy hour getting great coctails for around $12 FJD.

We had a double Oceanview Bure, that was literally Oceanview! With some lovely tree coverage with hammocks at you front door and about 10 metres to your own part of the beach, just lovely. The rooms were clean, spacious, had air conditioning, and were made up daily.

We have heard lots of resorts described as Gold Coast with Fijian waitresses. This is not what you get at Treasure Island, it has the real Fijian feel, with beautiful surroundings and beautiful people! Our kids kept saying "this is paradise" and they cried when they had to leave! Thanks Treasure Island for a great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nsghol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    287
    123
    64
    37
See reviews for
425
243
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Let me start off by saying that you need to remind yourself as soon as you arrive, that this resort is no more than 3 star (in my opinion) so your expectations must follow this understanding otherwise you could be dissappointed. I summarised my review as follows................
The kids club was 200% better than 2 years ago. My 10 & 7 year old loved being around the caring and happy 3 kids club staff every day.
The food is average and has probably dropped slightly in quality since 2 years ago. Two other separate visitors mentioned the average food to me in general conversation.
The whole resort is getting a bit tired in terms of some minor general maintenence (eg pool deck painting, pool lounge repairs, public bathroom upgrade) which is a shame as this does not compliment with the new pool area investment which is very good.
I am still getting my head around the fact that as at June 09, all non-motorised water activities plus 1 hour hand line fishing and coral viewing (ie just a couple of 100 metres off the island) have been outsouced to a contractor and are now chargeable (this excludes snorkel gear which, at this stage, is still complimentary). I was not told about this change after I had booked back in Jan 09 and only picked this up from a previous tripadvisor member review. My only concern is that even the resort has commercially outsouced all water activities, the contractor runs out of daily hire snorkel gear equipment by late morning every day on average.
Overall, the staff are great in ensuring that you remain relaxed.
This place is addictive but would not suit some of my friends who have high expectations of 4 and 5 star resorts.
We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We are a family of 4, and our kids are 9 year old twins. We all had a fabulous time on Treasure Island and were very sad to leave. The location is fantastic, the snorkelling and water activities amazing. The staff are fabulous, particularly with the children. There is lots to do if you want something to do, and absolute peace and solitude if that is your wish. The food was good, but not amazing. This kids dinner is great in terms of time and range offered, allowing adults to eat alone if they want to. The resort itself is a bit run down and could do with some maintenance and paint. Overall a truly great place to visit, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This is a fun and ‘cheep but cheerful’ island presenting some great natural Fijian culture, kids club as well as having a fantastic small island feel with great natural surrounds. It is a good island to take a family as the kids will have an absolute blast. Not so good for a couple as you could find lots to complain about.

It’s a classic small island you can walk around in 10 minutes with coarse sand, clear ocean, colourful corals and fish filled waters surrounding you.

Accommodation

The Bure we stayed in was OK and in need of some maintenance. The main room was tidy but the shower and bathroom were quite shabby and worn down. The front sliding door was very stiff and a child could not open it. It was in need of a makeover for sure. The shower was pretty tough to get into with only a small amount of room. We stayed in Bure 11 which was a ‘beach front’ bure. Only problem was the beach was very rocky and slippery and you could not swim on this side of the island. We were on the North side and you could really only swim on the west side of the island where it had the sandy beaches. Bures 1 to around 24 all have the same problem. This island is very small so it is easy to walk over to the west side, claim a sunlounge and set up camp. If you want a beach bure with a swimming beach right in front you should try to get Bure’s 39 to 66 Which are all on the south side. The good thing about the north side is that it is quiet so if peace and tranquillity is what you are after, this side would be good for reading a book in a hammock.

Common Areas

The new pool is simply fantastic for all. There is a great wet edge, stepping stones, various pools with various depths. The kids and I loved it. This was one of the best things about this island. Sun lounges get taken fairly quickly so don’t be too late.

Restaurant and bar area was well presented.

The shop had a good range of snacks and convenience items.

The Gym was horrible. The running machine barely worked (slipped all the time) and the weights were in a state of disrepair. Don’t think you’ll have a good workout as it was better to run round the inner island track a few times or have a hit of tennis or volleyball.

Kids Club

The best thing about the kids club was the energy from the carers. We’ve been to quite a few kids clubs in Fiji and this was one of the best. They really got the kids involved and entertained with plenty of games and well run activities. They beat a big drum at the start of each session near the restaurant and like a pied piper, the kids came running from all parts of the island. The kids always were entertained and at night, they were even taught how to do a Fijian cultural dance (both for boys and girls) and danced their routine in costume in front of all the parents at dinner. I was staggered our little 3 year old was able to stand up and dance a simple Fijian routine with other kids her age. Our 6 year old did a more advanced dance with others her age as well. The boys did a war dance in tribal outfits and body paint and loved it. Different events on different nights and the Hermit Crab race is always a big event.

Beaches

Great swimming in high and medium tide on the south side of the island. In low tide, you needed to go out from the activities area as this was where there was a channel and deeper swimming area. Snorkelling was good right off the beach.

All water sports stop below half tide due to shallow coral. You need to work around the tides to use the equipment but you can snorkel if you are careful at low tide.

Food

Adults: The food was fair/average. It lacked panache but satisfied our hunger. There were attempts to make it look presentable and fancy but this did not hide the fact it was typically overcooked. The menu was quite varied and had a good range of meat/seafood/vegetarian meals and options. It was nothing spectacular but I never left hungry or refused a meal. Breakfasts were fine (Coffee was absolutely shocking … I love my coffee and this was so bad I reverted to Tea and that’s saying something). Lunches were OK and Dinner was OK.

Food for our two kids was fine. Simple plain meals of Chicken, Steak, Fish with Spaghetti, Pasta, Rice and mild stews was typical for lunch and dinner. Desserts were always well eaten and the kids loved their end of meal Ice cream.

Drinks from the bar were OK and Happy hour always a welcome. It had a nice feel.

Activities

Snorkelling is good right from the island. Go to the pontoon and explore from there. There is plenty of fish and coral to see. Advanced snorkelers should head toward the sandy island where you will see more sea life and a small reef shark or two.

I didn’t like paying for the Kayak and Catamaran etc but at $10 and $15 for the hour in Fijian this was not too bad.

Putt Putt golf is free and fun. The course is very worn down but a bit of fun with the two kids.

Tennis court fine and a good spot for the beach volleyball under the shade of some large trees.

Spa is OK. A bit expensive but not bad for a resort. Hair braiding pretty expensive at $2.50 per braid. Our 6 year old had 64 Braids so cost us $160. The youngest has 48 braids so was an expensive hair do for the pair. The kids loved it though … Eeek.

What was highway robbery though was the parasailing and jet skiing. Way too expensive. More than $140 per go. Crazy.

There was always lunchtime music by the local band and always some evening activity/music/event put on by the staff. A very friendly and relaxed feel and you could get involved if you wanted to or just watch from a distance.

Plenty of daily activities on the activities board with varying events on the hour. New ones every day.

Service

We had read some poor reviews of service but during the week we were there, it was quite reasonable and attentive. Orders were taken promptly and plates taken quickly at the end of each course. The waiters were friendly and courteous and always helped out where they could.

Service at the bar as well as the water activities hut was fine. No complaints there.

Value for Money

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here. It was really good for the kids and we had a great relax and enjoy as well. It is cheap and cheerful so don’t expect all the modern conveniences.

You could find a lot to complain about but if you look past the faults, there is plenty of good fun to be had, especially for the kids. The energy and strong entertainment culture from the Fijian’s really makes up for the rickety maintenance of this island.

We’d go back for the kids. They absolutely loved it. If it was my wife and I only …. We would not come back. I would (with conditions) recommend this for families and those who have fun camping as you could see past the cracks and faults.

Tips/Tricks and things to know

There were virtually no mossies at the time of year we were there. This was a pleasant surprise as some islands are infested with Mossies. They even did not have flyscreens on the louvers of the bure which is a sign this is not a problem year round. Still take a supply of Aeroguard just to be safe.

If you are keen snorkelers …. Definitely take your own snorkelling gear as the good stuff gets taken early. If you have kids, get them kitted out too with kids snorkelling gear before you go to the island.

Take your own suncream, batteries etc as on the island this sells for the price of gold.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

i would definately rate this resort if you have children under 10years. There is plently of room to ensure you are able to have privacy if you want it and the pool is neer crowded even though we were thre in the school holidays. The food is very good and plentiful and there is a number of activities to get involved if if you so choose. The rooms are lovely and have excellent views and gardens. Friendly, helpful staff, especially the kids club staff who I must commend for their amazing ability to organise, excite, entertain and teach up to 70 kids of all ages. The performance the children put on for us after half an hour of instruction, in full costume was a real credit to the teachers!!!!. There is nothing to fault this resort if you want a hassle free holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirshaandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We recently had our wedding on Treasure Island with family and friends attending. We spent 7 nights there and absolutely loved it. The staff are all friendly, wonderful people who couldn't do enough for us. The island is great for families and even we don't have children, we were not put out by having children on the island as they are entertained the whole time. We would like to say a big thank you to Lavenia who organised our wedding and Alex who made our stay easy and relaxing. Our wedding day was perfect and Lavenia had thought about every last detail. I would recommend Treasure to anyone thinking of an island wedding. Our only complaint (and it is a very minor one) is that there was only Pepsi on the island - no Coke - Bourbon and Pepsi just doesn't taste the same :). This was not an issue in the end as Alex was able to organised Coke for us from another island. Recommend the meal plan to anyone travelling to Treasure. All of the food was great and very varied. Can't wait to go back and will definitely be doing so. Sure it isn't a 5 star resort but the rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff wonder and the island beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller4877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Only arrived back from Treasure today and already we miss it. Im a firm believer in pros and cons with any trip so I'll start with the cons and go from there.
We travelled to Treasure for 7 nights during the first week of the school holidays with two other families with children. There were 15 of us all together so we were a rather large group. I had spent 3 months organising the "land" part of the holiday while another family organised the "air".

When we arrived at Treasure the resort had made an error and had separated us from our friends. there was some tooing and froing but unfortunately short of suggesting we move Bures two days into our stay we were stuck on one side of the island. Wasnt happy but once there not much I could do.
second Con- they stuffed up our pre paid meal plans so there was a whole lot of fussing at check out time to straighten it out.

But the Pros far outweighed the Cons. Overall Treasure was delightful and restful. The staff apologised and tried to do everything to help. We got complimentary champers, body treatments and T shirts in an effort to say sorry.
The Bures were comfortable ...and really for the amount of time you spend in them who really needs Vogue styling and italian marble, if thats your deal go to the Intercontinental instead.
The food was plentiful and usually quite good. The Flambe restaurant was terrific and a definite must try. Meal plans are the way to go as otherwise you could run into big bucks.

The new infinity pool was great with lots of kiddy areas and deck chairs, but get in early for the best ones!! The Senikai Spa had some great treatment specials which we enjoyed and the girls there could put many an Aussie beauty therapist to shame!

The kids club staff were amazing, Sala, Matthew, Bola and Navi were so good with the kids they were really sad to leave. The activities were fun and the kids were always looked after...having said that our four year old did escape twice but he came straight to us at the restaurant because he had stubbed his toe and needed mummy.

The Band and night time happy hour was great fun, and everything was reasonably priced given its a resort. We brought our own Gin and Rum and bought mixers where needed which helped the budget.

The snorkling was mazing and guided trips to the outer reef were on offer every day for $15Fj per person which was terrific value.

All in all we had a brilliant time and cant wait to plan the next trip for 2010. The following staff deserve a special mention for their amazing service, Lovelove (the gardens look amazing thanks to him) Abel the barman makes the best cocktails and Ruby his wife runs the restaurant with the most gorgeous smile I have ever seen.
Henry is a blast and the general manager who makes sure everyone is happy, Max the elder husks coconuts like a demon and always remembers your name, Nico and Rikki at the subsurface dive shop give the best guided snorkeling tours.

Treasure island is a lovely place to visit and to help you on your way here are my "5 Tips for Treasure"


Tip 1. check, double check and triple check all your reservation details, and even then you may just have to go with the flow.

Tip 2. dont pack a lot, you pretty much dont get out of your togs and sarong, and neither do the kids.

Tip 3. Get the meal plan (negotiate a price, especially if you have a large family or group) it will save you heaps.

Tip 4. Take your own snorkel set. they have good flippers but some of the masks and snorkels are a little dated and if the resort if full by 9am they are all out.

Tip 5. just relax and enjoy..any minor hiccups come out in the wash by the end of the stay and after all this is Fiji.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
3.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
9.9 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
13.2 mi away
Matamanoa Island Resort
Matamanoa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matamanoa Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Resort

Property: Treasure Island Resort
Address: | Mamanuca Island, 2210, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treasure Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a coral and sand fringed atoll within a stunning marine sanctuary, Treasure Island is one of Fiji's most iconic resorts, with over 40 years' experience in providing hospitality and friendship to travellers from across the globe. The island caters especially to families, honeymooners and true romantics seeking a unique and unforgettable island holiday experience. Treasure Island is one of the only resorts in the Mamanuca Islands to offer same day transfers, which means that you arrive on our island paradise the same day you arrive in Fiji. Treasure Island is unique as our traditional land owners, the Nakelo Clan, own 50 per cent of the resort and members of the clan hold many key positions, so our team (or as they prefer to be called, hosts) have a vested interest in delivering a truly authentic Fijian experience. This genuine hospitality is contagious and the main reason we have so many return guests. In fact one couple has visited us 85 times! Why don't you come experience for yourself what is unique and special about our island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treasure Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Fiji Treasure Island
Treasure Island Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing