We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day of my life!”
Review of Vomo Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vomo Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Vomo Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawker, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of my life!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have recently returned from our stay at Vomo where we were married alongside our daughter and 24 of our closest friends and family.

Everything about our stay on Vomo was incredible and the wedding itself surpassed all expectations. We had stayed in Vomo the year before (over the same week in June) when we decided we would love to return for our wedding.

To begin with, the organising part of things was a bit stressful and was not helped by trying to organise things through a flight centre travel agent. In future we will definitely book directly with the resort and airline. We were also a little worried about asking some of our guests to make the initial investment to stay on the island as our guests had a range of different financial circumstances. Once we committed, however, we had no regrets.

After horrible delays thanks to Air Pacific we arrived quite late / early evening on Vomo on boats that we had chartered and the warm Vomo reception made us feel like we were coming home and our guests feel like celebrities!

We were so pleased to see so many improvements from the previous year that Mark and the team had implemented. These are just a few:
*The beautiful new spa;
*The partitions in the beachfront bures allowing us to have privacy and seperation from our daughter's bed;
*The scuba centre and new snorkling equipment at the activities centre. Our guests made great use of the Dive facility (thanks to Vili and Jaques);
*The incredible food directed by the new Executive Chef Erwin; and
*some extra subtle touches in the room (such as fresh cookies) all added to our enjoyment.

Our wedding itself was handled with amazing attention to detail by Kimi and was just the most beautiful experience we could have hoped for.

The only real complaint from our guests was that they were not staying longer. I think we may have some extras tagging along for our first anniversary if we return to Vomo.

An extra special thank you to Erwin, Chaay and Vani, Mila who helped make everything run so smoothly for us.

Reading some of the reviews below regarding the issue of the potential of children disturbing the comfort of other guests, I empathise with the difficulty of handling this issue. My husband and I had stayed at the amazing Liku Liku resort prior to Vomo and had intentially researched to find the next best island that would allow children for our next visit. It is great that you can experience the luxury, peace and relaxation at Vomo and still include children, however, this could easily be disturbed by too many children at once, or having a couple of difficult children staying while you are there.

One option could be installing a second children's pool behid the kids club and sanctioning the main pool as adults only. On the other hand you risk turning Vomo into another Treasure island or denauru resort which would be a shame.

Thank you again for making our wedding such a memorable experience.

Danielle, Sebastian and Evie

Room Tip: We stayed in bure 7 which had a partition from the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula Danielle F,
Greetings from Vomo and a big bula to the rest of the family and friends you had here for your wedding!
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and I shall pass all the comments to the team.
noted on the comments on children as we are a family resort and our focus is luxury for families and creating a haven for families who don't want to stay in a two or three star hotel just because they have kids.We are going through continual upgrades and process to ensure that we create havens for couples and those parents whom want a respite from others children. We are in the process of planning an adults only pool near the rocks. Vomo is also very fortunate to have 255 acres of space and only 30 villas so its never crowded and you can always seek solitude if one so desires.Thank you for the comments with regards your wedding as Kimi is the wedding champion who gives all to make sure your day is what you want " the best day of your life" we look forward to welcoming you back to your island home and wishing you a magical married life ahead.
Vinaka
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    46
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
223
152
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 8 night in a beachfront villa and can not find a fault with this luxury island resort. Staff were so friendly and professional. Service was fine dining quality in a relaxed tropical environment. Fina, Ana & Estina were great. The chef was brilliant and food was flawless. The variety was surprising for an island. Three course meals with at least 3 options each (all included). The kids club is world class - baby butlers excellent and friendly. Capable of looking after any age. Great toys and activities and food available. You can make special requests for their meals. Only criticism is the one pool area is dominated by young children most of day but that said there is plenty of private beach for couples to escape. Snorkelling and diving is excellent and safe. Management are very involved. The cultural night was fun. Great experience, from the welcome party to the group singing us a farewell song at the helicopter pad. Highly recommended resort.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank felicityJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula FelicityJP,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for writing such a wonderful review.
Chef continues to push the limits with bold flavours sourcing the best produce from the global food basket, and always served with a true Fijian smile by the likes of Fina & Ana to mention a few.
Noted on the pool and we are in the planning stages of an adults/parents only pool by the rocks, this will be unveiled when we go through further upgrades in the first few months of 2015.
As you rightly say we do have 255 acres of private island to play in and 90% of that is untouched white sandy beaches.
Thank you again for coming so far to visit our island paradise in the South Pacific.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It was only five months since we left Vomo and with Winter descending upon us in Australia, it was time for our Vomo hit and a return visit.
At Christmas the Vomo team promised lots of changes this year and upon returning its amazing to see how quickly they have worked.
Our beach side villa now has an outdoor bath and shower and a more modern look.
The team all remember us and it feels like returning to our second home.
Our kids are being treated at Vomos amazing kids club, leaving my wife and I to ponder our afternoon's activities - probably just lying back and feeling that warm Fiji sun on our bodies.
One of the best family experiences on offer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattCave08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula MattCave08,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review.
It was good to have your family back to Vomo so quickly and that you appreciated the constant improvements we are all working on.You stayed in one of two of the new rooms which are the models for our new category in 2015.Beach Retreats! this will be reflected through the whole wing ready for Easter.Pleased to hear the family enjoyed the kids village which albeit new has had an upgrade in beautiful wooden toys from switzerland replacing much of the plastic toys and a few weeks ago a new chill out area for the little islanders with bean bags and soft chairs! Its a haven I wouldn't mind retreating to! Thank you again for joining the Vomo family and we look forward to welcoming you back where again we shall have some surprises for you at your home away from in the South pacific.
Vinaka
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We figured we were in for something special when the resort manager was personally responding to the resort reviews. It started when he met us on arrival with staff and a welcoming song. The island location is wonderful, the staff is exquisite, and the food was varied and exceptional. This is a very kid-friendly resort that doesn't overwhelm. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deramus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Bula Deramus 1,
Greetings from vomo and thank you for a wonderful review!
Between us we try and meet all guests on arrival and departure , this is also a time we as a team spend together and learn more about the amazing culture Fiji has as we await your arrival.
We genuinely are an island that is about its people and culture coupled with a focus on food and service all within a private 255 acres mostly untouched for you to explore
We look forward to welcoming you back one day to our shores.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
General Manager
& Vomo island family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were looking for a kids friendly resort, for a 5 night stay, within easy reach of Naidu Airport but wanted an exclusive feel of a small resort rather than a hotel with hundreds of rooms...we definitely found it on Vomo.
Firstly, the resort is on only 12 minutes by helicopter from the airport so within 1 hour of landing in Fiji, we were greeted by the welcome party on Vomo.

The entire island is a low key resort with 30 odd villas which are perfectly good, with good air conditioning (apart from bathroom (?!)) and small outdoor terrace. There was enough space for an extra single bed in the front section of the room for our 5 year old. My only issue with the villas was privacy (or lack of) as most villas are semi-detached and you can see your neighbours whilst on your terrace or sometimes even hear them inside. But, don't be entirely put off by it as we found that Vomo is all about outdoors and, in the end, the privacy issue did not bother us much.

There are several great things about the resort a) Service ....Sometimes you needed to ask twice but the staff attitude was always great and all done with a big smile.....b) Food - they have a brand new chef and we found the food to be much better than expected.. some dishes even brilliant! ....c) Kids club and kids services....Fijians are famed for their love of children and you can feel it everywhere ...the kids club staff were happy and engaging with decent facilities from infants to young school kids... Our kid loved it and most families we met there have been there before, primarily because of their kids enjoying it so much....
As for adults, snorkeling is great, even directly from the shore, there are several water based trips, the gym is good enough for a quick workout and then you come to the all inclusive basis of their pricing....
This was probably one of the best value places I stayed in for a long while as despite it being a private island, the choice of food and the ingredients were great...
This is an unpretentious, friendly (family and others) resort with great staff... What it lacks in facilities, it compliments more than enough with its charm... If only I lived closer to it than 10,000 miles between London and Fiji... I would go there again in a flash!

Room Tip: Ask for a detached villas... Most are semi detached...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Bula Zendra,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for taking the time to write a review and coming so far across the miles to Fiji.
You have captured what Vomo is about and that its the people and environment of having 255 acres to play in and being taken care of by a non orchestrated team of Fijians and Hotel professionals from leading establishments in a non pretentious environment. We intend to remain small and private as this is the charm of Vomo.In addition to the new areas added in 2013 we are going though a development in February 2014 to further enhance the rooms and add new facilities.
We look forward one day to welcoming you back to our shores.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
General Manager
& Vomo Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Thank you to the wonderful staff for taking such great care of us throughout our stay at Vomo. Special thanks to Jacques for taking us on a couple of dives, his professionalism and genuine passion is amazing. I did a dive at another resort which is renowned for diving which was nowhere near the same level as the Vomo experience. The food, oh my goodness was ridiculous as was the service. Excellent, excellent, excellent.... We had the best experience and take away some great memories. See you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Bula JDBarnett,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Great to hear you enjoyed the diving and yes Jacques forte is that safety comes first regardless of how experienced you are followed by a true passion for everything on or in the ocean.
That coupled with all the top of the range dive gear and dive access just meters from the island makes our new Padi centre an experience worth taking.
Thank you for the wonderful comments on the food and service which Vomo prides itself on and Chef Erwin's creations and Chhays service make every dining an event to look forward to.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Vomo.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
General Manager
& Vomo Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was lucky enough to spend some time at this fantanstic holiday destination.
It was stunning!
From the welcoming reception on the golden sands with singing and smiles from the staff to the food prepared by their amazing chef Irwin, to the 9 hole golf course, the spectacular snorkeling, glorious accommodation and privacy to the warmth and care we experienced from our hosts.
If you are looking for the ultimate in pampering this is for you!
I could go on and on - it really was the best and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Bula Gael O,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and its a noticeable comment received from many that we have a "happy team" that will always be heard singing and laughing through the day.Of course Chef Erwin now well and truly has a following so thank you and glad you enjoyed the offerings which we pride ourselves on.
We are all awaiting you to visit our shores your island home away from home in the Fiji Islands.
Vinaka!
Mark Leslie
General Manager
and The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vomo Island
21.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
725 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
125 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,407 reviews
19.0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomo Island Resort

Property: Vomo Island Resort
Address: 26 Nasoki Street | Lautoka, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Vomo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vomo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vomo Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst endless warm turquoise waters, bountiful coral reefs and fringed with sand so soft and pure is Vomo Island, easily the most beautiful of all Fijian Islands. Privately-owned and occupied solely by Vomo Island Resort, guests enjoy world-class cuisine, professional 5-star service, sophisticated Villas and a full range of activities including magnificent snorkeling. Vomo Lailai, Vomo's tiny private island, sits 1km to the west of Vomo and offers guests an afternoon of extremely indulgent privacy and isolation with Gourmet Champagne picnics delivered to you. Vomo offers luxurious Beachfront, Hillside and Garden View Villas for two plus the three-bedroom private residence, The Royal, and the four-bedroom private residence, The Residence, ideal for larger parties or if you crave complete privacy. A full range of non-motorised water sports are offered alongside 9-hole chip and putt golf, a fully staffed day spa and floodlit tennis. The Vomo Turtle Protection Programme raises and releases Hawksbill Turtles born on the island and Vomo is surrounded by a marine protection zone which guarantees magnificent snorkeling. Vomo welcomes couples and families of all ages. Supervised care for children is provided by The Turtle Club. Rates include all meals in the restaurant, non-motorised water sports including snorkeling, golf and tennis, welcome gift and daily laundry service. Vomo is truly the hidden jewel of the Fijian Islands and offers a unique and personal experience to all who choose to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vomo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vomo Island Hotel Vomo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing