We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Vomo Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vomo Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Vomo Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our second trip and we loved it. However, it feels like it has lost some of the little things that used to give it that little bit extra - food wasnt quite as good, villas are starting to look a little tired, but its still damn good. Our kids love the kids club - the staff, all of them, are fantastic. There are few times that us city dwellers can let our kids go free range, but i love the fact that on Vomo we can.

It seems however that they have plans to develop the whole island, while im sure it will take years, it makes me very sad that the whole island will be subdivided and built up - we go there to get away from the crowds. Bye, bye intimate, safe, friendly atmosphere.

Get a beach villa, its worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Director of Sales at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2015
Bula, we appreciated you taking the time to review VOMO. Let us assure you that there is no intention to develop the entire island. Just a couple of residences are being built and these will only add to the choice of accommodation options, particularly for larger families and groups.

We have now completely renovated all Hillside and Beachfront Villas with stunning chic new interiors and gorgeous new bathrooms.

Our cuisine at VOMO has never been better with our Executive Chef Erwin and his Chef de Cuisine from Italy, Chef Michele. We hope you will return to VOMO to see the new upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    45
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
211
148
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

While enjoying our Fiji honeymoon my wife and I were in a small boat heading to a more distant island. About half way there the seas became too rough to proceed. Our captain sought refuge at the nearest land. This land was Vomo Island.

At that time the resort was shut down due to a refit of the kitchens, so there were no guests, just staff.

We and our fellow passengers were welcomed warmly by the resort manager and put up in a couple of beach-side villas.

When Vomo staff heard that it was our honeymoon, my new wife and I were quickly shifted to a beautiful villa of our own. It was such a lovely gesture.

We were fed delicious local foods from the staff kitchen, and enjoyed a fun night with our fellow castaways.

The following day we explored the island and enjoyed meeting more of the staff.

Late the next day the sea had calmed enough for us to return to Viti Levu, and we were sad to wave goodbye to our new friends at Vomo.

It is my dream to return to Vomo for a proper, planned holiday.

Thank you Vomo for being part of the adventure that was our honeymoon. We certainly will not forget it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 6hhgffghggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place lives up to it's reputation!! Absolutely amazing from start to finish!!

Our family (kids 7 & 5 yrs old) stayed 4 nights as the last part of a Fijian holiday. Our hilltop villa had absolutely stunning views, and I think I'd prefer that one to having the beachfront (even though the hilltop villas didn't have a partition to separate the kids - but we opted to stay there bc of views, a bit more privacy (no shared wall), and the small hike up the hill was great for built-in exercise for an otherwise lazy week). The daily free snorkeling trips were fantastic, and it's the best snorkeling I've done anywhere for variety of coral, especially (and we've been to lots of top spots - Maldives, Tahiti, etc). The kids club got rave reviews from the kids (who never wanted to leave) and the parents (who got to enjoy a nice date-night dinner each night while the kids were entertained until 9pm). The food was also five star dining at every meal, but they would always cook something simple if you wanted it. When it was time to leave, the seaplanes were unavailable for some reason, so we received a complimentary upgrade to a helicopter flight back to Nadi.

Although Vomo is not cheap, I felt that it was pretty decent value for money once I started adding up all that was included. If we would have paid for all of the snorkel trips, Fijian night shows, five-star dining, and late-night childcare a la carte, the total bill probably wouldn't have been much different. The island was at almost-full capacity while we were there, and it didn't feel crowded at all. In fact, you had the feeling of being on an island where you bump into people here and there, but still feel that feeling of isolation, like when I walked down the beach that had no other footprints in the sand. They have a lot of repeat visitors, and I can understand why. They do a great job, and treat you like family, welcoming you home.

*Parents, I'm including some photos of the fantastic Kids Club area because it was hard for us to find information about it before we went. The Kids Village facilities are nice and modern, and a great spot for the kids to cool off in between all of the fun scheduled activities that the resort offers for the little ones. I think I said it before, but the kids never wanted to leave... and happy kids makes a happy holiday for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Bula Dannatravel,
greetings from Vomo and thank you for a wonderful review!
as always the kids village is a haven for the little islanders and since you were here we have a whole new soft area for the kids to chill out.
Its interesting your comments on the hillside as I do agree and we have many guests whom come back time and again and chose the hillside for the views and separation coupled with a little walk to fend of Chef Erwins culinary delights!
Vomo does certainly offer value considering all your meals , which are included are created from the best produce locally and imported , all the soft beverages , free WIFI and Laundry to mention a few.Thank you again for an insightful and positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your island home away from home.
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fantastic resort, staff, food and amenities. Easy to get to from the mainland via Helicopter. 2nd time there and already looking to book another trip!

Very family friendly with the nannies and the kids club, our 4 year old loved it.

As a keen diver, he new PADI dive centre run by Jacques is amazing with all new aqua lung scuba gear and fantastic dive sites literally off the beach. I completed my advanced open water while at Vomo, and Jacques was an excellent instructor and made it feel easy down at 30m swimming through an old wreck or diving in the pitch black off the reef around the island.

A truly magical place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Bula John L,
greetings from Vomo and thank you for the great review!
I always appreciate seeing how families after a few days are able to really relax as they start to get into the Vomo way and the kids find there space leaving you as parents to actually relax and do what you wish knowing the little islanders are content.
John it was really special for us and Jacques to be able to have you do your advanced divers here which is so accessible from our shores.
The new Padi dive centre is truly and asset for us and we know when you are back on Vomo you will be out in the warm water off our shores.
We look forward to seeing you back in the year and thank you again for the great comments.
Vinaka
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 5 nights at Vomo at the end of June and loved every minute! Having researched virtually all of the different accommodation options around Fiji and the islands, we were really happy with our decision to visit Vomo. It exceeded our expectations, which were high to begin with! We chose the ferry transfer which was hassle free and arrived on the beach to a wonderful welcome. Our beachfront villa was the closest to the pool area. There was a little noise from the kids in the pool during the day, but this wasn't an issue for us. The villa was a standalone, not attached to any adjoining villa, which was great. The villa itself was very comfortable and clean. All of the staff were super friendly, helpful and professional. The food was excellent - an extensive kids menu and wonderfully varied and creative menus for adults every day. Our son enjoyed the kids club activities on offer. My husband did a number of dives with Jacques, the very professional and knowledgeable dive master, which he thoroughly enjoyed. There are lots of activities on offer and you can choose to do as much or as little as you like!! June/July was a fantastic time of the year to visit - perfect weather every day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viva_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Bula Viva-Holidays,
greetings from Vomo and thank you for writing a positive review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay on Vomo and that we exceeded your expectations!
our Padi dive centre was a new addition this year and Jacques the Dive Instructor whom also looks after operations in my absence is becoming known in the area for running a very safety conscious well run outfit. Chef Erwin will be pleased to note your comments and we are proud of out F&B which speaks for its self in the comments.We look forward to welcoming you home one day and thank you for choosing Vomo for your family holiday.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed on Vomo for my stunning little sisters wedding in June 2014.
There are NO words that can do justice for this amazing Resort and more so the beautiful people who make this resort what it is! AMAZING/EXTRAORDINARY/BREATHTAKING/EXCEPTIONAL.

I have two children, 3.5 yrs and 10 yrs. They had the most magical time, they loved the Kids Village, wanted to bring Lani, (one of the amazing ladies) home with us. There is so much for everyone to do, whether you are big, small, water, non-water, want hair done, or massage? you name it, they have it or will make it happen for you.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, ask if they could put you in a Villa with a partition. Gives you enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Bula Rebecca F,
Greetings from Vomo and thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review!
We are please the little islanders enjoyed there time in the kids village and as we know kids hold nothing back and say what they think , so they are the best voice we have at Vomo for the kids village and we do listen !
I will pass on your wonderful comments to the team and thank you again for coming to Vomo and we look forward to welcoming you back to your shores.
Vinaka,
Mark Leslie
& Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawker, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have recently returned from our stay at Vomo where we were married alongside our daughter and 24 of our closest friends and family.

Everything about our stay on Vomo was incredible and the wedding itself surpassed all expectations. We had stayed in Vomo the year before (over the same week in June) when we decided we would love to return for our wedding.

To begin with, the organising part of things was a bit stressful and was not helped by trying to organise things through a flight centre travel agent. In future we will definitely book directly with the resort and airline. We were also a little worried about asking some of our guests to make the initial investment to stay on the island as our guests had a range of different financial circumstances. Once we committed, however, we had no regrets.

After horrible delays thanks to Air Pacific we arrived quite late / early evening on Vomo on boats that we had chartered and the warm Vomo reception made us feel like we were coming home and our guests feel like celebrities!

We were so pleased to see so many improvements from the previous year that Mark and the team had implemented. These are just a few:
*The beautiful new spa;
*The partitions in the beachfront bures allowing us to have privacy and seperation from our daughter's bed;
*The scuba centre and new snorkling equipment at the activities centre. Our guests made great use of the Dive facility (thanks to Vili and Jaques);
*The incredible food directed by the new Executive Chef Erwin; and
*some extra subtle touches in the room (such as fresh cookies) all added to our enjoyment.

Our wedding itself was handled with amazing attention to detail by Kimi and was just the most beautiful experience we could have hoped for.

The only real complaint from our guests was that they were not staying longer. I think we may have some extras tagging along for our first anniversary if we return to Vomo.

An extra special thank you to Erwin, Chaay and Vani, Mila who helped make everything run so smoothly for us.

Reading some of the reviews below regarding the issue of the potential of children disturbing the comfort of other guests, I empathise with the difficulty of handling this issue. My husband and I had stayed at the amazing Liku Liku resort prior to Vomo and had intentially researched to find the next best island that would allow children for our next visit. It is great that you can experience the luxury, peace and relaxation at Vomo and still include children, however, this could easily be disturbed by too many children at once, or having a couple of difficult children staying while you are there.

One option could be installing a second children's pool behid the kids club and sanctioning the main pool as adults only. On the other hand you risk turning Vomo into another Treasure island or denauru resort which would be a shame.

Thank you again for making our wedding such a memorable experience.

Danielle, Sebastian and Evie

Room Tip: We stayed in bure 7 which had a partition from the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VomoIsland, General Manager at Vomo Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Bula Danielle F,
Greetings from Vomo and a big bula to the rest of the family and friends you had here for your wedding!
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and I shall pass all the comments to the team.
noted on the comments on children as we are a family resort and our focus is luxury for families and creating a haven for families who don't want to stay in a two or three star hotel just because they have kids.We are going through continual upgrades and process to ensure that we create havens for couples and those parents whom want a respite from others children. We are in the process of planning an adults only pool near the rocks. Vomo is also very fortunate to have 255 acres of space and only 30 villas so its never crowded and you can always seek solitude if one so desires.Thank you for the comments with regards your wedding as Kimi is the wedding champion who gives all to make sure your day is what you want " the best day of your life" we look forward to welcoming you back to your island home and wishing you a magical married life ahead.
Vinaka
Mark Leslie
& The Vomo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vomo Island
21.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
705 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,062 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tadrai Island Resort
Tadrai Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,359 reviews
19.0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
858 reviews
19.2 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vomo Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vomo Island Resort

Property: Vomo Island Resort
Address: 26 Nasoki Street | Lautoka, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Vomo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vomo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vomo Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst endless warm turquoise waters, bountiful coral reefs and fringed with sand so soft and pure is Vomo Island, easily the most beautiful of all Fijian Islands. Privately-owned and occupied solely by Vomo Island Resort, guests enjoy world-class cuisine, professional 5-star service, sophisticated Villas and a full range of activities including magnificent snorkeling. Vomo Lailai, Vomo's tiny private island, sits 1km to the west of Vomo and offers guests an afternoon of extremely indulgent privacy and isolation with Gourmet Champagne picnics delivered to you. Vomo offers luxurious Beachfront, Hillside and Garden View Villas for two plus the three-bedroom private residence, The Royal, and the four-bedroom private residence, The Residence, ideal for larger parties or if you crave complete privacy. A full range of non-motorised water sports are offered alongside 9-hole chip and putt golf, a fully staffed day spa and floodlit tennis. The Vomo Turtle Protection Programme raises and releases Hawksbill Turtles born on the island and Vomo is surrounded by a marine protection zone which guarantees magnificent snorkeling. Vomo welcomes couples and families of all ages. Supervised care for children is provided by The Turtle Club. Rates include all meals in the restaurant, non-motorised water sports including snorkeling, golf and tennis, welcome gift and daily laundry service. Vomo is truly the hidden jewel of the Fijian Islands and offers a unique and personal experience to all who choose to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vomo Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vomo Island Hotel Vomo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing