We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family of 5 enjoyed an absolutely fabulous stay on Toberua. After a hectic year it was the perfect getaway back to simple things, quiet, relaxation and time spent together. The food was amazing, the rooms cool, comfortable and inviting, the scenery breathtaking, and the staff the best we've ever encountered, anywhere in the world. Cannot wait to get back there soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCatsoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent a week in December at this Island resort not knowing what to expect. We were all very sad to leave the place thanks to the amazing staff and the managers who made our experience such a fantastic one.

This resort is very private: 14 bures in all which makes the service very personalized all the time. It is not a large chain with the crowd and loudness. it favors a more eco-friendly approach (no AC in bures for instance) with some of the luxuries of a top notch resort.

If you like your peace and quiet then this place is for you! Yet it is never boring as you can get involved in various activities: kayaking, excursions (with a fee) that include village visit, picnic island (pack the sunscreen) and diving. Snorkeling is available for free daily. If you are traveling during the holidays, there will be children as well so it is not an adult only resort.

We found the food to be always very fresh and well prepared. There is a nice variety of choices daily so you never get bored. Drinks on the island are reasonably priced compared to other resorts.

We would recommend this place because of the beauty and peace but before all because of the kindness and hospitality of the staff- We truly cannot wait to go back there some day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My sister and I spent a wonderful week at Toberua recently. The rooms were spacious and versatile enough for us to configure the beds as two queen sized beds with a good distance between them. The bures were all lovely, so it didn't seem to matter which one you got. I have stayed at heaps of Pacific resorts over the years, and this is definitely one of the best, and reasonably priced for what you get. We did lots of activities, including snorkelling and diving trips, a fantastic day trip to the former capital, Levuka, and another to a fantastic nearby seabird breeding island. We avoided the picnic island day trip as several participants got badly sunburnt. The staff were totally fantastic, and even our farewell was special - we felt we were like family leaving!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tropicpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic time on Toberua Island.

From the moment we departed the dock we experienced Fijian hospitality. It was just wonderful. The island is small and unique, (that's what we wanted). We wanted to get away - and forget about home and relax. We experienced all the additional activities - diving, snorkeling everyday and visiting the local community on an neighbouring Island.

In the evenings, prior to dinner, it was great to had a chat and to meet other travellers on the Island at the bar after another amazing day. (Buy the way - I eat too much).

Thanks to all the staff.

WE WILL BE BACK SOON - can't wait

PS - I've attached some photos from our time on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed on Bure Number 3 - Deluxe - It was great. It was the closest one to the pier, and out of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Toberua is the perfect place to visit for privacy & relaxation. There are only 14 bures and even when the place was full it still felt like our own private island. I cannot commend the staff and management enough on how amazing they made our stay here.
From the moment you arrive to moment you leave they make you feel so welcome and relaxed and HAPPY, their attitude to life is infectious. The rooms are very traditional & homely which sets it apart from just another hotel, they are serviced daily and I especially loved opening the french doors in the bathroom to feel a bit closer to nature.
There is only 1 place to eat on the island, which stops the hassle of trying to find a restaurant and the food is so fresh & delicious. All meals are served here which is great for interaction, we made many good friends over cocktails before dinner. This island has many amazing surprises which I'll try not to spoil now and you can make it as action packed (with a village trip, water activities etc) or as relaxing as you want it.
Absolutely loved every minute of it and will definitely be back!!!
Just a tip - don't be put off by the boat that takes you there, just let the staff look after everything which they are so fantastic at :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My second visit to the island and once again i was stunned at how beautiful it is and how the staff remembered me. I spent the week swimming, snorkling having spa treatments and eating the amazing meals. This is a truely amazing place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katryna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our family have enjoyed a long association with Toberua. During our many trips we have seen a change of owner and several changes in manager. At times we have returned and felt the old Toberua, the one that has seen our children grow in to adults no longer exists.

Earlier this year we ventured back and again yesterday tore ourselves away from this tiny spec situated on the Suva side of Fiji. Under the new management the Island has thrived, the improvements are just that improvements. They add to the things that make Toberua special not detract from its special feeling.

I will try to be unbiased because as with any destination this Island would not suit or please every person. For instance if your expectation is chrome and glass this resort would disappoint. If you have young children and are expecting to avoid interacting with them or to have them amused in a kids club this resort would not be for you. But if you, like us want to escape the cookie cutter sterile larger hotels then you may have just found your special place.

The trip from the Landing to Toberua takes you along the large expanse of the Suva River. This itself is an experience. Tiny villages dotted along the broad expanse of water. On arrival it is not only the genuine greeting but for us as returnee's the welcome home. How are the kids? A line of familiar happy faces and although obviously it needs to be geared to meet the needs of us as tourists the feeling that this is as close to the real Fiji as a resort can be.

We always opt for a premim bure as the beachfront at Toberua is slightly lacking. As I have said this is well compensated for by the other positive things you will experience on this Island. Our normal bure is literally in the sand. All the accomodations are generous in size and dotted around the four acre expanse of Toberua. A small pool is situated centrally, it is now well utilized although years ago the tree's sheltered it and reduced the temperature to an uncomfortable chill. Now new outdoor furniture and a sunny outlook make swimming an attractive option at low tide. The spa area is now situated looking over the water - well recommended!

When we travel food is always a high priority for us. If Toberua does not please you I think you would be hard to please in any resort around Fiji. Malakai has been the Islands chef for many years. During this time he has always maintained an exceptional standard and his influence and training is now apparent in Manu. From breakfast offering both hot and cold selections to the three course lunch and four course evening meal we are never left wanting. Of course there are always biscuits and treats available if your stamina exceeds ours. As always fresh local produce is utilised and the kitchen blends a variety of Fijian food and international tastes. A quite extensive variety of wines, deliscious cocktails and the wonderful smiling faces of the bar staff add to the day.

We have visited this island as a couple and visited this island with young children. Often there have been other children of the same age to interact with but often they have enjoyed the holiday as the only young people in the handful of bures. I guess it depends on the family whether this small island would be suitable. But generally we did not find it a problem. We often came during holidays and there is a variety of activities that are special to Toberua. Of course all Fijians seem wonderful with children and are happy to help if they can provide some relief to parents.

Kayaks paddle boards etc are freely available, fishing handline and open water, village trips and a new walk (surprizingly less touristy than most on offer), a stunning mangrove tour (recently this has been offered on Kayaks - when we did it it was in a long boat and well worth the effort), bird island (an experience that is quite unique), diving, snorkelling and picnic Island an even smaller dot of pure white sand 30 minutes from Toberua itself. The later is the only organized actiity we crammed in to this short 5 day stay. It is highly recommended, crystal clear water, stunning white beach and a picnic in the sand. A pool table and ping pong around the bar area and small library are also available to adults and younger visitors.

Already we are planning another visit this time with our now grown up children. Yes this island is on the Suva side but perhaps that is what makes it special. Slightly less cookie cutter,slightly more 'authentic and personal", slightly more like a wonderful comfortable oasis where the pressures we all live under can be pushed to one side. Thank you Max and Sandy (and of course Toberua's owners) for returning the Toberua we want to keep coming back to!

Room Tip: All the bures are large and of high standard. We personally prefer to outlay a little more and opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
613 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
20.6 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range: £152 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing