We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place in our world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our family & friends celebrated my wife's 60th birthday on Toberua in May this year and it was a very special celebration for everyone.
We first went there in 1984 and this visit was as special to us as the many (at least 32) previous visits both as a couple and as a family.
Each of our four children have grown up with Toberua, celebrated their honeymoons there and have now returned on numerous occasions with their own families and now their children are learning what a wonderful place it is.
On this visit we surprised my wife by inviting some of our very oldest friends to join us - all extremely well travelled - by week's end they were in awe of the whole experience.
And that is Toberua - an experience that wraps you up with its ambience, its staff, its food and its presence.
Once again the owners have done a remarkable job of introducing subtle changes to the Resort without ever disturbing the balance of the experience.
And to Max & Sandy the managers our thanks for making all our family & friends feel so welcome.
All our family thank everyone involved with making Toberua a very special place in our world.

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DontDieWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you find the ambience, staff and food as wonderful as you have always found them. Thank you too for commenting on the subtle changes that we have made to enhance our guests' experience of our beautiful island resort. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Toberua Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the moment we got off the boat to the minute we left i felt like a king. Surrounded by the beautiful south Pacific ocean, this island it a true diamond. The resort is like disney land for island lovers. The staff is first class and the food is just amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebrowncow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Highly recommend this first class island resort for a romantic getaway, group or family vacation, and dive vacation. Rooms are wonderful, food is great and staff is warm and efficient.
Diving is very good with comfortable boats, and shore diving opportunities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014


With my 30th birthday coming up and living in New Zealand, it seamed natural to explore a holiday in this exotic part of the world!
Investing the time into finding just the “right place”, I stumbled onto Toberua Island Resort off the coast of Suva, Fiji. I was hypnotized by its beauty, seclusion, amenities, food and so much more. My recent visit lived up to everyone of those expectations and then some!
Toberua Island Resort arranged a vehicle transfer from the Suva Airport to Jacobs Landing where we where met by Charles who whisked us away on a 40 Min boat ride to the island. All though it was pitch black when we arrived at the Island and just in time for Dinner! The managers, Max and Sandy, meet us at the boat ramp with a wonder gesture of a fresh fruit drink. The showed us around the island with the front desk attendant who then showed us to our Bura while inviting us to dinner once we had settled in.
We found the food good quality with above average taste and used, what seamed as locale products. The breakfast was a combination of an American and British cuisine and plentiful. Lunch was a 3 course meal and Dinner being a4 courses. The menu never got dull as I thought it was delicious, however, some couples we spoke to said it was a hit or miss (again I thought it was wonderful!). There is a fee for food which can easily add up, but it is worth it and most island resorts charge fee’s to provide food.
Our first day on the island we chose to relax and soak it all in. We achieved our goal with hardly seeing anyone around the island. With your door expanded all the way open, you can really get that beach front experience . The ocean is feets away from your Bura and seeing there is are currently only 14 Bura’s, you really get a peace of your own ocean front property. The island it self takes all of 10 minutes to walk around and you can explore more beach when the tide goes down.
The rooms offered plenty of space and some with and outdoor expansion to the bathrooms to wash off the beach sand from your feet and legs. There is daily house keeping and beds are made up twice a day for us nappers. I would have preferred a more comfortable mattress (they where a little hard), but I might be being a little hard on that as your own bed is usually your most comfortable one.
There are endless activities daily which keeps you busy like daily snorkelling trips, golfing and volleyball. During our stay we did the “Picnic Island” and mangrove tours. Both we would highly recommend as a must do. Tours also include a village, Bird Island and others if you want to get out and see Fiji.
All in all Toberua Island and their amazing, attentive, personal and energetic staff made our visit and birthday one of the best places we have ever been! Enough so that I am writing this review!!! I would encourage anyone to visit and return, return, RETURN! It’s worth every penny!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timmiechu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Toberua Island is beautiful, the people, the food , the views, the activities are all wonderful. My husband and kids spent most of their time in the water and I spent it relaxing, enjoying the stunning views. The meals were exceptional and the friendly helpful staff were great. Small, private yet a top class resort . Thanks Toberua for an amazing family holiday that the kids loved, and hubby and I could relax !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Love this Island, The service is the best, I've been to many resorts all over the world and this is by far the best service I've ever had. Great people, Great food, Lots to do, Snorkeling is amazing, better then Hawaii, Mexico and Jamaica. You wake up to an amazing views everyday, no matter what Bure you're in. Highly recommend skipping the big named resorts of Fiji and unplug and unwind here at Toberua Island, Its a small island, they only have about 15 Bure. so its never crowed, but tons of activities. Escape everyday life and let go here..You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Toberua Island Resort. Somehow the peaceful exclusiveness of an intimate private island, sans internet or other forms of electronic communication, managed to keep us in full adventure status from dawn until well into each evening. Some of the most memorable features of this amazing place: 1) remarkable attentiveness of the staff, catering to every detail, every request 2) a chef and sous chef that made for a world-class dining experience every meal (with some of the most innovative seafood recipes I've ever tried), and 3) intriguing, toe-tapping, and totally unique musical serenades as a backdrop to lunches, dinners and evening hours (think mellow Johnny Cash, John Denver and Beatles tunes sung with a Fijian accent, as well as interspersed island music). Loved the variety of water activities, with top notch gear to go kayaking, paddle boarding, or sailing. In past years, we've snorkled in Belize, Tahiti, the Great Barrier Reef, Nassau, Kauai, and New Zealand - but the coral reefs around this island were second to none. I really miss the chilled green coconuts impaled with straws at lunchtime. Thank you Max, thank you Sandy, thanks all our friends on Toberua, old and new. We'll never forget and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imagemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21.0 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
532 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
19.3 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Suva
82 reviews
20.6 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range: £155 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing