We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Toberua Island is incredible. The views, the staff, the food, the tours, the privacy and isolation from the outside world… absolute magic.
We spent 8 days on the island for our honeymoon and didn't want to leave.
Just incredible. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the bar side of the island, the other side was quite windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for selecting Toberua Island for your honeymoon in Paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend Keegan stayed at the island for 5-6 days February earlier this year and it was one of the best holiday trips I've ever had. It did take forever to get to the island, I was travelling for a good 20 hours before I got to the island, but it is well worth it. I was sick the first few days there but all the staff made sure that they accommodated and helped me with everything. The staff is so friendly and amazing! We both had a really good time with Pita/Peter the bartender. I was craving for espresso martini and Peter made the best espresso martini! i was a little bit drunk by the end of the night.... THere is always something to do on the island, and we really enjoyed the trip to the village. I really wish I brought presents for the kids though, I will do this when I come here next. We are already planning for our next trip back. It is just so good. So if you are a young couple like us (25yo) and worry that there is nothing to do or no nightlife, don't worry about that at all. This island is the best place to go. You can make the trip as private as you want, or as lively as you wish.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We will pass on your feedback to our wonderful staff, thank you. Pita's Espresso Martinis are certainly a popular choice with our guests, as are our delicious cocktails of the day. Tonight's specialty is "Toberua Sunset" with Dark Rum, White Rum, Banana Liqueur, Grenadine, Orange & Mango Juice. The trip to the village is often a highlight for guests, so thank you for mentioning it in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is everyone's wish to find a vacation spot, that will fulfill every wish and dream of an ideal vacation spot, well this is it. It is not cheap, it is not easy to get to but once there the only question you will will ask yourself is "why am I just finding this place" . After all, it has been here for many years, and i guess that proves that secrets can be kept, but it is also a good thing. It is good that this place did not become like so many other places in Fiji and so many other South Sea islands, and that is over run with tourists, and once that happens everything else sort of disappears and what is left gets more and more expensive. Toberua, although we haven't been able to get there for a couple of years remains in our memories as strong as ever. Just let me say, if you are looking for the ideal spot to spend a little time to totally recharge the batteries, then get on line and book yourself a bure on Toberua

Room Tip: we have stayed at a few of them, and i always preferred the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We appreciate your positive feedback and agree that Toberua remains the perfect escape to recharge, rejuvenate and replenish. We hope you can make it back to this little piece of heaven soon. Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Not enough words to share or time, but this place is simply beautiful and amazing. Not a fan of low-tide but that will not stop us from coming back. The bartenders Ratu and Zechariah are amazing. All the staff is very attentive, polite, and you feel like family. I have never been to a more hospitable place. Sota Tale

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awsumpawsum_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will pass on your compliments to our staff and thank you for visiting Toberua Island Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A belated post but one I've been meaning to write. Our family of five (children 5,7,9) visited this island resort for Easter 2013. We also celebrated our son's 7th birthday during our stay. The people were exceptionally kind and friendly and made the experience so much fun for the kids with snorkelling, fishing and mini golf. The chef took great delight in cooking the big fish our kids caught off the pier .. Staff also took our children paddle boarding when they didn't want to come on a boat ride with the rest of us. We were concerned that such a small island would have its limits in terms of activities to keep the kids happy but, on the contrary, there was so much to do in simply enjoying the simple things. The highlight for us was Saturday night hermit crab racing which raised $$$ which we took to the nearby village the next day to present to the local school .. This is a paradise where families and honeymooners can co-exist with ease. It's tranquil, relaxing and good fun for all and the place is small enough such that you can let the kids roam free with no fear of stranger danger .. The wonderfully cheerful Fijian staff are the real treasure on this island. We couldn't recommend it more highly .. One note .. Ask for the rooms numbered 1,2 or 3. The others on the other side are a little dark and windy

Room Tip: Rooms on the restaurant side / main beach are by far the best. Ask for rooms 1,1a, 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Toberua staff and management thank you for your positive review. Thanks for pointing out that although we are a small island, there are plenty of activities for any age group. We agree, the Fijian staff are amongst the most hospitable in the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from another trip to Toberua. This time we have revisited with our children who both spent many holidays on the island while growing up.

Each time we return we worry the quality will have lessened. The staff will have changed or new staff may not give the same open, honest and friendly service or that the food may not be up to the standard that Mala and Manu provide. This certainly was not the case.

In our opinion Toberua is unsurpassed as a place to kick back and relax. The food is as good as anything we have experienced in the South Pacific. The variety and mix or European/Fijian ingredients make the meals both interesting and delicious. Between fresh fruits, muffins pastries and anything cooked you desire for breakfast to three course lunches and four course evening meals (plus morning/afternoon tea and evening bar snacks) you are spoilt for choice and never left hungry or disappointed.

The bures are excellent. As always the house keeping was great. A friendly smile and spotless room.

Toberua is tiny, only around four acres - but there are many trips off the island to suit all tastes. They include village trips, mangrove tours, bird island and a picnic on a pure white sandy beach only a short boat trip away. On the island there is also much to entertain guests or a nice small pool and loungers if you simply want to relax.

Toberua is not the most convenient island to access but it is well worth the effort. The management are doing a great job of keeping this special place at a standard that keeps so many people returning time and time again.

Soon there will be a larger bure (three bedrooms) for anyone wanting to visit in a larger group or family. Our thanks go out to the wonderful friends we have at Toberua and Sandy and Max the managers. We are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for returning to Toberua, we love to welcome back our returnees and are happy you find our high standards and quality are maintained. Thank you too for mentioning our delicious meals excellent bures and interesting off island trips. The 3 bedroom family bure is coming along well and is looking fantastic. Vinaka vaka levu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our family & friends celebrated my wife's 60th birthday on Toberua in May this year and it was a very special celebration for everyone.
We first went there in 1984 and this visit was as special to us as the many (at least 32) previous visits both as a couple and as a family.
Each of our four children have grown up with Toberua, celebrated their honeymoons there and have now returned on numerous occasions with their own families and now their children are learning what a wonderful place it is.
On this visit we surprised my wife by inviting some of our very oldest friends to join us - all extremely well travelled - by week's end they were in awe of the whole experience.
And that is Toberua - an experience that wraps you up with its ambience, its staff, its food and its presence.
Once again the owners have done a remarkable job of introducing subtle changes to the Resort without ever disturbing the balance of the experience.
And to Max & Sandy the managers our thanks for making all our family & friends feel so welcome.
All our family thank everyone involved with making Toberua a very special place in our world.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DontDieWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy M, Manager at Toberua Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you find the ambience, staff and food as wonderful as you have always found them. Thank you too for commenting on the subtle changes that we have made to enhance our guests' experience of our beautiful island resort. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toberua Island
21 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
617 reviews
16.5 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
21.3 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
20.6 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range: £151 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing