We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
gunnedah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have just returned from Fiji Palms. We spent 5 nights there from 15th January. I travelled with my 13 year old daughter and my neice and her 2 children ages 10 and 14. We had separate units and could not believe how amazing they were. Plenty of room and great airconditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was plenty to do in that area and when we left we were wishing we had spent our 10 days there instead of heading back to the Nadi area. Will definately go again- 10 days this time, and take my older children and their partners. Jetski next door is a must as are the massages at the cultural village (10 minute stroll from the resort). Have arrived back home on 27th January and we are already looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in units 16 and 17 and would recommend them for families with young children as they are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank karenGunnedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    79
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
112
88
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had 2 fantastic weeks.The Resort might not be 5 Star but to us it is 6 star -all the staff are most friendly and helpful people you would want to meet!! The Lovo dinner,Sunday night dinner and the BBQ dinner were very good and on the other nights Bar meals are available at a cheap price and were delicious.We stayed in unit 25 which is one of the newer apartments -it was very clean ,modern and had a good view from the balcony.
We can had a great time on all the the day trips we did-the Jewel of Fiji,freedive game fishing,the zip,Beqa Island and the fire walking at the Art Centre.Every trip we did we were greeted with a very warm Bula and the biggest smile .Vincent from Focus on Fiji gave us a interesting and informative trip to Suva and then a safe trip to the airport.We can't wait to return.We miss our new friiends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Mas_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We found the Fiji Palms a wonderful surprise. It is a 2.5 hr drive from the airport, but it is so well worth it. The resort looked after our transfers to and from the airport, about $170 fj dollars, and it was worth the money and peace of mind. We stayed in the oldest apartments and the room was fantastic, clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. The happy hour is great, we drank through pretty much the cocktail list and the food at the restaurant was awesome!! We didn't eat anywhere else. We walked to the arts village which had everything, plus had the most amazing massage by 3 gorgeous Fijian women for $50fj dollars..it's a must do. The tour we took..The Jewel of Fiji is a must!! The resorts Lovo Night is also a must! We met some wonderful people staying at the resort which made our stay there even more enjoyable. You do have the more up-market resort next door, but we preferred the cosy relaxed vibe of our resort where you knew most of the guests. We found our stay not that expensive and we will definitely be back!!! Next time we will arrange to have our names carved out and hung in the bar like loads of other guests have done. Was the best holiday ever. Tanya and Dion from Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tanyalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Just returned from our third visit to Fiji Plams. The ideal base to explore the Coral Coast. This time we stayed in the new units, more luxurious with 2 bathrooms, ideal as we were travelling with another couple. Cool spacious air conditioned apartments, set back from the pool and beach, quieter. The older units are good too, closer to the beach & pool, aircond only at night. We chose to self cater for some meals, fruit for breakfast bought from the little fruit stall out the front. Red papayas, sweet pines, bananas with a squeeze of lime juice & freshly grated coconut. A good idea is to bring from home some meal base mixes, eg butter chicken, then buy fresh meat plus veggies to cook at home... Supermarket at the Arts Village is well stocked. Meals are available at the Fiji Palms bar every night, from bar snacks & BBQ to the LOVO, not to be missed! The Pearl resort next door welcomes Fiji Palms residents and the meals are well priced. Say hi to Mela, lovely waitress who welcomed us each time we visited. Don't miss the Sunday session at The Pearl, we heard a brilliant jazz trio & sipped pawpaw daiquiris. Feed the fish at "our" beach, walk to the Uprising for a drink, Enjoy the spa at the Pearl... But most of all talk to the friendly, helpful staff at Fiji Palms. Some have worked there for years, their kids work there now. The boys will bring you coconuts, green or brown. Manager Wendy welcomes everyone and is central to the efficient running of the resort.
If you like to cook, the kitchens are well equipped but bring a good sharp knife. BBQs are clean & work well. You might bring your fave breakfast cereal, coffee, tea, etc, if like us you need your fix! We took our Nespresso machine and enjoyed cappuccinos every day, an indulgence.
Taxis to Suva are reasonable, or catch a local bus for an adventure. Navua is a good close town for groceries, Bula shirts, fabrics, locals' shops.
Take some DVDs or books to read & leave them to build the library if you can.
Plenty of tours & experiences to try, or just relax. The beach is peaceful, deserted, the sea calm.
We love our little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Fijifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for a week on an RCI timeshare exchange for Christmas 2009. Just days before we arrived, Fiji was battered by a terrible cyclone and many areas were still without power and water. When we arrived at the Fiji palms it seemed unaffected by the storm, however many of the employees had lost the homes and all their possessions... and yet they still turned up to work to serve us and were as friendly and welcoming as ever, I don't know how they did it. We had 2, 2 bedroom units as the whole family was there. The units were adequate for what we were looking for. We cooked most nights and use the nice pool and jacuzzi tub quite a lot. Unfortunately the beach was a little damaged by the storm and the water clarity wasn't great, but we mainly utilized the pool and did day trips/tours anyway. We did a deep sea fishing trips and caught several large fish which the Fiji Palms staff cleaned and filleted for us.

All in all we had a fantastic time and the Fiji Palms was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank s9schwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The setting is the saving grace for this well situated property as it is right on a great stretch of very safe beach. Pool and sauna are well appointed. As a very experienced traveler my biggest issue was with the inept office staff. Upon arrival a sullen and arrogant "Farishma" rebuffed my questions about the property with "it's all in the compendium". Over the next two weeks this employee demonstrated the poorest hospitality service I have ever experienced. The older, more tired, units closest to the beach have the A/C units programmed to be off during the hottest part of the day and can only be turned back on by paying an additional daily $10 FJD fee. This seems to exemplify the managaments efforts to nickle and dime visitors looking for a stress free experience. As another example, Mike the assistant manager continued to sell weekly internet ($80 FJD) access to new arrivals despite knowing from existing guests that the Australian server was down. (Free wifi is available at several locations in this area including Breezo's, a geat morning hangout, just across the street.) Farishma later booked a cultural tour for us. She then lied to the tour operator by telling them she had informed us that the customary lunch would not be served that day and that she had placed our receipt saying so, under our room door. I promptly went to the Fiji Palms office and asked to speak to the manager. The receipt Farishma claimed to have slid beneath our door was still in the receipt book and had not even been torn out yet. I explained to Mike, the Assistant Manager, that honest mistakes were more tolerable for a guest than a lack of integrity. Mike replied that Farishma was only 17 years old, new to the job and had already been the subject of numerous complaints from guests as well as local employees. On another morning Farishma pounded on the door until I got up from bed to confirm that I wanted a taxi hired...for the following day! I will save the reader from the long litany of the front office employee drama that transpired during the two weeks I was there but know that it was awful.
On a positive note the housekeeping, security and bar staff were professional and attentive. Pate was especially diligent about guest safety and security while Sam the newest barman exuded the best bula persona.
Other notes: The best massage in Fiji is at the rear of the Arts Village within walking distance (1 1/4 hour massage by up to three practioners simultaneously using great essential oils for $50 FJD!). Also situated in the Arts Village, the Baca Blues restauarant is by far the best culinary experience between Nadi and Suva. Unlike the Pearl and most other ocean view establishments that are banking on the gorgeous setting, Baca Blues wins hands down with a superior mix of cocktails, impeccable service (Yeah Barbara!), great value and food I now crave (the ribs!). We actually ended up going two nights in a row! Two activities worth noting are spending a day on Beqa Island and the Jewel of Fiji river tour.
Caution: the hard sell at Bavari Gifts, taxi drivers with an agenda, "swordsmen" asking your name then carving it on a wooden trinket that they pressure you into buying,

The average Fijian is wonderfully open, hospitable and kind. Please treat them well!

Room Tip: Newer units with better amenities are situated further from the shore than the older quirky beachsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We travelled recently to Fiji and we were so glad we chose this little gem which is the Holiday Club at the Fiji Palms.

To get here is about a 2 hr drive from the International Airport of Nadi, on the coast in an area called Pacific Harbour. It is on the beach next door to a big Hotel called 'The Pearl". It is also about 45 minutes from the capital of Suva which if you have the misfortune of doing business there, you can travel back to this oasis for peace, security and serenity.

We were also extremely glad we asked the resort to organise a driver to pick us up from the Airport rather than find our own way. We have conceded that should we have driven ourselves, we would have either had a nervous breakdown or bottomed our car in one of those pot-hole-craters - or both, by the time we got there, if we had got there at all, as many drivers we saw were driving like Pirate Jack Sparrow on speed.

The Resort Driver was called Vincent and we make special mention of him as he was a very polite young man, with excellent manners, and who was most importantly a VERY careful driver, with invaluable knowledge about where all the pot-holes were . He also got us to the Resort in one piece and it was a pleasure traveling with him.

The apartments are mostly 2 bedroom apartments with couches that can be made into extra beds if required. They are thoroughly modern and clean, with wonderful kitchen facilities and all the amenities for a self-contained and self-provisioning holiday. The showers are awesome and there is an amazing verandah which flows from the indoor living spaces. You have the choice of using ceiling fans or air-conditioning, and this is probably the only facility that has installed CRIMSAFE mesh/mosquito screens. ...... very impressive, especially now as there is an alarming nation-wide increase in theft and burglary across Fiji. The Club has it's own team of security that patrols the premises daily so the we felt very safe. The old adage of being street-smart and of not placing anything is view of temptation would apply.

If you are arriving late or on a Sunday when nothing is open, the resort very thoughtfully provides you with a starter pack (at a small charge) which includes washing powder for the washing machine, dish washing cloths and detergent, bread, milk, butter & jams .

The Club offers you bar meals on certain days of the week if you need a break from cooking for the family, and they are lovely home-made meals made on the premises. There is also a fully equipped barbeque area that can be utilised . We certainly had some wonderful meals in this area with our family. There is a supermarket about two minute's drive away and they have most essentials.

The staff are very welcoming and all of them embody the gentle essence of the Fiji "Bula Spirit" which in our experience in other parts of Fiji can be forced or over-demonstrative. Full credit for this essential customer service essential to Wendy and her management staff of the Fiji Palms. In great contrast, we did call into The Pearl next door one morning to partake of breakfast and felt very unwelcome, with none of the 5 staff we encountered taking any interest in our presence there. They lost the opportunity to sell us anything that day, or ever.

If you are expecting a Hotel where people are the end of a phone or at a service desk to entertain you then Fiji Palms is not for you .... there are many things you can do from this area but it is up to you to take the initiative and join in . The staff at Fiji Palms can assist in booking you on activities but the onus is on you at the end of the day. This is a place where you can have the space to do nothing at all (in peace), or as many things as you want to do, but don't expect service on tap.

We would also recommend this place for guests that need to be doing business in Suva , as the capital city is not the place it used to be once upon a time. It is now dirty and disheveled, and feels unsafe especially for us oldies. There are frequent road-blocks with military/police types stopping and treating their citizens with brusque disrespect .

We were the subject of one such obstruction with our taxi-driver one day. He was ordered out of the car just to check his license and registration, and then we were peered at by two of these Obergruppenführer's, just like a guerilla would peer at their captors in a zoo. Not the behavior one would expect on a Pacific Island. The drive is also quite depressing into Suva as you can see quite clearly the poverty in the shacks that line the main road, and that now extend into the mangrove swamps in the suburbs of Suva.

But back to the Apartments, there is a TV in the lounge . There is not much on offer from local TV except for what looked like obvious propaganda from the Fijian Dictatorship so give that a miss and take some books to read instead.

We did not see a DVD so do enquire with the Resort about this should you wish to take some DVD's for the kids to enjoy. The Club has some books and games for you to peruse but do think about leaving all your books behind when you depart the Resort so that there is a continual turn-over of modern books for all to enjoy.

The pool is lovely and always well maintained as are the grounds. There are also 2 spa pools for guests as well as a couple of Massage Ladies available in the massage Bure for the usual massages, as well as pedicures and manicures. I was the very happy recipient of a massage and my friend had a wonderful pedicure so we can thoroughly recommend this service which also helps the local ladies out in the way of income.

We will definately be recommending and will be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Chikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
34.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort

Property: ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Address: Deuba, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
ULTIQA At Fiji Palms Beach Resort South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing