We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent a lovely week at Fiji Palms. This resort has everything needed to have a great holiday. The units are very well appointed with a full kitchen and laundry. Rooms dont come with hairdryers but are available at the office if necessary.
There is a restaurant on site as well as being in an excellent position to make access to other great Pacific Harbour restaurants easy. I loved the fact there are 3 supermarkets, a bottle store and a takeaways right across the road. There is even a fruit and vegetable stand at the gate.
Each day a little daily news arrives to let you know what is happening the following day and reminders of what tours are available. I found this a nice touch.
There is beach access straight from the resort and those "in the know" can be found in the mornings feeding the Fiji Palms piranha with bread in the shallows. They're not really piranha but they do love bread
We met some great people while staying here and some who have been returning each year for the last 17 years so they must be doing something right.
The whole atmosphere of the place is a credit to Wendy and her staff. A special mention for Vijay the gardener who can be found at the resort each day happily making sure there are no pot holes in the driveway so that visitors dont hurt themselves when walking in after a night out, he is also great at preparing fresh coconuts so that the water can be drank straight from the coconut.
So even tho the drive from Nadi airport seems like alot of time, it truly is worth the wait.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Fiji Palms and are delighted to read your comments regarding Wendy and the team which we will be sure to pass along.

It is fantastic to hear that we were able to cater for your every need while on holidays and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    78
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
109
87
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at the Fiji Palms. After a very bumpy ride from Nadi - the road leave something to be desired, we arrived at our apartment. The staff met us and even carried some very heavy suitcases up three flights to the apartment. My first impression was, wow, it looks just like, no in fact better than the photos. The apartment was quite large and had a full kitchen, dishwasher, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms that suited 2 adults and 2 adult children perfectly. We had a lovely deck overlooking the bbq area and it was all very clean and tidy.

Over the next 7 days we did tours around Fiji, which were all well worth the effort. We had an issue with the washing machine breaking down but it was replaced within the hour. When our lights went out they were fixed immediately. We spent a lot of time at the neighbouring Pearl resort which you have free access to including use of the gym, pool etc. Would recommend cocktail hour there, 5 - 6pm each night.

Having the office closed in the weekends was a tad annoying but the staff were always on hand around the property if needed. There are nightly security staff which makes you feel quite comfortable.

All in all I would recommend this as a great place to stay - it is not a big flash resort with entertainment provided but it also does not come with the big flash price tag which went down well with us. Booked on Wotif so for $100 Aus a night we thought it was great value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 which does have TV etc and may be newer rooms compared to those closer to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jofromwello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for providing this detailed feedback on your stay at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, it is certainly much appreciated and vital in working to continually improve our service and offering.

We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to assist with this.

We hope to welcome you back to Fiji Palms Beach Resort in the near future on your next visit to Fiji.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

My family and I visited Fiji Palms for three weeks from 13th May 2013. Our daughter is Fijian born and adopted by us when she was 2.

It was an amazing experience to get to know the local people from 2 villages and literally be welcomed in the way we were. We owe this all to the staff etc at Fiji Palms.

I have travelled a fair bit and never slept so well in a bed as I did at Fiji Palms. The lounge room was extremely comfortable which is another thing we were surprised about. A very well set up kitchen with absolutely everything we could have wanted.

We had a ground floor room right next to the pool etc in the older apartments. It is true, there is no tv reception even though you have a tv with a DVD player to use if you wished.

For us, the whole three weeks without tv was just wonderful. I believe you go on holiday to veg out or go out and enjoy EVEN if there is rain. If not having tv means so much to travellers, maybe they should just stay home!

The staff are just wonderful and any problems we had were only a small couple, were fixed within no time. In all my travels, when problems have occurred it has taken an enormous amount of time to get anyone to the room not to mention actually rectifying the issue.

The couple of small issues we had, I either went to the office or if it wasn't open, to the bar. Both times, before I made it back to my room (walking directly), there was a staff member there to have a look and rectify immediately.

Now I will say this is not a luxurious resort where absolutely everything is done for you of which we have stayed in one before. NEVER again will I do that. I love the self contained aspect of Fiji Palms and all other holidays we take.

I find the review below mine to be that of someone who is, to be honest, out of touch with reality. If she had of done the homework before going, she would have know about the differences between the new and old apartments as well as where they are located on the property.

The number one rule in travelling is to do loads of homework before going instead of sticking their heads n the sand and then opening complaining.

Fiji Palms is better off without people like her and allows more room for guests who appreciate the people, country and way of life.

Fiji Palms for us EVERY TIME we travel to Fiji, that is for sure. Thanks Wendy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taswegian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed review on Fiji Palms, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Your wonderful comments regarding our Resort and Staff have been passed onto the Management and we are sure Wendy and the team will be delighted with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji Palms on your next visit to Fiji.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I know some people have expressed pleasure staying here I must be truthful about our experience. This was our 4th visit to Fiji but first time at Fiji Palms. After a three hour trip by road from Denerau, we arrived to find our unit not ready. We had no TV, no hairdryer, the clothes dryer was out of reach for me and kept breaking down (blocked filter), broken microwave, marked sheets on the bed, couches we refused to sit on without towels beneath us as they smelt of other people's sweat and were sandy or gritty. The communal hot tubs were also mouldy and need immediate clean-out and scrubbing. It was the weekend and office closed until Monday before we would ask about some of these problems. Answer, "Those units don't have TV"! There was no personal welcome by the Manager who I never saw at all during the week, although the general staff we met were lovely. Even the 'welcoming' items including milk, we discovered we had to pay for. Our previous resort (also Timeshare) had given us a huge bowl of fruit, toiletries gift packs, free milk, free water throughout the stay and a bottle of champagne. The restaurant only opens at night. We were told we could go to the resort next door but after being followed around by a worker there we did not return. The internet use is very expensive whereas cafes in the next village and the Uprising resort are free or only minimal charge. It rained for 6 days so we could only do one excursion but Fiji Palms offers no daytime or evening activities apart from a Lovo night. Other guests in our block also expressed displeasure at their units while some people had lovely appointed rooms including baths, ensuites and TV. Even the meanest house nearby had TV so why not our unit? After three days in bed with stomach illness and depression over our musty unit, I was glad to escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This resort, although small (23 apartments) must be one of the loveliest places to stay in the area. We had an apartment right on the beach which was one of the older ones - though it had been renovated to a very high standard. Just loved its 'beach-house' colour-scheme and furnishings. Unpretentious and comfortable.
The pool and the grounds are immaculately kept and Pam is absolutely right when she speaks about Wendy, Michael and the staff at Fiji Palms being so lovely and helpful.
I loved being able to swim in the ocean directly out the front. Very clear water. The sand is not blinding white but the water clarity far surpasses that at Denarau Island back up near Nadi where we had stayed in the past.
The Pearl Resort is next door if people want to visit for a brief hit of 'glitz' at any point.
We unfortunately missed the fabulous weather mentioned by another reviewer in mid-May. In fact it rained most of the week.
The only thing I would caution people on is the Beqa Island Tour. For a price of FJ$199 per head we felt that there was a fair bit of misrepresentation by the tour operator.
We were told by the operator at the Sunday morning orientation that during the ride over to the island there would be fishing. Some in our party were very disappointed to discover that this was not true. There were heavy-duty lines 'running' off the back of the boat but no-one was allowed to use them - only staff. There were no other fishing facilities.
He had also said he would arrange for ladies on the island to give a weaving demonstration. This didn't happen.When promoting the snorkelling he said there were giant clams where we were going. I searched and searched our drop-down spot and when asked he directed me to another edge of the reef - nothing. I finally asked him once more. His answer: Oh did I mention giant clams? No there over near ..blah blah island..or somewhere or other.
He had also said that there would be a walk up to a waterfall on the island. He didn't mention the day before that it would cost an extra FJ$20 each. He actually called the walk off but when some people complained he snuck them off and didn't inform the others who'd expressed interest in doing it.
Basically we felt this guy was a bit of a shonk and an amateur. I will admit though that there were a lot of beautiful fish to see when we snorkelled.
I feel that Fiji Palms doesn't do itself any favours by allowing an operator like this to associate himself with their company name when they have such excellent standards in all they provide.
But would I come back to this resort? DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves lapping on the shore aim for the beachfront apartments BUT be aware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baroness53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for providing this review on your recent stay with us at Fiji Palms, your feedback is very important to us.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and that our wonderful team were able to assist in making your stay a pleasant one.

Your comments regarding the tour operator have been passed to management for further investigation.

We look forward to seeing you back at Fiji Palms Beach Resort on your next visit to Fiji.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The resort is just lovely. The staff are so accommodating and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant serves very nice meals at the reasonable price. Love happy hour each night between 5-7 pm - get to meet the others staying at the resort and enjoyed our chats over a nice drink. The newer unit which we stayed in is just fantastic, modern, spacious and very clean. The gardens, pool are just immaculate and it is a credit to the staff who look after them. the beach is very safe to swim at the just great walking along the long sandy beach. Taxis are very cheap and the local bus is also another a great option for getting around.

Fiji Palms is just a very warm and friendly place to visit and hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Unit 23 is lovely with views to the water and on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam56_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this review of your recent stay with us at Fiji Palms Beach Resort.

It is wonderful to hear you had a fantastic time and the whole team at the Resort will be delighted by your comments on the Resort and surrounds as they work hard to please our guests.

We hope you will visit us again one day soon at Fiji Palms.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was our second trip to the Fiji palms. Our first was with family members in July last year. So this year we went back and took our friends with us this was their first trip to Fiji. This time we when in May the weather was just perfect we swam or had a spa every day. From the time we arrived the girls in the office couldn't do enough for us and booked all our wonderful trips. A night we had dinner in the bar the food was awesome. The bar staff looked after us every night and all called us by our first names which is great. Also the massage ladies are great. The pool area and gardens are all so well looked after and look amazing. It is such a Beautiful and well looked after place we love coming here and will be returning again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oakstrike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We are delighted to receive this review on your recent stay with us at Fiji Palms and it is fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our Resort.

Your comments regarding the staff at the Resort will be passed to the team who will be thrilled that they were able to make your stay such an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji Palms Beach Resort on your next visit to Fiji.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
34.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
34.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort

Property: ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort
Address: Deuba, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ULTIQA at Fiji Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Club Fiji Palms Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
ULTIQA At Fiji Palms Beach Resort South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing